Draft picks 2003 -> 2006

• Thread starter Thread starter Daytripper

Thank you for your feedback.

It has been forwarded to the relevant department

rb.jpg
Is that where Sheedy puts Dodoro's opinions ?

I've only seen a couple of Gumby's games but there are marked differences between him and Johns. Gumby is a lot more agile than Johns for starters. He can also tackle and provide with second efforts. I think you're actually being biased against Gumby when you watch him because of your preference for midfielders.

Off topic I know, but who would you consider to be these 4 midfielders ant? I'm assuming that it includes Cotchin, and probably Masten but who else, and do you think they will still be around by our pick?

Cotchin , Masten (my preference) , Morton and Palmer have all impressed this year and have all been touted as top 10 picks by most people who watch under 18's footy including myself.

There are a few more just outside the top 10 that hopefully will slide. Sellwood and Rioli probably wont. I would say they will go top 20 but if we dont have to bid on Daniher and can use a third rounder to pick him up there are a few guys like Collier , Ebert (may go top 20 if his champs efforts are not held against him) , Vespremi , Sam Reid , Aaron Joseph and Jackson Hall who could be handy second round picks.

You're right ....

because only Essendon supporters have seen Neagle play - no one else.

Yep and unlike you i dont go onto other team boards trying to make a hero of myself by giving opinions on players i have seen play ;)
Being a knob comes naturally to you doesnt it .

Yep and unlike you i dont go onto other team boards trying to make a hero of myself by giving opinions on players i have seen play ;)

Theres your reason on why I give opinions - Because I've seen them play before.

Therefore my opinion is as valid as yours. Get used to it. :thumbsu:

Being a knob comes naturally to you doesnt it .

<insert cheap witty reply here>. :rolleyes:

Seriously, I dont come on your board to troll. Theres no need to resort to personal insults.

I think I'm receiving a rather uncalled for nasty/hostile reception.

But have you seen Neagle play ? That was the original question.

Thats why I come onto the Essendon board - I like to fit in. :rolleyes:

Seriously, I dont come on your board to troll. Theres no need to resort to personal insults.

If you dont come on to troll then why give an opinion on someone you havnt seen play ;)

<insert cheap witty reply here>. :rolleyes:

Poor baby, go back to in_like_flint and parrot and tell them all about those nasty Bomber supporters that were mean to you.

They will console you and make all the bad go away.

PS: You think your smartass comments on the main boards go unnoticed or are forgotten?

I must say it surprises me that you havnt seen the difference between Johns and Gumby. It is simple, even on his bad days Gumby knows how to get near the footy ;) If a kid has the right instincs to get in or near the play you can work with the other areas. It is like you saying Dempsey shows potential becasue of the way he moves.

As for the Dogs it is not the injuries to key mids that has been their problem. It certainly didnt help losing Cross and West for various games but at the end of the day their rucks are not good enough and they simply need a couple of decent forward targets. Rocket has admittied it himself saying that they need to target Fevola or a good KP forward.
The Eagles play talls anyway.Lynch is always up forward. Whenever hanson is fit he gets a game. They took Mitch Brown with their first pick and have used him up forward at times.They play two big ruckmen. They also use a couple of talls in defence.
Anyway you will be happy to know that this year i think we should be drafting a genuine midfielder with our first pick and from what i have seen there are 4 or so who are pretty close if not as good as Sellwood.:)

Would it make you happy if I left his DPV at 2 but increased his PV to 8. 6 was probably a bit harsh in hindsight.

Poor baby, go back to in_like_flint and parrot and tell them all about those nasty Bomber supporters that were mean to you.

They will console you and make all the bad go away.

PS: You think your smartass comments on the main boards go unnoticed or are forgotten?

Well said Merv.

Back to the Carlton boards for you C4[2]Yo`DooR where you can talk about the unlimited potential of Josh Kennedy, Josh Hartlett and all the other superstars at Optus Oval.

The modern game is built around 2 to 3 KP players at each end . Two ruckmen and half forwards / forward pockets that work into the midfield rather than play as traditional forwards.

What do u reckon Des, correct weight?

(Spot on.. to the layman)

Well said Merv.

Back to the Carlton boards for you C4[2]Yo`DooR where you can talk about the unlimited potential of Josh Kennedy, Josh Hartlett and all the other superstars at Optus Oval.

LOL who :o

Perhaps you should venture over to our board once in a while (that is if you haven't been banned already) - to try and learn our players names.

I guess you don't know too much about footy in general - heck, you cant even get players names right.

Richmond have proved that you are better off with midfielders then big guys... haven't they?

Would it make you happy if I left his DPV at 2 but increased his PV to 8. 6 was probably a bit harsh in hindsight.

The two is fair enough on what you have seen . I have seen a few more of his games and would put his DPV at a 4 . As far as PV goes i do feel that he is in the 8 area.

West Coast, Sydney, Adelaide, Port Adelaide......

Have another look at those lists mate

Sydney - Hall, O'Loughlin, Goodes, Ball
Adelaide - Henstchel, Biglands, McGregor, Bassett, Rutten
Port - Tredrea, Brogan, Lade
West Coast - Cox, Glass, Hunter, Hansen

All those teams have talls mate, although WCE might not have high quality forwards, their midfield pretty much makes up for it

Have another look at those lists mate

Sydney - Hall, O'Loughlin, Goodes, Ball
key forward, flanker, ruck, ruck - total KP = 1
Adelaide - Henstchel, Biglands, McGregor, Bassett, Rutten
tall flanker, ruck, key forward, key defender, key defender - total KP = 2.5 (Mcgregor only plays off and on)
Port - Tredrea, Brogan, Lade
key forward, ruck, ruck - total KP = 1
West Coast - Cox, Glass, Hunter, Hansen
ruck, key defender, versatile KPP, versatile KPP - total KP = 3

All those teams have talls mate, although WCE might not have high quality forwards, their midfield pretty much makes up for it[/QUOTE]

You can't include ruckmen.

Compare that to Essendon.

Lloyd, Lucas, Fletcher, Michael, Johns/Bradley/Gumbleton (one of these usually plays) - total KP =5

We are too top heavy for the modern game.

Go back to the 2000 - 2003 drafts - you're more likely to find out the cause of our current problems there, especially in light of who went after some of our choices.

It hightlights that not only must Sheeds must go, but also Dodoro (and anyone else involved in recruiting)

the problem was that during those years we were a rather good team, and young players found it hard to break into the side. and ended up being de-listed, traded etc.

Lloyd, Lucas, Fletcher, Michael, Johns/Bradley/Gumbleton (one of these usually plays) - total KP =5

We are too top heavy for the modern game.

did you check the mob we played against on sunday?

Boyle, Franklin, Roughead, Croad, Gilham with Dixon as another marking option. With that height they still had plenty of run.

the problem was that during those years we were a rather good team, and young players found it hard to break into the side. and ended up being de-listed, traded etc.

BANG smartest thing i have read on these boards