D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)

Re: D4 Section Ammos

The full forward biff is talking about is in the 2's - A. McLaren kicked 11.1

Although FF of the seniors is the coach of the seniors, mind u he is not so overweight these days, lost a fair few Kg's!!!!

Albert Park did actually look pretty good, had some handy talls... I wouldnt write them off as yet

Was very surpised to see the 2's won by 120 points and arent in the top 4, obvouisly not good enough, u need 2 have a % of 16,500% plus top be on top of the Sharks 2's who were horrible last year.....

Richmond well done, it puts ???????????? over Nth Brunny's head

Will be good to see this papaluca kid next week (yes he was Mill Park junior) i dont think the postage stamp of a ground @ St Marys will suit him

Can anyone give info on new sides to D4 -
Sth Mornington
Mt Lylidale
UHS-VU
St Marys

I can't believe Richmond won. Did Richmond pick up a few players or are North Brunswick the new whipping boys? Looks like my predictions were right that North won't improve.

Eltham look the goods again. Nothing will stop Johnny Garrard this year:thumbsu:

Spy you sound like the scribe from VAFA record...ummmmmmm...lets see if what you wrote turn up next week on the record...fellas i think i'm onto something here about who Spy really is...
Very astute observation JP. You show some qualities that could be wll served in a fast paced thinking midfield. Nellup seems to have a similar capacity in the decuision making area. An admin role beckons Nellup with plenty of writing and cards. Eyesight is not a requirement in such position.

I can't believe Richmond won. Did Richmond pick up a few players or are North Brunswick the new whipping boys? Looks like my predictions were right that North won't improve.

Eltham look the goods again. Nothing will stop Johnny Garrard this year:thumbsu:

UHS v Syndal was a close tough affair - great to see contested footy, differant from the rubbish we see each week on TV.

UHS have picked up a number of players, especially midfielders who run hard and dont mind getting their hands dirty, and a couple of taller forwards. Well coached by Scott who provides them with a focal point up forward - dont let Scotts size/bulk fool you, they isolate him and one on one very dangerous and quick on the lead.

UHS players to impress were Watts, Gorringe other in team honest who never faltered - credit to UHS committee after last year this club is on the right track.

As far as Syndal goes a couple of lapses in concentration cost us, but the young players will learn from that and be better for it.

Congratulations to all winners and for the rest of us its only round 1.:thumbsu:

Regards

Manny

Ouch.... bit of a headache....

Did a little celebrating last night after the Centrals first win in nearly two years :)

Great game, and fantastic to get off to a winning start!

"Oh we're from Central land...."
:cool:AND OFCOURSE THE UMPIRING WAS EXCELLENT AT THAT GAME WASN'T IT BIGWAZ;)

:confused:WOULD HARDLY CONSIDER A 6 POINT LOSS ENOUGH TO CALL NTH BRUNNY
"WHIPPING BOYS" ROBBIEFLOWER,AS FAR AS IMPROVEMENT GOES BOTH SIDES IN THIS GAME SHOWED A GREAT DEAL OF IMPROVEMENT IN MANY SKILL AREAS,IT WOULD BE A VERY FOOLISH COACH WHO TAKES EITHER OF THEM LIGHTLY:D

:confused:WOULD HARDLY CONSIDER A 6 POINT LOSS ENOUGH TO CALL NTH BRUNNY
"WHIPPING BOYS" ROBBIEFLOWER,AS FAR AS IMPROVEMENT GOES BOTH SIDES IN THIS GAME SHOWED A GREAT DEAL OF IMPROVEMENT IN MANY SKILL AREAS,IT WOULD BE A VERY FOOLISH COACH WHO TAKES EITHER OF THEM LIGHTLY:D

Don't worry about Nth Brunny Robbie. We didn't play any practice matches so it was the first time we played together.

There's no reason to talk about umpiring, it'll be like that all year and it didn't favour any side.

For everyone else, watch out for no.11 for Richmond, he's bloody tall and has good hands, but thats where it stops. He'll try and pass it off. Caught me off guard a few times.

Going back to the game on the weekend, it was a good arm wrestle and i think the crowd enjoyed it. The slab to GazBats was awesome, thanks BigWaz!:D

I'll have a crack....

UHS-VU def. Syndal
Box Hill North def. South Morn.
Eltham def. Albert Park
Bulleen def. Eley Park
Richmond def. Nth Brunswick (some bias here perhaps)
St Mary's def. Mt Lilydale

So all the home teams to win except the lilies.
I dont think there are any upsets to be had this round, except maybe richmond, but I'm not sure if that's an upset or not?

5 for 6... not too bad... but Bulleen must have dropped off a fair bit from last year? How good are Eley parks reserves? The centrals got their only win the twos against them last year and that doesn't say much for Bulleen, unless Eley Park picked up a dozen senior players.

165-1? What happened?

5 for 6... not too bad... but Bulleen must have dropped off a fair bit from last year? How good are Eley parks reserves? The centrals got their only win the twos against them last year and that doesn't say much for Bulleen, unless Eley Park picked up a dozen senior players.

165-1? What happened?

We've got a very young ressies side many of whom played their first game in open age footy on the weekend. We also fielded 16 players with 10 or so not available either through work commitments or pending applications with the VAFA. With injuries we had 14 on the ground for the second half. Not offering excuses for the loss but I reckon we'll be a bit better with a full side.

165-1? What happened?

We had around 10 new guys in the reserves this week, a few who will probably play seniors some stage soon.

After being on the receiving end of similar defeats last year it was a great way to kick off the year. The good news is that a number of players returning for next round will only strengthen the depth.

Hope to see Bulleen get the numbers up soon, they're a great bunch of guys and it's never good to see a side run out short.

We've got a very young ressies side many of whom played their first game in open age footy on the weekend. We also fielded 16 players with 10 or so not available either through work commitments or pending applications with the VAFA. With injuries we had 14 on the ground for the second half. Not offering excuses for the loss but I reckon we'll be a bit better with a full side.

Figured that must have happened...

Don't worry about Nth Brunny Robbie. We didn't play any practice matches so it was the first time we played together.

There's no reason to talk about umpiring, it'll be like that all year and it didn't favour any side.

For everyone else, watch out for no.11 for Richmond, he's bloody tall and has good hands, but thats where it stops. He'll try and pass it off. Caught me off guard a few times.

Going back to the game on the weekend, it was a good arm wrestle and i think the crowd enjoyed it. The slab to GazBats was awesome, thanks BigWaz!:D

Yeah I must agree with my teammate here....

NTh Brunny will come good. A lack of match fitness due to not playing any praccies was telling....Not to mention our inefficiency infront of goals....(17 behinds, many from within 30 metres of goal)

12 new faces in the senior side so it took us till half time to gel and start looking like a team...

but excuses aside, Richmond came out focused and committed and really got the jump on us....They ran harder, used the ball better and were tougher in the clinches...Im new to D4 so didn't play them last year, but it would be safe to say they are a much improved outfit.....

Congrats to Bigwaz and the boys...a thoroughly deserved win.

Bring on Syndal this week......

Turtles definately look the goods this year! Some very handy inclusions!

Albert Parks website lists a bunch of injuries from their senior list. Hammies, collar bones, shoulders... and they apparently finished the game with only 16 on the field... So, while they might struggle for the next few rounds, they wont be nearly as bad as the result this week suggests. Maybe the turtles aren't quite that good either. Anyway, it remains to be seen.

We were hit pretty hard by injuries from mid way in the first quarter, finished with 16 on the field but about 14 fit. No excuses we were pretty compeititive until the last quarter.

Dont worry the turtles were good, this week will be the tester, St Mary v Eltham, have heard enough about St Marys to think they should be playing in the AFL so for there sake lets hope they live up to their own hype.

Great win to Waz, good to see that finally your great team off the park have some sucess on it, always a bunch of good blokes down there, see you in round 4!

We were hit pretty hard by injuries from mid way in the first quarter, finished with 16 on the field but about 14 fit. No excuses we were pretty compeititive until the last quarter.

Dont worry the turtles were good, this week will be the tester, St Mary v Eltham, have heard enough about St Marys to think they should be playing in the AFL so for there sake lets hope they live up to their own hype.

Great win to Waz, good to see that finally your great team off the park have some sucess on it, always a bunch of good blokes down there, see you in round 4!

Thanks mate, cant wait!

Manny just to clear up things the Wantirna guy is not playing simply did pre-season with st marys due to them not having a ground so that's not true.

Guys based on what is being said do I take it that the rest of the D4 sides are playing strictly for runners up position which provides direct promotion.
Also who is this guy from Wantirna - which club is he from and any names? I am from that area, would be interested to see what I can find out?

On the ground issue, where a 3 weeks ago Syndal ground was starting to green up and soften, I am getting concerned again as it really is rock hard and border line .....any others experiencing the same with their grounds.

Manny

Manny just to clear up things the Wantirna guy is not playing simply did pre-season with st marys due to them not having a ground so that's not true.

Knackers22 i have it on good authority that you apparently played a pretty terrible game against Mt Lilydale and selection with the magoos might be in order.
Against Eltham you cannot play so poorly. You need to lift your work rate.
Should be a blockbuster against Eltham. Can St Marys curb the influence of the brothers "G". If so it might come down to just 1 or 2 kicks. How will Eltham adapt to the small spaces of Ferndale guess we will wait and see.
I am tipping a draw and i think both sides will give a good account of themselves.
I was impressed with Lilydale last weekend they showed alot of promise and it was'nt to the last quater where the saints kicked away.
Round 1 form is hard to fathom as most teams have not played with each other enough and have lacked proper match practise.
In this weeks games i believe
North Brunswick will bounce right back and account for Syndal (15 points)
South Mornington will sing the song loudly with their first win in the ammos (2 points)
St Marys will DRAW with Eltham in a high scoring affair
Uni High by a nose over the Lilydale boys(14 points)
Albert park will bounce straight back and give Bulleen a fair touch up (34 points)
Box Hill to win convincingly against Ely park. (29 points)

Good luck to all this week hope your seasons are injury free.

Nth Brunswick
Richmond Central
St Marys at home
UHSVU
Albert park but not by much
Box Hill

Just had a look at the resualts on the VAFA web site and noticed at bulleen there doesnt seem to be alot of formilaur names kicking around in the 2s. It looks to me that you guys have lost about 10 to 15 players from last year mostly from your 2s is this the case or are they the players that werent available last week?

If ever an alternate guernsey was needed it would be this week with Sth Mornington vs Centrals.

Could get confusing!!!

Don't worry, everything you have heard about the sainters is true!
It will get very, very ugly this week for Eltham as they feel the full force of the mighty saints!
Papaluca to get 45 touches....again!!

If ever an alternate guernsey was needed it would be this week with Sth Mornington vs Centrals.

Could get confusing!!!

The Centrals will have the pleasure of wearing the VAFA alternate jumper.... I think its green and purple hoops. How many goals will that be worth to either side? + -

Of course, we get a rematch!

Just had a look at the resualts on the VAFA web site and noticed at bulleen there doesnt seem to be alot of formilaur names kicking around in the 2s. It looks to me that you guys have lost about 10 to 15 players from last year mostly from your 2s is this the case or are they the players that werent available last week?
Not so much lost 10 to 15 players as they can't really commit this year. We processed four outgoing clearances. However many of the twos players have Saturday work commitments this year and are finding it hard to play on the weekend. As a result, we've recruited a bunch of very enthusiastic but raw young blokes who can play. It will probably take a little bit for the ressies to gel especially as we only got onto our ground last week due to council restrictions.

Don't worry, everything you have heard about the sainters is true!
It will get very, very ugly this week for Eltham as they feel the full force of the mighty saints!
Papaluca to get 45 touches....again!!

maybe you and this papaluca kid might wanna get a room.....your love affair is making me ill.....