David Warner

• Thread starter Thread starter Soups

Reckon he should move to Tassie if he wants to establish a FC career... way too much depth in NSW top order for him to get a game there.

Whingeing in the media is certainly not the way to go about it either, especially when virtually nobody reckons you deserve a spot in the first place.

Agree on Henriques, massively overrated.

SA is the place, bat wherever you want on a road.

Henriques has been annointed by none other than Guru Greg. His previous annointee was S.R. Watson.

I don't think he's whinging he's stating fact, his goal is to play Test Cricket, in order to do you must play FC which given the NSW depth is ulnikely. A move to another state will give him an opportunity to prove he has the game for it.

You cannot knock NSW for getting players in the Test team, that give more opportunities to younger players at an early age than anyone else and they are not afraid to finish down the bottom of the ladders if it means sorting out their talent pool.

As much as I love the Bushrangers, we have too many journeymen who will never play for Australia. I would happily trade a year our two out of the spotlight to see Finch, Blizzard, Hill & others given an opportunity with the bat.

Yeah I dont think he is whinging at all, he is just interested in playing First Class Cricket. I wouldn't have thought Victoria was his best option, surely South Australia or Western Australia would be able to provide better opportunities?

I guess his attitude is 'if it's good enough for Moises, why not me?' ;)

Evidently these golden passes have an expiry date on them, though.

I don't know the story behind your comment on Moises, so I wont touch that, but the thing that bothers me is he doesn't even deserve a spot in the 4 day side at the moment.

If he was banging down the door and we weren't giving him a chance then fair enough, but it's almost as if he feels he has some sort of right to play 4 day cricket. At the moment Warner is just a Mickey Mouse hero (T20) and nothing more, and he's shown that he's not willing to fight for his spot in the team.

Can't really blame him for wanting to move. Lots of players do it, obviously not quite as publically but he wouldn't be the first or last NSW player to move state. He probably missed his chance when Forrest took his spot and I don't see him getting it back now so he'll probably be better off somewhere else to press his claims.

Imagine a Sheffield Shield team with Warner, Pomersbach, Mitch Marsh and Ronchi in it. Haha. Would be a potent T20 lineup, not sure how they'd all work together in the longer forms.

One things for sure, it would be fun to watch either way :thumbsu:

What a place to get a gme then Victoria.They will make him a gun.Give him more game time and could become a bigger star in Victoria.If you want to be the best you join the best.Dont come to WA have no coach and are down the bottom.SA also goin nowhere.Tassie its cold down there and also dont do much.So its a big tick for the Vics.

If he was banging down the door and we weren't giving him a chance then fair enough, but it's almost as if he feels he has some sort of right to play 4 day cricket. At the moment Warner is just a Mickey Mouse hero (T20) and nothing more, and he's shown that he's not willing to fight for his spot in the team.

:thumbsu: Exactly. Warner seems to have this inflated opinion of himself - he did very little when given an opportunity at 50 overs and Shield and he isn't exactly piling on the runs in local cricket (if he ever plays it). If he was that good, he would do well at 6 and that would push pressure on the players above him.

If he actually wants an opportunity to open, WA and SA would be the better fits. He won't fit in the Vic line up and even QLD have a number of young openers, so he would be better suited down the order.

I guess we could look at him given Nick Jewell and Chris Rogers are both 32 but i'd imagine we'd be looking more to strengthen our suddenly depleted bowling stocks first.

Our bowling has been pretty consistent this year despite the injuries and Nannes retirement, our batting has let us down more than anything. I think getting Warner would be a great move, as you stated above Jewell is 32 and has a very solid FC career but has struggled a bit this year. Hodge will no doubt retire soon from OD and then 20/20 so over the three forms we need an opener to come along in the next 2 years.

Reckon he should move to Tassie if he wants to establish a FC career... way too much depth in NSW top order for him to get a game there.

Whingeing in the media is certainly not the way to go about it either, especially when virtually nobody reckons you deserve a spot in the first place.

Agree on Henriques, massively overrated.
And who would you rather than Mosis? This guy must have something if he was the captain of NSW while batting at 5 and bowling first change. I think the selectors know a bit more than you about cricket.

Our bowling has been pretty consistent this year despite the injuries and Nannes retirement, our batting has let us down more than anything.

Absolutely, but we can't expect to go forward relying on an injury prone 35yo Damien Wright (even though he's a freaking marvel) and a middling Darren Pattinson to carry the attack.

Our bowling depth, which was one a feature, is now gone with the retirement of Dirk, the seeming career ending injury of Shane Harwood and the international emergence of Clint McKay.

James Pattinson is showing plenty and i still have faith in Steve Gilmour, but they're not enough to replace the quality and depth that guys like Harwood, Nannes and McKay provided.

Our batting has struggled at times this year but it's still our obvious strength.
We've got a few quality young batsmen knocking down the door in Michael Hill, Ryan Carters (also backup keeper), Brett Forsyth, Ev Gulbis and Tom Stray whilst we've even got some experienced depth guys struggling for regular gametime, including Bob Quiney and Aiden Blizzard.

I think getting Warner would be a great move, as you stated above Jewell is 32 and has a very solid FC career but has struggled a bit this year. Hodge will no doubt retire soon from OD and then 20/20 so over the three forms we need an opener to come along in the next 2 years.

Michael Hill is currently getting a chance at opening whilst both Brett Forsyth and Ev Gulbis are showing real promise as openers at both district and second XI level.
I've got nothing against Warner but personally i'd prefer we concentrate on developing these younger players because i'm confident a couple of them have the ability to make it as Shield cricketers.

Agree with all those who have said he needs to earn his spot, rather than move somewhere where he thinks he's going to get handed a spot on a platter.

Bottom line is, if you're not good enough, you'll get found out soon enough, no matter where you're playing.

Absolutely, but we can't expect to go forward relying on an injury prone 35yo Damien Wright (even though he's a freaking marvel) and a middling Darren Pattinson to carry the attack.

Our bowling depth, which was one a feature, is now gone with the retirement of Dirk, the seeming career ending injury of Shane Harwood and the international emergence of Clint McKay.

James Pattinson is showing plenty and i still have faith in Steve Gilmour, but they're not enough to replace the quality and depth that guys like Harwood, Nannes and McKay provided.

Our batting has struggled at times this year but it's still our obvious strength.
We've got a few quality young batsmen knocking down the door in Michael Hill, Ryan Carters (also backup keeper), Brett Forsyth, Ev Gulbis and Tom Stray whilst we've even got some experienced depth guys struggling for regular gametime, including Bob Quiney and Aiden Blizzard.

Michael Hill is currently getting a chance at opening whilst both Brett Forsyth and Ev Gulbis are showing real promise as openers at both district and second XI level.
I've got nothing against Warner but personally i'd prefer we concentrate on developing these younger players because i'm confident a couple of them have the ability to make it as Shield cricketers.

All good points, good to hear we've got some young talent. Depends on the fitness of Siddle and Patto jnr. If siddle and to lesser extent Hilfy are fit it squeezes mckay out of the test/odi sides which will free him up for the VIC's but i spose that is a lot of wat ifs.

I hope Hill gets a game infront of Mash from now on. My mate plays at Carlton 3rds with Gulbis in the one's, speaks of him highly but supposedly the Vic hierachy don't appreciate his confident attitude hence why he isn;t in the rekoning for selection.

Saj, i'll reply in our current match thread rather than derail the Warner thread.

Agree with all those who have said he needs to earn his spot, rather than move somewhere where he thinks he's going to get handed a spot on a platter.

Bottom line is, if you're not good enough, you'll get found out soon enough, no matter where you're playing.

Just like Klinger eh.

Warner plays under Shipperd in the IPL.

He could replace Jewell in the SS, open with Rogers in the FRC (Finch to #3 to replace Hodge) and he can open in T20.

Happy with that.
Pretty hard for him to break into that top order, with Katich, Jacques and Hughes there already. Given that NSW have been able to "recruit" so many international players over the years, they may just lose one of their home grown talents.

That's crap. He was dominating in F50 and T20 the previous season and then gets knuckled down the order because of senior guys in the F50 who aren't in contention for an Australian selection.

He has played four first class in two seasons and only played two consecutively, I don't see how he has been given a real shot at this level and then you've got guys like Henriques who haven't done half the stuff he has, yet have been given the run of a life time.

As much as I would love Warner opening in both our limited overs teams, he wouldnt come close to making the Shield side here either, about all Victoria would have to offer him is a guaranteed spot at the top of the order in the shorter forms but have to fight for a Shield spot through the futures league with all the other young blokes

I would much rather give our young batters a go rather than go after Warner to replace Jewell and Rodgers when they retire. Hill has been around for a few years and got a go this game. Other players playing well are Forsyth and Carters although Carters dosent open the batting (i think). Add Maxwell into the middle order and these are the guys id like so see given opportunites in the future to make the team.

With our bowling stocks im pretty happy at the moment to play hastings and James Patterson with Glimour and Cassell (who is a bit older 27 or 28 i think) Would be nice to find some more depth beyond this but my knowledge is limited in this area.

Love how we've been linked to him on the basis of well, nothing, actually.

Airing your dirty laundry in public isn't ideal but you can understand why he and his manager have taken this route.
Will it work? Probably not, i just can't see NSW being bullied into giving him a free pass.
As good a prospect as he is at T20 level, he's not yet shown enough technique or ability at first-class level to demand a permanent spot at the top of the order for a team with as much depth as NSW.

If he did decide to go elsewhere, Queensland would be the logical fit for me, with Tasmania and WA also possible destinations.
I guess we could look at him given Nick Jewell and Chris Rogers are both 32 but i'd imagine we'd be looking more to strengthen our suddenly depleted bowling stocks first.

When I saw him against WA he batted 7. Probably his ideal place in the order imo.

And who would you rather than Mosis? This guy must have something if he was the captain of NSW while batting at 5 and bowling first change. I think the selectors know a bit more than you about cricket.

I think what generally happens with someone like Henriques is that, they have to keep running with him otherwise it will make them look real bad by sending him back to club cricket, especially after captaining the state.

I for one, would rather Warner in my side. At least you know you have a match winner in the side, rather than a potential match winner who has not ever reached his potential at this level.

Just like Klinger eh.

I always thought Klinger was good enough to make it at state level, he just wasn't getting results here in Victoria.

Warner is a whole different kettle of fish.

Now perhaps he's been pigeonholed as a short form specialist. I will admit I haven't seen him play in the lower grades so I don't know how he goes about it there, but one things for sure, I haven't seen anything at state level thus far to suggest the NSW selectors are erring by not picking him for Shield cricket.