Prediction DRAFT POLL_PICK #5_V2

Who do we take @ #5?

Tar
Taranto is a funny one. Yes he is a touch slow and one paced. Yes he is a messy kick off the boot sometimes and not technically elite.

But when you looked back after the siren in every big game this year, he consistently got the job done and the game won better than anyone else.

He could...could.... just be one of those special players like Hird or Swan or Bartel or Sloane.

Not pretty, but just keeps on starring and contributing to wins bigtime.
Agree Taranto does have the look and feel of something special, difficult to put into words perhaps X factor. Whether he's in the the top 5 talents in the land is another matter, to me he's a top 10 definely exactly were I'm nor sure.
But with our pick5 I'd have higher expectations.
Our pick 5 must have the potential to be an outstanding for a long time.
Not sure we'll find those level of skills and class at #25, whereas there are likely to be more options for inside/clearance midfielders at 25.

I think SPS @ 5, with SPP (if available) or Drew @ 25 would be a great result for our first two picks.

if Silvagni passes on talking SPS at pick 5 , hope whomever he selects turns out as well.
SPS will to be a ripper, dual sided , skilled and instinctively creative in any postion on the ground.
If the prototype modern midfileder tall and blonde with some grunt, dash type does prevail it would be a disaster.
Especially besides a few future elite star midfield grunt machine like Cripps as a constant barometer.
Go Baggers

If Brodie is still available at our pick and we do not take him i will be very upset.

He cannot be passed up IMO.
My theory is that recruiters try to predict the draft early, and then spend endless hours looking at the players they think will be around their pick that they end up getting excited and overrate them. Our recruiting staff tend to take this to extremes.

SPS plays as an on-baller. Us supporters really need to get past this stereotype of seeing indigenous kids and assuming that they're all flankers and small forwards.
still feel we need a bigger body in there to support Cripps like a lot on this board have been saying since draft talk started, besides why did we recruit Pickett if we are going after P-S in the draft ? seems like they play a similar game.

Can Pickett hit targets of both his left and right foot? If SPS was Victorian, he'd be right up on our list, if he isn't already.

The go home factor is the one thing I think we should avoid this time. We seem to be very fortunate with Cripps but it doesn't always turn out that way. Even Gibbs wants to leave.

I, like most others have been torn between Taranto and Brodie. Taranto has the higher ceiling but then again, Brodie would really compliment Cripps quite well and is more of a pure midfielder.

We can still get an inside mid with grunt at #25, to support Cripps. But a player with skills on both sides who can actually kick the ball is something we also need.

We lack midfielders who have elite kicking skills. Murphy and Gibbs are our best users of the ball but Murph will be 30 in July next year, and Gibbs 28. Also it was noticeable that when Murph was out injured the quality of our forward entries went down.

As for Pickett, the kid hasnt even played a senior game yet and is coming off a long layoff, let's give him a chance to live up to his potential. If we draft SPS and he and Pickett become guns, then it means that they replace players like Lamb, Thomas, Graham etc and we become a stronger team.

Can Pickett hit targets of both his left and right foot? If SPS was Victorian, he'd be right up on our list, if he isn't already.

The go home factor is the one thing I think we should avoid this time. We seem to be very fortunate with Cripps but it doesn't always turn out that way. Even Gibbs wants to leave.

I, like most others have been torn between Taranto and Brodie. Taranto has the higher ceiling but then again, Brodie would really compliment Cripps quite well and is more of a pure midfielder.

Think SPS would be the player that would compliment Cripps most.
We can get another contested ball winning beast, to support Cripps in that area @ pick 25.
Cripps feeding out the footy to SPS, then SPS kicking the footy to our forwards, would be a hell of a one two combo.
SPS is definitely the type of player we need to add to our midfield, Cripps is elite at winning contested possessions, we want players with elite kicking skills and pace around him, to really get some value for all the hard ball he wins.

Think SPS would be the player that would compliment Cripps most.
We can get another contested ball winning beast, to support Cripps in that area @ pick 25.
Cripps feeding out the footy to SPS, then SPS kicking the footy to our forwards, would be a hell of a one two combo.
SPS is definitely the type of player we need to add to our midfield, Cripps is elite at winning contested possessions, we want players with elite kicking skills and pace around him, to really get some value for all the hard ball he wins.

While that's true, another thing to consider is that SPS does not consistently get enough of the ball. No good having those skills if you can't use them on a consistent basis. Something I'm sure he'll improve.

I don't want SPS as i think he is more a icing on the cake type that would struggle in a rebuilding team and not really for us with where we are currently with our rebuild worthy of pick 5.

How many indigenous WA / northern states kids also play their careers out in Vic after being drafted here? I am only guessing but gee whiz i reckon it is low with the go home factor massive which screams do not touch that high in the draft.

Wasn't SPS one of the leading possessions getters in the All Star game.
He can win his own ball, so he can be prolific and doesn't rely on being fed the footy.
This is what makes SPS a special talent. He is a smooth moving highly skilled player, but it seems like he get's it!
He does all the other hard stuff and has a very rounded game.
IMO if there is an elite level talent available, you have to take him and back the club to keep him happy.

I don't want SPS as i think he is more a icing on the cake type that would struggle in a rebuilding team and not really for us with where we are currently with our rebuild worthy of pick 5.

How many indigenous WA / northern states kids also play their careers out in Vic after being drafted here? I am only guessing but gee whiz i reckon it is low with the go home factor massive which screams do not touch that high in the draft.

Yeah I mentioned it earlier that the go home factor is a reason we should avoid him and yes, he is more of an icing on the cake player but we don't even have a cake yet, just working on the ingredients.

Gotta be Brodie or Taranto for me. Brodie is a clearance player who has been highly rated for a while. His kicking isn't the best but it's not terrible either. I don't think Dangerfield's kicking is elite either. But Cripps definitely needs help in that area, he can't keep going at it alone.

Taranto however, can win contested possessions, is great over head and impacts the score board. Many compare him to Bartel and for good reason.

Wasn't SPS one of the leading possessions getters in the All Star game.
He can win his own ball, so he can be prolific and doesn't rely on being fed the footy.
This is what makes SPS a special talent. He is a smooth moving highly skilled player, but it seems like he get's it!
He does all the other hard stuff and has a very rounded game.
IMO if there is an elite level talent available, you have to take him and back the club to keep him happy.

He has had his games where he gets a lot of the ball. But as I said, it's not consistent enough.

The club have bent over backwards to keep Gibbs happy and he still wanted to leave. Not much more the club could've done.

If SPS wants to head home then it's a wasted draft pick. We're not in the position to take these sorts of risks just yet imo.

Averaged 23 touches at colts level coming off no pre season. I'd say that's pretty consistent

He has had his games where he gets a lot of the ball. But as I said, it's not consistent enough.

The club have bent over backwards to keep Gibbs happy and he still wanted to leave. Not much more the club could've done.

If SPS wants to head home then it's a wasted draft pick. We're not in the position to take these sorts of risks just yet imo.

Any player given extenuating circumstances may want to back to state their state of origin that's normal. All Clubs are exposed to that so it balances out and anyhow whomever receive the player will have to pay the premium.
We now have Andy Walker assisting and accelerating 1st year and young players integration and adjustment to their new environment, so it's not be such a big issue in the future.

It really does confound me how anyone can call SPS an "icing on the cake player"...or "we have Pickett, so why do we need SPS" . It's like they've never seen him play or something.

It also confounds me how anyone can advocate restricting their 1st round selection to Vic only. It's like all interstaters are all the same kinda people or something.

Any player given extenuating circumstances may want to back to state their state of origin that's normal. All Clubs are exposed to that so it balances out and anyhow whomever receive the player will have to pay the premium.
We now have Andy Walker assisting and accelerating 1st year and young players integration adjustment to their new environment, so it's not be such a big issue in the future
It really does confound me how anyone can call SPS an "icing on the cake player"...or "we have Pickett, so why do we need SPS" . It's like they've never seen him play or something.

It also confounds me how anyone can advocate restricting their 1st round selection to Vic only. It's like all interstaters are all the same kinda people or something.

Agree getting tired of this sheep mentailty, no doubt we've had our fingers burnt over the past few years, some bad experiences with much love players fleeing the club.
But CFC has in past handle things badly with turmoil about and poor preparedness in sensitive players managemt and support setup.
Let's look forward in a positive way structures are in place so very talented players with heaps of X factor should always be a priority no matter which state they originate from.
Go Baggers

We now have Andy Walker assisting and accelerating 1st year and young players integration adjustment to their new environment, so it's not be such a big issue in the future

Agree getting tired of this sheep mentailty, no doubt we've had our fingers burnt over the past few years, some bad experiences with much love players fleeing the club.
But CFC has in past handle things badly with turmoil about and poor preparedness in sensitive players managemt and support setup.
Let's look forward in a positive way structures are in place so very talented players with heaps of X factor should always be a priority no matter which state they originate from.
Go Baggers

You'd hope that SOS might have spent a little time with SPS during the rumoured Perth trip to establish an answer to the " are you happy leaving WA?" question.

Yep one would expect basic due diligence has being done regarding SPS and with all intended selections.
No doubt selecting these young very talented players and uprooting them from family , friends and familiar environments must be very complicated.
Going forward we must strive to be more sophisticated and competent with player integration and welfare management.
Go Baggers

You'd hope that SOS might have spent a little time with SPS during the rumoured Perth trip to establish an answer to the " are you happy leaving WA?" question.

It would make sense. WA kids have finished there end of year exams, so clubs are allowed to speak with them ATM.
Cal Twomey is interviewing SPS in this weeks Going Places series, be an interesting watch.
He also did the same with Jarrod Pickett two years ago. Pickett was very impressive, a very well spoken kid and no surprise that SOS rated him so highly.