Dees v Bombers 2011

im not here to try and start a shitstorm with the melbourne supporters... but, i cant help but think some melbourne people are slightly overrating their list...
Looks to have some great POTENTIAL talent, but at the moment alot of the talent is still POTENTIAL....
Frawley is a gun, along with Green. They are the 2 out and out A graders at present on your list, then Maloney and Jamar were both awesome last year..
i think after that alot of it is potential.
If Jurrah and those boys stay right you will go a long way toward finals.
At the end of the day though, alot of the talent is potential, and Scully, Trengove etc. could suffer some second year blues for example and that could hurt..

Just an outsiders POV anyway..

Dees I'd say, though wouldn't be the most surprising thing to see it go the other way.

Richmonds List is quality . . .:confused::confused: they are horrible, your getting excited about ben nason>?? hahaha

Demons v Bombers... id have to say Demons, looking like improving by great lengths

I think that Essendon and Melbourne will be close in 2011 but I think 2012 and beyond is where we will see Melbourne's superior talent shine.

Edit: I recently looked at the draw. The 2011 ladder won't be a true indication of how good tese teams are.

I think that Essendon and Melbourne will be close in 2011 but I think 2012 and beyond is where we will see Melbourne's superior talent shine.

Edit: I recently looked at the draw. The 2011 ladder won't be a true indication of how good tese teams are.

:(:(:(:(

a possibility to happen rusman but the way i see it is that it was joint improvement from a lot of our player, not just the young ones, which helped us Green, Jamar, Frawley, Moloney as well

some of good younger players stagnated a bit last year such as Morton and Jones and should offer us more next year and players like Grimes and Sylvia will hopefully put a full season together

Watts' improvement will be crucial, if he can become a 25-35 goal forward next year it would add a lot to our team and be a good step for him

im not sure how the Essendon players will react to Hird and i suspect them getting a quality young mid or two through the draft will help them enourmously (if i were essendon id be drafting Caddy and Prestia unless Polec or Gaff slides)

melbourne should finish above Essendon, because we probably are a bit further ahead in the development of our younger players

Well level headed post :thumbsu: id be same thinking if i was melb supporter very exciting times and you make some good points. I didnt think of jones and co stepping up. I actually believe Jones has a lot more to offer then most as i saw him dominate at a junior level and still believe he has a lot more to show. Very determined person.

cheers, with regard to essendon, they did make finals 2 years ago with a similar list and have beaten the Saints this year(no mean feat) so i think significant improvement should be possible next year, personally i see them around the 12-9 mark a maybe slipping into the 8 if things go well

im also quite the fan of JOnes 22 years old with almost 100 games experience as well as him putting in some very good performance in the last couple of years, he should be able to turn it around

Personally can't see *heaps* of improvement left in Jones. He's been at that same level for 3-4 years. He's big & fit already.
He should get a bit smarter, a bit more polish; but I can't see him suddenly turning into an awesome uber-gun.

Right down the list of Dees I would pick out with more improvement left.

Personally can't see *heaps* of improvement left in Jones. He's been at that same level for 3-4 years. He's big & fit already.
He should get a bit smarter, a bit more polish; but I can't see him suddenly turning into an awesome uber-gun.

Right down the list of Dees I would pick out with more improvement left.

I think thats the general consensus slatts.

Mines a bit different as its formed from knowing hes a competitive beast and seeing more strings as a junior.

Think he will improve to a B+ player like a cross sort of player.

I think thats the general consensus slatts.

Mines a bit different as its formed from knowing hes a competitive beast and seeing more strings as a junior.

Think he will improve to a B+ player like a cross sort of player.
That would basically just ironing out the bad decisions, and doing the good things a bit more often. From all reports isn't too happy with the year he had.

Melbourne have to finish higher in 2011 for the simple fact of their quality in the midfield. Essendon lacks in this area, although it will be interesting to see what effect, if any, the loss of Bruce and McDonald has on the team. Long-term will be interesting. One team most of its key positions sorted, but lacks midfield class. The other has not much of the former (Frawley and Watts aside), but has plenty of the later.

i would say melbourne has key positions sorted and covered to some extent

Frawley, Rivers, Watts (expecting strides next year) and all we need is a FF (Jurrah maybe)

Melbourne will struggle with the loss of JMac and Bruce's experience and this should not be under estimated. And i also fully expect that Scully and Trengove might suffer a touch from the second year blues. The flip side is the improvement will come from having players on the park. As an example; Morton did his PCL in a practice match and struggled all year, Jones just stunk, Grimes didn't play the second half of the year, Jurrah only played the last 6 (odd) games, Ricky P missed most of the year and Sylvia had his jaw broken then had the blood clot so never got a run at it. All of these players are in our best 22.

The Bombers whom i sure also had injury issues will also have to contend with learning a new game plan. And correct me if im wrong but i think the Hird and Knights styles will be very very different and could take a year or two to perfect.

For mine the Bombers need to go backwards to move forwards.

i would say melbourne has key positions sorted and covered to some extent

Frawley, Rivers, Watts (expecting strides next year) and all we need is a FF (Jurrah maybe)

If you're counting rucks, then Jamar with Spencer, Gawn, Fitzpatrick to apprentice is looking OK

We also have Warnock and Garland down back, and a host of secondary-nearly type key forwards like Bate, Dunn, Jurrah, Petterd (all of whom have managed 4+ in a match) and the bloke I reckon will end up at CHF - Morton. With Ozzie and JB as smalls it's going to be a ripper forwardline even if Watts is the only prototypical Key Forward

If you're counting rucks, then Jamar with Spencer, Gawn, Fitzpatrick to apprentice is looking OK

We also have Warnock and Garland down back, and a host of secondary-nearly type key forwards like Bate, Dunn, Jurrah, Petterd (all of whom have managed 4+ in a match) and the bloke I reckon will end up at CHF - Morton. With Ozzie and JB as smalls it's going to be a ripper forwardline even if Watts is the only prototypical Key Forward

How are your rucks ok?

Jamar aside, Spencer, Gawn and Fitzpatrick haven't shown that they'll make it let alone become serviceable players. They could all easily end up in the scrap heap after a few years.

As for Morton at CHF? Wow - I would rather play Maric at CHF (if he's still on your list)

Pettered, Jurrah and Watts are massive talents however. Bate is a workhorse and is underrated. The building blocks of a good forwardline.

Demons, I could just be getting sucked into the hype but their list looks in far better shape