Customer Complaint

Had a pisser of a transaction yesterday.

Bloke came in to the branch, put $500 on the counter, wanted to deposit it into his account. Whilst I was reaching for his receipt. He's grabbed the money and pissed off.

I've just simply re-opened his account, taken the money back out, and charged him $2.50 for an over the counter transaction. So not only do the police now have his details, but he's $2.50 worse off than when he came in.

Haha, that's great. :thumbsu:

I bet the dude's celebrating with some Woodstocks and Winny Blues thinking how clever he is.

Pension day is hell when you work in a supermarket. Especially when the line managers take thier sweet arse time coming to help you when you've asked for assistance. meanwhile I'm stuck with a growing line of smartarse oldies. One especailly who when I serve him and ask how he is he replies "I'd tell you but you wouldn't like me." If only he knew I didn't like old people to begin with.

I was just about to knockoff one day when a guy comes up to be served. I tell him that I'm closed for the day and he gets all huffy and remarks "If I said that to my customers I'd be out of business!" and storms off. Yeah, nevermind I have to go get a bus to take me home to my place the next town over and if I don't hurry I'll miss it and be stranded for an hour. Jerk.

My favourite though was Christmas eve. A blond girl and her boyfriend came to my checkout with a few items. Some ladyfinger bananas amoung them. We were told in training that If you're unsure of what something is you try asking the customer as they should know what they're buying. So I ask her "Are these ladyfingers?" to which she replied "No, they're Bananas!" and gives her boyfriend a look like I'm the idiot. I hope she was good in bed for his sake.

I worked at Coles for about 2 years and pretty much had a good record in customers, thankfully.

My recent job working mainly at the Footy at the register a fair bit has had some great moments.

Firstly I love the people who will order several portions of food and when you tell them how much it is they go "Jeez thats a fair bit", they then hand you over a $50 and look at you as if you were the one who makes all the prices.

My favourite story was when I was working in the back cooking up some of the food and we got a bit busy so I decided to go to the register and help out, the first guy I got orders a bucket of chips, I bring it to him and he says these aren't cooked, so I am like "Ummm I was just back there and I know they are cooked mate", he then goes "Nah there not, there all yellow and stuff", so I continue to state there is nothing wrong with them while he says there is, I finally crack and say "Are you gonna pay for it or not?", he says "Not if there like that", so I go "Next" to get the next person up to serve and he goes "Alright I'll buy the chips, but can you change it over for a better bucket?" and I'm like "You have a perfectly fine bucket of chips right here, ok?", and he goes "Nah change it over", so I can just see the same thing happening only me ending up punching him in the face, so I just chuck the chips back where they were and go around the back to the kitchen.

Loved the look on his face when I went back to the kitchen and peaked around the corner at him, to have him point at me like "Are you gonna serve me?", and me just ducking back!:DPRICELESS

I worked at Coles for about 2 years and pretty much had a good record in customers, thankfully.

My recent job working mainly at the Footy at the register a fair bit has had some great moments.

Firstly I love the people who will order several portions of food and when you tell them how much it is they go "Jeez thats a fair bit", they then hand you over a $50 and look at you as if you were the one who makes all the prices.

My favourite story was when I was working in the back cooking up some of the food and we got a bit busy so I decided to go to the register and help out, the first guy I got orders a bucket of chips, I bring it to him and he says these aren't cooked, so I am like "Ummm I was just back there and I know they are cooked mate", he then goes "Nah there not, there all yellow and stuff", so I continue to state there is nothing wrong with them while he says there is, I finally crack and say "Are you gonna pay for it or not?", he says "Not if there like that", so I go "Next" to get the next person up to serve and he goes "Alright I'll buy the chips, but can you change it over for a better bucket?" and I'm like "You have a perfectly fine bucket of chips right here, ok?", and he goes "Nah change it over", so I can just see the same thing happening only me ending up punching him in the face, so I just chuck the chips back where they were and go around the back to the kitchen.

Loved the look on his face when I went back to the kitchen and peaked around the corner at him, to have him point at me like "Are you gonna serve me?", and me just ducking back!:DPRICELESS

you're the reason checkout chicks get a bad name, just give him what he wants and stop holding up other customers mate. can see you're a champion of customer service:thumbsd:

Technically it was the customer that was holding everyone up with his ridiculous complaints, either buy what you've been offered or don't it's as simple as that.

obvious you don't work in sales or customer service, most of these ********s aren't right but why waste time going into battle with them? what does it prove other than you're the "king of the burger grill".
it's not as simple as that, if it was there would be no-one with any difference of opinion. give the clown what he wants and then get him out of there, fair dinkum hiding behind the kitchen corner and peaking back at him! if the customer gets extremely pissed off then he asks for a manager, if the manager doesn;t satisfy it then the customer contacts "head office" and usually someone like me will get the call and think why the **** don't we just give this moron what he wants and get rid of him, get back to the job.
for $12 an hour this clown has just made "burger boy" work twice as hard for his money. get em' in and get em' out.
it is as simple as that.:rolleyes:

obvious you don't work in sales or customer service, most of these ********s aren't right but why waste time going into battle with them? what does it prove other than you're the "king of the burger grill".
it's not as simple as that, if it was there would be no-one with any difference of opinion. give the clown what he wants and then get him out of there, fair dinkum hiding behind the kitchen corner and peaking back at him! if the customer gets extremely pissed off then he asks for a manager, if the manager doesn;t satisfy it then the customer contacts "head office" and usually someone like me will get the call and think why the **** don't we just give this moron what he wants and get rid of him, get back to the job.
for $12 an hour this clown has just made "burger boy" work twice as hard for his money. get em' in and get em' out.
it is as simple as that.:rolleyes:

So if you were the next person in line would you yell at the server or the customer for wasting your time? I know which one I'd be having a go at.

50 50 call mate but personally from my experience as a Woolworths Deli Assistant, just give the customer what they want, its not like they're asking you to make them another cup out of origami. I'm not saying the customer is right but why argue with them that it's a perfectly good cup, they might of seen you put it somewhere they think is dirty. In the amount of time it takes you to argue with them how fresh and clean your products are, you could of actually helped out those front people and served more customers instead of making the queue bigger.

I've worked as a Deli assistant for about 4 months now so I've had my fair share of stupid customers. Here are some of my most hated type of customers in no particular order:

1. Customers that use more than one staff to serve. Who do they think they are? They ask me to get them a chicken then ask one of my mates to serve them olives and so on.

2. Customers that put their hands up when its not even their number you called out. Enough said.

3. Customers that yell out and demand more staffs. Great idea :thumbsu:, why didn't we think of it before? I'll just press this magic button and 10 more staffs will appear from the back.

4. Customers that call out to you to serve them when you're cleaning something or restocking products. There were about 4 staffs working today and about 4 customers. Three were already serving and the other customer demanded the other guy stop cleaning the slicer, take off his rubber gloves, go wash his hands, so he can get served. Be a bit understanding mate, it's not like we have robots that cleans for us, shave meat, and restock items.

5. Customers that can't speak English. I don't have anything against people who can't speak English and points to items and just states a number but there are exceptions. One time I had this lady that kept pointing to chicken thighs and so i packed them and weighted and priced them. Only AFTER doing that, does she shake her head and points to the chicken drumsticks....

6. Customers that pay too much attention to detail. One old lady kept asking me to weigh two ham bones (they're around 2 bux each) to see which one had more meat. She looked at the weight then took them off me, eyed them then told me to weigh them again. I do it and she looks at them again and keeps asking me which one has more meat and I tell her what I think but she's still not convinced and kept asking me to weigh it while looking at the ham bones as if she's deciding on a new car. FFS...

7. Customers that take the quote 'customer is always right' way too literally. Ok I agree sometimes we make mistakes (we are humans afterall) and they have the right to get angry but some of the claims they make are ridiculous. One Scottish man usually comes to our store every week and abuses the female staffs directly in their face. So when he came this week, I went to serve him and he doesn't dare abuse me, he ordered 3 kgs of bacon and wanted them in one bag. So I do my best for him and he left seemingly happy...an hr later, a check out chick came to me and told me some Scottish guy complained about me for folding the bacon in half when I wrapped it. It's 3 KILOS and he told me to put it in one bag what the hell was i supposed to do, sticky tape 10 paper wraps together for him? Unbelievable...

Don't get me started about my previous job at KFC....

some Customer Complaints not all, are due to big business cut backs eg coles and safeway not enough staff,more work with the same amount or less staff.
than the year before being asked to put a chain saw thou your roster when your already struggling to get everything done to store policy but still you have to nice to your customers

Customers ****ing suck.

I wish you could negotiate somewhere in your contract that you can abuse 5 customers per year. No holding back. So you can save them for those really annoying whinging customers and just tell them to SHUT THE **** UP, YOU HAVE NO ****ING RIGHT TO COMPLAIN. DON'T TAKE IT OUT ON ME BECAUSE YOUR AN OLD SHRIVELLED UP LONELY COW. YOU'RE THE TYPE OF PERSON WHO KEEPS TELEMARKETERS ON THE PHONE BECAUSE YOU HAVE NOBODY ELSE TO TALK TO. NOW **** OFF AND LEAVE ME ALONE.

Sorry, I just had to let that out.

5. Customers that can't speak English. I don't have anything against people who can't speak English and points to items and just states a number but there are exceptions. One time I had this lady that kept pointing to chicken thighs and so i packed them and weighted and priced them. Only AFTER doing that, does she shake her head and points to the chicken drumsticks....

An expansion of this is as a checkout operator people who don't give you a clear answer when you ask them questions. eg.
Me "Would you like this in a bag?"
Then they either mumble something or say something like "Thats fine" which can mean either yes or no.

That earlier story about someone wanting a fuel discount voucher makes me remember a shocking customer one night at Coles. It was late at a 24hr store but a few people were around buying small items, but this one customer had a few items but kept stopping and paying everytime it hit $30, the poor women serving just turned to everyone behind them and apologised even though it wasnt her fault

People who don't look at what they're signing, and then crack the shits when something isn't what they wanted.

Withdrawal slips. People who can't speak English. They just potentially sign their life away, and then crack the shits when it's a different amount to whatever it is they said.

You signed for it. Not my problem.

This one lady today came in looking for a refund. So my teammate processed the refund, and went to put it back on her account, a cheque account. When the girl asked her for her pin, she started arguing, claiming there was no pin on her account. After ten minutes of arguing and several trips in and out of the store, she suddenly realised that yes, her cheque account does have a pin! Idiot.

Then five minutes later, I served a guy with a strong South African accent. He handed me his new savings card and asked in all seriousness "So if I hand this to you, and you swipe it, and I put my pin number in... does that mean the money comes out of my savings account?" Idiot!

One time I served an Asian lady with a kid. She first handed me a bunch of stuff out of her trolley, initially it came to around $200. She had these large objects in her trolley which she couldn't lift, so I scanned them from behind the counter. I was surprised when I saw the transaction was now worth about $205 as I knew the value of the stock that I just just scanned was well over $300, in addition to the stuff she'd just handed me. Turned out she had ripped the barcodes off bolts worth a buck or two and had carefully placed them over the real barcode. I backtracked through the transaction and she had done the same trick to over $700 worth of other stuff. The disgusting thing was that her daughter, who was about 10 years old, was in on it too.

But I can't complain, a week ago I took three bites of my cheeseburger before I realised it had no bacon, which I had paid extra for. The woman in the counter accused me of taking the bacon out. I told her I didn't care what she thought, so she made me another one, making sure everyone in the que knew just how much of a dishonest prick I was. I just like bacon :(

That earlier story about someone wanting a fuel discount voucher makes me remember a shocking customer one night at Coles. It was late at a 24hr store but a few people were around buying small items, but this one customer had a few items but kept stopping and paying everytime it hit $30, the poor women serving just turned to everyone behind them and apologised even though it wasnt her fault
So many people do this and it's so frustrating. They're only worth about $2 each anyway. It's the worst when you forget because you're talking to them and when it hits $50 they're like "Wait, what are you doing? I told you $30".

I also find the ones who pretend it isn't for the fuel voucher funny, citing work or "a friend" as the reason for asking me to stop just after I hit the $30 mark.

Customers ****ing suck.

I wish you could negotiate somewhere in your contract that you can abuse 5 customers per year. No holding back. So you can save them for those really annoying whinging customers and just tell them to SHUT THE **** UP, YOU HAVE NO ****ING RIGHT TO COMPLAIN. DON'T TAKE IT OUT ON ME BECAUSE YOUR AN OLD SHRIVELLED UP LONELY COW. YOU'RE THE TYPE OF PERSON WHO KEEPS TELEMARKETERS ON THE PHONE BECAUSE YOU HAVE NOBODY ELSE TO TALK TO. NOW **** OFF AND LEAVE ME ALONE.

Sorry, I just had to let that out.

I hear you big time. I would so love to say "PI$$ OFF - I DON'T CARE AND GET A LIFE"
I work as a Receptionist and get some of the biggest morons/nuff nuffs in town calling in on non work related matters. Once had a feral mother come into the building with her 3 feral brats wanting to use our loo - now i don't want to sound mean - but really, her kids are not my problem and there is a public loo downstairs in the building anyway. She cracked it when i told her i couldn't let her & her brats wander thru the company's office and to use the loo downstairs.

The business type people who call are fine, tho do get the odd rude one but no biggie.

My parents own a sporting stadium that mainly caters for inline hockey (sort of like ice hockey, but on roller blades). We have sell some hockey equipment too, including skates. Often we are mistaken for just a skating rink, but we haven't had general skating sessions for about five years and people have trouble understanding this sometimes.

One time I had a lady call up looking to buy a pair of roller blades. I told her we only have skates specifically for hockey and asked for what purpose she wants to buy skates. As expected she replied for fitness and that she would be skating in public places (St.Kilda beach, bike tracks etc.) I told her that the skates we have are more expensive than what her needs require and also that the wheels on hockey skates are very soft and would not last long on outdoor surfaces. I told her two other nearby places that she could buy recreational skates from and gave her the phone number for them.

For some reason she continued to ask more questions despite the fact I've already told her that I can't really help her. I was being pretty helpful and was explaining the differences between hockey and recreational skates and that she can get skates that better suit her needs for a cheaper price at those two places. I also said she's more than welcome to come in and try some hockey skates on, but stressed that she would be better served with a different product. I could've been a prick and gone for the sale, but I was giving her honest and helpful advice.

This is where things get interesting. She plays the cancer card. Yep, she was recovering from chemo and told me that the stress I was putting on her was not assisting her recovery. What the ****?! First of all, at that time one of my best mates and my three year old cousin were both getting treatment for leukemia that neither of them were meant to live through (thankfully they both did) so it wasn't exactly something I wanted put on me. I had already explained to her in an easy way to understand why our shop isn't exactly what she needs and was helping her save money. What did she expect me to say when she played the cancer card? "Oh, that's different. Cancer patients in hockey skate won't have their wheels destroyed on asphalt surfaces." More realistically it could have been, "Well cancer has a habit of re-occurring so you might as well piss your money up the wall."

I remained polite though and even gave her the contact names of people at the other shops that could help her and even went as far as giving a mobile number of one of them just to try and get rid of her. I don't even know what she was trying to do. I told her she was more than welcome to come and try hockey skates on. More than anything it seemed like she was sold on the recreational skates but didn't want to make a phone call to another place. I finally got her off the phone and she bloody well rang back and was hoping to talk to someone else because she was saying, "I was just speaking to someone else about buying some skates and he wasn't very helpful." I just replied that she was talking to me and had to once again explain that we don't have the skates that she's looking for, we never will and that she is more than welcome to come and try on what we do have in hockey skates.

It was pretty normal as far as an annoying customer goes, but to try and guilt trip me for no reason when I was being very honest and using my years of experience in dealing with skates to help her out was cold as ice.

This is where things get interesting. She plays the cancer card.

This always makes me sick. I've had that said to me (or other kinds) so many times it is ridiculous. Just because you have/had cancer doesn't mean your exempt and the rules change. Can you steal a car if you have cancer? I don't think so. Last time this was used on me I hung up on the person, I have no tolerance for it. It was about their wine not being there after 2 days (again normally 3-5 working days). I explained this again, we went around in circles for a good 5 minutes. Then out of nowhere "I had cancer you know?". She wasn't getting it her way, so thought she would try and make me feel guilty. **** that, I hung up on her. There's no need for it.

One of my pet peeves, up there with those who pull the pensioner card - nothing worse than a whiney "but I'm a pensioner and I should get discount" when being told the regular price for an item. What, does that mean pensioners should get discount when buying a house?? FFS!!!! Not only old age ones try it on, even the welfare witches.

three cheers for the BF humanitarians:rolleyes:

If you were a car salesman and a guy who beat cancer came in, would you give him a car for free? Or a massive special offer?

There's no ****ing need to drop it randomly in the middle of a conversation in order to gain sympathy because things aren't going their way. It's absolutely weak.

If we were just talking and it happened to come up, then of course I would have sympathy. But not when they are just using it to get something.

People who use the cancer card, especially over the phone, probably haven't ever had it and are just using it to save a quick buck or pull a guilt trip. From my experience, a person who actually has/had cancer would never use it in that way.

people who have cancer i find usually never bring it up, as they are usually embarressed about it as there is a stigma attatched to it and as such want to keep it private, though people talk so people find out eventually, so i tend to find that people who bring it up are just blow hards wanting attention.

If they do actually have cancer then so be it but i won't be guilted into feeling sympathy for you just because you have cancer, your not unique (1 in 3 people will get somer form of cancer) your not funny (unless you have a bald head then you a funny looking) and your not smart (so you have skin cancer do you? shouldda put on the sunscreen and not spent 5 hours a day in the tanning beds ya dumbarse) so excuse me you whinging, balk headed freak... I have to deal with a customer with REAL problems....like that girl with the huge boobs, damn they look heavy, i'm sure she had back problems, poor girl lemme help you with that......want some D!ck???

50 50 call mate but personally from my experience as a Woolworths Deli Assistant, just give the customer what they want, its not like they're asking you to make them another cup out of origami. I'm not saying the customer is right but why argue with them that it's a perfectly good cup, they might of seen you put it somewhere they think is dirty. In the amount of time it takes you to argue with them how fresh and clean your products are, you could of actually helped out those front people and served more customers instead of making the queue bigger.

I've worked as a Deli assistant for about 4 months now so I've had my fair share of stupid customers. Here are some of my most hated type of customers in no particular order:

1. Customers that use more than one staff to serve. Who do they think they are? They ask me to get them a chicken then ask one of my mates to serve them olives and so on.

2. Customers that put their hands up when its not even their number you called out. Enough said.

4. Customers that call out to you to serve them when you're cleaning something or restocking products. There were about 4 staffs working today and about 4 customers. Three were already serving and the other customer demanded the other guy stop cleaning the slicer, take off his rubber gloves, go wash his hands, so he can get served. Be a bit understanding mate, it's not like we have robots that cleans for us, shave meat, and restock items.

Don't get me started about my previous job at KFC....

Working Deli I feel your pain.

5 is my biggest hate though, although 1 and 2 rate pretty well too.

What i hate is a Saturday arvo when we have to half price stock, all the scabs come in and try to buy everything simply because it's reduced while actual customers who would have bought the product regardless have to wait in line for the scabs to empty the cabinet. :thumbsdown: