News Coronavirus Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

I know you’re on the receiving end of a lot of old jokes, but how old are you Horace?

I only ask because I think in western society there’s a massive gap between generations that faced genuine hardship. It’s created a very self centred generation that has never had to sacrifice for what’s best for society.

Absolutely

I reckon the 1970’s were probably the last decade I remember where if you were down and out you were really down and out and we knew the value of Dollars and work

I'm struggling with the idea that people aren't being allowed to go to holiday homes.

Wtf not?

Apart from shopping and getting fuel (which could be managed) somewhere else how does it increase the risk of spread if people stay isolated there?

And that NSW pollie who is in shit for being in the same place he's been for weeks (or so he says) ... That's ridiculous unless he is being a dickhead in public.

I noticed “Lorne” was trending on Twitter last night. It started on the back of reports that Alexander Downer was holidaying there with his family.

Anyway, with my folks having a holiday house down there (which my brother and his family are self isolating in for weeks) I thought I’d skim through the comments.

Beyond the politically motivated ones the locals down there made it very clear they don’t want anyone from the big smoke coming down and increasing the risk to their families.

They were calling for all locals to find the holiday homes they knew were usually vacant, apart from the odd weekend or holiday period, and to take pics of the Audi/Range Rover/ Porsche SUV’s in the driveways and include the rego plates to out them to the cops.

They were livid.

I guess that’s where it stems from ferbs.

I noticed “Lorne” was trending on Twitter last night. It started on the back of reports that Alexander Downer was holidaying there with his family.

Anyway, with my folks having a holiday house down there (which my brother and his family are self isolating in for weeks) I thought I’d skim through the comments.

Beyond the politically motivated ones the locals down there made it very clear they don’t want anyone from the big smoke coming down and increasing the risk to their families.

They were calling for all locals to find the holiday homes they knew were usually vacant, apart from the odd weekend or holiday period, and to take pics of the Audi/Range Rover/ Porsche SUV’s in the driveways and include the rego plates to out them to the cops.

They were livid.

They will be able to tell based on water/electricity usage. They just need someone with loose lips in those service providers.

Absolutely

I reckon the 1970’s were probably the last decade I remember where if you were down and out you were really down and out and we knew the value of Dollars and work

I know you’re on the receiving end of a lot of old jokes, but how old are you Horace?

I only ask because I think in western society there’s a massive gap between generations that faced genuine hardship. It’s created a very self centred generation that has never had to sacrifice for what’s best for society.

can you both expand on this because i dont know what that experience was like. what have you noticed thats changed? what did sacrifice look like? what gave you that understanding of what a dollar was worth?

Horace is old enough to remember when Rome was sacked by the Gauls in the BCE era...

Thats ridiculous; I remember his anecdote about Sabre Tooth Tigers sneaking food from his cave. Grow up K4E.

can you both expand on this because i dont know what that experience was like. what have you noticed thats changed? what did sacrifice look like? what gave you that understanding of what a dollar was worth?

One example
A kid I knew had a cold every winter. Couldn’t afford the Dr. Constant chest infections with asthma. One trail of snot on top lip all winter. His brother was unhealthy he ate junk food all meals. He died of obesity at 40. Both had two sets of clothes for school and home and one good set for special events like Footy Presentation Nights.

There was no Welfare support around these boys and their families like there would be today. No Medicare. Just battlers. And we knew they had no money but they were just our mates. 40 years on I still remember them both.

They were livid.

Downer was on Twitter making a legit comment about staying put last night or something similar. And he’s meant to be in Lorne? Twitter is crazy place.

I'm surprised at how many people are dobbing in their neighbours. If people are self isolating in their own way, good luck to them.

Also loving people who are shocked about seeing other people going about their business, while they are out doing the exact same thing

Oh yeah... The key thing will be what they rename it. Coz if they don't blow the damn thing up, there's no way it's gonna have the turnstiles ticking over if they keep it named The Ruby Princess.

Any thoughts as to what a new name could be?
SS Minnow

They were livid.

Plenty down this way too, locals are similarly unimpressed.

I'm surprised at how many people are dobbing in their neighbours. If people are self isolating in their own way, good luck to them.

Also loving people who are shocked about seeing other people going about their business, while they are out doing the exact same thing
The contradiction is Harvey Norman wall to wall ads in today’s HUN

Casuals about to really feel it if they’re not already. That super policy is a slap in the face.
There are always going to be some that would miss out.

Love or hate Scomo he's knocked it out of park with the package the government has put together.

It's pretty much the best in the world.

There are always going to be some that would miss out.

Love or hate Scomo he's knocked it out of park with the package the government has put together.

It's pretty much the best in the world.

Agreed. The govt has worked with the unions on this. It’s the best if anywhere in the world it can be improved.

Victorian super spreader linked to dozens of virus infections

Health authorities are racing to try to stop 52 separate COVID-19 clusters now spreading through Victoria. At least four of the clusters have been linked to a super spreader identified and tracked down by the state’s pandemic detectives. The Herald Sun can also reveal three large weddings led to clusters of Victorians being infected with coronavirus.

Mounting evidence about the nature of coronavirus circulating within Victoria is also raising fears among public health experts that COVID-19 may be infectious earlier in many patients than they realise — potentially causing a wider spread of community transmissions than suspected.

Victoria’s Deputy Chief Health Officer Dr Annaliese van Diemen said the largest COVID-19 cluster has already infected 30 patients. But the 1000-strong team of contact-tracing health detectives was limiting the spread of clusters by imposing strict isolation on those closely connected. “This is the war of our generation,” Dr van Diemen said.

While typical COVID-19 patients only spread the virus to two or three other people, Victoria’s contact-tracing team has uncovered a so-called super spreader believed to be the source of dozens of cases. Although the Melbourne hospitality worker never developed strong symptoms himself, he was discovered when complex investigations into infections at three separate events revealed he had worked at all of them. A fourth cluster was also linked back to the worker, who had no reason to suspect he was infectious prior to the investigations.

“Initially we thought there was a cluster of cases who had all been to that venue on a particular night and we thought somebody in that place had it,” Dr van Diemen said. “A bit later there was another cluster from an event at the same place. Now there are at least three clusters linked to that venue and at least one of them has seeded off another cluster.”

Several other large gatherings have also been revealed as the source of multiple cases, including a wedding where 300 guests and staff had to be placed in isolation after eight guests became ill and tested positive.

Victorian super spreader linked to dozens of virus infections

Health authorities are racing to try to stop 52 separate COVID-19 clusters now spreading through Victoria. At least four of the clusters have been linked to a super spreader identified and tracked down by the state’s pandemic detectives.

The Herald Sun can also reveal three large weddings led to clusters of Victorians being infected with coronavirus.

Mounting evidence about the nature of coronavirus circulating within Victoria is also raising fears among public health experts that COVID-19 may be infectious earlier in many patients than they realise — potentially causing a wider spread of community transmissions than suspected.

Victoria’s Deputy Chief Health Officer Dr Annaliese van Diemen said the largest COVID-19 cluster has already infected 30 patients. But the 1000-strong team of contact-tracing health detectives was limiting the spread of clusters by imposing strict isolation on those closely connected.

“This is the war of our generation,” Dr van Diemen said.

While typical COVID-19 patients only spread the virus to two or three other people, Victoria’s contact-tracing team has uncovered a so-called super spreader believed to be the source of dozens of cases.

Although the Melbourne hospitality worker never developed strong symptoms himself, he was discovered when complex investigations into infections at three separate events revealed he had worked at all of them.

A fourth cluster was also linked back to the worker, who had no reason to suspect he was infectious prior to the investigations.

“Initially we thought there was a cluster of cases who had all been to that venue on a particular night and we thought somebody in that place had it,” Dr van Diemen said. “A bit later there was another cluster from an event at the same place. Now there are at least three clusters linked to that venue and at least one of them has seeded off another cluster.”

Several other large gatherings have also been revealed as the source of multiple cases, including a wedding where 300 guests and staff had to be placed in isolation after eight guests became ill and tested positive.
Doesn’t take much. At least they found the source.