Daniel Rich: Possible Eagle in 2012?

• Thread starter Thread starter makaveli01

Yes well done. Cut one line out of my post and argue that piece. I'll let history be the argument for me. Brisbane won't get 2 first rounders plus a solid player. They will however get the equivalent of 2 first rounders. The afl would definitely award them a tier 2 compensation pick so at the very least we will have to do better than that. As brisbane are likely to finish bottom four in 2012 thats at the very best case scenario for us a pick around 5.

So what if I highlighted the part of your post I don't agree with. I still think you are exagerating what Rich is worth, he's has one decent year and one average year, he's not fast, he's not a KP player but is an eliete kick.

Two first rounders and a player is what Judd cost.

Is Rich as good as Judd?

No he isn't.

As I've stated all we need to do is outbid Freo and hope Rich doesn't chase $$$$ at GWS.

If a player decides to leave and he is out of contract the club gets what it can.

The Eagles would be stupid to pay overs for Rich and what you are suggesting is paying way over what he's worth.

Our first rounder plus Shuey is plain madness.

I just don't understand this attitude <bangs head against wall>

Your thinking seems to be: "I think Swift will be good therefore trading him is out of the question" which inevitably progresses to "I will rule out trading anyone who is best 22" to "I want to trade in stars but only want to let go duds". You also seem to think people are saying "trade Swift, he's no good". Again, you're seeing from the wrong perspective.

The thinking is "If we want Rich we have to pay. We'd like to keep Swift but he's more expendable than say Shuey. So let's give up Swift".

Don't worry, you're not alone. 90% of people think like this. You point it out to them but they just can't free their mind.

I'd let Swift go for Rich. Sure there's a risk that Swift could turn into a gun but its the same with Rich.

I have concerns about Swift, something just doesn't seem right with him. Sure he has missed a lot of footy as a junior and the club has admitted he started for a lower base than they even estimated due to his injuries as a junior.

His foot skills and general awarnes is miles behind Rich and it would be fantastic just for Swift to one day get where Rich is right now but no one knows if that will even happen.

If we end up with a pick between say 10 > 16 and add Swift for Rich I'd be happy with that. A mid to late first round pick plus a 2nd round equivalent player in Swift.

I'd let Swift go for Rich. Sure there's a risk that Swift could turn into a gun but its the same with Rich.

I have concerns about Swift, something just doesn't seem right with him. Sure he has missed a lot of footy as a junior and the club has admitted he started for a lower base than they even estimated due to his injuries as a junior.

His foot skills and general awarnes is miles behind Rich and it would be fantastic just for Swift to one day get where Rich is right now but no one knows if that will even happen.

If we end up with a pick between say 10 > 16 and add Swift for Rich I'd be happy with that. A mid to late first round pick plus a 2nd round equivalent player in Swift.

I don't think this has ever been officially said, I think you're quoting another BF poster... or BS poster i'f you'd prefer.

If Rich is worth one of our young midfielders and a first round pick then id rather not trade for him. Masten, Ebert, Scooter, Swift, Shuey, Stevens, Gaff and Sheppard should all be persevered with untill its completely clear they wont make it. Something like 5 years on the list IMO.

Dont forget we would also be trading a potential "gun" midfielder or KP with such a low pick as well.

Id offer a first and second rounder or fringe player.

Masten, Ebert, Scooter, Swift, Shuey, Stevens, Gaff and Sheppard should all be persevered with untill its completely clear they wont make it. Something like 5 years on the list IMO.

<bangs head against wall again>

Why do you see it this way? What has "persevere" got to do with anything?

Why are you cornered into this "Must keep any player who might make it" and "will only trade spuds" mentality?

Dont forget we would also be trading a potential "gun" midfielder or KP with such a low pick as well.
Yep - potential. Potentially a gun or potentially a dud. You can't trade for a guy who is for the most part a proven gun for a pick that although may end up better, also might end up an Andrew macDougall or Richard Tambling.

Id offer a first and second rounder or fringe player.
It depends on a few things:

1. What is out 1st pick? If it's outside 10 then we would have to offer a good player. Not sure if Swift, Masten, Ebert, or Brown would cut it

2. If we offered a pick between 5-10 we'd have to cough up one of those players as well. Pick 5 and Lynch/Dalziel/McGinnity wouldn't cut it. Fringe players are worth next to nothing.

3. Pick 10 and pick 28-30 wouldn't cut it either. To offer our first two picks we'd need something like 5 + 24.

I just don't understand this attitude <bangs head against wall>

Your thinking seems to be: "I think Swift will be good therefore trading him is out of the question" which inevitably progresses to "I will rule out trading anyone who is best 22" to "I want to trade in stars but only want to let go duds". You also seem to think people are saying "trade Swift, he's no good". Again, you're seeing from the wrong perspective. The thinking is "If we want Rich we have to pay. We'd like to keep Swift but he's more expendable than say Shuey. So let's give up Swift".

Don't worry, you're not alone. 90% of people think like this. You point it out to them but they just can't free their mind.

Easy there tiger. I never mentioned anything about Swift being untradable. It was in response to a comment made that Swift has to 2011 to prove himself to which I completely disagree.

Suggesting trades and scenarios is childish. It is January, long season is ahead.

Go play monopoly with your family and you can work out whatever trades you want.

call me delusional, but i still think swift will end up being better than shuey.

and shuey will be better than rich, so you do the math.

the boys in our list management department should already be eyeing him off.

a long way to the end of season and a lot of water under the bridge to come. but in this day and age you gotta be prepared. you can't just turn up to trade week and hope to land him.

I like Rich but some of the reasons he dropped to pick 7 haven been seen.

He has a great kick but lacks pace and their is still some query on his tank so like some of our early picks, he has some weaknesses

His appeal and trade worth to the club could really come down to how our young midfielders perform this year

I like Rich too, he is a big Eagles supporter and a great kick:thumbsu: but If you believe everything you read his arms are getting 1cm shorter every month:eek: so by the time he could play with us he wouldn't be able to pick his own nose;)

call me delusional, but i still think swift will end up being better than shuey.

ok your Delusional....
Well you are if you think Swift will be better then Shuey.

Rich may be doing exactley what Judd did and Say well you've had your time to fix this (Fev situation) and you've stuffed it, Im not sticking around and putting up with this crap, I wanna go home and I wanna play for the Eagles.

For our sake hopefully this is it.

As for Yarran and Jetta well lets just say if we have the choice of the 2 I would take Lewis Jetta.
Yarran has Garlett and others to keep him company from WA, But Jetta only has TDL from Perth.
So I dare say Jetta would be the more obvious choice.

How good would this look in 2012 if it happened.

FB: Waters, Mackenzie, Smith
HB: Hurn, Brown, Schofield
C: L.Jetta, D.Rich, B.Sheppard
HF: Strijk, Kennedy, Darling
FF: LeCras, Lycett, Hams
RR: Naitanui, Shuey, Gaff
Int: Stevens, Kerr, S.Selwood
Sub: Masten
Emg: Ebert, Houlihan, Swift

WOW :eek::thumbsu:

Rich may be doing exactley what Judd did and Say well you've had your time to fix this (Fev situation) and you've stuffed it, Im not sticking around and putting up with this crap, I wanna go home and I wanna play for the Eagles.

Except that didn't happen like that. Judd wanted to go home and whored himself out to the highest bidder and there were no other factors involved. If a clubs off field issues and who was involved were a factor in why he left us he wouldn't have stuck with Carlton who have had their share of incidents see he got there, or still been friends with Kerr and Cousins who were involved in most of our off field incidents.

If Rich leaves will be purely a homesickness issue and nothing else.

Not quite delusional but if you didn't swap Swift for Rich then you're not playing the percentages.

Swift may end up better but at the moment it's reasonably conceivable that he won't even make it at AFL level whilst Rich is a no-brainer (barring injury).

We'd be mad not to go after Rich and if it does happen we will have to cough up. Something tells me Brisbane would knock back pick #1 and Priddis.

The reality is guys that Swift wouldn't command jack shit at the trade table and i doubt that will change by seasons end.

Rich is certainly worth going after and if he want's to come home we will have an edge over Fremantle.

Except that didn't happen like that. Judd wanted to go home and whored himself out to the highest bidder and there were no other factors involved. If a clubs off field issues and who was involved were a factor in why he left us he wouldn't have stuck with Carlton who have had their share of incidents see he got there, or still been friends with Kerr and Cousins who were involved in most of our off field incidents.

If Rich leaves will be purely a homesickness issue and nothing else.
Yeh ok you must be delusional as well..Have you had your meds yet??

1) Judd did leave due to the off field factors as well as $$$$$$$.

2) Judd told Carlton after the last Fevola incident "Trade Him or Trade me, make your choice" They traded Fevola. (Thats fact was actually reported)

2) What basis do you say that Judd, Kerr and Cousins are freinds.???? What because they have had coffee at a melbourne cafe???
No all it was is 2 former team mates having a coffee. Nothing strange their but dont think they are best o buddys because of that, Hell I have beers with work mates but dont really associate with them other wise.
You dont have to be freinds to be freindly.:confused:
For all we know Cuzz mite have been finding out where the best place is to pick up....Smack aarrghh :p

2) Judd told Carlton after the last Fevola incident "Trade Him or Trade me, make your choice" They traded Fevola. (Thats fact was actually reported)

2) What basis do you say that Judd, Kerr and Cousins are freinds.???? What because they have had coffee at a melbourne cafe???
No all it was is 2 former team mates having a coffee. Nothing strange their but dont think they are best o buddys because of that, Hell I have beers with work mates but dont really associate with them other wise.
For all we know Cuzz mite have been finding out where the best place is to pick up....Smack aarrghh :p

Where? I'd heard that Gibbs had said something similar, but if it were Judd who did then I'm sure we'd all appreciate a link.

FB: Waters, Mackenzie, Smith
HB: Hurn, Brown, Schofield
C: L.Jetta, D.Rich, B.Sheppard
HF: Strijk, Kennedy, Darling
FF: LeCras, Lycett, Hams
RR: Naitanui, Shuey, Gaff
Int: Stevens, Kerr, S.Selwood
Sub: Masten
Emg: Ebert, Houlihan, Swift

WOW :eek::thumbsu:

That is an extremely appealing starting midfield.

C: Jetta - Rich - Sheppard
R: Naitanui - Shuey - Gaff

****ing oath that's awesome. Unrealistic unfortunately in many respects as I doubt gaining both Rich and Jetta would involve us keeping all of our other young mids such as Ebert, Swift, Stevens etc. Also have heard that Jetta loves Sydney. Also your 22 would rely on the coach having the guts to set players like Rosa to the side etc to make room.

I love the idea though. I also love the possibility of Conca encountering a bout of homesickness in the next three years.

I like Rich but some of the reasons he dropped to pick 7 haven been seen.

He has a great kick but lacks pace and their is still some query on his tank so like some of our early picks, he has some weaknesses
He will improve his running. Even if his kicking stays put, its a bloody great asset. Is good and strong around the packs and will only get better.
Pick 7 or 20, he would still be awesome in Eagles colors.
Remember, he will just get better, and if he don't have a tag he could be unbelievable delivering it to our forwards on a platter.....:thumbsu:
I like Rich too, he is a big Eagles supporter and a great kick:thumbsu: but If you believe everything you read his arms are getting 1cm shorter every month:eek: so by the time he could play with us he wouldn't be able to pick his own nose;)
Hahha:D
The reality is guys that Swift wouldn't command jack shit at the trade table and i doubt that will change by seasons end.

Rich is certainly worth going after and if he want's to come home we will have an edge over Fremantle.
Swift is loved by Vossy, vossy is on record saying he is the best under 16 talent he has ever seen.
Even if Swift doesnt come on, I reckon crazy Vossy would swap Rich (who hopefully wants to play for WC) for Swift and some magic beans.:thumbsu:

Kerr was best man at Judd's wedding 2 weeks ago

1) Carlton have had a lot of problems besides Fev, and he's stayed there

2) Source?

3) Judd and Cousins regulary caught up and not just for one off coffees. Cousins was invited to the wedding, why would he have bothered to invite an ex team mate if their wasn't a friendship involved? As Larri pointed out Kerr was best man as well.

Besides, Judd's not the clean skin saint the media portray him to be either.

He will improve his running. Even if his kicking stays put, its a bloody great asset. Is good and strong around the packs and will only get better.
Pick 7 or 20, he would still be awesome in Eagles colors.
Remember, he will just get better, and if he don't have a tag he could be unbelievable delivering it to our forwards on a platter.....:thumbsu:

Hahha:D

Swift is loved by Vossy, vossy is on record saying he is the best under 16 talent he has ever seen.
Even if Swift doesnt come on, I reckon crazy Vossy would swap Rich (who hopefully wants to play for WC) for Swift and some magic beans.:thumbsu:

The problem is that Swift would still be a good U16 player.

Voss is not that mad and Brisbane are managing him better now.

We might have to go outside the square to land Rich.

We get Rich for Swift and we rename Subiaco Crazy Vossy Stadium for 3 years.

That's pretty fair.