Universal Love David Mackay Appreciation Thread

I take it this post is in response to me saying IF Dmac was to make the AA team he would still be shat on.(BTW Reilly made the AA 40 man squad and he got shat on). If so, tell me where I said I what you think I said? Quoting stupid data is being childish at best.

So if he was good, he wouldn't be criticized for being bad...

No shit.
You really don't get it mate. Just give them some respect, it's not that hard. Have your opinion footy wise but the constant deriding and belittling of them is just off. Would some posters here talk to these guys face to face like they do on here? If the answer is no, then isn't that the definition of a 'keyboard warrior?'

I've met VB - fantastic bloke.

Haven't met DMac, but know people who have, and they reckon he's a champ as well.

That doesn't change the fact that both are underperforming footballers, and their constant selection is a millstone around the neck of our side.

I take it this post is in response to me saying IF Dmac was to make the AA team he would still be shat on.(BTW Reilly made the AA 40 man squad and he got shat on). If so, tell me where I said I what you think I said? Quoting stupid data is being childish at best.

We'll never know if he'd get shat on or not.

On his 4 most recent games, 2 of which were finals, were terrible. Do you think he'll be in AA contention this year?

That's bullshit. If Dmac made the AA squad we'd be rapped unless he played the role Reilly did, ie played great when he didn't have an opponent. As soon as opposition teams woke up to it, he was exposed and not only didn't make AA squad, he was dropped.

The B&F proves nothing. You do realize that the people who voted on the clubs B&F are the exact same people that selected him to play in 18 of 22 games (plus 2 finals).
Dumb ****s. I think the fact we've recruited players that play his role says a lot though.

The B&F proves nothing. You do realize that the people who voted on the clubs B&F are the exact same people that selected him to play in 18 of 22 games (plus 2 finals).

And none of them should have jobs. It was a serious surprise that he didn't poll better, I figured that they must have at least rated what he was bringing to the table. But no, I guess they just listed his name out of habit each Thursday night. Like muscle memory.

In all seriousness, here's a prediction. Not a single member of our 2015 coaching group or David Noble will leave our club to a higher role at another club. These guys have all peaked with us.

Edit - I should add that we'll be hearing a lot of "leaving to pursue interests in other industries".

So either their voting is wrong or their selection is wrong

Maybe we give him lots fewer votes than he warrants so that the opposition don't realise he's our key man?

I've decided what I want to see from us this season:

I want us to stop deliberately losing

it's probably not easy being a coach when every selection meeting starts with the Head of Football saying, "well, Dmac was ok on the weekend, some really good signs, definitely looks to be building into some really good form. OK, let's sort out our run and carry first, we need at least 3, Smith I think goes again, who else have we got?"

And of course very hard for Campo when he doesn't rate the 2 most likely replacements in Grigg and CEY.

The players are players, poor, decent, good or great and whilst on our list have a role to play. The argument centres around whether their form warrants selection. No ones blaming Wright, Dmac and VB for having a shit year, they performed below their best nearly every week bar Dmac's effort against Melbourne. The constant discussion centres around the selection panel consistently having them in the yeam despite giving them eff all B&F votes. The argument then ensues because people like you, whilst attempting to defend them personally, actually defend their form and selection. Noble utters the idiotic 'non-statistical roles' rubbish and you all rejoice as one and fire off your volleys at the 'haters' and 'bad supporters' for not having a clue.

How should we show respect by the way?
Actually I don't think that is the case. The OP was having a crack about DMac being in the top 10 for our club based on the AFL stats. Not about being picked because he was average this year (which to be fair he was). My point which started this debate was why we go out of our way to do a DMac bashing. Nobody is picking him right now, but he is still getting a bashing. I just find it hard to get my head around it......he is one of our players ffs.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-08-21/hes-just-not-in-our-best-22-mackays-future-cloudy

Mackay's form has tapered off significantly in 2015, and after spending the past fortnight as the sub, Crows assistant coach David Teague said the 27-year-old was simply not in the club's best team.

This article speaks volumes of the confusion at the AFC over Mackay. A likely starter for R1 in 2016 and yet not viewed as part of the best team towards the end of the H&A season.

Dmac is the new Brent Reilly. Bloke, could make the AA team and still be shat on by some of you. Some of the comments are hatred based.
This is dumb. Nobody here hates any of the Crows players. We go for the Crows. We want the Crows to win. That's why we get shitty when the Crows keep picking bad players. Just like we got shitty when the Crows kept picking Brent Reilly. We were right then, too.

And nobody was criticizing Radar in 2012. Because we like it when Crows players play well. Because we go for the Crows. And we want the Crows to win. And when Crows players play well, it makes it more likely that we will win.

But when the Crows pick players who always play badly, it makes it less likely that we will win. That's Mackay. Nothing personal, he's just no good. If he becomes good, we will like him more.

Simple.

This is the key ......not one poster actually knows what has transpired over the last 6 months ......who's improved and who hasn't

Yet we have posters like Drugs Are Bad Mackay? threatening that his opinion of the coach will be determined by who he picks ......what a juvenile statement !

No wonder Cornesy was so rude to you

Maybe we give him lots fewer votes than he warrants so that the opposition don't realise he's our key man?

I've decided what I want to see from us this season:

I want us to stop deliberately losing
This and comments yesterday are a great way to lose credibility as a poster ......understand some think you're joking ......i somehow think you believe the crap you're posting

Reilly was praised not criticized in his one good year.

When he turned into his normal slow, weak fend off, turnover merchant is when he was rightly criticized and dropped.

I didn't hate him, I just hated having to watch him butcher the ball and lose us so many games! I appreciate he was trying his best.

This and comments yesterday are a great way to lose credibility as a poster ......understand some think you're joking ......i somehow think you believe the crap you're posting
Mackay on the wing? Or Milera/Cameron?

The criticism is of their selection when out of form. What the mods should crack down on is high headed nobs who think just because they support every selection decision the club makes means they are a superior supporter to those who have their own opinions and are prepared to express them. I'm ashamed of supporters like you. Are you Lindy? If not, you're not far off.
Never go full lindy

I think we should stop bagging Mackay. Its a fresh year and he should be given every chance to prove himself like everyone else. Lets lay off him for a while.
Should we also holds hands?

He should be given a chance to prove himself whilst dominating the SANFL and only after if his replacements don't come up to scratch.

He has blown any goodwill he had and doesn't deserve any going forward

Should we also holds hands?

He should be given a chance to prove himself whilst dominating the SANFL and only after if his replacements don't come up to scratch.

He has blown any goodwill he had and doesn't deserve any going forward

Hypothetically, if VB, Mackay and Thommo all have putrid NAB games, Thommo has earned the benefit of the doubt to correct his form when the 4 pointers start. The other 2 should be seen amongst the pack who need to prove that their form is up to warranting selection in the first place. They have no selection vouchers in the bank, they went well into deficit last year. I know it's a test that our experienced guys in Clarke, Campo and Noble will fail, but it's going to be very interesting how Pyke fits into the dynamic. I have no doubt that Walsh played the patience game giving everyone an opportunity to prove themselves. Will we reset as if it's 2015 preseason games again giving those 2 automatic 1st crack or will they finally be judged on what they have consistently been bringing to game day over the last 2-3 years. Interesting times and sadly it's impossible to be feeling confident that we've turned a corner.

supporters want to win... when something isn't right aren't we supposed to voice an opinion?...
I think DMac's card needs to be stamped "never again"...
yet the rumblings from inside the walls continue to sprout the virtues of a fit and flying...
I think they are wrong.
and it seems we are destined to watch him stink it up some more before the curtains are drawn.

I hope he plays some scintillating footy this year... Jenkins has improved his contested footy, so it can be done.
I'm just not sure what DMacs weapons are.... give me Milera, Doedee, Hampton, Menzel, Gore & Seedsman already.

we must pick our best 22 especially with our tough start.

is this bashing? to me its make sure we don't forget...