EDFL Div 1 Discussion 2023

West Coburg got what they deserve… undefeated all year in seniors and reserves… lose 2 grand finals.

Karma!

If I was a west Coburg player I would be embarrassed to play for that club. Heard rumours about them not paying players as well. Hope Karma gets them in the off season.

Congratulations to Hillside and Deer Park. Both sides played brilliant footy.

Nothing to do with DP at all. The crowd's behavior was a disgrace and one we should all stand up against. It was people like that who ****ed up the season earlier in the year and they may well have caused the Premier grade to be played with those restrictions back in place.
Look forward to the league banning parents from huddles all next season at junior games, as part of the solution to stop stuff like today happening again.

Just like that, today’s incident is all over social media. Hope the league takes a stand to it.

And so it should be next it will be on the news tomorrow . There’s been a few incidents involving West Coburg over the years, let’s see if the Edfl are fair dinkum or not

Haha. They won’t do anything.

The supporter in the crowd goes at a Deer Park player. Horrible look.

During the last quarter of the reserves game I seen Lynden Dunn go up to the fence and say to the WC defender to take out Covelli legs at the contest due to his knee. Wow wee pretty ordinary and actually now I know why he got punched last season. He is so tough from the fence but would never say it to Covellis face. And Covelli plays it fair and he and his opponent were often chatting during the game.

What a shit club. West Coburg deserve everything they got today.

I want to congratulate Deer Park way to good, they had no holes anywhere on the park...will do well in the Premiere League.

Reading some comments on here, and being new to the EDFL, i think the last few years West Coburg have played with very good spirit, yes a few scuffles but nothing like what happened today. I 100% do not condone what number 19 did with his elbows, not once but twice...but can I please ask if people don't paint the entire team with the same brush.

If you look last weekend RUPO vs WC this game was a great game and fairly played.

Like to also point out that all teams have their moments, I do recall only just last weekend Deer Park reserves player was red carded for letting rip a massive right hook...

That’s really poor behaviour. Was there a second eyewitness to this incident ?

Sitting back after celebrating with the DP boys and supporters and catching up on BF forum after a massive win. Not surprised to see a few pages of people that were disgusted by #19 act.

WC carried on after there home and away wins and today learnt that they are not up to it at the real time of the year.

The forward line is not up to it. In the 2 finals they hardly troubled DP backline. Their 2 top scores managed 4 goals between them in 2 finals games.
Coach didn't appear to have any clue, The forwards were getting smashed and didn't see too many changes in both games.

Before today I though WC were a fair club, how thing change, they were disgraceful today. Talking to few of the boys WC had the nerve to call DP soft, what a joke...WC didn't have head over ball all day.

These type of days can break a club, I'm tipping the slide begins.

Carry on all year about being undefeated, should concentrate on improving rather then blowing own trumpet at the wrong end of season.

Sitting back after celebrating with the DP boys and supporters and catching up on BF forum after a massive win. Not surprised to see a few pages of people that were disgusted by #19 act.

WC carried on after there home and away wins and today learnt that they are not up to it at the real time of the year.

The forward line is not up to it. In the 2 finals they hardly troubled DP backline. Their 2 top scores managed 4 goals between them in 2 finals games.
Coach didn't appear to have any clue, The forwards were getting smashed and didn't see too many changes in both games.

Before today I though WC were a fair club, how thing change, they were disgraceful today. Talking to few of the boys WC had the nerve to call DP soft, what a joke...WC didn't have head over ball all day.

Carry on all year about being undefeated, should concentrate on improving rather then blowing own trumpet at the wrong end of season.
Couldn’t argue a single point. They will look back at this last month as a club for some time with a lot of regrets. What they do next will define them.

Enjoy the celebrations, you’ve called the Deer Park stuff as it was this season without the arrogant crap some others do. Deer Park, whatever I think about them being in this division and the way they spend, were class today in all aspects of the game, on and off the field. Due to them having the resolve to take the medicine and focus all their energy on getting it done today and off to the division they belong in meant the ugly stuff didn’t turn into something really horrible. Shudder to think a child is going to get hurt with all the bravado and fence rushing that seems to happen every finals series. Generally the fence rushers/loud mouths ran equally as fast away from the contest when they had thier time on the park. Quick trip to the servo tomorrow morning covers up a black eye for the best Sunday session you can have, never seen premiership medals sold there though!
One persons actions can ruin a club’s reputation but you see the real colours of a club in the tough times, this is only a new chapter for West Coburg and it’s going to take a lot of work to win back. Already seen some teammates and club officials defending or deflecting on social media, they need to shut up or condemn what happen. They still defend the kicking incident a decade ago on the same day.

Have to wonder if Phil Cleary will condone West Coburg's thug like behaviour today?

The violence activist "may not have seen it today" even though he was there watching his two sons run around in the big loss.

He was happy to appear on channel seven earlier in the year following the St. Albans v Hillside fight having his say over the matter.

You are completely delusional. 46 points v 23 points. Pat yourself on the back.

@Haboobz, fortunately, he was OK. Ripper bloke who has always played the game the way it's meant to be played. [emoji170][emoji169][emoji471]

SWOOPINGTIME
At the end of the day this is the most important thing. But after all the awareness on the coward punch that clubs and players have received, it baffles me that West Coburg people were defending the action.

To call Deer Park soft is a joke as well. Who are they kidding to think they are tough by king hitting the opposition.

I’m all for second chances, but the first step is acknowledging your wrong doing and learning from your mistakes. Seems like they think they haven’t done anything wrong. That shows you what type of club they are.

You are completely delusional. 46 points v 23 points. Pat yourself on the back.
Here we go the points card :)
Last i read rule book your aloud 46 points so whats your point. Lets face it your s##t club can only dream of making premier division and lucky for you they didn't win as you would be embarrassed in premier division.

Seniors back to back GF losses, reserves loose first game of year in GF.

Must be fun in WC tonight.

The result that showed the class differences between both sides in the 2 finals games.

The 2 close defeats in the H&A encounters were flattering to WC, especially the first clash at the soccer ground. Deer Park never had all players at their disposal throughout the season and were still forced to leave a quality player in Mick Edwards out who would walk into any other side as a starting mid.

Both finals against DP showed just how undisciplined WC were. Either their instructed to do so by the coach or they can't control their emotions in the heat of battle. Players went missing when it was their time to put the head over the footy, yet happy to clip the opposition when chasing which they did alot of yesterday.

As for the incident involving the flying elbows from Gloury, this typified the the sides resolve they were up against it. Clearly a last ditch effort to rattle DP which backfired. Couldn't even land both of these either!🤣

The real big issue is the tiprat supporters over the fence ( who were clearly WC ) engaging in the scuffle and by all reports holding and throwing a few cheap shots at DP players who were defenceless. Those involded are a disgrace and if found guilty should be publicly named and banned. Genuine cowards act and no doubt the club will be handed down a significant fine if members of the club.

As for our DP Boyz, fantastic effort, what a display on the big stage...🏆
Commiserations to those players who missed out especially Mick who is an absolute legend of a fella.

Premier Division......here we come!!...💪💙💛

I hope they get the person who was tugging on hair of the Deer Park person and ban them for life.
We can’t even get a tribunal outcome published. The league will move into cover up mode first thing today and look to sweep it under the carpet as soon as possible.
Johnston has been a toothless tiger and puppet for the board, a group of out of touch back slappers completely oblivious to the current state of the competition. Change is needed, urgently!

EDFL Div 1 Discussion 2023