Drum in!!

• Thread starter Thread starter freo1

If Drum can get a few touches at AFL level, Andrew Jarmans stomach will become bloated and his head will be plucked of all but three hairs.

i was speaking to the father of a melbourne club player, basically whinging that instead of picking up his son we got drum, anyhow the father of this player told me that he had asked robert shaw why they didnt pick his son up, and shaws reply was "we just had to pick drum, as he is going to be a star of the comp who will play 200 games for the club"....... the club really did rate drummy, its a shame as im not sure we will ever see him realise his potential... atleast not while he is in a freo jumper :(

the club really did rate drummy, its a shame as im not sure we will ever see him realise his potential... atleast not while he is in a freo jumper :(

As he's filled out he has lost all his pace.

Too slow to play key position, not skilled enough to play onball so unless rival clubs know a lot more about sprint training than our fitness guys he won't make it at any club.

..i see what you did there:D

I-see-what-you-did-there.jpg

If Drum can get a few touches at AFL level, Andrew Jarmans stomach will become bloated and his head will be plucked of all but three hairs.

What if he kicks goals? Will Jars start eating donuts and saying "doh" all the time?

Seriously, has Jarman been putting extra effort into Drum? If a WAFL coach had such a potentially talented player available for so many games I'm assuming they'd either put extra effort into giving them heaps of chances in the WAFL, or become very frustrated very quickly if the dummy spit attitude continued (a-la the problems the Cardies had with Greednock).

As he's filled out he has lost all his pace.

Too slow to play key position, not skilled enough to play onball so unless rival clubs know a lot more about sprint training than our fitness guys he won't make it at any club.

Agree that Drum can't play on-ball in today's footy. But if Leigh Brown can hold down a KP for over 180 games, there must some hope for Drum. Surely? Hope he at least lays a few tackles today.

wasn't our worst, needs to play the season out to see if he can develop at AFL level.

Agree, don't think he was too bad ... didn't exactly set the world alight either. He was certainly helped buy good general team play which meant the ball didn't exactly swamp Freo's defensive half so none of the defenders had a chance to get shown up in any major way. Certainly not worse than Head and we gave him a good half dozen games or so in a similar position.

BTW, I think Drum has had heaps of time to develop something resembling AFL standard, but given this is probably the last hurrah and the team is where they are, he didn't do anything to suggest he should be an automatic drop.

Keep him in the team for the rest of the season. Should be his final chance.

Does anyone want to analyse Drums game from the weekend? How did he play, ignoring what we have heard about his apparent bad attitude, and the fact he will probibly ask for a trade, does he deserve to hold his spot?

I felt Drum was Ok down back although still doesnt seem strong enough to play kp imo. I think we should persist with him this year while we have the injuries but if he doesnt improve a fair bit he will not be getting a spot next year with Mcpharlin/Johnno and our other injured guys back.

I thought he was a bit slow and didn't offer much 1 on 1. Was a slow decision maker too when he had the ball. Ended up kicking to the nearest person instead of looking further ahead.

Is very slow in mind and in body. Very little awareness.

But that's how Drum rolls.

boom tish...

I agree he looked slow and indecisive, but he didn't look poor either. Just a "meh" sort of game really. I hope he performs consistently for the rest of the year (forward and/or back) and manages to resurrect his career.

I felt Drum was Ok down back although still doesnt seem strong enough to play kp imo. I think we should persist with him this year while we have the injuries but if he doesnt improve a fair bit he will not be getting a spot next year with Mcpharlin/Johnno and our other injured guys back.

That's the issue with me. On the face of it he looks strong enough to do KPP defenders job, but in actual reality he seems to struggle in the strength department. Another concern is that, though I thought he generally did OK with decision making especially by hand and working with other defenders to clear the ball, the Port pressure wasn't huge and I'm not sure how he would go in a tighter game. Still agree to stick with him for now.

offers more than Thornton.

I disagree with that. Thornton has proven some worth as a defensive fwd (though with Mayne back and Balla also running around I'm not so sure that role is needed). It's a bit hard to tell, but I think they are equally questionable as back players - hate to rely on either but can do some good things from time to time. Thornton would be quicker over the ground too I reckon. Based the current lay of the land, if forced to pick between the two I would go Thornton IMHO.

his skills look clean enough but as said always looks to take 1st option instead of summing things up and choosing best option.
But in tight situations first option is normally best option so might not be too bad under greater pressure.

As for his job as an actual defender not really sure he can do the job, didnt look likely to get many spoils in and doesnt look to run up the ground to drag his opponent out of the play.
Which is something Dodd and Thornton always do.

Try him down forward next game and see how he goes.

Clean skills looks to be what he can offer so Dodd haters would prob prefer drum down back even though he wont actually stop his opponents.