Cricketers you have met

• Thread starter Thread starter aflcliche

I have met quite a few players but some lasting memories.

When I was around 12 (1985) went to a summer cricket clinic held at Scotch College. Doug Walters taught me how to play a forward defence while I held his beer and he did so with a ciggy in mouth. I doubt that would happen in these times.

Gilly is held in high esteem in the area where I played cricket in England. He played for Richmond(Uk) when he was about 18 and used to sleep by/under the roll on covers to protect the pitch from being vanderlised.

Met Brett Lee, Glenn McGrath and Andy Bichel who were queued up behind us at a barbados night club. My mate just trying to make friendly conversation said to Bichel him he must have been wrapped to get lara out", Bichel snubbed him to the embaressment of McGrath and Lee who were personable and friendly.
[YOUTUBE]ARE4RDqARNk[/YOUTUBE]

Richmonds a great area as well!

Mick Lewis waved to us once when our primary school went to watch a day of the Pura Cup!!! :)

My uncle was able to get Steve Waugh to sign his latest tour diary for my birthday at a Pura Cup match around the same time (with the personalised dear whoever, etc, etc, Tugga Waugh). Meant/s the absolute world to me.

Matty Wade
Adam Crosthwaite
Shaun Tait
Duval from tassie
mick lewis
aiden blizzard

all top fellas.

Served a drink to Devon Malcolm at the WACA one year when he was leading a tour group. Was copping heaps of "no neck" sh*t but took it in his stride.

Surely that was Gladstone Small?

small_gladstone_wideweb__470x335,0.jpg

not Devon Malcolm

??
pg-12-lewis-pa_176526t.jpg

I met Graham Yallop at a few coaching clinics when I was 14 a few years back. He complimented my off-spin bowling. Seemed like a nice enough bloke from what I could gather.

I remember Shane Warne signing autographs out the back of the nets area in Bellerive. I was only about 13 or so. He had been signing them for ages, and just as I got to the front of the line, someone told him they had to go back in. I pleaded for one more autograph, and Warney obliged, and signed a few more as well. Seemed like a really good guy from that one incident which I'll remember for some time.
Maybe Hillfy should take a leaf out of Warnies book and learn how to sign a few autographs for the kids. Was at the match yesterday and would not even acknowledge the kids hanging over the fence and trying to get his attention. Noticed he was the only bowler who wouldnt!!!!!!!! Prick!
Note to Hillfy!......................sign the autographs for the kids ********, youre a fringe player at best, and you will be chasing them for an autograph very very soon.

Met quite a few cricketers, mostly around the mid/late 90s.

Clinic
Damien Fleming: Great guy, exactly as you see him on tv today. Told me my bowling grip was "bizarre"
Keith Stackpole: Absolute gentleman. Great with the kids and more than happy to chat away with the parents (my dad was a big fan of his back in the day, and they chatted at length while I bowled in the nets)
Alan Connelly: See above. Although not quite as outright NICE as Stacky, still a pretty good bloke.

Autograph hunting
Steve Waugh: I can confirm what many here have said. I wouldn't say he was a w***er, but definitely grumpy and short-tempered. He had a line of (albeit impatient) kids waiting for his autograph, and he bluntly said if the pushing and shoving didn't stop, he'd go. Also in the dressing room were Mark Taylor (chewing gum for a change), Mark Waugh (picking his nose) and Bevan (picking his toenails). It was a classy look.
Jamie Siddons: Was playing at the Dean Jones tribute match, and (inbetween chatting up some bird sitting at one of the onfield tables) got some autographs on the fence and chatted for a bit. One of my mates said to him "Must really hurt going back to Adelaide after this" and he just laughed. He then proceeded to drink a glass of champagne with this girl before having to field a ball on the boundary.
Bill Lawry: After Victoria won the one-day comp, we sat outside the dressing room waiting for Deano and others to come out, when all of a sudden Bill walks out with a massive shit-eating grin on his face. A very happy man, more than happy to hang around and chat. Only time he got annoyed was when a couple of yahoos came out with "Got him yes! Piss off you're out!", but he kept his cool. His nose is HUGE.
Curtly Ambrose: Talk about terrifying. Was always one of my favourites and I really wanted his autograph. Occasionally the crowd would get into him a bit, and he'd simply turn around and glare at them. Suffice to say they all stopped pretty quickly. Here was a guy who loved people's perception of him, and delighted in entertaining. When he actually speaks, he's a very pleasant guy, but still intimidating.
Dean Jones: HUGE tosser. My enduring memory of him was practically running past a group of supporters with the one-day trophy in hand, throwing it in the back seat, and speeding off. It's one thing to gently turn down requests from fans, but he did everything short of giving them the finger.
Richie Benaud: Richie was a nice guy, and kindly agreed to sign an autograph for me, but I feel only (after turning down others) because I didn't muck around, and just went in and asked. Nice guy, but very direct, and I get the feeling, doesn't suffer fools.
Inzamam Ul-Haq: Playing a tour match against the Vics one year, came out and signed autographs past the rope. He'd just carted a ton and obviously poor ol Inzy was too "tired" to go out and field. Very nice guy and great sense of humour.

Work Experience
When I was in high school I was lucky enough to do a week's work experience at Channel 9. One day I went out on the road with Michael Roberts (very angry young man, and not a very high opinion of Tony Jones) and we went to the Hilton where the Aust A team was staying. It was a big deal because it marked S.Waugh's return from injury and the team itself had some pretty good players (this was also the day Andrew Symonds declared his loyalty to Aust over England). Roberts was doing his thing, talking to players, while I was standing in the doorway just taking up space (at one stage blocking Tim Watson). All of a sudden I hear "G'day mate" in a real stoner-like voice, and sitting right near the doorway was Matt Hayden, holding out his hand for me to shake it, and a massively vacant look on his face. I think he had a big night the night before because he wasn't very coherent.

Family
My grandmother used to babysit Boony when he was a kid. So one time when I saw Boony (after he told me to bugger off) I mentioned her name, then suddenly he decided to come over and have a bit of a chat. She'd passed away by this time, and when I told him this he went a bit quiet.

My mum was in England earlier this year, at Ascot, and met Brian Lara. She said he was an absolute gentleman and sat with her group for a good hour chatting away. She also met Stuart Broad there, who she said was pleasant.

My dad used to play cricket with Simon Davis.

PS. Not cricket related, but still relevant IMO. Best professional sportsman I've ever met was without a doubt Nick Faldo. After Greg Norman basically fobbed me off that same day, I got doubly annoyed when my pen ran out when Faldo tried to sign. He was then mobbed by more kids (he was #1 in the world then IIRC), and I gave up and walked off. After a couple of minutes I hear someone call out my name, and there was Faldo chasing me down with a brand new pen. He posed for a photo with me as well (which my dad took) and shook both our hands. It's something I'll never forget.

Received a bunch of autographs at a training session before the 3rd Test 1997/8 vs. South Africa at AO when I was 10. Two things will always stand out for me.

Ian Healy sat in the member's stand with a line up of kids in front of him and signed something for every single kid. Because of this I find it impossible to dislike him on TV no matter how bad his commentary is.

While SKW was signing something for me I told him that my dad had a cigarette with him outside a hotel the previous year to which he replied "That's really interesting, buddy". It only clicked many years later that he was taking the mick.

Geoffrey Lawson, walking down Clarence st in Sydney

I yelled out "HENRY!"

He went : "yeh yeh yeh..." <- I get that a lot

At an autograph signing at the Perth Royal Show about 1999 or thereabouts I met an unknown Western Warrior player signing autographs on the players poster, he pointed on the poster, 'thats me' I gave him the :confused: stare.

He said: 'thats me' again

I went: "Who?"

Him: "Mike"

Me : :confused:

Him: Mike Hussey

Me: Don't worry, I wouldnt know me either :o

Saw Michael Clark pushing his kit bags through Sydney Airport just after the recent Sri Lanka series.

I said nice ton Clarkey to which he smiled and said cheers mate. I guess that makes us friends.

The closest I've ever got to meeting a cricketer was seeing Simon O'Donnell in the food court area at Sydney Airport a couple of years ago.

I've met Gillespie, Ben Edmonson, Stuart Clarke and Shaun Tait on occasion, only player I've talked to was Andy Bichel in a shield game a few years back. I was only 12 at the time but he didn't mind a conversation while he was fielding on the boundary. Quite a nice bloke.

Got Billy McDermott's autograph when he came to open an indoor cricket arena in Adelaide.

Jason Gillespie at the " Vic "......wasn't up for a chat.

Scammed Greg Chappell's autograph at the " Holdy " for my dad......Ian was my old mans fave and he gave me a " what the **** is this shit " look when i gave it to him.......knob

... only player I've talked to was Andy Bichel in a shield game a few years back. I was only 12 at the time but he didn't mind a conversation while he was fielding on the boundary. Quite a nice bloke.

My nephew (Rocket 23) and I were at a Boxing Day test a few years ago and he ran into Bichel outside the Aussie change rooms waiting for an ambulance as he broke his thumb. He was extremely chatty and was very inquisitive when talking to Rocket. Must be an amazing bloke.

Back in 1984 the West Indies were playing Country Vic in Echuca and my Sister's brother-in-law was captaining Vic and he brought Desmond Haynes around for our Sunday roast. He was very gregarious and friendly and me and my other step-nephew just couldn't take our eyes off him.

Had a few ales with Michael Atherton one night at the old South Yarra Saloon and he was very pleasant to talk to. Was on his own and up for a shout too! :thumbsu:

richie benaud - absolute gentleman, got to shake his hand and got a photo with him at the SCG in 2001.
justin langer - when he was in the academy, i got to bowl at him in the indoor nets at adelaide oval. even though i was only 12, he didn't treat me any differently than he would anyone else, proceeded to belt me mercilessly. except for one ball that i somehow managed to turn sharply that clean bowled him! (still the highlight of my cricketing career)
viv richards - very laid back, easy to talk to. loves telling stories
rodney hogg - twat, has a "i'm better than you" vibe about him
darren lehmann - good lad, loves nothing more than talking cricket over a beer and a dart
gus logie - he came to do a coaching clinic at my school many about 20 years ago, seemed pretty cool

Was bored and wandered into Bellerieve a few years ago to see the tigers train before an upcoming game and was walking around and this stubby little fat guy is heading towards us and it was Boonie having a ciggie.

We said gday Boonie and he just looked and puffed smoke into our faces and kept walking.

We saw Mark Ridgeway the same day and he stopped for a chat, think he was happy to be recognised.

Met Shaun Young once, at the launnie show from memory, for some reason they had a net up and you could face him for an over.

He was just putting balls through the bowling machine though, so may as well not be him.

Lived over the road from Michael Farrell (anyone know him ?) saw him have a massive car crash once.

Never spoke to him, but Damien Fleming and his daughter would sit in the silver reserved seating area at Hawthorn home games for at least the last two years about five rows away from me. He was always pretty much one of the guys and nobody (that I could see) ever bothered him as a former test cricket and media personality. I always found it a bit odd that he wasn't at least a gold member.

Served Desmond Haynes at a Northbridge restaurant back in the 80s when the Windies were in Perth.

This was in the middle of a test with Haynes due to bat the next day. Out for the night with a choice blonde. Dessie looked pretty relaxed about the whole thing.