Corona virus, Port and the AFL. Part 4.

I won't get any traction at all on this board (except maybe with Astro) but that's because what society values is whatever generates money. It's more of a philosophical discussion but I would say that quality child care/ aged care / teaching is more important and provides a better utility to society than say.. advertising. Yet one generates buckets of money so it's more highly paid. Pick and choose whatever industry suits. Nah stuff it this isn't the conversation for a sunny tuesdee afternoon.
Capitalism worked as it was supposed to when it was 'I'll build you a table for 3 donkeys' type transactions, as soon as some campaigner invented money they ruined everything.

Disagree. I used to work in NRM and while yes there are definitely plenty of farmers using modern methods and good environmental practices in my opinion they were definitely the minority still. But it could vary region to region.

Depends on how long ago you used to work in ag (I don't know what NRM is), things are changing very quickly in ag and the rate of change is even quicker.

The biggest conversations in big ag now are all around carbon credits, GHG emissions, water quality, regenerative ag and social license.

Depends on how long ago you used to work in ag (I don't know what NRM is), things are changing very quickly in ag and the rate of change is even quicker.

The biggest conversations in big ag now are all around carbon credits, GHG emissions, water quality, regenerative ag and social license.

4 years ago. This was mid North SA area. There were still a lot of Barnaby devotees.

With climate change those who don't adapt will end up failing anyway I spose. My experience with big Ag is limited this is more individual farmers/landholders I was talking about.

There is. To get into medicine or engineering you pretty much have to do the same science/maths types of subjects. Medical graduates are basically 50/50.

Engineering is different. Maybe women by and large don't want to be engineers? They simply chose not to be.

Girls are dominating year 12. They absolutely have opportunity. Nobody is telling them they can't do this or they can't do that. My daughters school consistently gets the highest ATAR results in the state. They definitely aren't told to be nurses or school teachers.

You are living in some imaginary construct of your own making.

I'm not sure this is making the point you think it is. Girls are dominating academically yet still they're paid 15%~ less than their male counterparts?
Doesn't that prove that something isn't working correctly?

Sorry I'm not sure what relevance this has to my post about scarcity being rewarded with wages in the job market? I wasn't trying to make some bigger point about capitalism in its current form being a perfect system if that's what you took from my post?
Because the idea that if you have skills and uniqueness you will get rewarded isn't true. People that have made it to the top or simply landed there by being born in to it, will do their everything to monopolise it rather than share the market, even if what you do is different enough to stand on its own.

Capitalism is greed.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

I'm not sure this is making the point you think it is. Girls are dominating academically yet still they're paid 15%~ less than their male counterparts?

They aren't though you dunderhead.

Does the woman getting paid to measure the ringbark in the old native forrest over the hill get paid 15% less than you?

No they are not.

They are entering in to workforces that might pay less, might be majority male workers, or industries where males exist in higher positions that might earn more, including the dudes at the top that have probably been there since the 70s when it was a man's world.

No woman is earning fifteen percent less than their direct male counterparts.

They aren't though you dunderhead.

Does the woman getting paid to measure the ringbark in the old native forrest over the hill get paid 15% less than you?

Bloody hell Papa it’s about average earning capacity over working life. No one’s arguing that barista with dick gets 15% more than barista sans dick. C’mon you’re not that dim.

Congratulations, you've missed the point entirely

No I haven't.

I realise I'm going cop the wrath of the Clique here, but Jordan Peterson, who on the whole I find whiney and irritating makes complete sense on this issue. There are a multitude of factors that go into the base "women on average earn less than men".

No I haven't.

I realise I'm going cop the wrath of the Clique here, but Jordan Peterson, who on the whole I find whiney and irritating makes complete sense on this issue. There are a multitude of factors that go into the base "women on average earn less than men".

What does Roe Jogan have to say on the matter is what I wanna know

I like how politics is literally boiled down to "what bothers you and what doesn't" and then assign your proportions to what bothers you the most and vote closest to that.

Conservatives are bothered by social progressives, who would have thought.
Nationalists are bothered by globalists, who would have thought.
As the right go further right, the left goes further left.
As the left goes further left, the right goes further right.

All because the more vocal and extreme, the more it bothers people and the more they want to fu** the sh*t up of the opposing side.

Just ******* vote based on your own life, experiences, wants and needs and who gives a sh*t what anyone else does. Majority rules you campaigners whether you like it or not, always will.

That is until you go to Afghanistan and get your head cut off by the 10% who bullied the 90%. Moral of the story is, always stand up for what you believe in and always exercise your right to vote, less you get ******* railroaded into oblivion. Don't like someone's opinion? ******* box them in the Maccas carpark for all I care but it sure as hell won't change anyone's minds.

So on that, I want to ******* box Ken Hinkley.
Kern is a bogan mate, a box on in the maccas carpark is his home ground.

Then again, having seen how Ken handles the home ground advantage, first round KO to the good doctor.

Bloody hell Papa it’s about average earning capacity over working life. No one’s arguing that barista with dick gets 15% more than barista sans dick. C’mon you’re not that dim.
A rational argument is not simply saying something something on average, that's a basic metric.

I can argue the average BMW uses more petrol than the average 70s American muscle car, because of all those fighter plane engines that BMW made in the world wars, but that's not a proper representation of which type of vehicle is more environmentally friendly, a modern BMW or a smokey and bandit car.

The most I've ever watched of Rogan was half an hour with Post Malone. For some reason I just wanted to see what Post was like. They where just drinking beer and smoking and talking. As I said, lasted about half an hour, saw it lasted for nearly 2, and said **** this and turned it off.

Bravey is just going around in circles in his argument, which tbh is a different topic to men vs women, it has been appropriately deconstructed to being far more nuanced than that, he even admitted that change isn't going to happen quickly, but he's still willing to nail his balls to its unchallenged righteousness that women are paid less than men, because of 'averages'.

Japanese Americans earn more than other demographics in the US on average, I suppose its a country that discriminates to anyone not hailing from the land of the rising sun.

Edit
Hmm having double checked this it's more complex than that, whaddaya know, but basically on one measure yes, they are still at the top.

Bravey is just going around in circles in his argument, which tbh is a different topic to men vs women, it has been appropriately deconstructed to being far more nuanced than that, he even admitted that change isn't going to happen quickly, but he's still willing to nail his balls to its unchallenged righteousness that women are paid less than men, because of 'averages'.

Japanese Americans earn more than other demographics in the US on average, I suppose its a country that discriminates to anyone not hailing from the land of the rising sun.

Edit
Hmm having double checked this it's more complex than that, whaddaya know, but basically on one measure yes, they are still at the top.

I forgot how this all started that was a few beers ago

It’s not the barista, hairdresser, Flight attendant that are going to show inequality. You think the one’s in power are that daft? You need to be talking people in really powerful roles to determine the inequality in renumeration.