Player Watch Daniel Curtin

Milera for example is a player who absolutely needs to get more of the ball to make hius game better - his game against Carlton should be the base, not the exception.
Hinge back in the team means Milera isn't that first choice distributor at half back - no coincidence he had heaps more of it when Hinge was out.

Milera is surplus to requirements. A bloke who only gets any possession when no one else is there to get the easy gives? Ughh.

Not sure who is saying Curtin is a bust. Pretty dumb, but do people really think he is a tall forward? Is he just Tex's replacement next year? That feels like a waste. I have no idea what the coach's want from him at the moment.

I also think a few on this board massively underestimate the ability to win the ball. It's a skill.

Milera is surplus to requirements. A bloke who only gets any possession when no one else is there to get the easy gives? Ughh.

Not sure who is saying Curtin is a bust. Pretty dumb, but do people really think he is a tall forward? Is he just Tex's replacement next year? That feels like a waste. I have no idea what the coach's want from him at the moment.

I also think a few on this board massively underestimate the ability to win the ball. It's a skill.

I reckon it's just they want to get games in Curtin and found a spot to hide him in for the year.

One thing he might need to work on is getting free. Compared to other eligible for Rising Star, his contested disposals is not bad, but he's way down on uncontested. Hard to know not being at the games, but what is the general view of his work rate?

2025-AFL-Rising-Stars-Contested-Possessions-Per-Game-Leaders-Minimum-4-Games-Played--05-12-202...png 2025-AFL-Rising-Stars-Uncontested-Possessions-Per-Game-Leaders-Minimum-4-Games-Played--05-12-2...png

Tonight’s game was a perfect example of my worries - he doesn’t hunt the ball. 3 disposals before being subbed off is not in anyway way good enough.

He doesn’t seem to instinctively find the ball. But is that because he is not hard enough or just unsure of what his role is.

Either way might be good to go back to the SANFL and feel the footy again.
I think it’s because he’s 197cm 19 yo

The week before against Carlton he took a ton of contested marks showing he can win contests

Stick with him

Before the game on Fox Footy, Nicks "joked" that Curtin's skillset is so varied that he doesn't know where to play him
Heard Silvers say the same before round 1

He’s such a unicorn they have no idea where he will end up but I think they think he’s going to be absolute top echelon

Hence backing him in at selection , which they should

Getting games into a player seems pointless if he is being hidden.

Hide may be too harsh of a term, but you have 22 spots, not everyone is going to have important (or even well-defined) roles.

It gives a spot where Curtin can become accustomed to the speed of the game, the prep and everything else that goes with being an AFL footballer, and equally, it keeps him out of the SANFL. Adelaide gets a bit more contested marking power (+ x-factor) and another person to draw defenders away from Thilthorpe in a sector that doesn't really lack for anything at the moment. It's not much on our end, but equally, we don't really need much from this slot.

This is just a development year for the lad at the moment. We'll see what the payoff of this period is in about 2 years and 40 games.

Where would you play him?

(and where do you hope he will end up?)
I think he will end up being one of those players where you play him where you need him

But I think he will mainly play mid and forward long term to win us games

For now I’d try and settle him on the wing a little but also some time forward . I don’t think it’s time to lock him into a spot but expose him to a few different roles and see which one he lands consistently

I think he will end up being one of those players where you play him where you need him

But I think he will mainly play mid and forward long term to win us games

For now I’d try and settle him on the wing a little but also some time forward . I don’t think it’s time to lock him into a spot but expose him to a few different roles and see which one he lands consistently
I like him on the wing - he is such a beautiful kick, need him delivering to the forwards. Also outlet mark out of defence.

I'm in the "Sign him up now" camp with this guy.

He's got all the attributes of a game winner that is very very hard to match up on.

Whenever he is around it he is just so clean and relaxed for a 20 year old in his second year.

I still think he ends up in the guts, quick hands and good eye for finding the right option with his clever disposal. The fact he is a 197cm monster of an athlete just makes him extremely difficult to deal with.

Roll him into defence when you need an extra big man back there, roll him forward when you want to stretch the opposition defence.

As a lot of us keep saying, we just need to show patience with him.

Worth remembering that the role he currently has makes it very hard to put up big numbers on the stat sheet. I’m not saying it’s a bad role for him to have at this stage, but we can’t be too upset when he has a quiet game statistically.

For the time being if they're not going to give him midfield minutes, play him in a similar that Lynch played, that connector role where he has license to push up the ground.

I think people forget that the way Lynch played was not purely because of his role, it was also down to his tank.

Not everyone has the endurance to be that guy that is always presenting.

We're so going to drop him for an invaluable MCG experience aren't we

Nah. If we had lost on the weekend and had a record of 3-6 instead of winning and 6-3, Curtin would be in a lot of danger, but winning does allow an increase in the amount of slack development players have to be development players.

Well yeah, cos logically you'd want Murphy in that role instead.

Player Watch Daniel Curtin