Corona virus, Port and the AFL. Part 4.

Welcome to the intersection of science and politics where you choose the science that agrees with your politics.

A bit like the border stuff. Mark McGowan yesterday claimed that SA opened too soon at 80% vaxxed ... the number that the Doherty Institute came up with and national cabinet then agreed upon. But Mark has his own scientists that he has cherry picked for his own political purposes and they say 80% is too soon and that 90% is the real number.
It looks like we are going to have less freedoms in our state than before we opened up as the contact areas increase.
Blocked from WA, having to isolate at the drop of a hat. Family member missed the Western hospital casual contact spot one by a hair’s breadth

So will the ex-premier be allowed to return home to WA for Christmas?

And don't tell me this is going well if Case 0 has not been identified yet (not publicly, just actually identified).
Cmon, there were only 47 people at the event, a game of Cluedo could be used to work out who it was.

And yeh I'm still fuming.
- Why didn't Tassie open up first with their higher vax rates?
- Why didn't the case that triggered Norwood get picked up earlier?
- Will the test match here go ahead?
- Who wants to start a sweep on when we have our first "accident" in Spencer Gulf when porting nuclear waste to Kimba and no one buys SA produce anymore cos LOL SA is Chernobyl now (not my opinion - mud sticks - our competitors will use it though)

Excuse me while I go find some clouds to yell at.

Oh and on being more vulnerable if overweight, unless they ****ing fall on someone the only person they are hurting is themselves, unlike some unvaccinated goose who spreads it to my vulnerable family members, including the one that is younger than me and in serious shit with Stage 4 cancer right now, don't even get me started on that.

ATAGI recommends no change to COVID vaccine booster program amid Omicron variant - ABC News
"But, [with] the general population, the advice from ATAGI remains a six-month gap between the second dose and the booster program. So, in summary — no change."

Does anyone remember that we did a deal with the UK to give them our December vaccines for their ones back in September October that were expiring.
Tell me that isn't why we are keeping it at 6 months for the booster.

Imagine if you said one day your implied (and actually explicit) constitutional right as an Australian citizen to move around the country you are a citizen of (note - state citizenship does not exist, states are imagined communities) would be unilaterally removed by some self important w***er like McGowan. It's literally a form of imprisonment and almost nobody cares because halth.

God you drama queens must have so little else going on

Without a hint of irony said by the guy who yesterday made 12 since deleted posts accusing OneGreatClub of all people of misogyny for a totally benign comment that nobody else thought anything of.

What?!
My posts were all deleted?!!

While you get to post incessantly about freedumbs and gubment bad man magna Carta?!!

Youse mods are as bad as that evil McGowan over in Perth!!! Tyranny. I'm a citizen of this site. Magna Carta!! No vaxine for tredders and his spiritual partner

Make that 13 :thumbsu:

I actually really liked that reply I wrote but I didn't know if all posts (including the original that caused my reply) were actually removed or if I was somehow blocked from seeing them, (like a modern social media app).

Either way, I never deleted any from that other thread🙂

Thought of an equally funny one anyway

What?!
My posts were all deleted?!!

While you get to post incessantly about freedumbs and gubment bad man magna Carta?!!

Youse mods are as bad as that evil McGowan over in Perth!!! Tyranny. I'm a citizen of this site. Magna Carta!! No vaxine for tredders and his spiritual partner

You're just a boring troll.

Emperor McGowan will graciously allow him to return to the fiefdom as he lives here but 14 days quarantine will be required.

Jay Weatherill is fully vaccinated and will have been in isolation and have been tested several times before he leaves SA. That probably entitles him to an exemption more than some right wing pollie who will not declare if he is vaccinated.

From the ABC...

Chief Public Health Officer Nicola Spurrier said on Thursday that, 'the state was moving from what was an elimination strategy to a suppression strategy'.
and that takes a bit of a mind shift for all of us, including my team in CDCB (Communicable Disease Control Branch),' she said.
'In the past we would have put huge numbers of people into quarantine and we would have listed public exposure sites … but we are in a different phase now that we've got a high number of people vaccinated in our community.' That includes not listing Oceanview College at Taperoo
as a public exposure site – even though the school has been closed and will stay shut until the end of the year.

The change in mindset is pretty sudden and dramatic and I have to wonder how much of the above is Spurrier and how much is Steven Marshall. If supression means they are not going to list exposure sites how will we know if we have been in danger? Do we simply go around infecting others until we develop symptoms and what if we are asymptomatic which seems to happen a lot with the Omicron variant. I suspect the biggest change in strategy is that Steven Marshall is now calling the shots and the days of listening the SA Health advice are gone.

From the ABC...

Chief Public Health Officer Nicola Spurrier said on Thursday that, 'the state was moving from what was an elimination strategy to a suppression strategy'.
and that takes a bit of a mind shift for all of us, including my team in CDCB (Communicable Disease Control Branch),' she said.
'In the past we would have put huge numbers of people into quarantine and we would have listed public exposure sites … but we are in a different phase now that we've got a high number of people vaccinated in our community.' That includes not listing Oceanview College at Taperoo
as a public exposure site – even though the school has been closed and will stay shut until the end of the year.

The change in mindset is pretty sudden and dramatic and I have to wonder how much of the above is Spurrier and how much is Steven Marshall. If supression means they are not going to list exposure sites how will we know if we have been in danger? Do we simply go around infecting others until we develop symptoms and what if we are asymptomatic which seems to happen a lot with the Omicron variant. I suspect the biggest change in strategy is that Steven Marshall is now calling the shots and the days of listening the SA Health advice are gone.

If you QR coded they will notify you so you don't need to be told.
If you didn't then you and anyone you come into contact with is at risk.

Luckily everyone QR codes all the time so no worries.

Welcome to the intersection of science and politics where you choose the science that agrees with your politics.

A bit like the border stuff. Mark McGowan yesterday claimed that SA opened too soon at 80% vaxxed ... the number that the Doherty Institute came up with and national cabinet then agreed upon. But Mark has his own scientists that he has cherry picked for his own political purposes and they say 80% is too soon and that 90% is the real number.
The Doherty modelling was done before delta. The federal government picked a number they were happy with and went with it. Same as WA really.

The SA Libs are already busy being the only state in the country refusing to make Christmas Day a public holiday, surely they're not going to commit political suicide twice in one day?

I've been very compliant since March 2020. I did everything they asked me to do, I am double-vaxxed. I am already booked for my booster. I wear a mask when I am asked to. I do my QR code checking. All of it.

A whole office of business partners in Sydney had to close down because someone had contact with someone that tested positive for COVID. The person that tested positive is double-vaxxed and totally asymptomatic. Only found out because he had to do a test to travel interstate. The guy I know, that was in contact with the COVID-positive guy is double-vaxxed. So is the whole office. They still had to close down. This is also happening in SA. Our office got lucky that someone that had been in contact with a COVID-positive person tested negative, otherwise I would be quarantining now. How is this better?

I really expected the SA government to manage this better. It doesn't help to say that we are not in "lockdown" while the exposure sites and the number of people in quarantine continue to raise. That was always going to happen. Are they expecting to control the virus like 18 months ago by quarantining everyone? A level of vaccination threshold was supposed to be the defining management measure. Now we are 80%+ vaccinated is time to get on with our lives. Stop chasing people, keep vaccinating and protect the vulnerable. It's time.

I am slowly going from super-compliant citizen to anti-government measures arseh*le. And so are quite a few people I know. The SA government need to find the right balance or they will have a very angry population come election time.

I've been very compliant since March 2020. I did everything they asked me to do, I am double-vaxxed. I am already booked for my booster. I wear a mask when I am asked to. I do my QR code checking. All of it.

A whole office of business partners in Sydney had to close down because someone had contact with someone that tested positive for COVID. The person that tested positive is double-vaxxed and totally asymptomatic. Only found out because he had to do a test to travel interstate. The guy I know, that was in contact with the COVID-positive guy is double-vaxxed. So is the whole office. They still had to close down. This is also happening in SA. Our office got lucky that someone that had been in contact with a COVID-positive person tested negative, otherwise I would be quarantining now. How is this better?

I really expected the SA government to manage this better. It doesn't help to say that we are not in "lockdown" while the exposure sites and the number of people in quarantine continue to raise. That was always going to happen. Are they expecting to control the virus like 18 months ago by quarantining everyone? A level of vaccination threshold was supposed to be the defining management measure. Now we are 80%+ vaccinated is time to get on with our lives. Stop chasing people, keep vaccinating and protect the vulnerable. It's time.

I am slowly going from super-compliant citizen to anti-government measures a-hole. And so are quite a few people I know. The SA government need to find the right balance or they will have a very angry population come election time.
Ys it does feel weird how withe supposed extra freedoms we will likely have less in the coming months..they really need to sort their shit out.
I and my family too, are extremely compliant.

Wowee, even some of the HALTH Warriors are even starting to see reason. There is no shame in admitting you were wrong.
If that is in reference to my post, I don't think I was wrong. Everything the government did until 23/11 I was fine with. The issue is what happens next. I am not saying we should've let it rip in March 2020. I am saying we should let it rip now, with sufficient vaccination. My position has always been cautious until sufficient vaccination rates were achieved. Which is now.

Don't feel vindicated mate, you are still barking up the wrong tree.

I am slowly going from super-compliant citizen to anti-government measures a-hole. And so are quite a few people I know. The SA government need to find the right balance or they will have a very angry population come election time.

Why do people think that we should be having less restrictions within SA because we've opened up borders with interstate?

By opening up the borders to other states we've increased the exposure risk for South Australians. So any basic understanding of risk management would indicate that you either hold the same level of restrictions, or you increase them to counteract that increased risk.

You don't go and increase exposure risk and drop restrictions, which increases spread risk at the same time.