DT 2011 Mids Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Thorgils

Ablett's a funny one. Priced at 118 ish. with plenty of issues. Bookies have GC even money to win 3 games or less.

Quick DT trvia question aligned to this. In the past 5 years, what is the highest average for any MIDFIELDER for a team that finished in the bottom 4?

Ablett's a funny one. Priced at 118 ish. with plenty of issues. Bookies have GC even money to win 3 games or less.

Quick DT trvia question aligned to this. In the past 5 years, what is the highest average for any MIDFIELDER for a team that finished in the bottom 4?

Stanton with approx 100 last year?

Only 2 have broken 100. Andrew Carrazzo (100.1) in 07 and Heath Scotland (104) in 06 though he may have been playing across halfback, can't remember that far back.

Well played sir.

Doesn't paint a brilliant picture for a guy priced at 118 playing for the wooden spoon favs with a groin injury.

I guess the question really is will Ablett average enough to be a feasible trade in option.

Well played sir.

Doesn't paint a brilliant picture for a guy priced at 118 playing for the wooden spoon favs with a groin injury.

I guess the question really is will Ablett average enough to be a feasible trade in option.

Thats kind of the the beauty of it though.... really puts this historical fact to the test.

Very few elite midfielders have run around with the cellar dwellars so will be great to see if SOG who gets his own pill, and dominates up forward can maintain those types of scores. Pity his :thumbsd: fitness will hamper his chances

Thats kind of the the beauty of it though.... really puts this historical fact to the test.

Very few elite midfielders have run around with the cellar dwellars so will be great to see if SOG who gets his own pill, and dominates up forward can maintain those types of scores. Pity his :thumbsd: fitness will hamper his chances

I think most will jump on board after the GC round 9 bye. The only thing is GC play the Cats in round 10.

You would expect a bit of "close attention" from the Geelong boys and he might be susceptible to the odd corkie or ten.

Might be worth waiting until round 11 to ensure he's ok.

Agree GCT, it's really a case of chicken or egg. Are players in bottom 4 teams poor scorers because they are in poor teams, or are they poor scorers because they are poor players.

If Ablett averages anything over 110 it's a stellar effort and shows how good the man is.

Another kitten to throw into the fire would be are Gold Coast a bottom 4 side like everything seems to think they will be?

Maybe... no bottom 4 side has had a midfielder like the quality that ablett is.... so he will come out, bring the boys together and fire them up to crash into the top 12 teams. :D

I kid. I kid. We all know GC are going to fail.... right?

Agree GCT, it's really a case of chicken or egg. Are players in bottom 4 teams poor scorers because they are in poor teams, or are they poor scorers because they are poor players.

If Ablett averages anything over 110 it's a stellar effort and shows how good the man is.

Thompson's ongoing barny with GAblett meant he was consigned to the forward line for large parts of the season.

Given a fulltime midfield role at GC, I think a 110+ average is more likely than not.

Another kitten to throw into the fire would be are Gold Coast a bottom 4 side like everything seems to think they will be?

Maybe... no bottom 4 side has had a midfielder like the quality that ablett is.... so he will come out, bring the boys together and fire them up to crash into the top 12 teams. :D

I kid. I kid. We all know GC are going to fail.... right?

Well, if you have your doubts Yogi you should load up now and go bang! GC are $1-90 to win 3.5 games, so if you believe they'll win 4 or more get on now. Winning only 3 games would have got them the spoon every year since 2002, including teams that tanked.

Thompson's ongoing barny with GAblett meant he was consigned to the forward line for large parts of the season.

Given a fulltime midfield role at GC, I think a 110+ average is more likely than not.

Even with the groin worries RNS?

Question is then does he need to score 110 to show good he is... from a footballing perspective that is... not a DT perspective

20 contested possessions would be amazing and give his young teammates plenty of ball but he may not get the uncontested ball he always got at the Cats due their consistently high possession count

I personally don't think he'll average much above 100 but would like to be proved wrong

Oooo while browsing Sportingbet for GC odds i just noticed the brownlow odds have been added. *starts putting down money while the odds are good on my roughie* :D

If i think Swan will improve to 125 than ill be picking him.

I think he will. For starters, he'll get two more byes this season besides the rest week. He'll also play the GC unlike last year which don't have a dedicated tagger and will leak points to major players IMO due to a young midfield. Further, Jolly will be good for the year and will feed the mids better than say he did earlier in the year where Collingwood were at their worst (ditto their midfielders. Coincidence? I think not). He averaged 123 last year so if 125 is acceptable to you then I think you'd pick him. All of this is convincing me as well as you but I'm happy to accept Swan as a captain. Unless he decides to move to the GWS and Malthouse puts him in the pocket I can't see how his numbers are dipping. And yes, I have Boyd in my team as well.

Well, if you have your doubts Yogi you should load up now and go bang! GC are $1-90 to win 3.5 games, so if you believe they'll win 4 or more get on now. Winning only 3 games would have got them the spoon every year since 2002, including teams that tanked.

Even with the groin worries RNS?
He had groin soreness during the 2009 season and managed to shake if off after a couple of weeks and immediately rack it up on his return.

He's been very durable so I expect him to get over the latest setback and be right to go for round 1. If not 100%, the GC probably won't play him so his avg shouldn't be affected.

There's been a few comments that Ablett's gameday influence may fall away as he won't benefit from the protection and link-play of Bartel, Selwood and co. While this maybe somewhat true, Gazza is clearly genetically blessed and will adapt to his new role like a salamander in a sphagnum bog.

I think it could also be fair to say that Ablett doesnt necessarily like doing the hard work as mch as others or the preseasons. Now that he is treated as a pure god up at GC he doesnt have to do alot to play games and play well for his side. I just have a feeling he isnt working as hard as he would at geelong and that he is taking it a little easier. I reckon he might be going through the motions a little.

I could get slammed for this post.

I think it could also be fair to say that Ablett doesnt necessarily like doing the hard work as mch as others or the preseasons. Now that he is treated as a pure god up at GC he doesnt have to do alot to play games and play well for his side. I just have a feeling he isnt working as hard as he would at geelong and that he is taking it a little easier. I reckon he might be going through the motions a little.

I could get slammed for this post.
And rightfully so, how the **** do you know that?:thumbsd: I've only ever heard praising reports of the way Ablett trains, what you have just sprouted is utter shit.

You could, and you will.

Please tell us what has sparked this little "feeling"..DELETE. Ablett would have to be as professional and motivated as they come.

I'm with DWD on this one. Few stories last year about him being out at night when he was injured and that type of thing. I'm not saying he's lazy, but I do think with the low expectations on GC next year he knows he's not going to be
A: Pushed too hard physically if he's not 100%, as we've seen this pre-season.
B: Be blamed if they have a shit year.
C: Forced to prove anything to anyone.

We all on here think he'll drop his average and not be as good as he was at Geelong. Our expectations on him have lowered, everyone's have, so what it comes down to is this; will he rise to the challenge and prove us wrong, or will he with the spotlight and pressure off him, relax a little and coast?

The guy has done everything there is to do in footy, if he wanted the hard slog he'd have toughed it out at Geelong till their next chance at a flag when he was 31-32, not gone north for a cozy retirement package.

Yes good trainer at geelong because he has the expectation that he will stay ahead of superstars chapman, scarlett, bartel, selwood, SJ, Corey, Enright ect. He doesnt have anyone pushing his levels at GC. Didnt seem to be doing to well in time trials this year, maybe due to a groin but at the time didnt have a concern. He also looks quite plump and fattish to me.

People will know that top players go to a new level at a better team and worser level at a worse team with worse players. You dont need to push yourself so hard. He would be the best player at GC on one leg (no disrespect to brennan, rischa, bock). At geelong on one leg he would sit about 8th. So at Geelong he knew he had to train to keep ahead of the competition at GC there is no competition.

Sorry been back a few pages and cannot see ant discussion around Vince. New captain and was a gun in '09. Are there some injury concerns that I do not know about?

Looks like Cyril will be spending alot of time in the midfield if this is anything to go by. For those with Buddy, can you risk having them both?

Averaged 97.5 the last 10 games of last season. Not sure how much time he spent in the midfield though?

HAWTHORN'S Cyril Rioli is ready to make a stunning transition to the midfield this year, according to teammate Lance Franklin.

With the Hawks set to inject more speed through the middle of the ground, and with Rioli having just completed a near flawless fourth pre-season, Franklin is confident his mate can weave his magic through the midfield.

"With the way he has been training, I think Cyril is ready to have a ripper year," Franklin said.

"I am excited and I know that everyone at the club is really happy with the way he is going. I reckon he is ready to make the move into the midfield and absolutely kill it.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/cyril-rioli-to-blossom/story-e6frf9jf-1226000825292