Dirty Little Secret

Geelong are my second team.

I wouldn't exactly describe Geelong as my second team, but I respect the way they've gone about their football over the last 10 years, particularly when Bomber Thompson was their coach.

Having heard a number of senior Hawthorn people talk, they share the same respect for Geelong and hope to emulate Geelong's work at the trade/free agency table in the next couple of years.

Not sure any amount of Hail Marys and Our Fathers will cover this one mate...

Loved watching Gary Ablett senior in the 80's and the Cats, back then, played an exciting brand of high scoring footy with a touch of hardness thrown in.

Been a fan of Lingy, Bartel even Selwood and Chappy. Sure they have had a few heads in their side who doesn't. That period where they were unbeatable and we were the only side that could get close to them, was great footy to watch (despite being on the receiving end). All the neutrals I know used to set their clocks for those Hawk v Cat match ups. It was this history that made the 2008 GF win one of the sweetest ever.

Collingwood are my second team. Love Eddie and how he tells the Swans to GAGF with their assistance, love watching Pendlebury play, and I find a couple of their 'smart arse' players to be very funny.

Interesting thread....

I have enjoyed watching Carlton this season under Bolton, I genuinely hope he does well there (and I think he will), Melbourne are another that I have enjoyed seeing playing some good footy this year, I wouldn't have any issues seeing them up and about in the finals, their fans have had to endure more then any really with the dross that they have served up over the years.
On Geelong, I don't hate them as much as some do, I have lots of respect for their own run of success, some of their fans are bloody insufferable but I also know quite a few and they are more then fair footy fans, I think I hate their media darling tag more then anything (especially since Danger has moved there).

I wouldn't exactly describe Geelong as my second team, but I respect the way they've gone about their football over the last 10 years, particularly when Bomber Thompson was their coach.

Having heard a number of senior Hawthorn people talk, they share the same respect for Geelong and hope to emulate Geelong's work at the trade/free agency table in the next couple of years.

Share these sentiments (new it would not be a popular dirty little secret). Bit of a fan of the Crows too. They have been smashed with departures Tippett, Davis, Gunston, Dangerfield etc. Had the death of Walsh to deal with and they keep rolling their sleeves up. Have a soft spot for the Bulldogs as well. That is about as far as my love extends. :)

I have something to admit.

I've been watching - by choice - Carlton and Melbourne games this year, streaming them to my computer.
And kind of....well, uhm, pulling for them.
Enjoying when they play well in parts, adopting some faves. That Docherty kid is a ripper.....

Now this is totally unexpected, as I despise the Carlton football club as I know it and experienced through the 80's and onwards. Aged 11 I had a bit of a crush on that 77'-79' blues team with players who were tough and skilled and played the game in a pretty exciting way....but that was the end of it until this year!!!

Ooooh, the nausea as I write all this.

Ok, two more.

I was a big Van Der Haar fan and would have loved him at Hawthorn. Yes, an Essendon player.:drunk:
And, watching Andy Collins play the ball out of the backline always made me squirm. I just, well, thought it would come straight back the other way every time, he had monstrously bad kicking skills.....how can I hate on a guy with so much heart????

There! I've done it.:D
What are some of yours?
FF - this board needs a little cheer at the moment. Cheers for the thread.:thumbsu:

I've followed Hawthorn all my life. Many years of membership, but a few breaks I there so not a long "consecutive" streak, currently international member, but when I'm in Australia I live in Sydney.

I also have a Giants membership - I feel dirty, but I figure it is better than the $wans

If we're going to play this game....

I've always thought Lindsey Thomas would look good in hawks colors.

Confession time:
Dangerfield is probably my favourite non-Hawk player in the league - even though he plays for the despised Cats.
I don't hate Collingwood nor Carlton anywhere near as much as I hate Geelong, West Coast and Essendon.
I would love to see Melbourne win a flag.
I love watching GWS play footy - they are tough, ferocious and highly skilled - like us at our best!
I'm rapt that Josh Kennedy has had a great career since leaving the Hawks.
In fact, I love seeing ex-Hawk players doing well in their new clubs (Cheney, Buddy, Kennedy, McGlynn, Ellis etc)

I am calling troll account none of this could be true?:eek:

If it came down to

Geelong vs GWS or Geelong vs $wans in the Grand Final I would be backing Geelong to win. It would be hypocritical not to.

Can't believe in 2012 and 2014 a lot of Geelong fans changed their avatars to $wans ones. Thought it was pretty stupid at the time and petty.