Player Watch Darcy Moore

Let's not forget that along with 5 goals in the first half, Lynch also got 17 possessions, a huge number for a FF in a half of football.
Thats a big game to half time for a midfielder taking out the 5 goals.

One of the more dominant half time displays for a while, coupled with one of the most inept defensive efforts to half time I've seen from a player in a while.

Which doesnt detract from Lynch as he still had to get it done.

Great to see no one is panicking.
I suppose everyone who is having a sook expected we would win?
I thought it was pretty obvious at selection that we are still trying out myriad combo's, forward, back and in the middle.
A win would have been a major bonus.

If we listened to the "experts" on BF last season we would not be able to field a team this year.
Even Scott Embemberooly would have been traded.

We'd need to recruit two best 22 quality key defenders to allow it. Or one and hope Roughead has another season in him.

We need 2 KPP at a minimum, 1 for each end regardless of where Moore plays out his career.

Why Roughead? Why not target the next Roughead style trade?

Dour FB imo are the easiest to acquire and train. All they need are good pace, decent height, bit of physical aggression, and focus to task.

I suppose everyone who is having a sook expected we would win?
I thought it was pretty obvious at selection that we are still trying out myriad combo's, forward, back and in the middle.
A win would have been a major bonus.

If we listened to the "experts" on BF last season we would not be able to field a team this year.
Even Scott Embemberooly would have been traded.

yeah we would lol fair dinkum peanut sometimes pie eyed

We need 2 KPP at a minimum, 1 for each end regardless of where Moore plays out his career.

Why Roughead? Why not target the next Roughead style trade?

Dour FB imo are the easiest to acquire and train. All they need are good pace, decent height, bit of physical aggression, and focus to task.

I thought that was obvious from my post. If Moore moves from defence we need 2 KPD. Or 1 if you count Roughead (which is optimistic for next year).

Not for 6 years. I thought wright said he wouldn't entertain any more long term contracts. I would have let him walk. sick of over paying for over rated players. He's not that good

He is not that good in the role they are asking in the system they are playing.

Serious questions need to be asked of what role for him moving forward, no doubt he will have games where he is dominant as some of the poor fwd set ups and midfields will allow it.

Moore was hardly in the frame on numerous occasions when Lynch took his marks. This is a worry, as most would assume that he is faster than Lynch. So if that’s the case, then wtf was he doing!?
Moore was all at sea.

Moore is missing Roughead in my opinion. He's being asked to do too much. Though today he was just beaten by a very good opponent. I wouldn't panic. Form is temporary, class is permanent.
Totally agree , Moore is a class act , but a lockdown backman he is not , he plays on instinct to read the ball in flight and zone off his man , the art to it all is about knowing when to go , and when to stay locked , it is something of a judgement tune up that is required , from the start of his time at the Pies , I have seen him as a natural forward , that in my opinion is where he should be playing , hurry on back Dean , Thad FB role is yours for the taking. Roughead as much as I admire him , will hang up the boots soon . Set Moore free Fly

Hand up I didn’t watch a minute of the game, but dropping in to get scores every 45 minutes told me Lynch had goodin’!

Watching how we’d fronted up v Geelong, GC and St Kilda’s talls a performance like Lynch’s was looming unless we fundamentally changed the way Moore and Howe setup the defense. The comments are not painting a nice picture of how we lost this and whilst everyone hates losing what really hurts is getting beaten by what you know which looks to be what happened yesterday…

Moore ❌
Leppa/ McRae big ❌

Amiright?

FWIW as a critic of the Moore contract length I’m struggling with that being brought up after yesterday. As I said above this is a trend and has little to do with his contract, IMO. I’d also add that adding Madgen only increases the carnage. We’re desperately missing a Dean or an in the zone Roughead to stabilise the back 7…

Not true, when Moore played directly on his opponent a couple of years ago he had a brilliant record for contests won or halved, the defenders are guarding space again and all of them leave to intercept.
It’s not working and needs to be fixed because they are the ones letting us down.
Ancient history Axl - if you scan the field looking for Moore's direct opponent in the last few years you have to pan the view some way to pick him up.

He is NOW purely intercept.

Supposedly our next captain lol

I was an advocate for Moore as Captain. I still think he can do the role, but performances like yesterday have to disappear from his game, before he is even considered. To me it looked like he had the attitude of this is all too hard, and some of his efforts reflected that, and l'm sure he would be embarrassed about those efforts, if they show him the vision.
He may not be a lockdown defender, but through necessity he has to play that role, which means you still put in an effort. He was in a defeated mindset from the first bounce, and his performance in the first half proved that. That is not Captain material, unfortunately. Moore still has alot to work on in terms of his game.
The guy that should be the next Captain is Crisp. He hardly ever misses a game, puts in every week, no matter what role he gets asked to play, and the players love him. Alot of the other senior guys can learn alot from Crispy's attitude towards his footy.....

If he wasn’t the only key defender we currently had available I’d say throw him forward. Honestly I’m at the point where I hope we target the best key defender we can from the state leagues in the MSD, and hopefully have Roughy, Dean and (insert player here) cover those tall spots down back.
Test him as a key forward for an extended period, because he’s becoming a liability within this defensive structure.
This is where I've landed too, particularly with Kreuger out for the season. Mutaz El Nour is an intriguing intercepting type, but more in the Howe mould than anything we need. I haven't done a proper dive into who we ought to look at, but I definitely would want a KPD and shift Moore up forward. His athleticism and good kicking would be a breath of very fresh air

I was an advocate for Moore as Captain. I still think he can do the role, but performances like yesterday have to disappear from his game, before he is even considered. To me it looked like he had the attitude of this is all too hard, and some of his efforts reflected that, and l'm sure he would be embarrassed about those efforts, if they show him the vision.
He may not be a lockdown defender, but through necessity he has to play that role, which means you still put in an effort. He was in a defeated mindset from the first bounce, and his performance in the first half proved that. That is not Captain material, unfortunately. Moore still has alot to work on in terms of his game.
The guy that should be the next Captain is Crisp. He hardly ever misses a game, puts in every week, no matter what role he gets asked to play, and the players love him. Alot of the other senior guys can learn alot from Crispy's attitude towards his footy.....
My issue is this isn’t the first time he has had effort like this, same thing happened when he was moved in the forwardline last year. I can’t believe someone who has put these efforts up is being considered for next captain.

Agree with Crisp.

As much as I don’t like kornes I 100% agree with everything he said here. I hope McRae and leppa can get him sorted and fix up the defence because it’s been horrible this year. I know we have injuries and all but something needs to be done, accountability needs to be accepted here

Sent from my iPad using BigFooty.com

Hand up I didn’t watch a minute of the game, but dropping in to get scores every 45 minutes told me Lynch had goodin’!

Watching how we’d fronted up v Geelong, GC and St Kilda’s talls a performance like Lynch’s was looming unless we fundamentally changed the way Moore and Howe setup the defense. The comments are not painting a nice picture of how we lost this and whilst everyone hates losing what really hurts is getting beaten by what you know which looks to be what happened yesterday…

Moore ❌
Leppa/ McRae big ❌

Amiright?

FWIW as a critic of the Moore contract length I’m struggling with that being brought up after yesterday. As I said above this is a trend and has little to do with his contract, IMO. I’d also add that adding Madgen only increases the carnage. We’re desperately missing a Dean or an in the zone Roughead to stabilise the back 7…
My take is that we're playing their system and thus they know its weaknesses really well and how to exploit them.

The system is reliant on pressuring the ball carrier, but their runners were too clever. Lots of drawing of tackles and baulks to feed a runner for clean entries.

Grundy.....Moore.....here we go again!
Pile on

Footy's more 1:1 this year and great key forwards will get hold of defenders. Personally I think that's great for the game, I just wish 6/6/6 had been in when we had big forwards like Cloke and Dawes!

Yep Darce got towelled in the first half yesterday. Sometimes as a defender you're gonna leak goals. It's how he reacts from it that's important.

As much as I love Moore, he got absolutely smashed today. Giving him that massive contract on his current form is terrible list management.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Jeez People turn on Players Quick

The Rock Reaction GIF by WWE