EDFL Division 1 2016

What planet are you on ? 180k last year and 200k this year LOL. Try half that!

Been decimated with inj, with probably 7 of their best 10 out for year with season ending injuries.

Coach has resigned for another 2 years and has played 5 under 18 players for most part of season, 9 goals on the weekend coming from under 18s. I'd say the club is on the right track.

I guess the question is more around is DC the right man for the job? It's great young players are coming through however is DC a teacher type coach? West were known more as an experienced side over previous years but now look to be going with youth and go on them as its the way forward. But DC has recently coached Yarraville in div2, and prior to that Albanvale, Whittelsea etc. Not sure his coach at the highest metro level so do they need someone who has??

This is not having a go at DC but did they look around far & wide for a "possible" better alternative if West are looking to have a crack at going up??

Btw~ I'm not sold on APW going straight back up and winning div1 next season. Think they will consolidate in div1 for a couple of years I reckon. I'm not convinced there junior program is there just yet..

The powers that be at northern tell me the council are great at putting things off. Great at telling the club all the reason why not. As part of merge council pledged redevelopment of mutton reserve, but instead they have spent the money on soccer at both CB smith and Hoskins reserve so footy and cricket miss out always. They have had enough and I think will be starting a petition and backing a new local candidate for council. Not just northern fc but most afl facilities north of Moreland road and definitely east of Sydney rd, bar glenroy and Pacco need urgent updates.

Yes there is already a Mutton Reserve FB page up already.

If Westmeadows get knocked out 1st week of the finals surely the coach needs to be moved on. They are spending more than they've ever spent for no finals wins - nothing against the bloke but he needs to do the right thing and fall on his sword, Club to get a coach in who will bring success.
If they loose this week by over 100 and other things dnt go there way they could miss finals all together, highly unlikely but stranger things have happened.

I guess the question is more around is DC the right man for the job? It's great young players are coming through however is DC a teacher type coach? West were known more as an experienced side over previous years but now look to be going with youth and go on them as its the way forward. But DC has recently coached Yarraville in div2, and prior to that Albanvale, Whittelsea etc. Not sure his coach at the highest metro level so do they need someone who has??

This is not having a go at DC but did they look around far & wide for a "possible" better alternative if West are looking to have a crack at going up??

Btw~ I'm not sold on APW going straight back up and winning div1 next season. Think they will consolidate in div1 for a couple of years I reckon. I'm not convinced there junior program is there just yet..

Turbo, yes he is a teacher and great with the kids. Pretty sure he has also had role with Western Jets in the past with U/15 squads.

The one main positive to getting serious injuries to senior players is you get lots of games into the kids and they have all exceeded the clubs expectations which is terrific. With 2 18/s sides this year the future is bright

Turbo, yes he is a teacher and great with the kids. Pretty sure he has also had role with Western Jets in the past with U/15 squads.

The one main positive to getting serious injuries to senior players is you get lots of games into the kids and they have all exceeded the clubs expectations which is terrific. With 2 18/s sides this year the future is bright

Cheers mate.

Ok let's get back into the footy.
1-Who do we think will grab 4th spot?
2-If Hillside grab 4th could they beat West and maybe Tulla. They don't seem to have many injuries coming into finals.

Cheers mate.

Ok let's get back into the footy.
1-Who do we think will grab 4th spot?
2-If Hillside grab 4th could they beat West and maybe Tulla. They don't seem to have many injuries coming into finals.

I think Hillside may make it..

Don't think it matters to be honest. West if make will limp in and cant do any damage, but will be much better for it with the experience for all the kids. Hillside the same, no injures but will be better for the experience.

Tulla the real live danger for me, I think they are a real threat to Craigieburn. IF they win it, it will be disastrous for the EDFL though. No 18s and reserves are non competitive in div 1.

Well let's hope not, I reckon everyone would want to see Hillside play in their 1st Div 1 finals campaign, they certainly bring more to the table than OP.
Does anyone know the exact margin OP need to win by? I believe its 70+
Hillside are in the box seat if you ask me thats a decent margin. All depends on what lakes side shows up, and not to sure they will be all that keen to see there neighbour rival play finals.

It's about 60-70 points depending on how many points Taylors lakes score. It will all come down to the 1st quarter. If oak park get off to a flyer then TL might just give up and the margin could balloon out to 80-100. If It's close at quarter time then it might be a struggle for OP to get the margin up to that 10-11 goals.

What a wonderful finish to the season. I think this type of conversation justifies everyones comments at the start of the season that this EDFL Div 1 comp is a ripper. Well done to all involved. Lakes might have a few new supporters on Saturday! Well for 1 week only i would suggest

he was never at Whittlesea

If westy loose 140-40 they will b just under hillside
Do you know how much Northern would have to win by to bridge that 10% gap to stay up?
Yes, it is a big ask and Tulla would have to rest a few for northern to win although stranger things have happened in footy....If Haddy lose by a shitload and Northern win, what would be the margin for that mate? :thumbsu:

Do you know how much Northern would have to win by to bridge that 10% gap to stay up?
Yes, it is a big ask and Tulla would have to rest a few for northern to win although stranger things have happened in footy....If Haddy lose by a shitload and Northern win, what would be the margin for that mate? :thumbsu:

It is mathematically possible but realistically not going to happen. If Northern Saints win 170 - 30 and Hadfield lose 30 - 170 then Northern Saints would just creep ahead. So possible yes but Northern Saints would have to smash Tulla and Glenroy would have to smash Hadfield.

Let's be honest here , Haddy & Nth Saints are both better suited to Div 2 footy, think it'd be in everyone's best interest if they both went down

Truth be told both the saints and haddy need to be relegated for the good of each club... get some wins on the board instead of being a battler in the middle tier for another year... But obviously only one club gets relegated

Even though haddy are slightly ahead with on field performance this year their lack of juniors probably puts them in an even worse situation than the saints

Agree with both of you, It would also remove the Bye from division one. Currently Hillside are a big chance to play finals and get to have a week off the week before. A week off in finals is something they give the top 2 a chance to play off for. Yet Hillside are gifted it, nothing the league can do about it because you cant always predict the top 4 but I just don't like the Bye.