Draft Picks - What value are they ?

• Thread starter Thread starter GoSarge

Stiffy_18 said:
If I was a betting man, I would reckon that there would be more busts and average players picked in top 20 than winners.

ill take that bet stiffy. but the problem with that is clubs will be gambling a little and taking athletes with speed a lot more than be4 so its a risky bet im taking.

there is guy from west australia that runs 100m in 10.6 seconds called clint benjamin. has weaknesses in that he struggles to find the footy and his kicking is a little up and under but i bet some club gambles on him because of his speed and build/height. 188cm-80kilos

I can vouch for Lukehodge 15. knows his stuff and is always a very mature and sensible poster. Be good if there were plenty more like him. :thumbsu:

LukeHodge15 said:
ill take that bet stiffy. but the problem with that is clubs will be gambling a little and taking athletes with speed a lot more than be4 so its a risky bet im taking.

there is guy from west australia that runs 100m in 10.6 seconds called clint benjamin. has weaknesses in that he struggles to find the footy and his kicking is a little up and under but i bet some club gambles on him because of his speed and build/height. 188cm-80kilos

There was a guy in last year's draft who was not dissimilar. Tom Rischbeith (spelling ?). Had an amazing draft camp topping half the athletic measures, which had many pundits tipping him to go in the top-30 draftees. He went late in the rookie draft.

Teams aren't stupid. They're looking for athletic footballers yes, but the footballers still have to be able to play the game to an acceptable standard before they will be drafted.

Vader said:
There was a guy in last year's draft who was not dissimilar. Tom Rischbeith (spelling ?). Had an amazing draft camp topping half the athletic measures, which had many pundits tipping him to go in the top-30 draftees. He went late in the rookie draft.

Teams aren't stupid. They're looking for athletic footballers yes, but the footballers still have to be able to play the game to an acceptable standard before they will be drafted.

rischbeith was lucky to get drafted at all imo. he might be an endurance athlete but he is so slow its not funny and he struggles to find the footy. imo he is KP player trapped in a small mans body.

benjamin is a whole different proposition. runs 100m in 10.6 :eek: that so quick its scarey. very similar to a guy richmond took with their first round pick ( number 8 ) Jarrad Oakley Nicholls, 2.8 sprint time over 20m but struggles to find the footy.
speed is huge factor when recruiters take a gamble these days.

im starting to think its a pre-requisite for anybody that wallace draft (must have a sprint time under 3.0 seconds )

LukeHodge15 said:
pfft.......its called an opinion. something that u have and no-one else can have unless they agree with u.

nah you just have to prove why this is going to buck the trend - or at least offer a serious reason why you think this year is different. If you're only going to parrot the hype...

there are many players in this draft (heaps more than in previous years) that will be franchise players.

what a senseless meaningless statement. that's cheerleading, not an opinion.

the trick will be like previous years in picking them out. having a high draft pick will make that job heaps easier.

really? ;)