ditto

Swan Districts
Firstly I would like to thank Telstra for only taking 2.5 months to get my internet connection up and going again, good work guys. NOT!!!!!

Now back to my post. Sundays derby has to be one of the best games of AFL that I have witnessed. Tough and hard all day, a credit to both teams.

What I would like to know from you Freo fans is your true feeling regarding your team. It has taken them 18 rounds and the realisation that finals are probably out of reach to play with passion, strength and unity.

Are you ecstatic with their performance or disillusioned that the gap between their best and worst is so large??

If they'd played the other 17 games this season with half that passion it'd be top 4 for sure.

the gap between their best and worst is so large??

This is what needs to be fixed up....

P.s Great to see your back online and first post/Thread back is on the Dockers board talking about Dockers.....We`ve missed you heaps :rolleyes:

A bit of both. I did ask the question (why didn't we play like this all season?) on Sunday. It's a bit of a mystery. But just happy to see a good performance by the team. Hopefully they can continue for the rest of the season and into next year. :thumbsu:

Firstly I would like to thank Telstra for only taking 2.5 months to get my internet connection up and going again, good work guys. NOT!!!!!

Now back to my post. Sundays derby has to be one of the best games of AFL that I have witnessed. Tough and hard all day, a credit to both teams.

What I would like to know from you Freo fans is your true feeling regarding your team. It has taken them 18 rounds and the realisation that finals are probably out of reach to play with passion, strength and unity.

Are you ecstatic with their performance or disillusioned that the gap between their best and worst is so large??

If they'd played the other 17 games this season with half that passion it'd be top 4 for sure.

Now where this is a load of crap is that we have played well during the year. Bad kicking at goal lost us too many games as well as losing important players for significant chunks of the year.

Only the simpletons look at the results without any analysis of why and how.

Now where this is a load of crap is that we have played well during the year. Bad kicking at goal lost us too many games as well as losing important players for significant chunks of the year.

Only the simpletons look at the results without any analysis of why and how.

Be real. You may have played "well" in other games this year (and playing "well" won't win you big games) but not one game this year has been played anywhere near as tough and hard as Sunday's game.

Although, you guys have played like that previously under Connolly so im not sure that alone truly represents a significant step forward.....not yet anyways

Who knows dog, only the future can unravle those answers.

Although i thought the ferocity we showed was enhanced, by some of your blokes, shall we say, lack of it. Anyway winners are grinners, and i can understand your reasons for wanting to keep away from the weages board, feral buggers are going off !!

I hope none of your rellies were ringing up grizzleguts :D

hang on...people keep bleating about our record of 7 losses from the last 12 and how poor we are without any consideration given to these aspects.

Of course, that can say this issues played a role in the losses but at the end of the day, a loss is a loss and a win is a win regardless of the team on the park.

Who knows dog, only the future can unravle those answers.

Although i thought the ferocity we showed was enhanced, by some of your blokes, shall we say, lack of it. Anyway winners are grinners, and i can understand your reasons for wanting to keep away from the weages board, feral buggers are going off !!

I hope none of your rellies were ringing up grizzleguts :D

I would disown them if they were.

To be honest - it was a great win by the Dockers but im not making such a big deal about us losing it. As you said, the physical nature was enhanced by our lack of it. Im pretty sure the fact we are in the run to finals with a severely underdone team played a role - the last thing we need is suspensions or injuries. We need our best team on the park each week and by retaliating, we were only going to make matters worse.

I am not at all suggesting we rolled over...far from it. They tried their guts out, but I think they were reluctant to enter the real physical stuff for a number of reasons. Probably just as much as your players were eager to enter into the physical stuff since you essentially had nothing to lose.

Be real. You may have played "well" in other games this year (and playing "well" won't win you big games) but not one game this year has been played anywhere near as tough and hard as Sunday's game.

You may be correct here and it applies to both teams, and considering you are a monty to play deep into September, can i make a casual observation ?

Harden The **** Up !! :thumbsu:

[/B]

You may be correct here and it applies to both teams, and considering you are a monty to play deep into September, can i make a casual observation ?

Harden The **** Up !! :thumbsu:

You think teams in finals will risk suspensions and consistent frees against like the game on the weekend? Im not so sure about that.

I can assure you if it was a finals game we would have approached and reacted to it differently

You think teams in finals will risk suspensions and consistent frees against like the game on the weekend? Im not so sure about that.

I can assure you if it was a finals game we would have approached and reacted to it differently

Interesting...so how does that compute with the desire for a top four position?
Lose to the Roos next week and things begin to look very shaky.

Last game of the year against the Bombers...Hird and Sheedy's last game...freckle twitching now...
As we well know, dropping games you should win hits you right in the nads...

I would disown them if they were.

To be honest - it was a great win by the Dockers but im not making such a big deal about us losing it. As you said, the physical nature was enhanced by our lack of it. Im pretty sure the fact we are in the run to finals with a severely underdone team played a role - the last thing we need is suspensions or injuries. We need our best team on the park each week and by retaliating, we were only going to make matters worse.

Obviously you do, can i ask why though, is the coaching dept still playing Juddy when he is clearly unfit and struggling. Surely a rest until finals is the sensible approach.

Interesting...so how does that compute with the desire for a top four position?
Lose to the Roos next week and things begin to look very shaky.

Last game of the year against the Bombers...Hird and Sheedy's last game...freckle twitching now...
As we well know, dropping games you should win hits you right in the nads...

Well firstly, the coaching staff believe that at our best we can beat any team, anywhere - yet we haven't been all season through injury and underdone players. We really need to get some game time into our midfielders and forwards. Its not just a matter of a bloke missing a week through suspension, but more a matter of him missing a week and further disrupting our side - it means even less time together and on the ground. We dont have many weeks to play with anymore. We NEED a stable run into the finals. With a disrupted side we wont be at our best for the finals where it matters.

Lets not forget that in the 4th quarter there was a stage where the game could have gone either way - we weren't too far behind you guys. I am pretty confident we can be the Roos and Dons despite them being tough games.

Obviously you do, can i ask why though, is the coaching dept still playing Juddy when he is clearly unfit and struggling. Surely a rest until finals is the sensible approach.

Im not sure rest will particularly help him. And if it does, whatever time he is out means he comes back unfit and underdone right in the middle of the finals. Then from what I hear, he still wont be fully recovered.

The last 2 weeks he has shown significant improvement but im not too sure what happened on the weekend.

I very much doubt the staff would be flogging his guts out if he wasn't up to it. They have also given him plenty of bench time

Fair call dog, it's just that he reminds me so much of how Hase struggled last year, apparently he had a groin complaint ( read : not OP :rolleyes:).
Yet they persevered with him, and in hindsight should of put him under the knife sooner. At the end of the season he was rooted.

Still if there was genuine improvement, prior to D-day then good luck with that. :thumbsu:

I am always ecstatic after a win. The time for disillusion, due to up and down form, is after a loss.

The reason why this topic has been immediate news following a win is because all the eagles supporters (and some media, eg Karl Langdon) secretly don't think its fair that when they play the "flakey" Dockers the Dockers always bring their "A game".

Eagles supporter says, "Why can't they play like that all the time?"
Eagles supporter thinks, "They play badly all season then play a blinder against us. Its not fair! Why can't they play poorly consistantly"

I don't know about you guys, but I have been fairly appalled at the standard of our play during most of our home games this year. We have played well in patches, but never put 4 good quarters together (except for against Carlton and maybe Hawthorn too).

There were lamentable lapses in the home games against Port, West Coast, Adelaide (good finish though), Richmond, Kangaroos, Geelong (all game).

I think the poor fans deserve to see some Freo magic in a home game.

We will thump Essendon.:D

according to your mate scotland, we are not allowed to talk about the derby anymore.:rolleyes::p But yes the gap between best and worse is not very good, which many other teams suffer as well. With the coaching change theres always hope the problem will start to be addressed.

I am always ecstatic after a win. The time for disillusion, due to up and down form, is after a loss.

The reason why this topic has been immediate news following a win is because all the eagles supporters (and some media, eg Karl Langdon) secretly don't think its fair that when they play the "flakey" Dockers the Dockers always bring their "A game".

Eagles supporter says, "Why can't they play like that all the time?"
Eagles supporter thinks, "They play badly all season then play a blinder against us. Its not fair! Why can't they play poorly consistantly"

hahaha. Hit the nail on the head there.

I do get frustrated that your mob seems to get up more often than not for derbies. Shits me to tears to be honest.:(

If only you rolled over for us like you did for the Cats then we could all come on here and tell you how crap you are.:p

In some ways though I was a little disappointed we beat you first up this year - we have never beaten the Dockers in a premiership year.

No you get real. Eagles fans are so arrogant that they think we must have played better than any other time to have beaten them, Truth is no, we played as well before but the opposition was better.