EA's Early phantom Draft 2009 (top 6)

No Swallow birthday is in November, closer to the 2011 draft than the 2009 draft. Yep he's an absolute monster for a kid.

Matera, Darling and Swallow would all be top ten pick this year.

If Swallow was available this year he would actually challenge Scully for the number 1 spot.

The Melbourne recruiting staff absolutely love him, they are spewing he is not available this year.

He will be number 1 next year for GC unless Darling grows a few cm's.

Looks like it's going to be a very difficult draft to judge this year, after the top 20 it could go anywhere. I was wondering what the general idea on a few of the NT boys was, and about where they would be looking at going at this early stage.

The ones I am mainly interested are;
Scott Taylor
Troy Taylor
Mitch Taylor
Charlie McAdam
Roland Ah Chee
Dean Gordon

Generally unless there is something exceptional about them, the NT boys are usually late picks or rookie picks. I'd imagine Ah Chee would be looking at somewhere around a 2nd round pick. And Mitch Taylor would probably be a late rookie selection. Not sure about the others.

Would be interested to hear some opinions, as I wouldn't mind a few of them at Fremantle next year.

Looks like it's going to be a very difficult draft to judge this year, after the top 20 it could go anywhere. I was wondering what the general idea on a few of the NT boys was, and about where they would be looking at going at this early stage.

The ones I am mainly interested are;
Scott Taylor - Pick 40 - 50 I reckon. His last game of the Championships was his best but it showed many people what talent he has. Would've loved to seen him play in a Division One side.
Troy Taylor - Pick 50 - 60. Some club will take the punt on him. I think he is better then a rookie selection but isn't consistant enough to go any higher. Will be a very exciting player for the future.
Mitch Taylor - Won't get picked up. Not a bad player but doesn't have that X-factor about him that Troy has.
Charlie McAdam - Rookie pick. Very skinny, very raw and actually turned 19 in April. Good player and due to the new age restrictions, I reckon he'll sneak in for a rookie selection.
Roland Ah Chee - Second round pick. Has an absolute ton of skill. Very strong, clean hands with a precise kick. Lacks intensity at times and fitness but with a decent pre-season under his belt, will become very dangerous flanker.
Dean Gordon - Like many NT boys, maybe a rookie.

Generally unless there is something exceptional about them, the NT boys are usually late picks or rookie picks. I'd imagine Ah Chee would be looking at somewhere around a 2nd round pick. And Mitch Taylor would probably be a late rookie selection. Not sure about the others.

Would be interested to hear some opinions, as I wouldn't mind a few of them at Fremantle next year.

Steve May is definatly one to watch for the future. Probably will go to GC but very impressed with his performance during the carnival. Also Patty Heenan, should get rookied.

Heard from a good source that Gary Rohan (VC) The red Head is a extremly strong chance of going No 1.

Also Lucas is expected to slide anywhere between 5-15

Here's a bit of my post from the Richmond thread, What do we think?

1(P). Melbourne: Tom Scully (Melbourne would me DUMB to not take Scully at 1#)

2. Melbourne:
John Butcher/Jack Trengove (This is going to get very interesting, Trengove is in some red hot form at the moment and had a great carnival but Butcher has been injured? and has been playing some good footy but not upto his/pick 2 standard and would the want to take another KPF after they got Watts last year so its in there hands do they want 2 high pick Mids Or KPF?)

Pick 3 Fremantle: Kane Lucas/Anthony Morobito. (Freo are well know for taking WA boys who suit Subi that’s why i have a feeling why they might be leaning towards Morobito ATM Lucas didn’t do himself any favours by having a "ok" carnival.)

4. Richmond: John Butcher/Jack Trengove (I would love Butcher at Tigers to help out Riewoldt in forward line but this pick is really in Melbourne's hands witch ever one they don’t take we take but if Fremantle take Trengove and Melbourne take Butcher Tigers could even take Stevens or one of Morobito or Lucas)

5. West Coast: Kane Lucas/Anthony Morobito (The Eagles have one of the best young mids ATM with Masten, Pridis and Ebert but they seem to be just 1 midfielder short so the door is almost unlocked and Morobito or Lucas would be the missing key personally i think Lucas would be better suited at West Coast)

6. North Melbourne: Koby Stevens/Dustin Martin (I would think Stevens would be a nice fit too the North Melbourne midfield Stevens is a little like Ziebell goes hard at it a good kick, Dustin in my eye's is very underrated. he is a great kick on both sides and is all class)

Heard from a good source that Gary Rohan (VC) The red Head is a extremly strong chance of going No 1.

Also Lucas is expected to slide anywhere between 5-15
Rohan will probably be top 10 but there is no chance the Dees will pass on Scully for No. 1.

My first shot at putting a top 40 together.

PP Melbourne
Tom Scully – Melbourne will go with best avialable and pick up the 180cm dynamo. Will compliment Blease well into the future.

Pick 1 Melbourne

John Butcher – Had a light Carnival but he’s still rated highly and will be snapped up to form a long term partnership with Watts. Is an accurate kick and will do well playing deep.

Pick 2 North Melbourne

Jack Trengrove - Will go with the Best Avilable Midfielder and pick up Jack, still need to add to their midfield depth and Jack will provide them with much needed grunt for years to come.

Pick 3 West Coast

Kane Lucas – Need to pick up goal kicking midfielders and classy ball users, for that reason Lucas will be above Morabito into Westcoasts hands.

Pick 4 Richmond

Matthew Panos – Richmond need another KPF target to assist Jack Reiwolt and Panos will be an early bolter.

Pick 5 Fremantle

Anthony Morabito – Fremantle will pickup the local boy who could be anything, figure Fremantle wont be able to resist him at pick five.

Pick 6 Hawthorn

Jesse Crichton – Hawthorns Midfield looks a little exposed and will go for the speedy and well rounded Tasmanian. ;

Pick 7 Sydney

Koby Stevens – The hard as nails midfielder will attract allot of intrest from clubs and i think Roos might like the way he goes about his football.

Pick 8 Port Adelaide

Daniel Talia – Port need to add some KP strength the defense side of their team and Talia is a quality KPD/ swingman that is well worth a first round selection.

Pick 9 Essendon

Roland Ah Chee – Wins allot of ball and is an exciting player to watch. Think Essendon will be attracted to him.

Pick 10 Carlton

Dylan McNeil – Consistent grunt midfielder who would add depth to their midfield briggade, better option than some of those they are currently playing.

Pick 11 Brisbane Lions

Dustin Martin – Will go for someone who works hard and uses the ball well.

Pick 12 Collingwood

Mitch Duncan – Will go for the goal kicking midfielder who will be another highly skilled forward/ midfielder for Collingwood.

Pick 13 Adelaide

Luke Tappscott – Solid built and very well rounded footballer will be a good match for Adelaide and would be a useful player in their quest for a flag going forward.

Pick 14 W Bulldogs

Gary Rohan – Will go best avilable and this highly skilled and highly mobile player could adjust quickly to the speed of AFL football.

Pick 15 Geelong

Nathan Vardy – Will go for the best available midfielder, that type of draft as they wont pick based on need.

Pick 16 St Kilda

Ben Cunningham – St Kilda will go for the best avialable midfielder like Geelong.

PP 2 North Melbourne - Jack Fitzpartick
Pick 17 Melbourne - Allen Christensen
Pick 18 Westcoast – Lewis Jetta
Pick 19 Richmond - Ryan Bastinac
Pick 20 Fremantle – Ben Griffiths
Pick 21 Hawthorn - Jake Melksham
Pick 22 Sydney - James Craig
Pick 23 Port Adelaide - Derick Wanganeen
Pick 24 Essendon - Jordan Gyberts
Pick 25 Carlton – Brad Sheppard
Pick 26 Brisbane - Andrew Hooper
Pick 27 Collingwood - Sam Shaw
Pick 28 Adelaide - Troy Taylor
Pick 29 Western Bulldogs - Scott Taylor
Pick 30 Geelong - Andrew Moore
Pick 31 St Kilda - Alex Keath
Pick 32 Melbourne - Hayden Busher
Pick 33 North Mebourne - Robbie Hicks
Pick 34 Westcoast - Travis Colyer
Pick 35 Richmond - Chris Luff
Pick 36 Fremantle – Clint Gartlett
Pick 37 Hawthorn - Tom Mackenzie
Pick 38 Sydney - Dylan Grimes
Pick 39 Port Adelaide - Tom Harms
Pick 40 Essendon – Cameron Kickett

Can anyone tell me much about Josh Toy.Looks quite handy.
Roos and Eagles may swap on ladder positions.
Too early to say at the moment.
Dockers have the potential to win 3-4 more games as well.

an absolute certainty to go to GC

A pat on the back for your efforts but remember the old proverb...

"Don't go too hard too early" :D

It's still 5 months from 'D' day. Hang onto this then look at the list you put together the day brefore 'D' day.

Yeah it's a saved document. Really just wanted to get as many names together, towards the end of the first round it's pretty much impossible at this state. Based it around a quick run through the rest of the rounds to predict a final ladder.

A pat on the back for your efforts but remember the old proverb...

"Don't go too hard too early" :D

It's still 5 months from 'D' day. Hang onto this then look at the list you put together the day brefore 'D' day.

couldnt agree more. kudos to you for having a go... at this stage i would back you in with most of those players, the only quiery being on the metro boys. I saw them play a few times, and players like fitzpatrick, gysberts, hicks and melksham, yeah while all good players, i think there reputation (maybe not hicks so much) has got them to where they are at the moment. in the 3 games i saw them play, they did very little. nothing stood out. i may be wrong, you probably know them better than me, but this years metro team was a team of a few unknown boys, and i reckon you might find a few of these 'unkowns' will climb through the pack come draft day... as no one really knows who they are. just my opinion. but yeah, well done on the effort, i love reading these each year, good work.

First of all Eastern Hills - I admire your bravery so far out.
Secondly - if West Coast were to nab Lucas (I think Morabito is preferred- however lets not argue this point at this time), Jetta AND Colyer - there would be no need for Viagra in the Woodhouse households until February - they will be barred up for 4 months.

Your sydeny and Port Adelaide selections are probably the only glaring obvious problems in that mock draft. Sydney need a Key Back and Talia should be their man, Loosing Barry, Micky O and possibly Hall next year, Bolton aging, Grundy will probably go forward next year and LRT and Talia should lead the swans from the defence!

Port have an abundance of CHB's and i would prefer Trengove our CHB and or Chaplin being a similar Key back to Talia and taller and runs on the board!

Secondly - if West Coast were to nab Lucas (I think Morabito is preferred- however lets not argue this point at this time), Jetta AND Colyer - there would be no need for Viagra in the Woodhouse households until February - they will be barred up for 4 months.

This. Eagles will be very lucky to get Colyer as a third rounder. Being AA U18 would push him into top30 picked you would imagine, and our 3rd being around 36 seems unlikely. The other two(please be Morabito) would be likely though

fantastic to see so many people interested in the draft, but do yourselves a favour guys. if you're going to do a phantom draft, a bit of research would be nice:thumbsu:

some of the mistakes people have been making here (names, player descriptions & positions and even eligibility) have been horrendous.. as bad as it sounds you instantly lose credibility with posters when you make simple and careless mistakes.

again, as i said. terrific that so many of you are interested but your lack of research shows.

hope you don't mind me making a few points..
good effort none the less:thumbsu:

Jack Trengrove - Will go with the Best Avilable Midfielder and pick up Jack, still need to add to their midfield depth and Jack will provide them with much needed grunt for years to come.

debatable IMO that he is the next best midfielder, although i've seen very little of him and he is rightfully highly rated, there is a certain somebody who i'd be taking ahead of him.

Kane Lucas – Need to pick up goal kicking midfielders and classy ball users, for that reason Lucas will be above Morabito into Westcoasts hands.

and this is him.. I am a massive fan of Lucas.. one of few players to dominate in both Carnivals as a bottom ager and now this year as a top aged player. has all the attributes and has the added bonus of being able to play as a forward.. I personally don't have him far behind Scully

Matthew Panos – Richmond need another KPF target to assist Jack Reiwolt and Panos will be an early bolter.

not really understanding all the love for Panos, done well in 2009 (particularly the nationals) but i can't say i agree with him going top 5.. i'm still debating whether i'd have him in my first round, let alone top 5

(not saying he can't go there, just need a bit more time to watch him in depth)

Jesse Crichton – Hawthorns Midfield looks a little exposed and will go for the speedy and well rounded Tasmanian

got loads of time for Jesse but i don't think he'll go that high.

Pick 7 Sydney
Koby Stevens – The hard as nails midfielder will attract allot of intrest from clubs and i think Roos might like the way he goes about his football.

I reckon Koby would love this, as his best mate is already playing there:thumbsu:

Dylan McNeil – Consistent grunt midfielder who would add depth to their midfield briggade, better option than some of those they are currently playing.

he's a gem but i just can't see him going that high.. doing all the right things but these days athletic attributes and scope for improvement are playing a bigger and bigger role in selections, hence why i can see the likes of McNeil and Christensen (both brilliant footballers) sliding.

Gary Rohan – Will go best avilable and this highly skilled and highly mobile player could adjust quickly to the speed of AFL football

don't think he'll last until pick 14. top 10 for mine (even if it is July)

Nathan Vardy – Will go for the best available midfielder, that type of draft as they wont pick based on need.

Vardy isn't a midfielder champ:thumbsu:

Ben Cunningham – St Kilda will go for the best avialable midfielder like Geelong.

presume you mean Ben Cunnington? would be stoked if we selected him

Pick 31 St Kilda - Alex Keath

i wish!! not eligible this year unfortunately:thumbsdown:

Kind of like your analysis of Morabito and Lucas...

how so?

I don't think it is unreasonable for me to suggest that Lucas is the better footballer, because from what i've seen he most definitely is..

i don't know whether it was just because it was the last day of the carnival (which would be suprising because it's the biggest day), but Morabito was clearly looking for cheap kicks in the game against Vic Country. Now, you and a few others have said that he loves the physical side of the game in the WAFL, but what he brought to the table against VC suggested otherwise..

again, maybe it was a one off and i'm marking him harshly but i can only go off what i've seen.

not really understanding all the love for Panos, done well in 2009 (particularly the nationals) but i can't say i agree with him going top 5.. i'm still debating whether i'd have him in my first round, let alone top 5

(not saying he can't go there, just need a bit more time to watch him in depth)

Second this, not sure he is of 1st round caliber, though i've seen him just twice live and haven't seen his stuff playing for Norwood.

how so?

I don't think it is unreasonable for me to suggest that Lucas is the better footballer, because from what i've seen he most definitely is..

i don't know whether it was just because it was the last day of the carnival (which would be suprising because it's the biggest day), but Morabito was clearly looking for cheap kicks in the game against Vic Country. Now, you and a few others have said that he loves the physical side of the game in the WAFL, but what he brought to the table against VC suggested otherwise..

again, maybe it was a one off and i'm marking him harshly but i can only go off what i've seen.

Your analysis was so woefully inadequate and incorrect I actually thought you may have confused the two.

The problem is you have promoted wholesale fact on the basis of seeing one game.

And it wasn't even correct in the context of the carnival, as others that have watched more than one game thought completely differently, apart from that one game. (Not to mention WAFL form where Lucas has been rather poor and really, almost soft if you were being a hard marker.)

I don't make big judgement calls on Victorian kids, because I don't see them enough. I think you should do the same with the WA boys unless you are going to see more than one game a year of them.

And like has been noted by just about everyone that has seen them both multiple times, and at the ground, your judgement was in the main, completely arse about.

If you're going to point out mistakes to others who simply haven't seen enough, I don't think you can complain when people do exactly the same for you.

totally agree, however i still stand by what i say in regards to the pair. and for someone who has seen plenty of them you are yet to give me any reason to suggest otherwise.

you know exactly what i was refering to when i was talking about 'research' from the other posters..

i want some proof that i'm wrong (and i'll clearly cop that whack because as i said you've obviously seen a lot more of him than i have and if you can back it up with evidence then i'll acknowledge that i've been too harsh)

I still think my opinion would hold some weight (seen him live 3 times which i'm sure is more than 99% of the posters on this board) and along with the highlight packages i've been shown i have seen nothing to suggest he isn't a frontrunner.

fantastic pace and takes a strong grab for a midfielder but i have question marks over his commitment to the footy and when he fluffs a kick, he fluffs it badly.