Education & Reference Cool things your teacher did/does

I had one teacher who was a massive pain in the ass in most respects, but he did implement a "like" policy where if you used the word "like" unnecessarily (ie. 'I like, don't know what to do), you'd get a strike. 3 strikes = bag of rubbish at lunch time. One poor guy got 3 strikes in 1 sentence, but it ironed out a very annoying habit of a lot of my peers very quickly.

I like that

I had a science teacher around year 9/10 which was around 1989/1990 and he always wheel this bad boy out and put Ferris Bueller's Day Off on
TV-CART.jpg

Confession: I've never seen Ferris Bueller's Day Off.

I don't do stupid humour.

You are missing out on a classic

Also wtf is stupid humour? I don't understand this comedy snobbishness some people have TBH. Comedy is meant to be funny first and foremost, not intellectually stimulating. Inbetweeners is 3 seasons of dick and bum jokes but its one of the most brilliantly written shows I've seen.

Year 4 teacher was really good at the old Prince of Persia game and gave it to everyone on a floppy disk.

Seems like most of the cool teachers were men?

I feel like that's because they were so rare in primary school that they always had a bit of novelty value.

I must have been luckyish

Grade 1: old female
Grade 2: old female
Grade 3: 30ish and 40ish year old females (they split their time)
Grade 4: 40ish year old male
Grade 5: 50ish female
Grade 6: 50ish male
Grade 7: 30ish male (best teacher I had in primary)

I must have been luckyish

Grade 1: old female
Grade 2: old female
Grade 3: 30ish and 40ish year old females (they split their time)
Grade 4: 40ish year old male
Grade 5: 50ish female
Grade 6: 50ish male
Grade 7: 30ish male (best teacher I had in primary)

I find it hard to gauge the ages of primary school teachers. when you're a kid everyone is either an adult or old.

my year 5 teacher was the youngest and I always assumed she'd be around 35 or 36. found her on facebook not long ago and she would have only been about 22/23 when I had her as a teacher.

I was busted early in year 11 reading the form guide out of the Herald Sun by my maths teacher. Preparing myself for a bit of a roast, I was pleasantly surprised when he was asked who I like in the races tomorrow. Turns out Mr Britt liked a punt also, and we had a good chat for the rest of that period.

For the rest of my days at school most Fridays Mr Britt would drop a Best Bets on my desk if he picked one up for himself. There was even a time when it was raised by one of the girls in the class in a friendly manner as to why I got favourable treatment in being allowed to leave class early, to which Mr Britt responded "if you convince me to put in a 10/1 pop in the quaddie on Saturday and it salutes Sarah, you too can have an early weekend on Fridays".

I still see him at TAB's around the traps 25 years later, and we still have a good chat about the horses when we cross paths. He's a good fella for a degenerate.

My year 10 English teacher was a ripper. He could talk all day and really knew how to keep the class engaged. Coolest thing though was his love for footy and his deep knowledge of the history of the game. He could recite every Brownlow medalist in order. Would just randomly give us stories halfway through a class about the history of the game. Learned a heap of interesting footy info thanks to him.
That's great but what does footy have to do with English? I'm sure there were plenty of people in class who didn't like sport.

Also some campaigner coming in and playing guitar? La la la this is a i-on, this is an a-tom... it's not fun at house parties where you're pissed and it's not fun at school. Self indulgence. Captive audience so use it to play guitar and show off your skills for hip points? Man.

I am a miserable campaigner but I probably only respected teachers who didn't want to be your mate: hard arse, down the line ****ers who didn't care if you were the prettiest girl in the class or the rebel – you all lined up, you all shut up, and you were all so shit scared to talk you had nothing else to do but your own work. Generally only works if you're 65 plus and look like a former coal miner come good but hey. This one teacher I had also took an out of character, incredible specky during one lunch time kick to kick. So there's that.

Various thoughts after scrolling through thread:

Had no idea in 1977 in Grade 2 how much of a babe my teacher was...didn't realise this until I saw the class photo only a few years back. She'd be in her 60's now...!

I was told only this term that I'm the only male teacher a significant number of my 7C music class have ever had...these guys all came from a particular primary school...

I used the pretty girl tactic on my shittest male student once...seating plan, sat him right next to her, and kept dropping lines to the entire class every lesson that if they wanted to stay in their location they had to behave and shut up...not a peep all term from young Matt...!

Right at this moment, it's movie night at the Gibbke household, and while watching Sing we've been coincidentally discussing with the six year old how annoying the phrase "like" is, and how she doesn't need to pick up the habit...!

Not sure if I can answer thread title as such, I just remember cool or inspiring teachers. I was absolutely devastated when my Grade 1 teacher (who wasn't as hot as the Grade 2 one but also nowhere near as bossy!) told me my reading was so good she never needed to hear me read to her again...! My home group teacher drove me home once when she realised how sick I'd turned in the last half hour of school, and that I was about to get on a bike and ride 15km home. My grade 8 Typing teacher (yes, that was an actual subject and his name - yes, he was a he - was Pitman...) used to terrorise us in class, a seriously intimidating man who played senior footy and tackled me once in the staff v students soccer match...still limping after 33 years. When I got my first teaching job, he was there on staff, and we got on great - on my last day, when I was leaving Tassie to move to Qld, he jabbed me in the ribs, handed me another beer (Launceston College had a huge fridge built into the wall in the staff room in 1995) and told me to get up to the GC and "root, pillage and plunder"...!

There were several uni lecturers who left an impression - the overbearing Yank conductor I chat to regularly on FB, a bass player lecturer who I've lost contact with but was a total pro (edit - I found out later he'd died some years before of cancer), and another bloke who taught a philosophical subject in Education - the most life changing subject I've ever taken. Seriously, he did one lecture in week 1, and there were no more - you just showed up to the tutorial each week, where he'd ask a question and you talked it through. It was all based upon value premises v factual premises, arguing through a topic, and it appealed to my way of thinking about things...he said my essay was the best he'd read in years.

never had a male teacher in primary school

only men on staff i remember was the principal, deputy, and the library guy

Explains your general lack of direction.