EDFL moves

Can you explain the difference between Poached; Snared and Recruited please.And also can you put the players listed below into one of the categories above. Condos last season, Ball, the Piciones, Porter, Bailey, Moores x2, Neeson, Cooper[AH] and all of the players that your dilligent but unsuccessfull recruiting department have spoken to for the upcoming season. With you arrogant Keilor supporters it seems you recruit but every other team poaches. Please explain.
Maybe what i am getting at is that Keilor generally recruits outside the EDFL. In terms of Condos he was a Keilor junior until he went to Bulldogs played in an A grade flag at 16 at Keilor and eventually came back. The Picione brothers were at a few games in 06 watching there mate matty Towner and stated that they would like to play at Keilor , From Boort which is a few hours away they made the move to Keilor along with them Lance brought his best mate Bailey . These three players came with ease (little persuasion to come to club) Not from within our own competition, Big Bally wanted to come back to EDFL after a stint in the bush and did not wish to resume at Strathmore and made a call to Keilor coach Edwards , So technically from Strathmore a few years ago but he did not want to play there for some reason. The Moores i cant say to much on because i dont know about the younger brother , but Head had not played for a year or two and came to Keilor, i dont know how ?, but he played start of the season (6 games ) in the Magoos so was not a big scalp at the start of the season but proved he was a great player. Neeson rolled up to Keilor was not spoken to by club officials and started playing twos until he cracked a few in A grade so he came on his own accord ,As for Cooper , he played the last couple of years of junior footy at the club and i have never heard of a club recruiting a 15 year old to play , So i would suggest his choice. Porter is one guy the coaching staff targeted , his brother plays cricket at the club and he actually told us that Brendan needed a change and wanted to go to another club so we pursued him , once again came from outside the competition and was an asset to the EDFL . So i would say that to get somebody outside your competion is a recruit and from within is poaching , everybodys opinion and interpretation is different, Not to say mine is right it is just an opinion. Just a little note to go on with, in last years Grand final i sat near Trent Ogston and after the game he was more upset than half the players that played during the game and i remember thinking if the players out there felt as strongly as he did would they have thrown that game away?? Here is a guy that played at Glenroy last year but was visibly upset by the loss of his beloved Mores.

I've got a few players who avondale heights are talking to nut don't know much about?

leigh gilbert, andrew fairchild and simon kefalas

COuple of NFL players. You will get goals outta them, and perhapsd another 10 years if they aint poached elsewhere.
A.H. should worry bout holding onto their new recruits ie Paul Harris.

apparently Mighty Mick is close to resigning.The conversation last week at a well known Italian eatery in North Melbourne is that he had no idea of how bad the situation realy was.This information came from a high powered commitee member on last seasons board.When it came time for the under 18's to move into their drills it left 6 senior players.Still more to sign with other B grade clubs.
Seems like you are close to the situation going on! You are not somebody else posting under another alias are you?? A few Keilor guys from last year are stirring the pot and this smells of it.

well it didnt take long for your respones, and you where wright about your
footy abuilty. may be you should go to western region and play and we will then find how tough you are looking forward to meeting you when you make your apprearance down at port colts lets see if you throw any cheapy no wonder cops are inn trouble with rats like you
----

This is as bad as the WRFL thread, alot of you boys are deadset like kindergarten kids (apologies to the majority), keyboard toughness must be the new pink!!!

Peace girls.

WTF??? are you talking about Cookie33,what would you know?Have you ever played a game in your life? Just kidding mate i know what your saying.I must admit im a bit torn as i reckon its stupid how some members act on here but i do get a laugh out of some posts everynow and then :D

Now onto Keilor,without knowing exactly who's playing there in 08 i would doubt they would be a chance for relegation but it would definately be bloody stange if they were easy beats and only won a handful of games :) but yeah doubt they will be headed to B-Grade ;)

WAXY

Keilor got some good juniors coming through guys and don't worry about keilor we are a strong club and we wont stop at anything we fight till the end and we will be there when september comes dw about that and i no TC knows it

What you fail to realise is that we have done the hard yards in B grade over the years and if we want to pay market value for your players so as we can hopefully make the four and compete with you in the finals i dont see that as being a bad thing for the competition.
So dont feel threatened Band O Brother as you do, work harder because we are coming after that final four position that you arrogantly thought was yours year in year out.

You pretty much had me until the comment about "market value". Clubs set the value of a player, not the 'market' or the player themselves. The only way players become worth more is because a club is willing to pay it. It goes on in every league and it is not something restricted to Marby at all BUT the fact is that many on here and around the league would argue that the amounts of money being paid to certain players, by Marby is laughable! There's no doubt certain players are worth getting in a bidding war over to try and get..... but not your entire list.

What we have now is a large batch of players with an inflated opinion of their worth in the open market, because they've now been paid $XXX a game....

The cycle will continue as long as clubs are willing to do it.

Question: How many of these players Marby has recruited would be there if the same money had been offered by another club??? If the final decision was about facilities, coaching credentials, club culture etc etc would they still have got these guys to play??

Excuse me as I step down off the soap box......;)

could it be that the once mighty keilor might be on their way to b grade??

And the cricket team could be headed to senior A as well!!!!!!!! The money spent this year has been well thought out.

Ahh well it must be hard playing with your pants down around your ankles like they do up the old calder!!!!!!!!

look who's calling people a coward arn't you the same person who king hit
somebody when they werent looking so i know who the coward is and as
the donation your dad gave your mum you must have got the drip that didn't get wiped off that is why you look so ugly and thats why you blend inn with your copper mates
Never seen TC king hit anybody , He has been king hit by a former Keilor / Greenvale player, Have i seen him do some silly things? Yes but he is no king hitter!!

You pretty much had me until the comment about "market value". Clubs set the value of a player, not the 'market' or the player themselves. The only way players become worth more is because a club is willing to pay it. It goes on in every league and it is not something restricted to Marby at all BUT the fact is that many on here and around the league would argue that the amounts of money being paid to certain players, by Marby is laughable! There's no doubt certain players are worth getting in a bidding war over to try and get..... but not your entire list.

What we have now is a large batch of players with an inflated opinion of their worth in the open market, because they've now been paid $XXX a game....

The cycle will continue as long as clubs are willing to do it.

Question: How many of these players Marby has recruited would be there if the same money had been offered by another club??? If the final decision was about facilities, coaching credentials, club culture etc etc would they still have got these guys to play??

Excuse me as I step down off the soap box......;)

Bomber44, did you miss marketting 101 at the academy you went to;)

The clubs are the market and yes they do set the value of it.

As we all know, the value of the comodity, in this case the players, is driven by what is percieved as wants and needs.

As a clubs perception of a player moves from a want to a need, so then does the value of the player. If more than one club determines they "need" the player, then the percieved value of the player then becomes subject to what we will pay.

Examples of this happen every Saturday. The auctioneer stands up and convinces us that we need the property, the "market" i.e the buyers then set the price, by bidding based on their need to have the house.

Just like we shake our head over what Marby pay for players, Strathmore spend on getting a flag and what Greenvale will have to spend to keep it next year, how many times have you said, they paid what for that house !!!!

The price of players in the Market will only fall when clubs stop trying to out bid each other.

Who would you say are the highest paid players in the EDFL and do you think they are worth the $$$ they are getting?

Never seen TC king hit anybody , He has been king hit by a former Keilor / Greenvale player, Have i seen him do some silly things? Yes but he is no king hitter!!
Obviously the conversation topic about recruiting v poaching got just a little bit too in depth for you but you have made one thig clear and that is you want it all your own way .Would you blink an eye if this season you RECRUITED three players from Marby, idont think so .You want an eletist competition and dont want clubs like ours who have earned their right to challenge for a top four position to do so .

Oh yes i nearly forgot, for you KFC supporters out there Butters ,Kev, Matty absolutely flying at training send their regards

MF, You don't even play for Marbi, heard you were going to play two's at the Sharks. It is good to see that you are still the mouthpiece for the three abovemention players though.

I'd say its a toss up between strathmore & greenvale as they practically bought their premiership appearances

who are you old melburnian, what would you know about these clubs.

Squat. just because clubs are trying to be successful and your club is not up to it doesn't mean you can come in and pots clubs that are doing well.

Jealously is a curse, start looking in your own backyard and fix that up before potting other clubs.

who are you old melburnian, what would you know about these clubs.

Squat. just because clubs are trying to be successful and your club is not up to it doesn't mean you can come in and pots clubs that are doing well.

Jealously is a curse, start looking in your own backyard and fix that up before potting other clubs.

I agree with him on Strathmore but not Greenvale.

I'd say its a toss up between strathmore & greenvale as they practically bought their premiership appearances

2005 - you would certainly suggest not. A terrific effort considering they needed to win their last game just to make the finals.

2006 - Recruiting 12 to 14 blokes after just winning a flag - you would not come across that too often!