Roast Dawes

Shocking, apart from a promising start. Got some poor delivery and was double teamed , but even then his attempts seemed for show , rather than with genuine intent (which Geelong's VFL recuit showed).

I think Jack should have got a game as an extra target forward , give their defence something more to worry about , spreading them and creating more one on one contests.

How many did Cloke kick last night? None.Tells you the disposal to our tall forwards was non existant.

Cloke was miles better then Dawes

stupid comment

Shocking, apart from a promising start. Got some poor delivery and was double teamed , but even then his attempts seemed for show , rather than with genuine intent (which Geelong's VFL recuit showed).

I think Jack should have got a game as an extra target forward , give their defence something more to worry about , spreading them and creating more one on one contests.

Well when his Confidence is down he can find it hard to get it back and the bad kicks to him made it harder for him to get it back

good on ya. never said clokey played bad just pointed out that neither him or chris kicked any goals. which means the disposal inside 50 was crap.

Yes but there is alot more to judge then goals on this case

cloke presenting to the same midfield, marked more abd created a much stronger contest then Dawes.

Dawes didn't help his cause by leading under the ball abd not being able to push back like good power forwards do

to even compare the performance of Cloke ( who was hard working and persevered and hardly disgraced) to Dawes (who was just soundly beaten by all the cats defenders and it wasn't just Scarlett) is laughable, stupid and somewhat disrespectful to clokes game

N.b I'm not calling for Dawes dropping at all so don't take it out of context

did i ever compare the two. don't you understand english? i'll say this for the last time for case you didn't understand the other 400 times i said it. The disposal to the forward line was shocking therefore it's a bit rough to criticise Dawes.Plus he was almost 2 on 1 everytime. So you really expect him to out mark not only Scarlett but another Geelong player coming in as the third man. If so your expectations are too high as Cloke wouldn't mark it 2 on 1.

your post originally said how many goals did cloke kick? Clearly comparing Dawes to him

I took umbrage as cloke clearly played better, cloke did mark two on 1 abd cloke did provide a stringer and better prospect. Yes the disposal was shit but it was shit to both forwards, Cloke still had an effect though, Dawes was just beaten

I'm not sure why your getting so upset, it's nit like it's made up abuse, cloke played better and to start a defense for dawes by saying well cloke didn't kick more, is fan boyesque rubbish

I'm not sure why your getting so upset

Because there is a Dawes Cult, and not showering him in praise raises the ire of those of The Cult.

He was useless at best, and at worst was damaging to our cause with his decision making. Played on arguably one of the best fullbacks in the comp, if not of the last 5 years, and everyone has their off nights, but my god I was appalled with the choices he made in his disposal. And his inability to take a solid leap and go for a grab overhead is such a concern, mostly because he hasn't addressed this well enough at an AFL level still.

He's a great kid still in development, but I wish people would calm their shit down with him. He isn't God, he is going to make mistakes, accept that. Don't blindly try to refute the fact that he was terrible last night, along with 15+ on our side.

Because there is a Dawes Cult, and not showering him in praise raises the ire of those of The Cult.

He was useless at best, and at worst was damaging to our cause with his decision making. Played on arguably one of the best fullbacks in the comp, if not of the last 5 years, and everyone has their off nights, but my god I was appalled with the choices he made in his disposal. And his inability to take a solid leap and go for a grab overhead is such a concern, mostly because he hasn't addressed this well enough at an AFL level still.

He's a great kid still in development, but I wish people would calm their shit down with him. He isn't God, he is going to make mistakes, accept that. Don't blindly try to refute the fact that he was terrible last night, along with 15+ on our side.

I hate people who called him Usless and should go back to the VFL too

you guys make me laugh, the commentators have been blowing smoke up dawes arse for 2 weeks and those 2 games were hardly electryfying.

Cloke is clearly in better form, why not plonk him at FF or CHF, He played a Rocca role on friday night and from what i could tell didn't do a bad job.

It was painstakingly obvious that the instruction from the coaches was to kick it to Dawes, but where were the crumbers, bloody hell Leon Davis is back to thinking he is 6 foot tall again 0 grabs from 3 or 4 jumps and i saw him at the front of one contest. With those bombs going into Dawes, not all of which were kicked on his head, he got worked under the ball quite a bit, where were the like of Davis, Steele, O'Bree.

Why didn't we just play the same brand of footy we have all year?

McCaffer had his first shocker for the pies which surprised me.

The defenders did a hell of a job for most of the night for us.

Dawes may be a big lug but he has no idea how to play football and he can't just sit inside 50 because he will be beaten 9 times out of 10 where were the crumbers?

I say trade him he has no heart at least Cloke has a bit of ticker about him, even if he isn't the sharpest tool in the shed.

I don't think we were done by that much Friday night, imo opinion we should have won by 2 or 3 goals.

I would hate to see us play like that again this year.

I hate people who called him Usless and should go back to the VFL too

I agree, he definitely needs to be developed at an AFL level, but Anthony is breathing down his neck too and he can't afford to be as detrimental as he was on Friday.

you guys make me laugh, the commentators have been blowing smoke up dawes arse for 2 weeks and those 2 games were hardly electryfying.

Cloke is clearly in better form, why not plonk him at FF or CHF, He played a Rocca role on friday night and from what i could tell didn't do a bad job.

It was painstakingly obvious that the instruction from the coaches was to kick it to Dawes, but where were the crumbers, bloody hell Leon Davis is back to thinking he is 6 foot tall again 0 grabs from 3 or 4 jumps and i saw him at the front of one contest. With those bombs going into Dawes, not all of which were kicked on his head, he got worked under the ball quite a bit, where were the like of Davis, Steele, O'Bree.

Why didn't we just play the same brand of footy we have all year?

McCaffer had his first shocker for the pies which surprised me.

The defenders did a hell of a job for most of the night for us.

Dawes may be a big lug but he has no idea how to play football and he can't just sit inside 50 because he will be beaten 9 times out of 10 where were the crumbers?

I say trade him he has no heart at least Cloke has a bit of ticker about him, even if he isn't the sharpest tool in the shed.

I don't think we were done by that much Friday night, imo opinion we should have won by 2 or 3 goals.

I would hate to see us play like that again this year.

you sir are a tool :thumbsd:

Why do you think Dawes is in the side atm? I think it's because he is on the way out. Last night was a huge game and he didn't perform.

He has no skill, he's being found out by smarter footballers.

Who is he on par with in the afl as a tall forward?

If he doesn't get the ball he's finished unless it's still close to him, he can't read the play.

I watched him on friday night jog after being beaten in a contest throught the corridor and watched Geelong kick an inside 50, thats only one turn over that cost us.

I Sir don't get hopeful when i see him play.

Do you?

He'll be lucky to play 50 games for the pies, i've said it before and he has done nothing to change my thinking about that. :thumbsd:

How about you Sir tell us all why he is so good in another one line post?

Oh boy there's some real idiots in here :rolleyes:
Don't know why I bother replying to anyone.Just go around circles in here.
I never never said Dawes played better then Cloke never. He has a bad game which basically the whole forward line did (apart from Beams and Cloke) If anyone needs to be smashed it's Leon who constantly disappoints on the big stage.How everyone can bag Dawes after playing in one big game is beyond me. And don't bring up Jack again. He failed more then once last year in big games. The sooner next week arrives the better. When we win all these flogs won't be around at all and Dawes will be fantastic again. Makes me sick that we have supporters that are so stupid.

Why do you think Dawes is in the side atm? I think it's because he is on the way out.
You think he's in the side, because he's on the way out...

I'm going to go away and think about that for a while.

:confused:

If anyone needs to be smashed it's Leon who constantly disappoints on the big stage.How everyone can bag Dawes after playing in one big game is beyond me. And don't bring up Jack again. He failed more then once last year in big games.

Adelaide prelim. That was pretty neat.

However the rest I pretty much agree with.

Adelaide prelim. That was pretty neat.

However the rest I pretty much agree with.

Yeah but what did Jack do before that free kick and goal. Hardly touched it.But this is all about Dawes so I wouldn't wanna look like i'm having a go at Jack ;)

Why do you think Dawes is in the side atm? I think it's because he is on the way out. Last night was a huge game and he didn't perform.

He has no skill, he's being found out by smarter footballers.

Who is he on par with in the afl as a tall forward?

If he doesn't get the ball he's finished unless it's still close to him, he can't read the play.

I watched him on friday night jog after being beaten in a contest throught the corridor and watched Geelong kick an inside 50, thats only one turn over that cost us.

I Sir don't get hopeful when i see him play.

Do you?

He'll be lucky to play 50 games for the pies, i've said it before and he has done nothing to change my thinking about that. :thumbsd:

How about you Sir tell us all why he is so good in another one line post?

1. Dawes is in the side because he is good enough to be there
2. He is not on the way out...because he is performing
3. J. Watts, M.Hurley, S.Gumbleton, J. Reivoldt, J. Grant, K. Tippet, T. Walker, J. White...These are just some of the KPF's that he is on par with if not better than. Mind you a lot of those guys are first round draft picks just letting you know
4. Friday night he came up against a backman who is by some considered by many as the best FB in the history of the AFL and that was the worst game of his short career.
5. He will play more than 50 games for us.

It is absurd to think that you, who claim to be a collingwood supporter, can get on the back of a bloke thats played about a dozen games off the back of one shoddy performance..

Pull your head out mate, seriously

1. Dawes is in the side because he is good enough to be there
2. He is not on the way out...because he is performing
3. J. Watts, M.Hurley, S.Gumbleton, J. Reivoldt, J. Grant, K. Tippet, T. Walker, J. White...These are just some of the KPF's that he is on par with if not better than. Mind you a lot of those guys are first round draft picks just letting you know
4. Friday night he came up against a backman who is by some considered by many as the best FB in the history of the AFL and that was the worst game of his short career.
5. He will play more than 50 games for us.

It is absurd to think that you, who claim to be a collingwood supporter, can get on the back of a bloke thats played about a dozen games off the back of one shoddy performance..

Pull your head out mate, seriously

One shoddy performance, now i know you pulling my leg i reckon in a dozen games he has had 1 so so and 1 ok which were the previous 2 games before the Cats other than that he has been rubbish in every game he has played.

Correct me if i'm wrong but did he play on Scarlett all night?

One shoddy performance, now i know you pulling my leg i reckon in a dozen games he has had 1 so so and 1 ok which were the previous 2 games before the Cats other than that he has been rubbish in every game he has played.

You haven't watched much of our games have you. You have no idea so get out of here or start posting something that makes sense.

Yeah, he was terrible against Adelaide in the final in 08, just terrible. OH WAIT, NO HE WASN'T.

He also had a very good game against Stkilda late one year, it may have been his debut game in fact.

If you are going to talk shit about a Collingwood player, get your facts right first.

He is a young developing KP forward, who we drafted the year after he had a knee reco, and thus his development was always going to be slower then most others.

He is coming along well, that's my opinion anyway.

And yes, he was beaten for a large portion of Friday night by a player who is in the argument regarding the best full back in history, I MEAN, HOW DARE HE GET BEAT BY SCARLETT.:o

The 2 previous to the cats, which were the game against north and the freo game...so clearly you didnt watch the carlton game..
or the anzac day game..

all crap performances to be sure :rolleyes:

however, im curious as to what you expect of a young KPP?
I mean if he is shocking and wont play 50 games for the club, i pity every Full Forward who enters the game and is unable to tear the likes of matty scarlett a new one

And you may be right, he may not have played on scarlett all night...im sure milburn, enright, hunt and the rest of geelongs formidable backline dropping back to help out shouldve been easily disposed of by our 21 yr old FF