List Mgmt. Contracts. Trades. Draft. 2021 Edition

Follow link below for contract status of all current players

All correct but two of those available spots can only be filled by Cat B rookies, and we don’t seem to be linked to any (unless there’s some random academy kid that we’ll give a spot to)

My mistake - didn’t realise lists were a maximum of 42 plus 2 cat b rookies. Had thought we could have 44 without any cat b’s

From a list size of 45 (7 rookies) -

Out (9) : Schofield (retired), Hickey (traded), Jetta, Venables, Watson, Treacy, Reid, MO’Neill, Brayshaw

In (2) : Witherden, Langdon

Edwards upgraded to main list
Hutchings moved to rookie list

List currently stands at 38 (3 rookies) by my count giving us 6 available list spots
So we currently have 35 on the main list, 3 on the rookie list (Jones, Ah Chee and Hutch) and zero Cat B. I suspect we will only take 1 in the national draft and 2 in the rookie draft leaving a single spot open for a mid year pick up.

Post draft list to be main = 36 (stipulated minimum) and rookies 6 initially and someone mid year.

That gives us flexibility and it will also give us maximum salary cap relief with up to 7 rookies with a share of that cost not counting to the cap.

I am not sure what happened with our request for Rioli to be put on the Cat B list. I guess we lost the call on Venables. Pity - if we are going to treat concussion seriously, it should be a medical call and not a list or cap call. Another year for Venables at the club and being part of it would be good for him.

From a list size of 45 (7 rookies) -

Out (9) : Schofield (retired), Hickey (traded), Jetta, Venables, Watson, Treacy, Reid, MO’Neill, Brayshaw

In (2) : Witherden, Langdon

Edwards upgraded to main list
Hutchings moved to rookie list

List currently stands at 38 (3 rookies) by my count giving us 6 available list spots

Edit: already answered

Would luke english be worth a rookie spot? Obviously it wouldve been tough to break into Richmond's inside mid brigade?

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Draft questionnaire for Monocle and AsterixTheGaul and whoever else wants to have a crack (ArdentEagle or Wedgetailed Westerner);

1. If you could select from any player in this draft for West Coast who would it be and why?
Holland.
Rationale - best midfielder in the draft and by flock do we need a top end young mid.
West Coast does not need more quality talls (as tempted as it is to go local boy tall McDonald).

2. If you're Rohan O'Brien with our current draft hand for this year and next year, what would you do come draft night?
Probably sit back and see what drops to 62. I would have discussed trades at potential slots.
However, if one of Berry, Poulter or Powell were still there at the GWS pick 26, I would look at trading the Swans 2021 R3 with our pick 62 to land one of them.

3. If you're the crows who are you taking at pick 1 and are you bidding on Jamarra?
Definitely bidding. Rationale - the Doggies are 100% matching. So it is a free drop. Let's assume JUH becomes another Buddy - you do not want to be known as the recruiter that didn't at least ask the question.
Getting JUH off the table then takes some pressure off their Logan McDonald, my pick if I was Adelaide.

4. Who would you take with the Bombers three top ten picks?
I think Dodoro will bid on Campbell and McInnes with his third pick because that is in his nature.
I would go for a 2 mids/1 tall split (in order)
2 of - Perkins, Phillips or Bruhn
1 of - Cox or Reid
I would choose both my mids and then see what I could get for my 3rd. Possible trade - GWS (who rate Cox highly) get 2 spots earlier and Dons go back 2 spots and get something else like GWS pick 26

5. Being reasonable, if we didn't pick trade on the night and kept our current picks who would you ideally want to slide to us?
I could give you a list of 10 but you said be reasonable so - Dumesny Winder or Neale

6. Give the top 5 players drafted this year, who do you think it will be where do they end up?
Ugle-Hogan = Dogs
McDonald = Adelaide
Holland - Norf
Grainger-Barras = Swans
Perkins = Hawks (this will be a surprise)

I am thinking Thilthorp might slide and I'd expect Adelaide trade with Dons for pick 6 (now pick 7) for Crows pick 12 and next year's second. Do not see Suns picking him.
Spot on, love it.

Jamarra- Dogs

Hollands- Crows

Mcdonald- Roos

Grainger- Barasss - Swans

Thilthorpe- hawks
Love the Ford selection, Yeo went pick 30 but if you redrafted that year he'd be top 3. So why not take him early, as he'll probably end up the best contested mid in the draft! He's not a slow contested mid either, he's under 3 seconds for 20m sprint and can play fwd. Love it.

I agree on Thilthorpe, I think he could be the Kreuzer of the draft though. Talented but always injured, big guys aren't supposed to be that nimble.

I don't profess to have a lot of knowledge on the players (I leave that to the real forum/board experts) but I do have a keen interest in the draft every year. I become the typical armchair expert by watching all the vids I can find and reading all the profiles available.

My take uneducated take on it;

1. If you could select from any player in this draft for West Coast who would it be and why?

I'd actually take Logan McDonald. Ideal JK replacement, local so no go home factor and looks a real talent. Any young KPF that can do that at WAFL level gets my vote. 200 game player. We need a good young mid but good KPF are a rare commodity.

2. If you're Rohan O'Brien (insert Dark Sharks gag here) with our current draft hand for this year and next year, what would you do come draft night?

As previously mentioned by ATG, wait for a slider we rate highly. I'd be fairly aggressive for the right player, a future 2nd for the right person.
In a draft with some many relative unknowns, this is the year it could happen.
Powell, Ford, Berry, Macrae, Carroll would tickle my pickle. I recon Winder and Stone will go a bit higher than most expect. I like Maher too.

3. If you're the crows who are you taking at pick 1 and are you bidding on Jamarra?

100% bidding...They're matching. I'd actually pick Hollands for the Crows. Their midfield is absolutely dire, they need class in there desperately.
Gotta go Hollands.

4. Who would you take with the Bombers three top ten picks?

fu** the Bombers! Just for spite, the 3 biggest spuds I could!
Otherwise, being sensible... 3 of Nik Cox, Heath Chapman, Jack Carroll, Nathan O'Driscoll, Will Phillips or Finlay Macrae.
I'm not a big on Perkins as everyone else. (Again, just off any videos I can find so not well informed)

5. Being reasonable, if we didn't pick trade on the night and kept our current picks who would you ideally want to slide to us?

Let be honest, any sliders are going to have deficiencies. In saying that, this is the year a little gem could pop up.
Trew, Pedlar, Rosman maybe. (Other players I like who may slide, I don't think will make it past 40 or so)

6. Give the top 5 players drafted this year, who do you think it will be where do they end up?

1. WB - JUH
2. Adel - McDonald
3. NM - Hollands
4. Syd - DGB
5. Haw - Cox/Phillips (I think a little surprise will happen here)
Let's face it, would be so hard to go past McDonald. No other under 18 key forward has done what he's done.

I feel like Trew is going to be a real slider! But if he lasts to our pick, I'm not sure we'd take him!

On draft night, if it were up to me.
After pick 25 if any of Poulter, Ford, O'Driscoll were on the board I'd be offering one of future 2nd rounders. If all 3 are I'll wait until 30 then offer swans 3rd.

If Winder is at 30, I'd offer swans future 3rd up.

Trew at 40, I'd offer swans future 3rd but want future 4th back.

As for C.Cox from Brisbane, if he is free I would offer him a rookie list spot.

Fast, good carry and good kick; question marks over his ability in the contest however.

Lions are stacked in his preferred positions down back and up forward, so he hasn't had much of a look-in.

Would provide a good alternative backup running option off halfback with Watson now gone.

I like this move. Only just turned 23 and offers the kind of pace and running carry that is sorely lacking elsewhere in the squad.

Another player that would also be ready to go from day 1 in the instance of any injuries.

Definitely skillful and has talent - he was selected at pick 24 in the 2016 draft after all (one pick after Witherden), but struggled to find a clearly defined position under Fagan and now surprisingly has no club at all.

Expected that Fremantle would end up as his destination as both his age and style of play would likely be complementary to what Longmuir is building there. Indeed, the little that I had previously heard regarding C.Cox was that Freo apparently had the stronger interest of the two WA clubs - happy to see that proven wrong as he could end up being a very handy addition.

On draft night, if it were up to me.
After pick 25 if any of Poulter, Ford, O'Driscoll were on the board I'd be offering one of future 2nd rounders. If all 3 are I'll wait until 30 then offer swans 3rd.

If Winder is at 30, I'd offer swans future 3rd up.

Trew at 40, I'd offer swans future 3rd but want future 4th back.

I reckon by that stage you’d get that pick for future 3rd. Suns surely would’ve asked around who was prepared to give up the highest future pick for pick27 this year.

I like this move. Only just turned 23 and offers the kind of pace and running carry that is sorely lacking elsewhere in the squad.

Another player that would also be ready to go from day 1 in the instance of any injuries.

Definitely skillful and has talent - he was selected at pick 24 in the 2016 draft after all (one pick after Witherden), but struggled to find a clearly defined position under Fagan and now surprisingly has no club at all.

Expected that Fremantle would end up as his destination as both his age and style of play would likely be complementary to what Longmuir is building there. Indeed, the little that I had previously heard regarding C.Cox was that Freo apparently had the stronger interest of the two WA clubs - happy to see that proven wrong as he could end up being a very handy addition.
And another great Halls Creek boy. I met his mum and Aunty at the local pub up here watching one of our games. Both are passionate West Coast fans too

Love the Ford selection, Yeo went pick 30 but if you redrafted that year he'd be top 3. So why not take him early, as he'll probably end up the best contested mid in the draft! He's not a slow contested mid either, he's under 3 seconds for 20m sprint and can play fwd. Love it.

I agree on Thilthorpe, I think he could be the Kreuzer of the draft though. Talented but always injured, big guys aren't supposed to be that nimble.
Cheers mate. I just think Ford has the most upside and will turn into a contested beast of a midfielder with a burst from stoppages. Hollands to me would be the obvious choice for us but there is no guarantee he would get a shot in our midfield at the moment, so may as well pick an exciting young Ford who moves and plays like a mustang to develop.

Monocle what are your thoughts on this kid?

Dominic Bedendo
Murray Bushrangers, NAB League / Myrtleford
Height: 188cm
Weight: 74kg
09/07/02

Wingman who has a real X-factor with his aerial skills but also has very good endurance and agility. Had promising bottom aged year with the Murray Bushrangers in the NAB League playing nine matches and averaging 10.4 disposals and started trials this year with a 21-disposal game against the Bendigo Pioneers before shutdown. Presented impressively at Victorian National Combine held in Bendigo with 99cm Running Vertical Jump elite along with a sharp 2.95 seconds for the 20 metres third best on the day.

Sheehan signals him out for a mention from all the other vic midfielders for some reason.

Could he be a nice slider or a smokey that is rated among the talent identifiers but less the recrutiers due to his year off?

He didn't catch my eye.

His numbers were underwhelming.

Averaged 12 touches (5 contested), 2 clearances and 3 tackles in 12 VFL games last year.
Played mostly half fwd, but spent a few games in the middle where he had a heap of clearances and contested footy.