D2 Section 2010

Gee its Friday already so better get the tips done

Great comp going this year with some good close results

GE v Eltham - GE to continue their good form in a close game
Parade v Bentleigh - Tipping parade to cause an upset at home this week. They must have a win to get the year back on track
Therry v STL - STL to just get over the line in a tough game. TP look like they have turned over a few players to find some form
Banyule v OWB - Banyule by 15 goals, far to strong against an underdone OWB
Prahran v SMS - Prahran to keep SMS winless and in relegation territory. This game might be a lot closer than we think

Good luck to all sides this week, play hard & fair

Gee its Friday already so better get the tips done

Great comp going this year with some good close results

GE v Eltham - GE to continue their good form in a close game
Parade v Bentleigh - Tipping parade to cause an upset at home this week. They must have a win to get the year back on track
Therry v STL - STL to just get over the line in a tough game. TP look like they have turned over a few players to find some form
Banyule v OWB - Banyule by 15 goals, far to strong against an underdone OWB
Prahran v SMS - Prahran to keep SMS winless and in relegation territory. This game might be a lot closer than we think

Good luck to all sides this week, play hard & fair

Looking forward to some great matches today:
Old Eltham vs Glen Eira
Old Parade vs Bentleigh
Therry Penola vs Emmaus St Leos
Banyule vs Old Westbourne
Prahran vs St Mary's Salesian

Wow some interesting reults!

SMS opened the 2010 account against Prahran, good win for the SMS lads away from home! What happened to Prahran?

Therry had another good win, they look to be up and running now which is good (I take back my tip as them for the spoon)

2 other massive wins for Eltham and Banyule and OP a good win against Bentleigh!

This is a very very tight competition, anyone can win on their day, great comp in 2010!!!

Was out at Eltham yesterday and watched a very one sided contest. Credit to Eltham, they look a very handy outfit this year and should be up there in the estimates come seasons end. Glen Eira were bloody awfull to be honest and really seam to lack leg speed right across the board. Got shown up badly on the big ground. Having said that, teams always look slow when beaten by 15 goals.

Phew we're on the board (sms that is). Thought we had forgotten how to win there for a bit but good to see both the ones and twos chalk up there first win and lets hope we start to string a few together. Seems to be a very even comp at the moment with Banyule being the team that has impressed me the most so far of the teams we have played. What are other people thoughts on this?

Guru out!

Guru good win mate, glad you got the board (to good a side to be 0-4)

Can you give any insight into Prahran? They lost to Bentleigh round 1 by less than a goal then touched up the highly fancied Banyule pretty comfortably & then they beat an in form Eltham @ home by 4 goals and then lost to you by 5 goals (not taking anything away from you blokes at all)

Did you guys just hit your straps and play good footy or were they average?

I think we played for more than our usual half of footy that we have been playing and got off to a good start which helps. Also we had cam armstrong back who although he's a midget makes the boys walk a bit taller so hopefully we get more than one game out of him as he has been a big loss in the early rounds.

guru out!

Article from localfooty.com.au

"Bentleigh chalks first loss of season

A HORROR head-clash between teammates marred Bentleigh’s first loss of the season in VAFA Division 2 on Saturday.

Shane Fergus and James Robertson suffered broken noses when they banged heads in the third quarter of the game against Old Paradians at Garvey Oval.
The Demons lost by eight points after hitting a flat spot after the incident.

Kyle Swinden was best for Bentleigh, gaining valuable support coming from Scotty Lawry and Andrew Lee.

Bentleigh was held to a single goal in the third term as the Raiders booted four of their own.

The Demons fell off the top of the ladder to third following the loss.

Bentleigh will look to rebound next Saturday for club legend Chris "Shooter" Sharp's 250th game. Sharp has been with Bentleigh since 1993 following a stint with VFL side North Ballarat"

Well done to shooter on a fantastic career and good luck for this weekends game, a terrific achievement. :thumbsu:

Very quiet on here. Tips for this week.

Banyule v ESL. Big game for the animals if they lose they are 1 - 4. Banyule see to be rolling along nicely and I expect them to win this one. Banyule by 6 goals

Bentleigh v Eltham. This should be a cracker. Going for the home side by a kick and to move back into second spot. Bentleigh by 4 points

Therry v Prahran. Therry to notch 3 on the trot. Therry's form other than the round 1 match with Banyule has been spot on. Therry by 35 points

Sms v Glen Eira. Glen Eira play their home gound well but face stiff opposition from an ever improving SMS. SMS by a kick.

Parade v Old Westbourne. Parade to get 2 in a row and account for the warriors easily. Parade by 97 points

The way some results have been so far this year I might but better off doing the tips on a Sunday! However:

Banyule to account for ESL and force a bit of panic into the animal's season.

Match of the round I would suggest Eltham just getting over the line against Bentleigh.

Not sure how much to read into Prahran's loss last week but will pick them to bounce back in another cracker against a form side in Therry.

SMS will gain confidence from last week and get over GE by 5 goals.

Parade will continue Westbourne's slow start to the year.

D2 results continue to go anyway, are injuries a big factor or are some teams just matching up better against each other

Tips for this week

Banyule v STL - going on current form Banyule by 60 pts in a solid away win

Bentleigh v Eltham - The home side to bounce back in a hrad fought game game by 16pts

Therry v Prahran - Therry to continue their great form and have a big win at home by 80pts

Glen Eira v SMS - SMS to double up on last week on a very ordinary GE. SMS in a close one 9 pts

OWB v Parade - Parade to have a solid win away against what seems to be an under prepared OWB unit. Parade by 40 pts

The wet weather could change things up a bit and we could see some big upsets

Good luck to all teams this w/e

Therry v Prahran - Therry to continue their great form and have a big win at home by 80pts

HAHA WOW 80 points?

I'm going with the following

Banyule by 2 goals will be a close one
Eltham by 1 goal (flip a coin for this one)
Prahran JUST....going by the results should be a great game
SMS by 4-5 goals
&
Parade by plenty (50 points)

Good luck to all

My Tips.

Banyule - With Davey Gayfer being the general down at CHB and Hash Brown up forward they should get past ESL pretty comfortably..ESL are missing young Beluzar, hopefully he is back soon.

Eltham - Showed good form last week and I think they mite get up by a kick.

Therry - Will win in a class one over Prahan who were very dissapointing last week over a bottom placed st marys. All credit to therry who are doing well now even after the departure of corey bannister.

St Mary's Salesian - Have to many quality players who will be looking to make it 2 in a row..They will get up by 3 goals. Liam Kelly there captain must be stopped.

Parade - to win by a kick..David Spithill is having a superb season.

:thumbsu:

My Tips.

Banyule - With Davey Gayfer being the general down at CHB and Hash Brown up forward they should get past ESL pretty comfortably..ESL are missing young Beluzar, hopefully he is back soon.

Therry - Will win in a class one over Prahan who were very dissapointing last week over a bottom placed st marys. All credit to therry who are doing well now even after the departure of corey bannister.

St Mary's Salesian - Have to many quality players who will be looking to make it 2 in a row..They will get up by 3 goals. Liam Kelly there captain must be stopped.

He kicked 4 in the 2's last week. I would say he would be playing 1's this week.

My Tips.

He kicked 4 in the 2's last week. I would say he would be playing 1's this week.

I'd be shocked if he didn't play 1's this week..

My Tips.

Emmaus St Leos vs Banyule
Bentleigh vs Eltham
Therry Penola vs Prahran
Glen Eira vs St Marys Salesian
Old Westbourne vs Old Paradians

Is the 4 starting to take shape?

Banyule
Bentleigh
Therry
Eltham.

Prahran look to be the next best. They knock off the Eltham and Banyule then haven't won since.

Glen Eira will be dangerous on their ground but that will be tested this week against Banyule.

Parade can't win away from home.

Old Westbourne are to inconsistant.

St Leos and St Marys are better than what they are showing.

Yeah I noticed that Cam Armstrong did not play on Saturday against GE, might have been the difference to get St Marys over the line I reckon.

Is he injured or not available Griff, I noticed he played last week?

Is the 4 starting to take shape?

Banyule
Bentleigh
Therry
Eltham.

Prahran look to be the next best. They knock off the Eltham and Banyule then haven't won since.

Glen Eira will be dangerous on their ground but that will be tested this week against Banyule.

Parade can't win away from home.

Old Westbourne are to inconsistant.

St Leos and St Marys are better than what they are showing.

Norm i reckon you are on the right track but with the way a lot of results have gone this year i think it is too close to call. The top 2 teams seem to be way ahead of the pack with the next 4 weeks crucial to the shaping of the top 6 sides for the rest of the year.

I was lucky enough to swing past JP Fawker to see the last 1/2 of TP v Prahran. Therry looked very quick and went direct while Prahan seemed slow and were pushed out very wide.

Anyone have news on the OWB win?

Parade would be starting to worry where their season is going

Yeah I noticed that Cam Armstrong did not play on Saturday against GE, might have been the difference to get St Marys over the line I reckon.

Is he injured or not available Griff, I noticed he played last week?

He is only available for us limited time this year.... unfortunately.

Can anyone get a gauge on Glen Eira's form? Been good in patches and bloody awfull in others. I know they had pretty high expectations going in this season after picking up a number of quality recruits, however so far the new boys have either been injured or less than impressive. They've underestimated the loss of Chris Massis and Ryan Clarke and so far haven't been able to gell effectively.

Not really surprising that Banyule and Therry are travelling well so far. They've both been there abouts for the past few seasons in D2 and missed promotion so would be very hungry to move up this season.

Tips for round 6:

Eltham by a goal - with ballard and beluzar back, this will be a lot closer than some would suggest..ESL are always hard to beat at home, and guys like ant hickey ( having a super year ) barranello's brother's will be pivotal if they are to cause an upset.

Bentleigh should get up over SMS by 3 goals...the combine have played better than there bottom position suggests and could cause an upset in the D3 grand final re match but the dees should have a bit too much class..Swinden is having a good year, and guys like Fridman who has played experience at higher grade football, along with wills, robertson will need to be stopped. Don't no a great deal about st mary's but the stevens brothers have been good this year. Liam Kelly has been dominant as club captain.

Parade by 2 goals, im think at home they mite be able to pull of a win over Therry who are in very good form...at the start of the season I thought Parade may be a big chance to get promoted but they seem to be relying on too few, Boundy, Spithill are having good years and club legend Peter Brabender is still hard to stop. Congradulations also to Boundy on being named in the VAFA squad to take on AFL Sydney. How has donaldson been going at Therry ?

Banyule by 4 goals over Glen Eira..I'm looking forward to getting down to packer park to watch this one..Glen Eira had a good win last week, and are always hard to beat at home..The contest between Andrew Spink and Dave Gayfer should be a beauty, Spink has been named in the best players every game while at the other end I think that browny will be too hard to stop for Glen Eira's defenders..Banyule is a well skilled unit and have given the browndogg (should win the league goal kicking) some great delivery which has seen him kick 20 goals this year. Mark Dimashki kicked 5 last weekend so if he can kick a few more then you never no, but the bears should get over the line..

Old Westbourne by 6 goals over Prahan..Prahan started like a house on fire defeating my mob, but have lost to SMS and Therry in recent weeks..Chris Hudson is back in form, and there ruckman (blonde hair) gives first use to the likes of pavez who has had some super games.

5 rounds have blown by very quickly and it the ladder seems to be sorting itself out...I think Banyule are the best side in the comp but Bentleigh are young, quick, well drilled who are chasing just behind..At the other end, ESL and SMS would want to get a move on, I am a little bit worried about Prahan and I think Westbourne are going upwards, very hard to knock of out hoppers way..

Anyone want to have a crack at there possible team of the year after 5 rounds ? It is very early but good topic for some friendly debate..:p

Tips for round 6:

Eltham by a goal - with ballard and beluzar back, this will be a lot closer than some would suggest..ESL are always hard to beat at home, and guys like ant hickey ( having a super year ) barranello's brother's will be pivotal if they are to cause an upset.

Bentleigh should get up over SMS by 3 goals...the combine have played better than there bottom position suggests and could cause an upset in the D3 grand final re match but the dees should have a bit too much class..Swinden is having a good year, and guys like Fridman who has played experience at higher grade football, along with wills, robertson will need to be stopped. Don't no a great deal about st mary's but the stevens brothers have been good this year. Liam Kelly has been dominant as club captain.

Parade by 2 goals, im think at home they mite be able to pull of a win over Therry who are in very good form...at the start of the season I thought Parade may be a big chance to get promoted but they seem to be relying on too few, Boundy, Spithill are having good years and club legend Peter Brabender is still hard to stop. Congradulations also to Boundy on being named in the VAFA squad to take on AFL Sydney. How has donaldson been going at Therry ?

Banyule by 4 goals over Glen Eira..I'm looking forward to getting down to packer park to watch this one..Glen Eira had a good win last week, and are always hard to beat at home..The contest between Andrew Spink and Dave Gayfer should be a beauty, Spink has been named in the best players every game while at the other end I think that browny will be too hard to stop for Glen Eira's defenders..Banyule is a well skilled unit and have given the browndogg (should win the league goal kicking) some great delivery which has seen him kick 20 goals this year. Mark Dimashki kicked 5 last weekend so if he can kick a few more then you never no, but the bears should get over the line..

Old Westbourne by 6 goals over Prahan..Prahan started like a house on fire defeating my mob, but have lost to SMS and Therry in recent weeks..Chris Hudson is back in form, and there ruckman (blonde hair) gives first use to the likes of pavez who has had some super games.

5 rounds have blown by very quickly and it the ladder seems to be sorting itself out...I think Banyule are the best side in the comp but Bentleigh are young, quick, well drilled who are chasing just behind..At the other end, ESL and SMS would want to get a move on, I am a little bit worried about Prahan and I think Westbourne are going upwards, very hard to knock of out hoppers way..

Anyone want to have a crack at there possible team of the year after 5 rounds ? It is very early but good topic for some friendly debate..:p

From who we have played:

Therry - McWhinney (chf), Harding (ruck)
Prahan - Sleight (ruck and forward), Stewary (forward), Busster (onball)
SMS - Singh (best player in the comp at the moment), A.Dwyer (forward), West (on ball)
Old Westbourne - Hudson (ruck / forward), Johns (wing)
St Leos - Belazar (forward - great player), Hickey (half back - got injured on the w/e)

Haven't seen the other teams this year so can't comment.