Workshop Create a Random AFL Guernsey

Re: Create an AFL Guernsey

Good to see all the new designers here :thumbsu:

CTT, good work first up. There are a few little things that I see needing a bit of work, I will try to outline them as best as I can here.

Firstly, the back. I think I can see what you are trying to do here - have a black panel in which to place you number sits. Am I right?

As Gibbsy said, you should firstly choose a number that you can work with in your designs. Using the number template that I have in the tutorial, place this number/s onto the panel carefully, making sure they line up properly with no overhanging bits. The top of the numbers should line up with the top of the panel; same for the bottom. Use the magnifier tool if this helps you.

I would use white number on this black panel, simply because it contrasts better and is one of the team colours. Red is not really associated with Richmond, and is harder to read on a dark background. Fill in the bordering colour on the number black.

Next, I would get rid of the grey and black panels on the shoulders, i.e. make them yellow. These, I find, are unnecessary and draw away from the simplicity of the design.

Onto the front, and I see that you have neglected the Reebok logo in the neckpiece. You musn't forget to colour these in, as they are integral part of the template. I would fill in the lettering black, as well as making sure that the gaps between the "R", "e"s, "b" and "o" are in yellow.

The Dick Smith logo on the chest seems a bit disfigured - maybe try and find a new one?

The very top part of the right cuff on the front of the jumper seems to be in black - I'm sure this is unintentional, so just change that to yellow.

Make the effort to fill in the manufacturer's stripes on the sides of the shorts - here, you have left them grey when they should be a team colour, perhaps yellow. Similarly, on the back they are grey; you have also made some of the sections yellow on the back of the shorts. I realise these may look aesthetically more pleasing, but it is not how it works in real life and is therefore something you should look at changing to black, to fit in with the rest of the shorts. Again, the Reebok logo needs to be attended to, this time on the shorts. Maybe colour it white?

Well done on the socks - call me pedantic, but I notice that the second black stripe down on the right sock is smaller than the others. I would either redo the colouring in process or copy/paste the left sock over this right one to acheive the correctness and consistency that this lacks.

Other than that, a comendable job mate :thumbsu:
Many of these little errors can be avoided with a little time to look back over your design and analysing it. Common sense would avoid these little problems occurring in the future.

Thanks a heap.
My laptop screen is stuffed doing it was hard, but thanks for the tips :D.

G'day fellas, just a quick opinion poll needed.

I'm making a set of international guernseys, and while I'll put sponsors relevant to the country on the guernsey, I've always had in my mind to put a small flag thumbnail on the kit as well.

Just wondering whether the flag looks better on the breast or short?
I'm going with one of the two, here's how they'd look:

27xnhv4.png

dtd3k.png

I saw Bartel's one - wish I did Fantasy Footy, I'd make a good one :p

It's not bad. The logos are a bit off but I prefer the flag on the chest actually.

Thanks CTT

I know but it's one of his first
designs.

Off-Topic
If you want to join Fantasy Footy Geelong Gumbies will take someone like you. Don't let the name fool you, we're serious.

G'day fellas, just a quick opinion poll needed.

I'm making a set of international guernseys, and while I'll put sponsors relevant to the country on the guernsey, I've always had in my mind to put a small flag thumbnail on the kit as well.

Just wondering whether the flag looks better on the breast or short?
I'm going with one of the two, here's how they'd look:

27xnhv4.png

dtd3k.png
I like it on the breast gibbsyspin

This one I made is an away jumper for Lions with the new logo.
20rpoh2.jpg

Comment about the tapered sashes PLEASE!
Also comment about anytheing.

Here's my favourite one.
Took me a while to do.
2vn2j4m.png

Logo Coming soon.

Feedback? What should I improve on?
I'm going to expand on this and move them to Hobart/Launceston.

Great job and I only have one little problem, which I noticed on your last guernsey as well.

The #11 is a bit left of centre, and I suggest you fix it up because if you do, well I reckon it's close to perfect :thumbsu:

EDIT:
Sorry mate, looked harder and found a couple of other things :eek:

The Coke logo on the clash is left of centre compared to the home one which is fine.
The AFL logo on the clash is moved up a lot farther then when it should be, might wanna change it so it is like the home.

The lines on both, a couple are a little bit wonky and go over the edges, but that's easy to fix up.

The yellow on the home collar looks to be a different colour to the yellow on the clash - intentional??? :confused:

Once again, I'm sorry to go off topic.
Can you create a thread when you're an Apprentice?
I asked because I've been thinking of creating a comp. called:

HJOTW
(Heritage Jumper of the Week)

I'm still a Newbie.

I want to create it so:
NOBODY COPY MY IDEA!!!

Once again, I'm sorry to go off topic.
Can you create a thread when you're an Apprentice?
I asked because I've been thinking of creating a comp. called:

HJOTK
(Heritage Jumper of the Week)

I'm still a Newbie.

I want to create it so:
NOBODY COPY MY IDEA!!!
Sorry I dunno the answer to your question about Apprentices starting a thread.

If you do start I wouldnt start a new comp until the new year, to give everyone a rest from comps over summer. AGOTW has 3 teams left after St. Kilda is finished and there have been sugestions that KOTW finishes up at the same time, I dunno whats gonna happen with it though because InCase (KOTW organiser) has gone to America and is not going to post anytime soon.

Also there was talk that HodgeSlamminSamBox wanted to start a comp to create crossovers (AFL/NFL one week then AFL/NBA the next), but LeeArm has created a thread to just submit crossovers and get feedback on them, so I dunno whats gonna happen with that comp. I might try to get HSSB's permission to start something like that if he doesnt.

Also make it Heritage Guernsey of the Week (HGOTW) because the "J" looks odd in the abbreviation

Great job and I only have one little problem, which I noticed on your last guernsey as well.

The #11 is a bit left of centre, and I suggest you fix it up because if you do, well I reckon it's close to perfect :thumbsu:

EDIT:
Sorry mate, looked harder and found a couple of other things :eek:

The Coke logo on the clash is left of centre compared to the home one which is fine.
The AFL logo on the clash is moved up a lot farther then when it should be, might wanna change it so it is like the home.

The lines on both, a couple are a little bit wonky and go over the edges, but that's easy to fix up.

The yellow on the home collar looks to be a different colour to the yellow on the clash - intentional??? :confused:

Thanks a lot.
I'll change it when I get time(can be stuffed), all that sound quite easy.

Edit: Fixed most of it 'cept the afl logo got it as good as I can :p
11l3bkk.png

Sorry I dunno the answer to your question about Apprentices starting a thread.

If you do start I wouldnt start a new comp until the new year, to give everyone a rest from comps over summer. AGOTW has 3 teams left after St. Kilda is finished and there have been sugestions that KOTW finishes up at the same time, I dunno whats gonna happen with it though because InCase (KOTW organiser) has gone to America and is not going to post anytime soon.

Also there was talk that HodgeSlamminSamBox wanted to start a comp to create crossovers (AFL/NFL one week then AFL/NBA the next), but LeeArm has created a thread to just submit crossovers and get feedback on them, so I dunno whats gonna happen with that comp. I might try to get HSSB's permission to start something like that if he doesnt.

Also make it Heritage Guernsey of the Week (HGOTW) because the "J" looks odd in the abbreviation

KOTW will return in the new year - if not sooner. I have my mac here, so I do have internet. I may start one, may not, probably will. Watch this space.

Can you make the start date around the start of the AFL season. Smeagle wants a break and I would like to try out his MS Paint tutorial and try to perfect that aswell as do some of my own things. If you do start onther KOTW my suggestion would be to start one on Monday and make it to design a jumper that a team would wear on Christmas Day, then have a Break and start again next season. :)

Workshop Create a Random AFL Guernsey