LIVE: Brisbane Lions v Collingwood - Rd 4 - 7:30PM Thu
Squiggle tips Lions at 67% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists »
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 4
The Golden Ticket - Corporate tickets, functions, Open Air Boxes at the Adelaide Oval, ENGIE, Gabba, MCG, Marvel, Optus & People First Stadiums. Corporate Suites at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
I can't imagine we'd redraft Dunn in the draft proper. I reckon we'll only possibly take him in the rookie draft (if still available.)
He was contracted for another year. Why then would we delist him, then suddenly redraft him for 2 years?
If we really wanted to keep him, surely we wouldn't have gone through this risky process of delisting him.
From what I understand though Kepler can forgo the national draft and just nominate for the Pre Season Draft. Is that correct?
If we think we are a better chance of getting him in the PSD than the ND then I reckon that's what we should do.
As to picks
7- Masten, Palmer or Ebert
24- McGinnity
And I don't know enough about too many other kids to predict late round picks
Surely you should have enough flexibility to put contracted players on your rookie list if there is room. Elevating/demoting/delisting should all be done at the same time, it just makes for good list management. For instance why couldn't we-
Promote Foster to the senior list
Delist Copping
Demote Collard to the rookie list
Demote Dunn to the rookie list
Would this be such a bad thing for the AFL to introduce? What are the negatives?

I guess the purpose of the Rookie list is a bit fuzzy. Seems like it is about encouraging speculative pick on players who may need a bit of development. Why not just have bigger lists.
I met Jarrhan Jacky last night, he's a Broome boy (my hometown) and is staying with my family after the Draft Camp! Seems like he'd be a good pick up for Freo, hard, fast midfielder/forward and he's a great kid! Would love to see him get a chance at the club I love!
He was a fill in for us in indoor cricket last night and was really fast! Not that indoor cricket has anything to do with footy but it was fun!![]()
FWIW. We are one of 3 clubs who haven't interviewd Brad Ebert according to an article on the crows board
I've seen a few phantom drafts that have us picking him up, but I'm not sure that he is really on the clubs radar.
Having said that, bombard him with Freo propaganda anyway!

Interesting that the club is persisting with Browne but not Dunn. I'd have thought they're in similar positions.
Based on last pre-season Browne is ahead of Dunn on talent, dedication and most of all speed.Interesting that the club is persisting with Browne but not Dunn. I'd have thought they're in similar positions.
here you goHey mate have you got a link to that article?
Cheers.
Based on last pre-season Browne is ahead of Dunn on talent, dedication and most of all speed.
I suspect, as others have already said, that Dunn's dropping is dedication determined i.e. he's got an attitude problem. There is nothing concrete about why he was de-listed but look at the company he was de-listed with and the comments from Harvey.
No one could ever say that Browne wasn't anything other that Mr 100% (and be credible IMHO.)
Here is my look at the crystal ball
7. Chris Masten / Rhys Palmer / Rance
24. Patrick McGinnity / David Myers
40. Steven Browne / Patrick Dangerfield / Tony Notte
56. Jarrhan Jacky / Harry Taylor
63. Kepler Bradely
66. PSD pick
I cannot see them using a pick to redraft Dunn they probably have someone in mind for the PSD.
Rookies may come from best available then Dunn, Mourish, Collard, Griffiths.
Myers will NOT be available at 24. No chance. At all.
Dangerfield will be gone IMO and Notte maybe too. Browne's a chance to slide but could be gone.
Unfortunately I think you're being unrealistic with these selections.
The delistings of Dunn, Collard, Mourish make sense from a list management point of view, but if you are attributing these decisions (as well as all others list related) to attitude, then it becomes much harder to see the logic behind them.
I met Jarrhan Jacky last night, he's a Broome boy (my hometown) and is staying with my family after the Draft Camp! Seems like he'd be a good pick up for Freo, hard, fast midfielder/forward and he's a great kid! Would love to see him get a chance at the club I love!
He was a fill in for us in indoor cricket last night and was really fast! Not that indoor cricket has anything to do with footy but it was fun!![]()
If those 3 have been de-listed with the intention of placing them on the rookie list because they are unlikely to play senior footy next year that's fine. But it is unlikely that the kids we draft in a couple of weeks will see much senior footy next season either, so there must have been another reason behind it.
I don't get what you don't get.
Delisting players and then picking them up on the rookie list frees spots on the main list which can be used in the National and Preseason draft.
It's a risky move, but if it works it will mean more underage/young talent can be put onto the list without having to delist too many mature players.
Are you saying that draft picks round 4 and after in this draft are going to provide more talent and worth that someone like a Collard or Dunn on our list?
I don't know, but I still think this is a relatively shallow draft and I would imagine 95% of the players that are long term AFL players will be taken well within the first two rounds. In which case the players in rounds 4 and after are probably going to be more the developmental experimental types that you would normally put on a Rookie list.
I agree with Dom, the club must have been trying to make a statement, not clear space on the list.
Are you saying that draft picks round 4 and after in this draft are going to provide more talent and worth that someone like a Collard or Dunn on our list?
I don't know, but I still think this is a relatively shallow draft and I would imagine 95% of the players that are long term AFL players will be taken well within the first two rounds. In which case the players in rounds 4 and after are probably going to be more the developmental experimental types that you would normally put on a Rookie list.
I agree with Dom, the club must have been trying to make a statement, not clear space on the list.
Agree 100%. I believe that considering CC's comments, and now this delisting of players who are still contracted - that it's a very clear message. If you want to play AFL, you bust your gut to do it...
Good list managment would have meant delisting the uncontracted players. This is risky list managment that may or may not come off. But it appears they are willing to take that risk in order to "send a message".