Tasmania Devils
I have been giving this plenty of thought over the years. I for one would like to see it back in Australia. After the Jury found Donna Fitchett guilty of Killing her own sons surely they should be given the punishment or the chance to put someone to death. I have worked in the court system before and in my mind the punishments giving out are to soft to begin with. If someone takes a life or sexually hurts a child this I think is in everyone's best interest to consider handing down such a penalty. After all why should someone that takes another persons life or sexually hurts a child should they continue to live. Death Penalty should be given out or a chance for it if they are 100% sure that the crime has been committed. Another story over the years when Anita Cobby had been dragged through a barbed-wire fence and punched, beaten and kicked. There was extensive bruising on her head, breasts, face, shoulders, groin, thighs and legs. Her throat had been cut and she was almost decapitated to the person that did that should they be given life in jail is that really that bad or would the family of person it happened to rather something more. Cause if you ask me without the death penalty there is just something missing in the crime system today. Your thoughts on if this should come back for a crime so bad.

i agree with ya mate any one that does do that should receive the death penalty

very much against the death penalty, why waste another life? hardly even a punishment for the person, they would likely rather die than receive life in prison

Its not really a waste considering they are the scum of society. Besides we waste enough of our tax money keeping them in jail.

Bring it back. For murderers, rapists, child molesters and old people bashers.

I have been giving this plenty of thought over the years. I for one would like to see it back in Australia. After the Jury found Donna Fitchett guilty of Killing her own sons surely they should be given the punishment or the chance to put someone to death. I have worked in the court system before and in my mind the punishments giving out are to soft to begin with. If someone takes a life or sexually hurts a child this I think is in everyone's best interest to consider handing down such a penalty. After all why should someone that takes another persons life or sexually hurts a child should they continue to live. Death Penalty should be given out or a chance for it if they are 100% sure that the crime has been committed. Another story over the years when Anita Cobby had been dragged through a barbed-wire fence and punched, beaten and kicked. There was extensive bruising on her head, breasts, face, shoulders, groin, thighs and legs. Her throat had been cut and she was almost decapitated to the person that did that should they be given life in jail is that really that bad or would the family of person it happened to rather something more. Cause if you ask me without the death penalty there is just something missing in the crime system today. Your thoughts on if this should come back for a crime so bad.

Yeah it's just not as exciting as it used to be, is it?

It's like taking the bump out of AFL footy :thumbsd:

Never actually given it any thought, bit wouldnt death be an easy "out" for the guilty? Having to live with the fact that you have killed someone in cold blood would be far worse IMO. However, for multiple murders/rapes, i think that there is a case for the return of capital punishment.

Only in extremely severe circumstances, like murders and rapes. There has to be heaps of evidence and they have to be 100% sure that they have actually committed the crime.

there have been just as many cases in which death penalty was unjust as there have been cases in which it clearly should have been used.

but it's always the same. beeing right and getting right.

taxes is a point but moral of a society too.
what is the right punishment - death or life ?
take and give - who should decide ? the victims and her families?
are we too modern to use something old fashioned like death penalty ?

questions that pop up when i think about death penalty.

Whilst there are people who deserve to be put to death in this world, the risk is killing an innocent man, and it's inhumane to even risk such a thing, regardless of the evidence against them. Even that 1% risk is one that we should not be taking. I am against it, and strongly, for that reason.

i don't mind ppl that are against the death penalty, that's fine. but if you're also against proper sentencing, then i have a problem with that.

melbourne for example, where i live, has become a very violent city in recent years, and what's being done about it? if you're so ____ed up to commit a serious time, you deserve a very harsh sentence.

And when there's a wrongful conviction?...

Appeal :thumbsu:

Oh, I see the problem...

Nah, bad idea. Surely for the worst offenders needs to be total solitary confinement. Having nothing but their own thoughts to live with forever

If the legal system is consistent with the society's view of appropriate sentencing, then the death penalty becomes irrelevant. For example, if found guilty, the guy that bashed Lauren Huxley to near death should get life, not this bs maximum 25 year jail term.

No doubt his lawyer will come out & say that the guy was beaten as a child or some other kind of feeble excuse to get his sentence as lenient as possible. It really makes me wonder how some of these lawyers can sleep at night. Make no mistake though the guy will definitely get bashed in the joint

I can understand people wanting to introduce the death penalty, I personally have a problem with it.

I don't like the idea of executing someone as punishment for something they did wrong. If they cant be trusted in society then they stay in jail for the rest of their life. Whether they are in Jail or dead doesn't alter that they've been removed as a threat from law abiding citizens.

People complaining about paying Taxes for prisoners irks me. That isn't a reason to justify Killing someone. We pay money for the privilege of being safe from people convicted of criminal behaviour.

By the time you costed the countless appeals the person exhausted before being executed, the cost of it and the many years they'd spend in jail before being killed anyway, the cost wouldn't be greatly different anyway.

But how many rapists and murderers actually serve 20 years or more in jail? Not enough I'd say.

Anyway, that's why it's better to kill the perp at the scene of the crime.

Its not really a waste considering they are the scum of society. Besides we waste enough of our tax money keeping them in jail.

Bring it back. For murderers, rapists, child molesters and old people bashers.

Spot on. Its not a waste thats for sure. Tie them up get em in the chair and off we go. Or do it some other way. Its the right thing to do .

Yeah it's just not as exciting as it used to be, is it?

It's like taking the bump out of AFL footy :thumbsd:

Thats right :)

But how many rapists and murderers actually serve 20 years or more in jail? Not enough I'd say.

Without looking at any actual figures I'd say you are probably correct.

Though should 1 mistake (if it only was one) condem someone to jail for ever or death? What about occassions where mitigating circumstances have played a part in the crime?

It's a tough one. The victims family would agree with death or life, arguing that someone has lost their life as the result of actions (be it murder or rape).
Though if the role of the prison system is to protect society from dangerous people, and some are deemed to have rehabilitated and be fit to return to society then should they be allowed?

I'm sorry Your Honour, the knife slipped twenty times, it was a moment of insanity. And my uncle used to touch me you know where :(

OK, 7 years, 5 if you're good. Don't do it again or you'll get another 5 next time. Maybe 3 if your mother slapped you once or another uncle touched you.

Appeal :thumbsu:

Oh, I see the problem...

Nah, bad idea. Surely for the worst offenders needs to be total solitary confinement. Having nothing but their own thoughts to live with forever

That's it. Allowing someone to escape by death wouldn't be fair anyways. Letting them sit in a small cell for the rest of their lives regretting what they had done would be much better. That would be the form of punishment I would wish upon my murderers'