Delistings / elevations and other changes

ImperialPurple said:
I don't know Rob - I think that although the perception is still there, the reality is that they are not physically soft, but perhaps just need to toughen up mentally. Some of the young guys like Dodd, Crowley and Murphy don't mind it a bit rough, and guys like the Carrs, Blackie, Grover, Bellie, Hase and Big Aaron don't mind chucking their weight around and sticking up for themselves or their team-mates. That said, I reckon Cookie is the only one who has total reckless abandon with regards to his own safety (although Bellie might argue with me after his clash with Judd), and the fact that he has been so bloody durable over his career is pretty amazing. I reckon he is worth his weight in gold, but I also believe he is going to have to keep up the standards he set in 2005 to keep getting a game each week. I don't reckon he'd be uder any illusions about that either. He's a smart bloke our Cookie.

Spot on. I am quietly pleased with the new aggression shown in the latter part of the season , though at the time I was not to pleased with Scham giving away a free when he put Byron Pickett on his bum.

You can add Headland , Scham and even Justin & Medders (though he usually gives away a free) to your list of "don't mind chucking their weight around and sticking up for themselves or their team-mates."

Rob said:
Fair dinkum, if Cookie doesn't get a game next year we may as well invest in a set of bibs and play netball.

I hope he doesnt play many games next year ! - Because it will mean that the players have toughened up and put their collective guts and balls on the line and bleed for the club like Cookie does.

I'd like to know what introduction process the draftees goes thru when they join Freo. They need to indoctrinate them fill them with the achievements of the Freo greats. Take 'em down to Moss St and show them!.

Freo Shark said:
I hope he doesnt play many games next year ! - Because it will mean that the players have toughened up and put their collective guts and balls on the line and bleed for the club like Cookie does.

True.

I'd say there would be young guys getting around in the WAFL who will be looking sideways this year.

pinkus maximus said:
no ...name your best 22

Come off it. Bigfooty posters ranked him no 2. over the season, and the club coaches ranked him in the top 15 or so. WHTP had him at No. 4.

How about you name the 22 players ahead of him? Because I'll bet London to a brick we'll be able to shred your list.

ImperialPurple said:
I don't know Rob - I think that although the perception is still there, the reality is that they are not physically soft, but perhaps just need to toughen up mentally. Some of the young guys like Dodd, Crowley and Murphy don't mind it a bit rough, and guys like the Carrs, Blackie, Grover, Bellie, Hase and Big Aaron don't mind chucking their weight around and sticking up for themselves or their team-mates.

It's not off the ball physicality that's the problem, it's the inability/lack of desire to put your body on the line when the ball's at stake. And when you have too many players that are not prepared to do so, it sweeps through the rest of the team like a disease, so guys that would otherwise put their life on the line take the easy option, particularly when the tempo steps up a notch or 2 in big games. Review the 1st 3/4 of the round 20 derby or the 2nd half of the Port game if you want countless examples.

That said, I reckon Cookie is the only one who has total reckless abandon with regards to his own safety (although Bellie might argue with me after his clash with Judd), and the fact that he has been so bloody durable over his career is pretty amazing. I reckon he is worth his weight in gold, but I also believe he is going to have to keep up the standards he set in 2005 to keep getting a game each week. I don't reckon he'd be uder any illusions about that either. He's a smart bloke our Cookie.

It's not just his football ability as to why he should stay in the side, it's the message it sends to the rest of the playing group. Soft footy should not be tolerated, hard footy will be rewarded. If we were a top 4 side gunning for a flag playing exactly the type of footy necessary to get there, a guy like Cook is expendable. But at the moment we're playing soft, weak footy that continually gets exposed against decent sides when the pressure gets turned up. That sort of footy will get obliterated in finals, let alone grand finals. If it gets us there in the first place.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
Come off it. Bigfooty posters ranked him no 2. over the season, and the club coaches ranked him in the top 15 or so. WHTP had him at No. 4.

How about you name the 22 players ahead of him? Because I'll bet London to a brick we'll be able to shred your list.

I posted my best 22 in a thread on the main board a couple of weeks ago

B:Parker............Haddrill........Grover

HB:Thornton........Polak..........Mundy

C:Schammer.......Haselby........Black

HF:Medhurst.......Pavlich..........Bell

F: Farmer.........McPharlin.......Longmuir

R: Sandilands J Carr M Carr

IC: Crowley Walker Peake Headland

I love Cookie as much as the next guy but he is slow and he cant kick.

Have a look at the best midfield in the comp.they are quick and skillfull,we need to keep developing Peake and Crowley. A fit Hasleby,Josh Carr Matt Carr and Bell is enough grunt in our midfield

pinkus maximus said:
I posted my best 22 in a thread on the main board a couple of weeks ago

B:Parker............Haddrill........Grover

HB:Thornton........Polak..........Mundy

C:Schammer.......Haselby........Black

HF:Medhurst.......Pavlich..........Bell

F: Farmer.........McPharlin.......Longmuir

R: Sandilands J Carr M Carr

IC: Crowley Walker Peake Headland

I love Cookie as much as the next guy but he is slow and he cant kick.

Have a look at the best midfield in the comp.they are quick and skillfull,we need to keep developing Peake and Crowley. A fit Hasleby,Josh Carr Matt Carr and Bell is enough grunt in our midfield

Yeah, its a good go. But ... you've got a lot of flashy players who can't tackle. In Peake, Schammer, Walker, Thornton, Polak, Medhurst and even Pavlich you've got a lot of guys who don't tackle much or can't make a tackle stick. And a few would argue that Headland isn't that flash either -- though he was brilliant late in the season.

And while Cook isn't quick he's quicker than Hasleby, the Carrs and Bell. Cookie is also a lot stronger in the air than a fair few of the smaller fellas. You can't kick to a Schammer- Walker-Peake-Black one-on-one. You can with Cook as he has a better than even chance of winning it in the air.

But I can see where you're coming from. Its not easy to fit him in. And you've also left out Twenty-Melee Dodd. Competition for spots is going to be very hot next year.

And one more thing. I don't know why people persist with JLo in the forward pocket. He's just not big enough etc to do it consistently. He plays his best footy behind the play, and drifting forward.

From the Drafts and Trading Board:

Originally posted by Weaver:
Also clubs don't have to make a minimum three selections as the article suggests. They have to have 3 vacancies. They can choose to pass on all three if they wanted to and get to 38 by using the PSD and promoting rookies.

Maybe Duffield might make it onto the senior list yet???

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
Yeah, its a good go. But ... you've got a lot of flashy players who can't tackle. In Peake

Actually Peake is quite a good tackler. He was in contention to win most tackles layed during a season in the WAFL. Peake needs to add some more weight to further impose himself in the game

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
And one more thing. I don't know why people persist with JLo in the forward pocket. He's just not big enough etc to do it consistently. He plays his best footy behind the play, and drifting forward.
So what position do you put him in on a magnetic board? Ruckman? Backman? Surely we have to hope that Sandi can become our main ruckman. He may be able to be a dominant player in that position. JLo is unlikely to improve much as a ruckman, and has good versatilty. I would have put him in a forward pocket in a best 22 (but agree with you re he hasn't worked there), and depending on the state of the game and the oppositions line up might play him elsewhere.

theGav56 said:
So what position do you put him in on a magnetic board?
On the pine.

But it raises the question -- does the traditional magnetic board reflect todays game? Given you never see the Dockers line up with a 6 man forward line. Why not just put JLo's name next to the CHB as spare man in defence.

inferno66 said:
Actually Peake is quite a good tackler. He was in contention to win most tackles layed during a season in the WAFL. Peake needs to add some more weight to further impose himself in the game
Thanks for that Inferno. When you think about his speed is probably an asset in laying tackles -- like Aaron Davey. He needs to add a "lot" more weight though.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
Thanks for that Inferno. When you think about his speed is probably an asset in laying tackles -- like Aaron Davey. He needs to add a "lot" more weight though.

Wasn't there a story earlier on, that while the other boys were in London, Peakey was in the gym every day with the aim of adding 4-5kg before next season?? You'd hope at least that much, but it shows how hard he's prepared to work if he's doing that while the other blokes are on holiday. And wasn't his training partner Schofield? Maybe he'll have something to add after all.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:

He put Dean Cox down in the Derby, also took a contested mark against Shane Wakelin at the MCG.

Another 8-10 Kg's on him and watch out!