Dons Need to Give Port a Flogging

I know the main reason we are losing is because of lack of talnet of our middle tier players, lack of depth, staleness, and the injury to Lloyd, but does anyone else reckon we are getting teams at the wrong time as well?

I know that sounds like a poor excuse, but when you're a poor team you still expect to cause a couple of upsets be beating better teams when they are primed to be beaten (i.e when they are not switched on)... at least in a couple of games.

I reckon in our 9 games only ONE, have we met an opponent who was primed to be beaten, and that was Sydney in round one, who had an indifferent pre-season, and were ready to be beaten. And we won!

Even Port last night had an attitude far, far better than their previous two weeks. If we played Port last week, and West Coast last night we probably would have beaten Port and lost to the Weagles by 80. Port were crap last week.

Round 6 and 7 was another one. We lost to Richmond and Carlton, yet in round 7 the Tigers lost by 118 and in round 6 the Blues lost to the Pies by 72 just in the second half. If we met the Blues in round 6 and the Tigers in round 7 we probably win both.

Just one of those one-percenters. We're meeting teams at the wrong time and playing them into form.

That's not the reason we're losing I might add, just one of those one-percenters that is the difference between sneaking a couple of extra wins.

red+black said:
funny comments from the Port crowd

you think thats funny! wait till you hear these ones >

Nobby8 said:
We need to,(and should),pump Port this week

red+black said:
We will lead Port at 3/4 time, will win the last quarter, and will win the match.

red+black said:
We'll smash Port anyway, no worries.

just a friendly tip, try winning the game BEFORE you start bragging :thumbsu:

Dan26 said:
I know the main reason we are losing is because of lack of talnet of our middle tier players, lack of depth, staleness, and the injury to Lloyd, but does anyone else reckon we are getting teams at the wrong time as well?

I know that sounds like a poor excuse, but when you're a poor team you still expect to cause a couple of upsets be beating better teams when they are primed to be beaten (i.e when they are not switched on)... at least in a couple of games.

I reckon in our 9 games only ONE, have we met an opponent who was primed to be beaten, and that was Sydney in round one, who had an indifferent pre-season, and were ready to be beaten. And we won!

Even Port last night had an attitude far, far better than their previous two weeks. If we played Port last week, and West Coast last night we probably would have beaten Port and lost to the Weagles by 80. Port were crap last week.

Round 6 and 7 was another one. We lost to Richmond and Carlton, yet in round 7 the Tigers lost by 118 and in round 6 the Blues lost to the Pies by 72 just in the second half. If we met the Blues in round 6 and the Tigers in round 7 we probably win both.

Just one of those one-percenters. We're meeting teams at the wrong time and playing them into form.

That's not the reason we're losing I might add, just one of those one-percenters that is the difference between sneaking a couple of extra wins.

I have thought of this as well actually. It all just compounds to a season where we just cant seem to get any sort of break.

Im not too worried about last weeks loss, because we were never going to beat Port. We are their b!tch. We struggle with them, thats the way footy goes. Same with the Carlton - form etc is irrelevant IMO. Carlton will always give us trouble, and often beat us, regardless of ladder position, especially early in the season.

I was cringing last week listening to a lot of Essendon people talking up our chances against Port - we had buckleys of winning sat night.

The teams I hate playing are Brisbane, Carlton, Port, Geelong, North - and anyone interstate.

The problem is, we have just come up short in games against clubs we often beat, which is gonna make these loses hurt so much more.

You watch, North will struggle until we play them, Essendon fans will all of a sudden feel confident, and they will beat us comfortably. Essendon fans will scream for Sheedy's head.

To rub salt into our wounds - trust us to not win 5 games the year they take away the priority pick - in a "super draft" as well. :rolleyes:

Everything is simply compounding. From close umpiring decisions to the fact we seem to have forgotten how to kick at the minute. We aint travelling good, but I still maintain we arent in as bad a position as it first seems.

Smokin said:
You watch, North will struggle until we play them, Essendon fans will all of a sudden feel confident, and they will beat us comfortably. Essendon fans will scream for Sheedy's head.

im hoping i can throw this quote back at ya face like a pie when we beat north :p... lets hope eh

djharps said:
im hoping i can throw this quote back at ya face like a pie when we beat north :p... lets hope eh

I hope you do. Highly doubt it tho. Im praying we dont win the spoon.

There are some teams we just dont mesh well with (all clubs have em), and thats even when we arent going too bad...let alone down on confidense and aweful.

Im not really looking forward to this Friday either.

Dons Need to Give Port a Flogging