Play Nice Dustin Martin to North | 31/8: DM signed at RFC for 1.3m/7yrs

Can someone please change the topic name to the suffix - Meet our Dusty today at Taylor made in Frankston :)

If the Tigers have upped their offer from 850 to 1.1, why hasn't he signed?
I didn't think he'd leave but why wait?
It makes no sense to hold off until September.
My view on it is how they do in the finals. If they flop in finals he'd be out the door. If they win one final he'll prob stay.

Well we are all programmed at trolling #lolmond

If I had more time I'd be dedicating more to the #StDwarf Dreamers as on BF they are getting way too cocky and need to be brought down a few cogs.
1966 has been a long time between drinks for them.

I pity them.

1966 has been a long time between drinks for them.

I pity them.
I dont. Except for my dad who's in his mid 60s. All the rest of them, including my brother can get stuffed, but he doesnt act like the flogs on here. As does my other brother as they're more realists like myself.

I'm usually on board with your thoughts Tas but this ones way off.

That is fair enough.

We lack midfield depth. Not only do we lack midfield depth, we lack elite talent. Martin would be perfect for us.

Who has midfield depth? Most sides that lose one or two core mids go from champs to chumps pretty quickly.

I'm not doubting that he is a good player or that he wouldn't benefit the side. He definitely would, however, Richmond has a lot of quick outside players that we do not, I think adding Martin to a slow midfield unit would see us retain one of the unit's core problems. We would have to put in a significant amount of effort into correcting it if we took Martin who isn't particularly quick.

I don't think we should focus on just the positives of what he brings, we have to look at his drawbacks and how that interacts with our own issues.

I think we still have a lot of good prospects, we just are paying the price for the lack of development time invested in previous years where we would play fringe players ahead of guys with obvious talent, we now have guys like Dumont, McDonald and Clarke in particular who haven't racked up a lot of midfield time. Combined with Goldy's poor form it has hurt us this season. If Ahern comes good and Simpkin can play more of an outside midfield role then we have the basis for a good midfield unit, especially if we are certain to get Kelly.

"Ziebell became a semi-permanent half-forward who swings into the middle as much as a Martin type would go forward."

I reckon that would be a given

If it is a given it should have happened this year already. I think he could be an AA quality half-forward, impact mid who plays short bursts to bash and crash, much like Hodge did in his prime when he went from floating around half back to making an impact in the middle.

It has been a captain obvious call that the club has never pulled the trigger on. You and everyone else may see it as a given, but there hasn't been any indication that the club is on the same page.

Can someone please change the topic name to the suffix - Meet our Dusty today at Taylor made in Frankston :)

Done. Now work your magic with this pic.

iJLl_OfFVm1bq9eu3B0KjGiKzlYpGD5msxwBwLZa9zx-5BCtdvBT32Q1mjXAdUrJvv8u1odrt2--Ccmc3Fkmzb93gaYCdo5XugNx65mFsB837_60pUzwQxDycNH8yK-b2AVGAsFiaFpPNehIpS66JWTk3LgDX-whAgyOnjPvZwjbIkpdBORTbbj2jcrmykOFWwt3w6sFGXvTe7Gp=w470-h313-nc

That is fair enough.

Who has midfield depth? Most sides that lose one or two core mids go from champs to chumps pretty quickly.

I'm not doubting that he is a good player or that he wouldn't benefit the side. He definitely would, however, Richmond has a lot of quick outside players that we do not, I think adding Martin to a slow midfield unit would see us retain one of the unit's core problems. We would have to put in a significant amount of effort into correcting it if we took Martin who isn't particularly quick.

I don't think we should focus on just the positives of what he brings, we have to look at his drawbacks and how that interacts with our own issues.

I think we still have a lot of good prospects, we just are paying the price for the lack of development time invested in previous years where we would play fringe players ahead of guys with obvious talent, we now have guys like Dumont, McDonald and Clarke in particular who haven't racked up a lot of midfield time. Combined with Goldy's poor form it has hurt us this season. If Ahern comes good and Simpkin can play more of an outside midfield role then we have the basis for a good midfield unit, especially if we are certain to get Kelly.

If it is a given it should have happened this year already. I think he could be an AA quality half-forward, impact mid who plays short bursts to bash and crash, much like Hodge did in his prime when he went from floating around half back to making an impact in the middle.

It has been a captain obvious call that the club has never pulled the trigger on. You and everyone else may see it as a given, but there hasn't been any indication that the club is on the same page.

I think the club is trying to address the outside run issues. We've drafted a few blokes with either pace or big engines of late. Martin might not be quick but he plays a semi outside role, not the in & under Cunnington type.

The Ziebell situation is a tricky one. On one hand you could argue that he's had to play predominantly as an inside mid because of the lack of other options (especially this year)

On the other hand you could argue that Scott rolling with 3 talls for the last 8 years has meant he wouldn't work with that structure.

I'm hopeful 2018 will bring a new set up.

Probably for the Ziebell thread, but I think Ziebell playing forward would not only be better for the side, but better for Ziebell himself. The way he uses his body through the midfield he's going to be knackerd before his time. Spending more time forward would prolong his career

SEN guys suggested he's waiting until everyone stops retiring so he can have the spotlight. Do it in the rest week & pump the Tigers fans up before the finals + "Get another 5,000 fans to the game."

I don't think Richmond fans would need any motivating to get along to finals as they have been as rare as hens teeth for the last 40 odd years.

Because he loves the spotlight.

Keep telling yourself that if helps you sleep at night....
I have no problems sleeping at night. Some of you do though I suspect. I know how you feel. When I was young I always hoped Gary Ablett snr would come to the Tiges cos his cousin Kevin played for us. Never happened. Bit like you hoping Dusty will go to North to be with his best mate Marely.

That's bullshit you have no problems sleeping at night, so to speak. Posturing big time.There isn't a supporter on the planet that would be nervous if their best player held of signing a contract until the end of the season.
We'd be the same with Ben Brown.

For what it's worth none of us are pinning our hopes on Dusty coming, albeit one notorious poster.

We are losing nothing at this stage, except contributing to lining the pockets of Dusty.

If he did come we'd all be pleasantly surprised.

Get of your high horse, it's so much fun watching you shake in your panties.

On EVA-L09 using BigFooty.com mobile app