EDFL Div 2 2019

• Thread starter Thread starter Punt05

I don’t feel it’s contradicting I’m worried for the local teams of the Comp....

There have been murmurs more rdfl teams further than sunbury want to come across. It’s not really edfl is it then???

Have you got any theories on how to help fix the Comp??

Or just pick apart what I say???

More teams the better I'd say. Will be rough playing the same teams 3,4 times,

As for it "not being edfl" if more rdfl teams come in.
Thats all leagues isn't it. Take rdfl, they have broadford and melton in there. Not really riddle district is it....

Anyone feel as though having a 3rds comp is causing some of these problems? a few sides have two 3rds teams whilst teams are struggling to field reserves sides? i understand some people just cant commit anymore to footy training and just want to run around but imo having a team with 2 3rds sides is a bit much.

I agree. It’s more about the league allowing the big clubs to get bigger and urge battling clubs to continue to struggle and ultimately who knows what the future holds. Example- Lucky Keilor Park built juniors a few years back otherwise Keilor wanted to swallow up Keilor Park and take their facilities as a second base. They would have built something huge..

There should be a limit and rules built around this 3rds comp. I don’t mind the idea but don’t like clubs having 2 sides and seeing senior players playing 3rds during byes or using these games for match fitness.

I agree. It’s more about the league allowing the big clubs to get bigger and urge battling clubs to continue to struggle and ultimately who knows what the future holds. Example- Lucky Keilor Park built juniors a few years back otherwise Keilor wanted to swallow up Keilor Park and take their facilities as a second base. They would have built something huge..

There should be a limit and rules built around this 3rds comp. I don’t mind the idea but don’t like clubs having 2 sides and seeing senior players playing 3rds during byes or using these games for match fitness.

Thirds should be basically an over thirties comp or a proper single team club comp.

Jacana struggling to field 2 sides even 1 side
Can’t pay players and where upfront and honest
So players walk out no worries
But a lot of these players leaving cause they will not get paid to play are going to Craigieburn. Now let’s be honest they are not capable of being in Craigieburns best 22. So will be playing reserves and not getting paid. So question is why not stay and play for the club ????

I agree but maybe stuff has gone on at the club and rather than stay there the go elsewhere. I suppose we aren't in the bubble so we only know so much.

Why not make div 2 a seniors only comp and allow sides with 2s to join div 1 comp or a 3rds comp? I know it gets a little disjointed for clubs but if numbers are as much of an issue as they seem then it makes sense, then once the club is successful they will be able to attract more players and enter a 2s team as well. Seems a little the same with 19s numbers so maybe they only need 2 divs for them too?

Under 19's has already been changed to 2 divs of 8 teams as only 15 clubs (strathmore have 2 teams) could field 19's.
I think this should be a the last resort option though. Much better keeping 19's, reserves, seniors aligned where possible.

EDFL need to decide whether 3 healthy divisions is their priority or whether 3rds socials footy is their priority.

Well you can’t say Northern are one of those strong clubs can you? I think one of those clubs touted as struggling in the north may also have inferenced Northern Saints, but they clearly have excess players so they’ve started a thirds team. Isn’t this what we want to see? I don’t think any Jacana players have asked to be transferred to the saints, so I can only congratulate the club for providing the opportunity in an area that otherwise seems to struggle. They did have a thirds in 2016 or 17 I recall. At least they are trying, given the trying conditions.

Oak park are not a huge club but they have two 3rd sides .It a big risk and a costly one for club running one 3rd side little own 2 when you take in the fact you are going to struggle to get subs out them and most won't stick around on Thursday night either and put much back in

That’s the thing you hope those players pay subs and stick around at the very least on a Thursday night. 2 thirds teams is massive. Do Therry still have their warriors?

Because clearly the club was not honest and upfront from the start and players are sick of the lies ? Pretty straight forward isn’t it.... players happy to play reserves and not get paid then to play at jacana

Adding teams six rounds in is ridiculous. It's almost half the season gone

It is now a 13 team comp

Adding teams six rounds in is ridiculous. It's almost half the season gone

It is now a 13 team comp

Where did you see 13 teams??

Why is there night games at this time of the season? Sunbury Kangaroos have 2 weeks of 5pm night games both away. Not sure I’m a fan but what’s the consensus on these games?

I'm talking about the Thirds comp with Northern Saints bring a team in this week. As mentioned above

I dont see the problem, Oak Park added their first 3rds team in round 2, then in round 3 added a second 3rds team. My understanding was that Saints tried to get this in for Round 4, but fixturing made it hard, so the League have said Round 6. It takes out the bye, which cant be a bad thing, and doesnt it mean more blokes getting to have a kick? Surely a good thing? These blokes should be in theory either old farts who's days are done, having a bit of fun, or young kids who are attempting to further develop themselves. If these kids cant get in the seconds, surely playing thirds is better than not playing at all, or living at the indoor footy place for the rest of their days. No problems here, I reckon good move. The more playing our game the better.

Do you know what I find funny the thirds will play more games than the twos... due to the teams dropping out and fixture...

I am only assuming, but I would have thought that the teams would have specifically asked for the 5pm games. For both Jacana and Burnside, at the time of request, it would have seemed like a pretty good business decision. The 5pm game will have more punters there, therefore more revenue from the bar. Sometimes revenue comes at a cost, but its important for clubs to find a way to increase their stake, to ensure their viability. I applaud it. Games are not always as good of a standard, but we can certainly get the slippery conditions during the day as well. As long as the lights are capable, I'm all for it.

By looks of it you better having 3rds side than reserves as the 3rds be playing more games than what the reserves teams are playing in div 2 this year look at sunbury kangaroos for example if jacana don’t play reserves they be having 3 weeks with no footy Keilor Park jacana then a bye in the 2nd half of the season makes it hard for players who are trying to get back into the senior side

Surely they will re do the fixture!? You can’t have 3 sides having a bye every week that’s ridiculous...

My understanding is that they would need to wait for Jacana to definitively tell them they are withdrawing from the Reserves, then a re-draw would take place. Jacana need to be given the opportunity to find the players to fill both teams first. As they said on the podcast, it comes down to the club. I guess we see this week. One would think trying to pull a side together, when you are up against the ladder leaders is unfortunate timing.

The Burnside and Sunbury game was requested by both clubs so that all Senior teams including the Women’s could play on the same day. The Women’s game will be the lead in to the Senior game at 5pm.