Does having Judd actually make us worse?

• Thread starter Thread starter gbatman

If that means missing finals then so be it, we aren't going to win a flag this year any way, we'd be better off getting an earlier draft pick by playing the young players and giving them the tough jobs.
:thumbsd:

That's a wonderfull philosophy to have.

If Hawthorn for example had that belief in 2007, they could have played more kids so they missed the finals and finished lower for the sake of an early draft pick.

I believe this draft is weak, so picks 12 could be just as good as pick eight in this draft.

I believe that's approximately the selections Hawthorn used to draft Rioli and Birchall.

Finals experience at this point is going to aid us more in coming years than being two to four places higher at the draft. Anything less should be considered as failure and motivation from the sting of missing out on September.

The reason we're not getting better use from Judd is we have a young midfield and a lack of experienced players in the 23 to 26 age bracket. There's a generation gap due to our poor drafting and trading between 1999 and 2001.

The draft penalties took a general in Goddard from us...

We lack a senior core of Hodge, Mitchell, Sewell, Bateman, Dew and Lewis (or Ablett, Ling, Bartel, Selwood, Corey, Kelly and Enright) to free Judd up to be more attacking like Hodge and Ablett.

Judd would be better than he was at WCE with that sought of support.

Our midfield would struggle if you took Judd out of it like Hawthorn did with Hodge last year.

The OP's suggestion would have Grigg, Murphy, Browne, Kreuzer and Gibbs playing in the middle against players with more than 100 games under their belt.

Silly suggestion.

Probably should have titled the OP, "are we using judd wrong/doing the wrong things to develop our list?". But I didn't.

Ah well you're probably right about playing finals this year. I've missed them too much to not want to make them.

Of course were better with judd. but they need to free him up its getting ridiculous and the umpires let the taggers get away with murder last week 3fa 1ff. and welsh was all over him all night, judd on the wing is not a stupid idea.

moran.jpg

that goes too all those fools who start stupid shitty threads

Made me laugh :thumbsu:

Probably should have titled the OP, "are we using judd wrong/doing the wrong things to develop our list?". But I didn't.

Ah well you're probably right about playing finals this year. I've missed them too much to not want to make them.

You probably meant "Is too much being left to Juddy in the bounces", which wouldn't have nearly the same impact. Could you retitle my Pear-Jam thread for me - my attempt at a Hun Headline failed miserably :)

Now is when we shave Russell and put a carlton number 5 on him... While taking Juddy to advanced hair...

This made me laught too :thumbsu:

judd is a spud! this is gold! its like watching collingwood on anzac day... thanks heaps carltank!

FFS we have one bad loss and so called "supporters" start questioning the coach, Fev, Judd whats next ? The fickleness of some of our own is truley unbelievable !

Looking at the team from Saturday, we're essentially the same team as that which finished 15th two years ago plus Armfield, Browne, Kreuzer and Joseph. Kreuzer will be a superstar in years to come but essentially we're saying that add Judd to a bottom-two side and sprinkle a few promising youngsters with potential and suddenly we're a top 4 side? :confused:

Sorry, c'mon, it doesn't work that way. We've had gradual improvement from our young list but so have many other sides, including the critically underrated Essendon for which we incomprehensibly go in as favourites each time.

(Replying to the thread title...) Yes it has made some of us - i.e. the supporters, worse. Judd ain't the messiah; there are 21 others that take the field each week. For better or worse we still have a long way to go.

Don't believe the hype: 8th was always going to be a good finish for us. Having just lost two games, we're still 8th. :) If we take it one week at a time and not get ahead of ourselves we're still a chance.

Looking at the team from Saturday, we're essentially the same team as that which finished 15th two years ago plus Armfield, Browne, Kreuzer and Joseph. Kreuzer will be a superstar in years to come but essentially we're saying that add Judd to a bottom-two side and sprinkle a few promising youngsters with potential and suddenly we're a top 4 side? :confused:

Sorry, c'mon, it doesn't work that way. We've had gradual improvement from our young list but so have many other sides, including the critically underrated Essendon for which we incomprehensibly go in as favourites each time.

(Replying to the thread title...) Yes it has made some of us - i.e. the supporters, worse. Judd ain't the messiah; there are 21 others that take the field each week. For better or worse we still have a long way to go.

Don't believe the hype: 8th was always going to be a good finish for us. Having just lost two games, we're still 8th. :) If we take it one week at a time and not get ahead of ourselves we're still a chance.

Decidedly sensible post:thumbsu:

if you didnt trade for Judd you'de still have Kennedy, probably have taken Masten with the 3 pick and someone else for the 20 pick was it? not a bad youbng midfield and half forward to have in that team at the moment

Exactly we would probably be 4 and 9 without Judd with these spuds instead

Since Judd came to Carlton we have improved massively since Judd left West Coast they have fallen from a GF to nothing in 2 years.

Close thread

Yep. Amazing how much Geelong changed their from 05 to 06, going from prelim finalists to not making the eight. Then again from 06 to 07 - must have had a massive change over of players to play as well as they did.

I think you'll find that most improvement comes from a change in mindset of the playing group. St Kilda is effectively the same team they were last year, Geelong I'd fathom was largely unchanged from 05 to 07.

Improvement can come as a trickle yet it also can come as a torrent. We improved heaps from 07 to 08 and while we're sitting on the same wins/losses as we were last year at this stage of the season, we've improved again in season 09. We don't have the wins to show for it but there's no doubt we've been a far more consistent team who've matched it with the best when on our game.

I honestly don't think there is that much to go for us to be a genuine top four side - had a bit of luck gone our way and we won even 2 of those 4 <10 losses, we'd be sitting 8-5 instead of 6-7.

No way, we are much better with Juddy, although I was watching Cousy being interview a few years back when Juddy was at West Coast and he said that sometimes during a game when Juddy was doing his thing he found himself watching the action rather than being involved. Interesting comment in the context of the thread.

I am not criticising Judd! Read into things more carefully folks. If anything I am criticising the coaches.

I am criticising the way Judd is used and that's put him in the center, forget about him, direct the ball to him as often as possible, don't bother using the other players and directing it to them, don't mix it up in there, don't move Judd when he struggles.

As a Dees supporter in reply to the general thread as I don't have time to read 4 pages...

Judd is undoubtedly a very, very good player(/Darkest wizard since Grindelwald :P) and would be a gift for any tea to have him. I don't watch every Blues game but i catch a fair bit and I would say that if by next year you're fisrt rounder isn't doing greatly along with Yarran/Kreuzer/Gibbs then you need a serious look

You should have come to your childhood club Juddy :)

I am not criticising Judd! Read into things more carefully folks. If anything I am criticising the coaches.

I am criticising the way Judd is used and that's put him in the center, forget about him, direct the ball to him as often as possible, don't bother using the other players and directing it to them, don't mix it up in there, don't move Judd when he struggles.

I would like to see some blocking for him like they used to do at WC. His disposals were much more effective then and I'm pretty sure he kicked more goals per season. I reckon his effectiveness in the forward line will always be of limited value too. Some people in footy should only play in one position and his is midfield. Give him some protection to increase the value of his contribution. You'll probably find the taggers that give him some trouble ie Shirley and Welsh won't be as damaging the other way either as they'll be spending much more time limiting his game and getting smacked around by the blockers at the same time.

Remember the game last year when Judd was out? Admittedly it was Richmond but we tore them a new one, saw the Stevens of old going in and winning his own ball and saw an even team effort.
Yes.....I remember that game.

Do you remember round 1 with Stevens out and Judd on fire?

If you are suggesting we have made a mistake by getting Judd because Stevens and co have got lazy........then you are a genius and should be running the CFC.:thumbsu: