List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade Thread - 2025 Edition Vol 3

Quick Links

List Changes - 2025
In:
  • Brandon Starcevich arrives at West Coast in a three team deal
  • Tylar Young (Richmond) arrived at West Coast in exchange for Pick 38.
  • Deven Robertson (Brisbane) has agreed to join West Coast and will be signed on to the rookie list after being delisted by Brisbane
Out:
  • Oscar Allen joins Brisbane as a FA - West Coast receive Pick 2 as compensation
  • Liam Ryan and a 2027 R3 pick has been traded to St Kilda for a 2026 R2 pick
  • Campbell Chesser has been traded to Carlton for Pick 41
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Coen Livingstone joins the list of players not offered a new contract

Players Out of Contract - 2025 (0)
  • Jamie Cripps and Malakai Champion seem to have been offered new contracts despite there being no official announcement. Means that all players out of contract for 2025 have been given new contracts despite or removed from the playing list

2025 Draft Order

Current Draft Picks:
Round 1: 1, 2, 13
Round 2: 34, 41
Round 3: 53, 58 (These picks are in excess of available list spots so will be forfeited if we don’t consolidate our 2025 picks up the order or trade some for future picks)

List Spots Available (39 of 48):
• Main list (33 of 38) - 5* (in: Starcevich, Young out: Allen, Ryan, Chesser, Hunt, Petruccelle, Jamieson)
• Cat A rookie list (5 of 8) - 3* (in: Robertson (pending), out: Rawlinson)
• Cat B rookie list (1 of 2) - 2 (out: Livingstone)

* Based on Dewar being upgraded after the maximum 3 years on the rookie list. Hutchinson may also have been upgraded but this isn’t confirmed - if it is we will have 4 main and 4 rookie list spots open

* Matthew Clarke has stated we have 5 main list spots

Matt Clarke wraps up the trade period - 6PR

Hmmmm I wonder why would the Eagles would give away their draft plans ahead of time? If a bid comes much earlier than expected and we would prefer another player with those picks, why would we lock ourselves in? Seems odd. Other teams could use that info to force us to overpay.
You still have the option to match or not. IF a team bids early you don't match.

In other news, the AFL really could have helped us by letting us prelist NGA this year and next.

Can someone explain why we even have rookie lists anymore? Let alone splitting it into categories and forcing clubs to delist players to shift them onto these redundant lists?
Rookie players only get 1 year, so they are for speculative players (rookie draft & SPP) and you don't have commit to keeping them for 2 years. It is still useful if you have extra list spots and want to don't want to waste a spot for 2 years.
The main problem imo is that the vAFL took away 2 main list spots during covid (for salary cap reasons and to help the poorer Vic clubs?) and never restored them. This obviously reduces the number of players we can draft in the ND and increases list spot congestion. They certainly won't now with the Tassie team coming.

Don't we have to nominate them before the draft, otherwise we would have to draft them like any other pick, no option to match a bid (because there would be no bid, the team that wants them would just draft them at that pick)

Correct

IMG_6957.jpeg

Nominations for NGA and father/sons need to be lodged by the end of the week (I assume the date on this is a typo)

Can’t see why we wouldn’t nominate all four of Williams, Evans, Walley and Banfield - doesn’t mean we draft them as we wouldn’t know when bids come so may or may not match but we’d want to keep the option open

Best case is they all slide through the draft without a bid - Williams seems likely to have a bid but the others are less certain. Very doubtful Walley does

Correct

View attachment 2466626

Nominations for NGA and father/sons need to be lodged by the end of the week (I assume the date on this is a typo)

Can’t see why we wouldn’t nominate all four of Williams, Evans, Walley and Banfield - doesn’t mean we draft them as we wouldn’t know when bids come so may or may not match but we’d want to keep the option open

Best case is they all slide through the draft without a bid - Williams seems likely to have a bid but the others are less certain. Very doubtful Walley does
Basically the only way you don't nominate someone that has AFL potential is because they don't want you to. Judd's kids will be an example of this. They will tell either us (F/S) or Carlton (f/s) that they don't will take up their preferred option, and the other won't nominate them.

Cal mentioned on Gettable he expects Dev and Finn Macrae to be added as rookies.
I'm OK with Finn, balanced mid coming from a successful environment, ball pig... bit slow though.

Imagine that rules out Phillips - can't have too many kids with unrealised potential from that 2020 draft-disaster.

Makes our approach around list spots interesting:

It sounds like Williams and Evans will attract bids:
  • Do we keep 5 main list spots and commit to only taking picks 1, 2 and 13 + Williams and Evans?
  • Do we want more flexibility on draft night and open another main list spot? Taking picks 1, 2, 13, 34 hoping that williams bid comes later?
  • Moving Crippa to the rookie list will open a main list spot but means we only have one rookie spot left
  • Use last rookie spot on Banfield? Walley NGA?
Are we happy with Dev & Fin as our only mature rookies? Would doing something like deleting Barnett's contract yield a better ROI?

In all honesty I don't know why we have a recruitment 'team'.

All we need is Matty Clarke and all he needs is access to our Bigfooty recruitment team think tank that is likely just as qualified as the rest of the Eagles jobs for mates recruitment team to spitball ideas.

During draft and trade period events he can just reward a few of the best posters on here to join him in person.

All we need is Matty Clarke and all he needs is access to our Bigfooty recruitment team think tank that is likely just as qualified as the rest of the Eagles jobs for mates recruitment team to spitball ideas.

During draft and trade period events he can just reward a few of the best posters on here to join him in person.
Well I’m not going unless we get appropriate T shirts and free piss!!

I agree that they should be combing through here and taking the best ideas.

Would be interesting to see how this board stacks up over the years vs the club's recruitment team. This board's certainly had its groupthink favourites over the years but I dunno how those players actually went had they been available at our pick compared to whoever the club drafted (a player with a ? profile pic...)

I wanted Matt Johnson over Chesser
I wanted the Poo over Ginbey

So I've got 1 right, and 1 yet to be decided. I still think the Poo can be a better player for what we actually needed than Ginbey. He has flashed massive potential as a midfielder.

Not sure about the groupthink picks but i reckon some of the more knowledgeable posters on here would have a better track record than our recruiters over the years

Barnett should be moved on regardless of contract. I can’t think of a player less deserving to still be on an AFL list. He’d be playing reserves footy in the day.

Livo is a delist candidate and fair enough but I can’t actually see him going back to his wafl side and work his way back as a potential mature age pick up in a few years.

Barnett should be moved on regardless of contract. I can’t think of a player less deserving to still be on an AFL list. He’d be playing reserves footy in the day.

Livo is a delist candidate and fair enough but I can’t actually see him going back to his wafl side and work his way back as a potential mature age pick up in a few years.
1761718885682.png

Been too busy to keep up with the thread, are we still planning on just asking Jamie Cripps to retire? Wouldn't mind picking up and elite leader and trainer like Tom Mitchell with that last rookie spot.