Dermott Brereton's commentary

• Thread starter Thread starter kozi

The diatribe and pontification that spews fourth from Brereton on a weekly basis is now the number one reason I turn the sound off.

The guy seriously needs to drop the overly 'in-depth', over the top, patronising, never-ending string of pompousnous. It's sickening that his colleagues put up with it. And we think it's bad listening to his calls...imagine working with him.

Breton a flog no doubt about, always shocks me these past players can land these big paying media jobs without having the talent to do said job.

They are the reason I only watch the game in mute ... I miss listening to the crowd, but that's the price you pay.

He's continually head-hunted by big media execs all around the country. No offense, but their evaluations of Brereton's seem to be a lot more correct than yours.

Brereton knows what he's talking about. It's not a fault having a big vocabulary. He's good with his words and he chooses to use his strengths to give everyone a good idea of what's going on.

Nobody suggested possessing a big vocabulary was a fault but when you continually use words incorrectly in regards to context it becomes obvious you are doing so only in an attempt to appear smarter than you are.

The sad thing is that it only shows up the fact you aren't all that bright.

Go and play in 5 AFL premierships as a CHF then I might be "impressed".

Your point is that if a player has played in multiple premierships as a CHF then he's qualified as someone who is "smart". You're in fairy land mate.

The thing that frustrates me about Dermott is that he always comments on passages of play that have happened, in a way that makes it sound like he knew it was going to happen. Tries to make himself sounds smarter than he is.

+1. My point exactly. He's always thinking "how can I say this in a way that will make most people think I'm more intelligent than everyone else"

which might be fine if he didn't sound like he thinks he's Moses bringing down stone tablets from the mountain with the words of god with every sentence he utters

That is a very accurate description of how Dermott appears to view himself.

A good commentator is like a good umpire, you don't notice them, they just do their job. I would like to know the players names thanks, not Dermie's irrelevant theories.

Precisely. The fact that his commentary makes you wonder more about him than the actual game at the time means he should not be commentating at all.

His unintended comedy routines aren't bad. Did anyone catch his interview with Geelong's Alan "Bundy" Christensen about 6 weeks ago? Dermie spent some 10 minutes asking / telling Bundy how difficult it must be for an indigenous player to leave his home, family and friends in the Northern Territory and how difficult it must be to adapt to life in the City. He then asked Bundy was that how he saw it, to which Bundy responded words to the effect, "Not really. I'm from Lara!" It was golden, and only a Dermott Brereton could have gone on like he did loving the sound of his voice....

If you had to reduce each commentator to one soundbite to capture the essence of them, that would be the one from Brereton. It really had everything. Summed him up perfectly.

He is a moron who is totally up himself, but I like listening to him just for laughs. Here's some of Derm's greatest hits:

"Luke Hodge - the 21 year old, who turned 22 a few weeks ago"

"He scored that goal after only 22 seconds - totally against the run of play."

"That kick was absolutely unique, except for the one before it which was identical."

"I would not say he (Chris Judd) is the best centreman in the AFL but there are none better."

"Well, either side could win it, or it could be a draw."

"Strangely, in slow motion replay, the ball seemed to hang in the air for even longer."

In fairness, have you got a link for those? I've seen several of them pop up with different players and attributed to different commentators.

If you watch Dermott in the commentary box its fairly obvious he is just sitting there, waiting for his turn to talk.

the amount of times i've heard him repeat something someone else has just said is amazing.

He's not great, however Tony Shaw and Richo are far worse. Those two muppets have a vocabulary that a young sudanese boy learning English would be ashamed of.

Michael Voss has been surprisingly impressive this year, I thought he was ordinary during the finals last year, however he's lifted his game and has been one of the best.

He's not great, however Tony Shaw and Richo are far worse. Those two muppets have a vocabulary that a young sudanese boy learning English would be ashamed of.

Michael Voss has been surprisingly impressive this year, I thought he was ordinary during the finals last year, however he's lifted his game and has been one of the best.

Good call. I really rate Vossy. He impressed me on Open Mike, as well.

Carey, Richo and Riewoldt are all far better CHFs turned commentators, all give great insights to playing that position and forward play in general but don't carry on like they invented the game like Dermie does.

This man can ruin even the most entertaining game with his pointless and egotistical background blabber. So sick of his voice during games. Does anyone else think he's a complete joke of a commentator?

Key word of description.

Never has there been a person in the history of the game on or off field that is more impressed with himself.

5 Premierships enhanced his legend in many eyes to ridiculous proportions, hence giving him an exaggerated opinion of himself as an individual because he had automatic entry and a drinkcard into the Grainstore and the Underground. A very good player at best. Not fit to carry Carey's or Nick Riewoldt's Bags.

As far as what he says in commentary, he baffles people with bullshit. Apart from the simpletons out there that listen to some of the tripe he speaks there are just as many that have actually got a clue about the game and see right through him for the merchant banker he his.

Carey, Richo and Riewoldt are all far better CHFs turned commentators, all give great insights to playing that position and forward play in general but don't carry on like they invented the game like Dermie does.

Without a doubt. None of them are fantastic commentators but provide decent insights and are ok to listen too, sometimes even great to listen too. What are Dermott's great insights? Has he ever had one?

Carey's the opposite. I often forget he's even there.

Riewoldt: let's see how he goes when he retires, it's a full-time gig and he doesn't get spoon fed by Bruce.

Richo: haven't been impressed. He's really interested in Tweets and checking out the people in costumes and wearing facepaint in the crowd. Though, in fairness, I'd like to reserve judgement until he hooks up with a crew of slightly less moronic commentators to see if they're dragging him down to their level.

lol, you have to be kidding, he is dumb, just gotta listen to him using what he thinks are 'big' words in the wrong context to know that. He was a great player, his football analysis is poor in many instances.

Correct. Baffles with Bullshit. Not everybody in the audience is an imbecile.

He's continually head-hunted by big media execs all around the country. No offense, but their evaluations of Brereton's seem to be a lot more correct than yours.

Brereton knows what he's talking about. It's not a fault having a big vocabulary. He's good with his words and he chooses to use his strengths to give everyone a good idea of what's going on.

Who are you ? One of the producers of Getaway or something ?:rolleyes:

I'll take Dermie's commentary any day over Tony Shaw. Can't stand Shaw's commentary.
Also, no former player should commentate their former team. Cameron Mooney at a Geelong game is beyond frustrating

Nobody suggested possessing a big vocabulary was a fault but when you continually use words incorrectly in regards to context it becomes obvious you are doing so only in an attempt to appear smarter than you are.

The sad thing is that it only shows up the fact you aren't all that bright.
Getting personal are we?

So respecting and valuing the opinions of a champion all of a sudden makes me stupid?

Your comment probably says more about your own lack of intelligence than mine.

Your point is that if a player has played in multiple premierships as a CHF then he's qualified as someone who is "smart". You're in fairy land mate
Not my point at all.

You asked
an idiotic question so in turn I gave you a run of the mill answer.

That said, I'd still rather listen to Dermie talk about the footy than yourself.