Dockers Subi Cheer Squad

This mite have been put up as a thread before but yesterday at west leederville station docker cheer squad members were asking punters to sign a petition to 'get their jobs back" something about being too loud for AFL: standards??.

Clarification by someone please?

not jobs mate, drums, an eagle supporter complained during the derby that the drums were to noisy and the AFL have since banned them, which is why they weren't used for the melbourne or essendon game. the petition is to try and get the drums back.

although yesterday someone seems to have snuck a drum in, up the top of the tier stand.

i hope you signed the petition.

Damn slime whingers Pfffffftttt
J. Carr, the Drums, the colour purple -they always find something to complain about - they all suffer from Freophobia.:p;)

not jobs mate, drums, an eagle supporter complained during the derby that the drums were to noisy and the AFL have since banned them, which is why they weren't used for the melbourne or essendon game. the petition is to try and get the drums back.

although yesterday someone seems to have snuck a drum in, up the top of the tier stand.

i hope you signed the petition.

If you're right about that I reckon that everyone should bring one in to our home derby next year.

Yeah, at the away derby last season a few of the WC supporters in the tier above us bitched and moaned to security about the drums being "distracting" and "too loud", so we were told to get rid of them. They came to an agreement we could use them only if we used them after we kicked a goal, and no other time.

Just before the last away derby the AFL decided to ban the drums forever. Apparantly they are "too loud". :rolleyes:

I signed the Petition after the Essendon game at the Seaview, almost took the page though the signatures above mine were a few of the freo boys.

Can we get the eagle taken away from the eagles games??? I think it is too dangerous :p

an eagle supporter complained during the derby that the drums were to noisy

Only an eagles supporter could complain about too much noise at a footy game.

Perhaps they should've just turned their hearing aid down a little.

Somewhat on the subject, does anyone know what is said after Pavlich scores a goal? There is a big group that always chant something after he scores.... I have only noticed it the last few games.

I was talking to a guy last year who told me his brother played the drums behind the goal (thinking I'd be impressed) but I hadn't even noticed the drums. I guess they couldn't be that loud if I haven't noticed them, although I hate the 3 tier stand end.

Was it 2003 that the glory shed booked 50 tickets together to a Freo game, and then were told to stop chanting or they'd be evicted. The security at Subi need to harden the **** up.

I'm waiting for the Eagle to claw some eagles fan... preferably that fat guy who sits behind the goals.

Fat Daniel will devour the bird on sight. I don't like creature either, but as it is a protected species I think it would be sad to suffer a fate to be devoured by a fat bule & yellow blob:p:p

Damn slime whingers Pfffffftttt
J. Carr, the Drums, the colour purple -they always find something to complain about - they all suffer from Freophobia.

Wow, this thread has definitely got my interest. And I'll explain why as well.

We went to the MCG Trust before the Grand final saying quite honestly that we had a drum and would have loved to have been able to use it at the Grand Final to not only create support for our team but increase the atmosphere at the game. Then we hear the Eagles tried to SMUGGLE one into the ground in a flogger or something only to have it confiscated by security. We also hear that the Trust basically dug their toes in the sand in relation to drums thereafter. :thumbsd:

The very insular AFL Cheer Squads League has a vendetta against anything new original or something they aren't/won't/isn't traditionally done in Victoria. My giant flags (a traditionally Sydney thing) were their pet hate. We refused to back down despite years & years of brinksmanship from the AFLCSL. We recently got fined for RobbieAndo's 1.90m high flag being waved at the game against North Melbourne. And copped a fine for being seen on TV using drums at matches.:rolleyes:I thought Cheer Squads were there to support one another, not try and stab each other in the back. Port will be the next ones to cop it re "over-sized" flags!(not that Paralowie Power's is illegal or anything :p)

To hear an Eagle supporter have a sook about a Freo supporter banging a drum in front of them is just typical isn't it. At Subi at Eagles games we have been told to NOT wave flags to put off their baby oil clad darlings when that has been an established and accepted part of supporter culture everywhere else since Year Dot. Let's face it, Eagles supporters are so used to being in a stadium with 44000 blue & gold clones that they are actually offended by the thought of away support at all. :rolleyes:

Freo Cheer Squad, you have my 100% support in this. I'll forward it to RWO if you like. Anything I can do to back you up, and I'm there.

JF (Swans Cheer Squad, formerly Sydney now Melbourne)

How pathetic are the authorities that put a stop to it, never mind the eagles supporter as that is expected.

I think the atmosphere at some footy games could really do with some spicing up. I've never had the chance but I think there would be nothing better than going to a premier league game and hearing a crowd of 90 K plus chanting in unison.

To hear these stories just makes me think how small town Perth and the AFL is.

If they are trying to water down everything to placate the corporate dollars, then I think our game will become more and more stale as the years go on.

We need more colour, more vibrancy, more atmosphere and more supporters showing their support in different ways.

BRING BACK THE BLOODY DRUMS!!!!!!!!!!

i hate security. They are the fun police

stop taking away our fun.

do u want us to sit there quietly like little school children??

you know, i didnt think i could hate the eagles and their supporters anymore than i do already, especially after the josh carr witch hunt last derby, but true to form they have found a new way to p.ss me off. complaining about the drums................. you know what the next derby we should all start an innitiative, i dont know what exactly, but something that can happen just to p.ss them off as much as they do us, like organise everyone to wave tissue boxes every time they shoot for goal, or baby oil bottles, plastic bags filled with white (not of a drug nature) powder. or SOMETHING! i mean really organise it, hand out stuff before the game. its driving me insane, because they dislike us and want to bring us down, but i think they underestimate just how much we hate them, and how they are acting like the biggest mob of w***ers the world of sports supporting has ever seen. Ban the drums! unbelievable!!!

I hardly think some mardi gras style drums are needed. Load of crap. Why should anyone be forced to listen to some mindless hick belting away? Cheering's one thing but rubbish noise is another. BAR THE DRUMS!:thumbsd:

Yeah they're nothing like those slapper sticks...

WCE grannie`s at work again, complain about the drums, bell etc etc...

WCE home games are the only games at subi where they urge the crowd to cheer on the big scream, Radio Eagle 6pr Langdon tells them now is the moment to cheer...:confused:

WCE home games cheer and clap when they get a goal and nothing in between.

BRING BACK THE DRUMS :thumbsu: