Player Watch Daniel Wells, (New role at the Club #3261)

I need to subscribe to view whatever doge related material you linked.

I am not subscribing

1jxkrw.jpg

Try this one...

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/cha...7/news-story/c805511bb6e31e45c5395a6b3771e3fa

Very good.

It's an interesting but I think somewhat contrived question.

The big names that clubs get?

Let's start by naming the big players that move?
Then what are the circumstances?

Assuming big names then I can think of these in recent times.

Lance Franklin
Rodney Dangerfield
Gary Ablett the younger.

Lance was all about FA and super coin and off to AFL heartland Sydney.
Is anyone seriously thinking we should have sold the farm for him?

Rodney again FA and it was as much as living in his hometown as the coin. Hence again, we not applicable.

Gary the younger, again all about massive coin and moving to AFL inspired Gold Coast, we were not in the equation.

Maybe there are other big names I've missed in recent times but can't think of any.

My main point is there are special circumstances that drove those more than what other clubs could match.

I'm statisfied with gaining Adam Treloar as our recent "medium" name win.
That will do me very nicely indeed.
Very good.

It's an interesting but I think somewhat contrived question.

The big names that clubs get?

Let's start by naming the big players that move?
Then what are the circumstances?

Assuming big names then I can think of these in recent times.

Lance Franklin
Rodney Dangerfield
Gary Ablett the younger.

Lance was all about FA and super coin and off to AFL heartland Sydney.
Is anyone seriously thinking we should have sold the farm for him?

Rodney again FA and it was as much as living in his hometown as the coin. Hence again, we not applicable.

Gary the younger, again all about massive coin and moving to AFL inspired Gold Coast, we were not in the equation.

Maybe there are other big names I've missed in recent times but can't think of any.

My main point is there are special circumstances that drove those more than what other clubs could match.

I'm statisfied with gaining Adam Treloar as our recent "medium" name win.
That will do me very nicely indeed.
Did you mean Patrick Dangerfield

They're scared if they report their expensive old recruit is having injury problems there will (rightly) be supporter backlash against them... lying is easier.
Would they post more harshly on BF?
Do they have the impression that delaying such an announcement would make said harsh posting less harsh?
Not sure what the club has to gain from hiding facts as is constantly claimed.
Maybe they are the types of injuries which are hard to put a "definitive" time frame on....oh...they are those types of injuries.
Personally, if I were at the club I would have a "no comment" policy on all injury time frames.
Like the Liberal..."No comment on ANY playing or operational matters...no matter what they are.
Caro would have a calf....
It would all be worth just for that.

IF COLLINGWOOD recruit Daniel Wells plays 15 games a season for the next three years then it will be a "massive success" for the club, according to coach Nathan Buckley.

"In particular, we want him up and going at the pointy end of the year. That's clearly what our focus is around."

There were concerns about Wells' conditioning when he arrived at the Magpies and when it was pointed out that Buckley was always in elite condition in his playing days, the coach responded by saying his approach wasn't the only way.

"What I’ve learned is there’s plenty of different ways to go about it. You (Port Adelaide champion Kane Cornes) and I and potentially a few others who were absolutely manic with our preparation and the way that we went about it, I think we've looked back in retrospect and thought 'potentially I could have smelt the roses a little bit more'," Buckley said.

"I might have only been 0.2 per cent off where I eventually got to and I might have been able to enjoy it a little bit more, which might actually have meant I'd have performed better or been a better teammate."
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-02-...-year-would-be-a-massive-success-says-buckley

IF COLLINGWOOD recruit Daniel Wells plays 15 games a season for the next three years then it will be a "massive success" for the club, according to coach Nathan Buckley.

"In particular, we want him up and going at the pointy end of the year. That's clearly what our focus is around."

There were concerns about Wells' conditioning when he arrived at the Magpies and when it was pointed out that Buckley was always in elite condition in his playing days, the coach responded by saying his approach wasn't the only way.

"What I’ve learned is there’s plenty of different ways to go about it. You (Port Adelaide champion Kane Cornes) and I and potentially a few others who were absolutely manic with our preparation and the way that we went about it, I think we've looked back in retrospect and thought 'potentially I could have smelt the roses a little bit more'," Buckley said.

"I might have only been 0.2 per cent off where I eventually got to and I might have been able to enjoy it a little bit more, which might actually have meant I'd have performed better or been a better teammate."
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-02-...-year-would-be-a-massive-success-says-buckley
Interesting comments.

As always with our Nathan, he is learning and trying to be better in all facets.
That's one of the things I admire about him.

He can take stock and say "on reflection...."

Oh wow we went out and targeted a bloke that will be considered a "massive success" if he plays less than 70% of matches for the rest of his career. That's bizarre!

See this is where you may be missing the bigger picture here.
He came on free agency, he is silk, essentially he cost us nothing (notwithstanding the salary cap which we have discussed) and at most he takes a spot on the list instead of a Matthew Goodyear type (ie a player rated 40 + on list importance).

Now will Wells work out? Who knows for sure, but taking a silky player of immense skill for peanuts is worth the risk in my view.
To be clear, I would have taken first and foremost, assuming cheap enough Brent Harvey even for one year of any older available talent.

So Wells will do very nicely indeed, and if it's a bust, oh well, sometimes you have to roll the dice to have a little bit of silk. Which, we got on FA ie essentially for free.

Maybe Bucks is being clever and trying to take the pressure off re Wells missing a game or two?

Come now, Nathan can never be given any credit for anything.
;)

None. I would've kept the 1.8million we paid for him and used that money to buy someone decent.

So you would have used the Wells funds to pay the player, just how were you going to satisfy the club you snatch this "decent" younger player from?

Martin and Fyfe are excellent and can play forward they would add a lot more for a lot longer than Wells and Mayne. Regardless of how there contracts are structured it's still a million a year average for the period for both of them.

What part of "we have to spend at least 95% of our salary cap every year" are you struggling with? We don't recruit Wells and Mayne and its not like we can stash the $1m away for use on Martin or Fyfe in 2018. How would we have spent it this year?

Bizarre but true. He did qualify that with him being available at the pointy end - meaning finals. We all know Wells is an A grade player and if he is playing in finals for us he elevates our chances substantially. If he misses a few home & away games I couldn't really care that much. We are in an era of player management.

Its a long season and the reality is we have had way too many best 22 players missing way more than 30% of games in the last few years, so getting 70% out of anyone is a win for us really.

this was more interesting to me than the wells comment...

I love the comment of we need him for the pointy end of the season considering we have gone backwards every season under Buckley.

Reckon we need players to get us to the pointy end.

I like that he recognizes that he could have eased off a little as a player and could of been a better team mate, that sort of self awareness wasn't present a couple of years ago.

But talk about getting ahead of yourself, we haven't even been close to looking like a finals team and you bring in a player specifically to be a finals specialist.

Sco in my view it is simply a matter of lifting skill levels to stretch the opposition in whatever way you can, IMHO 15 games from Wells in a season is superior to 30 from someone like White.
Proven silky skilled players stretch the opposition in ways they don't want.

If Wells plays 15 games and we have a good injury run for the year we will make the finals.

Sco in my view it is simply a matter of lifting skill levels to stretch the opposition in whatever way you can, IMHO 15 games from Wells in a season is superior to 30 from someone like White.

If Wells plays 15 games and we have a good injury run for the year we will make the finals.

Your comparing a 3rd forwards skill to an elite mid? Wrong comparison.

Some self reflection from the coach. It's a good thing.

No doubt he's important, but it doesn't exactly inspire confidence. What would be considered a success if that's a massive one? 10-12 games? Not criticizing because that's what I expect from him so its just a bizarre statement, IMO.

Interesting comments.

As always with our Nathan, he is learning and trying to be better in all facets.
That's one of the things I admire about him.

He can take stock and say "on reflection...."
Totally agree. I've been critical of him as a coach, but the thing with Nathan is improvement. He was a bench player in School footy and worked his bitt off to become an all time great. He was an awful captain at first, but worked and learnt and became an excellent captain by all reports. Here's hoping the same trend continues with his coaching and he develops into a great, with his success beginning in 2017.

Geez Buckley has gotten wiser and more open to criticism in his older age. A bit of self reflection doesn't hurt anyone.

I like this man, I really do. I just want him to be able to coa....(stopping before this gets moved to the Buckley megathread) :D