Recruiting Draft Watch 2021

• Thread starter Thread starter eDPS

Likely round 1 defence barring injury. Reid to press early season.

Ideally Reid can come in and push Ridley to playing on the least dangerous forward to really just play the intercept role. I think BZT & Stewart are roughly interchangeable, with Laverde sort-of-kind-of filling that KPD role as well.

Yeah Eyre included. Fair chance we will be running with four KPD per week in the VFL. BZT, Reid, Brand +left over of Hurley/Stewart/Kelly/Lav.
Yeh, not totally convinced Hurley is going to take much part in the season or atleast early part but i havnt seen an update for a while

Also dont think we will completely rule out playing Z.Reid if Heppell, Kelly or Redman are injured for example

Ie: Stewart, Reid, Laverde, Ridley, Kelly, Redman and Hind

Instead of looking to Cutler/Durham as the next man in

I reckon round 1 (if everyone is fit) we go:

AFL: Stewart, Lav, Heppell, Hind, Ridley, Redman, Kelly
VFL: Reid, BZT, Brand, Eyre, Cutler, with a couple of VFL defenders

If Durham isnt the AFL sub does he play wing or half back at VFL level, probably more suited to a wing? Your mate marty party surely has a run around the back flank as the 6th defender there

Also interesting where Guelfi trains this year, think the club started liking him as a forward late but that was without Tippa

Kelly isn't really a KPD

Likely you'll have Stewart - Laverde - Ridley as the 'talls' with Kelly - Redman - Hind as the medium/smalls for R1 if I was to guess.

I think of him like a pseudo-KPD. Like smaller key forwards. Ie Riewoldt/Membrey/Darling/Taberner/Himmelberg.

Taberner is 198 haha

Jesus, certainly doesn't play like that. Would have guessed same as Himmelberg. I'd still have no qualms in playing Kelly on him. But that might say less about Kelly...

I think of him like a pseudo-KPD. Like smaller key forwards. Ie Riewoldt/Membrey/Darling/Taberner/Himmelberg.

As far as I know he tends to play on the small-mediums, as opposed to say Laverde who tends to play on the medium-talls.

My guess is he'll often be playing as the deepest defender against whoever ends up back there.

AFL Free Agency: Is Jake Kelly in the Essendon best 22? (theinnersanctum.com.au)

At 190 centimetres, Jake Kelly slots in-between Jordan Ridley (192cm) and Dyson Heppell (189cm) down back for Essendon. His defensive assignments are often the most dangerous small forward of the opposition.

Defensive one-on-one contests are where Kelly thrives. In 2021 he lost just 16.9 per cent of his 3.3 one-on-ones per game, a mark that stands him in the company of All-Australians Aliir Aliir (16.8 per cent lost) and Tom Stewart (19.4 per cent lost).

One of the best small defenders in the competition was Brandon Starcevich. The Lions’ lockdown back was involved in 1.8 defensive one-on-ones per game, and lost 22.7 per cent of them. In 1.5 less one-on-one situations per game than Kelly, Starcevich lost 5.8 per cent more of his contests.

The Dons now have a player they are comfortable putting on the last line of defensive against the opposition’s most dangerous small to medium forwards. That job was often given to Ridley or Mason Redman, which limited their intercepting prowess and score launches respectively.

Said he was upset and disappointed that Gws havent interviewed me. Moreorless he’s a bit pissed off cause he’s probably going to go at 4 and he thinks he should be at 1. Come on you’ve known for the last 3 years you’ll be playing at collingwood it doesn’t matter where you get picked and you’ve already been given a 4 year deal. Bit ‘me me me’ saying you expect gws to pick up the phone and tell you how good you are when they have no reason to do it. The number you’re drafted is irrelevant from the moment you walk through the door at the club in day 1
4 v 1 also helps the Pies in terms of what it will eventually cost them to draft him.....later he goes, better for his new club, surely better for him.

Jesus, certainly doesn't play like that. Would have guessed same as Himmelberg. I'd still have no qualms in playing Kelly on him. But that might say less about Kelly...
Well hes probably not too disimilar to Laverde (Although i see Laverde is now 193cm? On our website, our defenders seem to keep growing at 23)

And Lav was playing on the Kings ect

As far as I know he tends to play on the small-mediums, as opposed to say Laverde who tends to play on the medium-talls.

My guess is he'll often be playing as the deepest defender against whoever ends up back there.

AFL Free Agency: Is Jake Kelly in the Essendon best 22? (theinnersanctum.com.au)

He'll play small/medium for us mostly due to needs but he's very capable. If you look at his highlights on youtube he's often playing on Redpath/Tim O'Brien/Stringer/Bruce, guys around that 193-194cm mark. I think that Membrey sized player suited him best. The medium tall.

If everyone is fit I imagine Eyre plays forward. It's basically him and Baldwin as reserve KPFs with Jones best 22 and no clear line of sight on Hurleys health.

I thought Kelly said in one of the initial interviews on the club's website that he would be playing on small and mid sized players.

We're going to see a lot of rotation through through Kelly, Laverde and Ridley because they have a similar set of physical attributes.

It's always going to be a bit artificial to lock players into the same role for each week and even within a game but we can get a pretty good idea of how what Plan A is going to be based on exposed form and the balance of the list.

There is no point, whatsoever, bringing Kelly to play as a tall defender, stretching him to play on guys 2m tall when we already have Stewart as fodder for that position and we've just seen Laverde nail down a spots as a KPD. Longer term we have Reid, Brand and even Eyre to develop into that position (and we should be expecting at least 1 of them to come on in the next 18 months). We are still 1 running defender short having lost McKenna and Saad and only replacing that with Hind. Kelly playing on smalls frees Redman to play as that running defender.

I'd take it to the bank that Kelly will spend about 80% of his game time on the most dangerous small/medium forward.

If everyone is fit I imagine Eyre plays forward. It's basically him and Baldwin as reserve KPFs with Jones best 22 and no clear line of sight on Hurleys health.
McBride and Bryan forward.

Does McBride do much in the ruck at all? I seem to remember him spending time down back last season in the VFL, but he's difficult to pin down given he didn't play footy as a junior and then all the interruptions since we signed him.
Not a great tap ruck but competed. Looked better as a forward than ruck or defender

McBride and Bryan forward.
I would suspect Bryan would be brunting the majority of the ruck time at VFL level to further accelerate his development.

McBride, Eyre and Baldwin up forward and Reid, BZT and Brand down back is a good set up. And that of course is assuming everyone is healthy, which they won't be.

If i was coaching against Stringer in an intra club and we were playing our best defenders vs best forwards then id play Kelly on Stringer

Hes capable on both smalls/talls similar to Laverde is

His matchups vs oppo fwds (Obviously depends who they pick)

T.Walker or Fogarty (Adel)
C.Cameron (Bris)
J.Elliott or Degoey (Coll) - whoevers fwd
Weightman (WBD)
Dusty + Castagna (Rich)
L.Breust (Hawks)
M.Kennedy (Carl) When hes fwd
T.Greene (GWS)
Walters (Freo)
G.Rohan or when Dangerfield rest (Geel)
Corbett or Sexton (GC suns)
Zurhaar (North)
Fritsch (Melb)
Darling (WCE)
Heeney (Syd)
Membrey (Saints)

Theyd be the ideal matchups for me, very interchangeable with Laverde. Very good goal square defenders 1v1. Kelly also has the tank to get up the ground on a Dusty to make handover less confusing

As you can see plenty of different types from C.Cameron to T.Walker/Fog to Corbett who runs all day

I thought Kelly said in one of the initial interviews on the club's website that he would be playing on small and mid sized players.

We're going to see a lot of rotation through through Kelly, Laverde and Ridley because they have a similar set of physical attributes.

It's always going to be a bit artificial to lock players into the same role for each week and even within a game but we can get a pretty good idea of how what Plan A is going to be based on exposed form and the balance of the list.

There is no point, whatsoever, bringing Kelly to play as a tall defender, stretching him to play on guys 2m tall when we already have Stewart as fodder for that position and we've just seen Laverde nail down a spots as a KPD. Longer term we have Reid, Brand and even Eyre to develop into that position (and we should be expecting at least 1 of them to come on in the next 18 months). We are still 1 running defender short having lost McKenna and Saad and only replacing that with Hind. Kelly playing on smalls frees Redman to play as that running defender.

I'd take it to the bank that Kelly will spend about 80% of his game time on the most dangerous small/medium forward.

interesting that we have been heavily linked late to Darcy Wilmot who is a 183cm medium defender - perhaps the club thinks we still havent quite addressed the issue?

Hey eDPS

What is Wanganeen-Milera's speed like. I have read your Rookie me profile and he seems to have plenty of agility and evasiveness but in terms of pure pace where does he sit?

Like is he Andrew Lovett type quick or more of a line runner in open space (Isaac Smith style)?

Hey eDPS

What is Wanganeen-Milera's speed like. I have read your Rookie me profile and he seems to have plenty of agility and evasiveness but in terms of pure pace where does he sit?

Like is he Andrew Lovett type quick or more of a line runner in open space (Isaac Smith style)?
He doesn’t really use it but I assume he isn’t too bad over 20m

Hey eDPS

reckon speed comes in many guises; agility, poise and evasiveness can probably buy you as much time as road runner legs - or maybe a basketball backround can do it