Cupes 11

• Thread starter Thread starter windyhill

eastaugh36 said:
Best comp outside the AFL. Sure O'Connor won a Magarey but for every player like that there is a Shane Tuck and a Josh Francou.

That's debateable and it is still a second rate competition. Or Paul Thomas.

Longy413 said:
That's debateable and it is still a second rate competition.

No debating it is 2nd rate as it obviously isnt up to the standard of the AFL. We beat the vfl over there so we are at least on level footing with that league and as far as atmosphere goes it is ahead of the vfl by a mile. (Not that that's got anything to do with the standard of football) :)

Those state games aren't a great indication of the strength of the competition.

Half the blokes playing in the VFL on any given week aren't eligible to play.

Merv Neagle said:
I'm not sure what was going on behind the scenes but the reason from a footy point of view that he was dropped was a lack of comittment on matchday and at training.
Refused to work on his defensive side and it's a shame as he has a lot of talent.

Agreed MN. And come on JG, you know he deserved to go. And I reckon he's great - just a lazy **** in reality.

windyhill said:
3 years at Essendon. Year One, brilliant. Year Two, Write off due to injury. Year Three, in, out, in , out. Played off bench , when let on, told to win game, one mistake, dropped.
"Good bloke policy" Nice one Sheeds.
I must have missed this year when he was "brilliant". He was good in 2003 but there were a lot of flaws in his game, that year should have been a stepping stone to becoming a fully rounded player who found more of the ball, was far better defensively, and kicked more important goals than he had a habit of - most of his 39 goals were junk time goals, or goals when it was all going his or our way, not many when things were hard. That said it was a good year, but it should have been a solid foundation to move forward and become a better more complete player - sadly injury and a lack of commitment struck hard.

Has a lot changed? It looks like, at a glance, his best bags are against the bottom teams.

If he really were able to change his ways then I wouldn't mind him coming back, but there would have to substantial evidence over a sustained period of time of improvement in physical conditioning, mental application, and results.

Longy413 said:
Not sure you need to take skinfolds to know a bloke is overweight.[/QUOTE

You think Dean Rioli and Richard Cole look to be in a fair paddock? When has Dean Rioli had acceptable skinfolds during his career? I agree with your take on Cupido, Longy but Rioli and Watson were not in acceptable AFL shape for the last couple of seasons and have got by because of their surnames as much as anything IMO.

geez some of u people dribble **** cupido kicked 11 goals for south adelaide in the SANFL and vast and a few others who think its a sub standard comp have no idea.......i live in adelaide and love the bombers but i can assure u that the SANFL is a far better comp than ure VFL ........as for cupido yeh hes a lazy player and he will probably quit south adelaide sometime next year due to a lack of passion or something.......

People question the SANFL when Ryan O'Connor wins a Magarey, and just look at Cupido's results in the SANFL compared to his results in the VFL. Anyway I don't really care, as far as I can tell they're approximately of similar level - all this Vics on one side, Croweaters on the other is garbage.

bomberrob said:
geez some of u people dribble **** cupido kicked 11 goals for south adelaide in the SANFL and vast and a few others who think its a sub standard comp have no idea.......i live in adelaide and love the bombers but i can assure u that the SANFL is a far better comp than ure VFL ........as for cupido yeh hes a lazy player and he will probably quit south adelaide sometime next year due to a lack of passion or something.......

The AFL is the best comp in Australia. That makes the SANFL a sub-standard comp (just like the VFL is). I didn't think it was that difficult to understand.

bomberrob said:

I love the SANFL, and consider myself very lucky to have two clubs I have such a passion for in 2 comps, but Longy is right, AFL is the elite, anything else is sub-standard. Although, I know what I'd be more scared of playing for physicality - SANFL.

bomberrob said:
the SANFL is a far better comp than ure VFL

are you kidding me, we have far more players from the AFL playing, which is the best comp in the land. Dont give us this 'oh we beat you last year' c*ap, it was one game, that doesnt mean your better than us. the VFL is a far greater comp, with a higher class of players

koc#41 said:
are you kidding me, we have far more players from the AFL playing, which is the best comp in the land. Dont give us this 'oh we beat you last year' c*ap, it was one game, that doesnt mean your better than us. the VFL is a far greater comp, with a higher class of players

What constitutes a greater comp? That is the question. For me, tradition,atmosphere and old fashioned footy are major factors. You have 10 AFL sides who field their reserves in the vfl, whereas we only have 2 AFL sides who's extras play in the sanfl. So obviously there is no argument there. But...... tradition,atmosphere,old fashioned tough footy and the fact we aren't just looked upon as a feeder comp to the AFL, that is more than enough for me. The quality and quantity of victorian players who leave the AFL system and choose to come to the sanfl over the vfl is getting more impressive by the year. The SANFL is well and truly alive and kicking thanks very much.
:thumbsu: :)

eastaugh36 said:
What constitutes a greater comp? That is the question. For me, tradition,atmosphere and old fashioned footy are major factors. You have 10 AFL sides who field their reserves in the vfl, whereas we only have 2 AFL sides who's extras play in the sanfl. So obviously there is no argument there. But...... tradition,atmosphere,old fashioned tough footy and the fact we aren't just looked upon as a feeder comp to the AFL, that is more than enough for me. The quality and quantity of victorian players who leave the AFL system and choose to come to the sanfl over the vfl is getting more impressive by the year. The SANFL is well and truly alive and kicking thanks very much.
:thumbsu: :)

The VFL has a far better class of players, and is played at a better standard.
The SANFL by far has the greater tradition as it has been the same for so many years, while the VFL has not been in its same format throughout its history.

There was clearly more going on behind the scenes than any of us know.

I don't think his delisting was at all due to his "in-out-in-out" status in 2005. It was clearly due to other off-field issues, and he surely would have been given 3-4 chances, yet kept stuffing up. Apparently this off field stuff (commitment issues mainly) was the same when he was at Brissy.

I look at the way he plays and I want him on the list. But unless you are in the inner sanctum, none of us can have a meaningful opinion on the matter.

Cupido was a party boy. Was sighted on more than one occasion attending such fine establishments as Q-Bar and 161 til all hours of the early morning, obviously under the influence of something a little more than alcohol. The melbourne nightlife did him no favours.

He and his mate Haynesy spent the night of their delisting at Next Blue getting stuck right in, which was a true testament to their commitment to reviving their lost careers. Cupes had serious commitment issues, something the dons didn't need, nor need now especially in our present climate.