Draft Picks - What value are they ?

• Thread starter Thread starter GoSarge

CrowMagnum said:
The point is that we didn't get these first round picks through the draft but by alternate means

Kris Massie (pick 7 for Carlton) was traded for Ben Nelson
Scott Thompson (pick 16 for Melbourne) traded for pick 12 but still a bargain
Scott Welsh (pick 17 for North Melb) traded for pick 77
Andrew McLeod (and a draft pick) traded for Chris Groom

Scott Welsh was traded for a first round pick, the AFL trade tracker doesn't show multiple trades clearly.

Macca19 said:
Theres actually three first round draft picks and two pre draft selections (Roo and Mcleod) in there. The pre season/rookie picks are very impressive though. Not many other teams have that amount.

:thumbsu: Excellent point. I would say NO other teams have the quality we do from the PS and Rookies draft

Its been our saviour to be honest

Goodwin
Edwards
Rutten
Bock
Mattner
Hentschel
Doughty

Hinge
Grifffen

Throw in our beauties past pick 45 (no mans land):

Mc Gregor
Johncock
Perrie
Hudson
Knights

And you realise what a top job our recruiters (and coaches/developers) have done with non-fashionable draft picks.

Just imagine if we could throw a S Burgoyne (Bode) and couple of other top 10 picks in there (Angwin etc) :eek:

CrowMagnum said:
The point is that we didn't get these first round picks through the draft but by alternate means

Kris Massie (pick 7 for Carlton) was traded for Ben Nelson
Scott Thompson (pick 16 for Melbourne) traded for pick 12 but still a bargain
Scott Welsh (pick 17 for North Melb) traded for pick 77
Andrew McLeod (and a draft pick) traded for Chris Groom
2 things

We got Massie for Eccles and Nelson for Gallagher in the same year
And Scott Welsh was part of a very complex deal that saw us send picks 6 and 20 to Brisbane for Clarke and pick 15. We then traded that pick alonf with pick 77 to Kangaroos for Welsh. In turn Kangaroos traded pick 15 to Geelong as part of the Leigh Colbert trade. Cats drafted David Spriggs with that pick.

The Crows Truth said:
:thumbsu: Excellent point. I would say NO other teams have the quality we do from the PS and Rookies draft

Its been our saviour to be honest

Goodwin
Edwards
Rutten
Bock
Mattner
Hentschel
Doughty

Hinge
Grifffen

Throw in our beauties past pick 45 (no mans land):

Mc Gregor
Johncock
Perrie
Hudson
Knights

And you realise what a top job our recruiters (and coaches/developers) have done with non-fashionable draft picks.

Just imagine if we could throw a S Burgoyne (Bode) and couple of other top 10 picks in there (Angwin etc) :eek:
We also got Vardy via a pre-season draft. He was another bueaty of a selection.

Stiffy_18 said:
We also got Vardy via a pre-season draft. He was another bueaty of a selection.

yeah realiise that Stiffs. I was just qouting current players on the list and the fact Vardy ended up going with the same pick we got Shell :eek:

The Crows Truth said:
yeah realiise that Stiffs. I was just qouting current players on the list and the fact Vardy ended up going with the same pick we got Shell :eek:
Actually it was a 3 way deal between Adelaide, Melbourne and Freo. We traded Vardy to Melbourne, Dees traded pick 54 (Paul Medhurst) to Freo, and we got Schell.

The sad thing is that Vardy wanted to go to Sydney and we had the deal in works where we sent Vardy and a pick to Swans for Fitzgerald and their 1st rounder. However, things got a bit conplicated when Swans couldn't find another first rounder to satisfy St. Kilda for Barry Hall. They then had to trade Stafford to Richmond and in return they got Richmond's first round pick and Nick Daffy (Richmond pretty much did a salary dump).

That pretty much screwed any deal we were discussing with Sydney as Swans took a MASSIVE salary on from Daffy's contract and paid big money for Barry Hall (along with 2 first round draft picks). Swans couldn't afford Vardy's salary so we were left scrambling to find a suitor for Vardy who was NOT coming back. We got bent over by Melbourne in the last minute and send our 2nd round pick (29 I think it was) to Sydney for Fitzy.

Stiffy_18 said:
2 things

And Scott Welsh was part of a very complex deal that saw us send picks 6 and 20 to Brisbane for Clarke and pick 15. We then traded that pick alonf with pick 77 to Kangaroos for Welsh. In turn Kangaroos traded pick 15 to Geelong as part of the Leigh Colbert trade. Cats drafted David Spriggs with that pick.
Whew! I'm feeling dizzy.

CrowMagnum said:
Probably a coach thing

Nup, nothing like that.

It was pretty common knowledge about one third into his last season with us that Vardy wanted out to Sydney, unrelated to footy, because he wanted to go where "it was all happening". He was a party animal!!

The Sydney trade never came off for him, but in the end Adelaide let him go for a pretty cheap trade to Melbourne, as his mind was on many other things apart from footy.

macca23 said:
Nup, nothing like that.

It was pretty common knowledge about one third into his last season with us that Vardy wanted out to Sydney, unrelated to footy, because he wanted to go where "it was all happening". He was a party animal!!

The Sydney trade never came off for him, but in the end Adelaide let him go for a pretty cheap trade to Melbourne, as his mind was on many other things apart from footy.

are you suggesting he may not have wanted to offer a sample for testing? ;)

Macca19 said:
Theres actually three first round draft picks and two pre draft selections (Roo and Mcleod) in there. The pre season/rookie picks are very impressive though. Not many other teams have that amount.

Hmm this puts a different spin on things. We will better be able to rate our recruiting over the last 5 years at the end of this year.

SpringChoke said:
Hmm this puts a different spin on things. We will better be able to rate our recruiting over the last 5 years at the end of this year.
Here is another spanner

The draft picks are related to how a club is travelling and how the coach uses the player

ie we have clubs and players playing from day 1 Murphy etc as that is all that Carlton can do. Would Murphy play 10 games for Adelaide in his first year?

PerthCrow said:
Here is another spanner

The draft picks are related to how a club is travelling and how the coach uses the player

ie we have clubs and players playing from day 1 Murphy etc as that is all that Carlton can do. Would Murphy play 10 games for Adelaide in his first year?

Of course he wouldn't. That's why in another thread I have said most Rising Star nominations come from clubs who aren't a genuine premiership chance. They have to blood the young guys, whereas stronger clubs can ease them into AFL footy.
My point is until our "he was steal a with pick 99 or a bargain in the rookie list" stand up in finals pressure we can't rate them either positively or negatively. The next 2 years will determine what impact wasting high draft picks and pulling smokey's has had on our GF fortunes.

Crow-mo said:
actually this just shows your lack of experience, and understanding.

Can you tell me about how this class relates relative to 1994/97/01? because i can tell you 2006 it is no more hyped than it was then. And no, I don't have to have seen all the kids play, that's the point of a draft class. they all converge over a large enough sample - in EVERY sport that has a draft, anywhere in the world.

There is only 1 way this class can be so much different from other similar examples - and that is if evolution has sped up and changed in a 5 year burst. By all accounts this is a very good class, and there have been others - and next time, there will still be the geeks and anoraks pretending that one is different. which it won't be.

But if you're stupid enough to buy the hype, that's fine. would you like a bridge to go with that? ;)

have u seen any of the under 18 championships ?

care to change ur mind ???????

:rolleyes:

10-15 very very talented KP players. make for a very very strong draft.

Vicmetro

hawkins-no need to comment, huge hype and its true-top 5 sorta
dawes-hard working CHF, lacks a little pace

everitt-bottom aged so next year
kreuzer-bottom aged.....remember this name :thumbsu: 199cm ruckman

VicCountry

brown brothers-watch out, these kids can play. very impressive carnival so far.......will be steals imo
reid-liken him to a little spider everitt.
hansen-top 10 pick, kicking a worry but contested marking is A-grade

S.A

seller-bottom aged 195cm CHF, im sure everybody on this forum has seen him play-top 10
jacobs-hard working ruckman, exceptional below his knees. is slow though and im not a fan

W.A

gumbleton-kid has everything top 5 ..... star
mckenzie-CHB, quiet champs, but huge wraps
leunburger-203cm ruckman who excels around the ground and has excellent tapwork

Tassie

thorp-kid has a little pavlich-kernahan in him......oozes class top 5
riewoldt-193 spitting image of his cousins, probably the best contested marking forward on offer
garland-193cm hard working leading forward.....smokie

bellchambers-bottom aged......remember his name :)

Queensland

Renouf-199cm ruckman who has huge scope for improvement.....impressive
Tippot-199cm marking forward/ruckman, not a fan myself but others have huge wraps
White-197cm ...... see tippot

many teams will end up happy after the draft of 2006 :thumbsu:

Wow - everyone will be a winner in this draft. There shouldn't be any duds in the top 15, just like 2001. Oh hang on...

I remember the 2001 draft being hyped up simply because of the top three - Hodge, Judd and Ball. I can't recall much being said about players outside of those three. I don't remember it as being considered a particularly deep draft (unlike this year).

RogerRabbit69 said:
I remember the 2001 draft being hyped up simply because of the top three - Hodge, Judd and Ball. I can't recall much being said about players outside of those three. I don't remember it as being considered a particularly deep draft (unlike this year).

it was.

LukeHodge15 said:
have u seen any of the under 18 championships ?

care to change ur mind ???????

:rolleyes:

10-15 very very talented KP players. make for a very very strong draft.

Vicmetro

hawkins-no need to comment, huge hype and its true-top 5 sorta
dawes-hard working CHF, lacks a little pace

everitt-bottom aged so next year
kreuzer-bottom aged.....remember this name :thumbsu: 199cm ruckman

VicCountry

brown brothers-watch out, these kids can play. very impressive carnival so far.......will be steals imo
reid-liken him to a little spider everitt.
hansen-top 10 pick, kicking a worry but contested marking is A-grade

S.A

seller-bottom aged 195cm CHF, im sure everybody on this forum has seen him play-top 10
jacobs-hard working ruckman, exceptional below his knees. is slow though and im not a fan

W.A

gumbleton-kid has everything top 5 ..... star
mckenzie-CHB, quiet champs, but huge wraps
leunburger-203cm ruckman who excels around the ground and has excellent tapwork

Tassie

thorp-kid has a little pavlich-kernahan in him......oozes class top 5
riewoldt-193 spitting image of his cousins, probably the best contested marking forward on offer
garland-193cm hard working leading forward.....smokie

bellchambers-bottom aged......remember his name :)

Queensland

Renouf-199cm ruckman who has huge scope for improvement.....impressive
Tippot-199cm marking forward/ruckman, not a fan myself but others have huge wraps
White-197cm ...... see tippot

many teams will end up happy after the draft of 2006 :thumbsu:

names champ, just names.

do you really believe the "names" and the way you see them is any different to what people saw and believed in years gone by?

really? do you really think? of course not, this is probably the first big draft you've ever been old enough to follow properly.

Crow-mo said:
names champ, just names.

do you really believe the "names" and the way you see them is any different to what people saw and believed in years gone by?

really? do you really think? of course not, this is probably the first big draft you've ever been old enough to follow properly.

lol...........not the first. just the first one that i have seen many games lives and many games on dvd's.

its funny how u think im young because i speak with a little text. i wish i was 18 again...... :p

when ive finished writing up profiles of players, will post them on here and u can have a field day ripping them apart :p

Stiffy_18 said:
2 things

One of the those draft picks we ended up with turned into Robert Shirley. That adds value to our trade.

LukeHodge15 said:
lol...........not the first. just the first one that i have seen many games lives and many games on dvd's.

its funny how u think im young because i speak with a little text. i wish i was 18 again...... :p

when ive finished writing up profiles of players, will post them on here and u can have a field day ripping them apart :p

Nah I think you're young because of your shallow insight ;)

RogerRabbit69 said:
Oh it was.

Things like "4 rounds deep", "best draft ever" etc... those were all the labels used at the time. Make no mistake the 2001 draft had as much hype of not more than this years' pool.

If I was a betting man, I would reckon that there would be more busts and average players picked in top 20 than winners.

Crow-mo said:
Nah I think you're young because of your shallow insight ;)

pfft.......its called an opinion. something that u have and no-one else can have unless they agree with u.

there are many players in this draft (heaps more than in previous years) that will be franchise players. the trick will be like previous years in picking them out. having a high draft pick will make that job heaps easier.

adelaide still dont have that game-breaking power forward, and this draft u have the chance to grab a young talented one by trading up. that would be my strategy if i had control of ur list. but hey whatta i know :confused: