Persevering Saint
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- St Kilda
- Other Teams
- Tampa Bay Rays, San Diego Padres
- #4,801

Do you realise that the highlights packages you saw of him the other week were probably the ones from last year? By the reports I've seen from those that have seen a fair bit of him this year in actual games, it's improved considerably since then (as it needed to).I'm probably being a touch harsh on him, it's just that I'm so sick of some of our players turning the footy over and then being burnt on the turnover. It's a real issue for us at the moment.
Well said mate spot onDo you realise that the highlights packages you saw of him the other week were probably the ones from last year? By the reports I've seen from those that have seen a fair bit of him this year in actual games, it's improved considerably since then (as it needed to).
He's got a hell of a lot more to his game than Wrighty. Seems like he could go as high as pick 12, whereas I reckon if Nath was in this draft (at the end of the junior career he had) he might not even go in the top 40 (as a low possession winning "HBF'er", with a terrible kick- as he was then).
PP also brings genuine leadership qualities to the table, having captained multiple teams in recent years and he'd likely be a genuine midfield rotation, unlike Nath. With his 90kg frame and elite endurance, he could also genuinely add to our team as early as season 1, unlike a few of the other, much skinnier options.
I also expect that our overall disposal quality will improve considerably once the likes of Billings, Lonie, Gresh, Sincs, D-Mac and White start playing more and/or getting more of the ball.
Do you realise that the highlights packages you saw of him the other week were probably the ones from last year? By the reports I've seen from those that have seen a fair bit of him this year in actual games, it's improved considerably since then (as it needed to).
He's got a hell of a lot more to his game than Wrighty. Seems like he could go as high as pick 12, whereas I reckon if Nath was in this draft (at the end of the junior career he had) he might not even go in the top 40 (as a low possession winning "HBF'er", with a terrible kick- as he was then).
PP also brings genuine leadership qualities to the table, having captained multiple teams in recent years and he'd likely be a genuine midfield rotation, unlike Nath. With his 90kg frame and elite endurance, he could also genuinely add to our team as early as season 1, unlike a few of the other, much skinnier options.
I also expect that our overall disposal quality will improve considerably once the likes of Billings, Lonie, Gresh, Sincs, D-Mac and White start playing more and/or getting more of the ball.
Somebody had more picks ahead of us than open spots on their list.Wait didn't we have pick 61?
We've now got 60
how come?http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-11-20/indicative-2016-afl-draft-order
61 already got bumped to 60. Woo!
Do you realise that the highlights packages you saw of him the other week were probably the ones from last year? By the reports I've seen from those that have seen a fair bit of him this year in actual games, it's improved considerably since then (as it needed to).
couldnt agree more. i love MGs posts but i cant agree with him on SPP. Wright is nothing like SPP

I'm not saying he doesn't possess some nice qualities but his decision making is poor at best.
In my opinion, to win big games and finals you need good decision makers and to not carry too many poor users. I think we already have more than our quota with Acres, Geary, Gilbert, Dempster, Wright all turning the footy over more than we'd like.
Like thisDo you realise that the highlights packages you saw of him the other week were probably the ones from last year? By the reports I've seen from those that have seen a fair bit of him this year in actual games, it's improved considerably since then (as it needed to).
So who are the players you are liking then who are a chance of being available at 23? Bolton, Florent, Battle, Marshall, Rotham, Witherden???
Who are you hoping for mate?That's the thing, we really have no idea who may be there at our first pick, this top 30 odd is really a wild guess. All I know is that we are confident that at least one kid we rate very highly will still be there when we pick.
Who are you hoping for mate?
Best case is Florent IMO
I'm not saying he doesn't possess some nice qualities but his decision making is poor at best.
In my opinion, to win big games and finals you need good decision makers and to not carry too many poor users. I think we already have more than our quota with Acres, Geary, Gilbert, Dempster, Wright all turning the footy over more than we'd like.