EDFL Premier Discussion 2025

• Thread starter Thread starter Del28562

It is, play 40 junior games you are a 1 pointer.

Play min 5 games for 5 consecutive years including up to under19s you are a 1 point player.

Player only played at that junior club 1 point player.

Simple don’t move as a second year under 14 or 15 player and you will be a 1 point player at senior level.
Logical
Succinct
Facts
3 votes L Tolstoy

Thats fine for the top end teams but for the lower teams it is not always guaranteed that they are able to produce a junior side, so the kids have to chop and change from one club to another and it's in nobodies' best advantage for one Club to have 4 junior teams at a level and other Clubs to not have any.

It is, play 40 junior games you are a 1 pointer.

Play min 5 games for 5 consecutive years including up to under19s you are a 1 point player.

Player only played at that junior club 1 point player.

Simple don’t move as a second year under 14 or 15 player and you will be a 1 point player.
Ok - I'll play.
I'll just need to ignore that the aim of the points system is equalisation of sides, and that kids don't normally significantly influence a senior game. Ok, done.

I'll also ignore the fact that often clubs don't get the numbers for junior teams forcing a move of club, or that a families move house very far away, or that kids get bullied/ feel uncomfortable/ have a fallout, or form friendships with mates all at another club, or realise they have div 1 ability but are playing div 5, or realise they have div 5 ability but are playing div 1 or any other myriad of legitimate reasons kids may change clubs. For now I'll just pretend the move itself is a committed crime which must be punished. Ok, done.

I'll also pretend the kid has control of any of the above to occur prior to the end of U14 and is only able to regain control after they turn 19 - and therefore it's only a crime if committed by kids between 15 and 18 years old. Check.

Ok, good to go. Let's proceed.

On this narrative let's consider the penalty we're applying to a kid for the "crime" of moving clubs by comparing the current rules between ages;

For the 15-18 year old they'll need to complete 5 consecutive seasons. If they play all games they would be well in excess of 80 games to become 1 point.

As opposed to a 14 year old and under kid who moves clubs before U14 who only needs 40 games over 2 and a half seasons.

Or an adult who arrives at a club who can theoretically become a 1 pointer with as few as 10 games over 2 seasons (3 pointer who plays 5 games in either seniors or reserves over 2 seasons).

On top of this the kid won't reduce any points over the 5 seasons unless they get "gifted" 5 senior first games because "juniors and U18's don't count" - which by the way is much harder to provide while carrying higher points - ha, ha.

So more than likely the 15-18 year old "mover" remains on their starting points for the entirety of the 5 years, are at minimum 20 years old but up to 22 years old depending on starting year and penalty points before becoming a 1 point player.

An AFL player who arrives at 6 points will be 4 points in their 3rd season, or 3 points in their 4th. Is that 18 year old seriously still now on the same points as an AFL player after playing the same number of years?

The reality is that its highly likely to mean many kids without elite ability will not get senior opportunities at their current club (and even those with may miss out), unless they stay and play ressies and wait out the time. Or I suspect get disenchanted and give footy away.

Oh, and if they realise what's going on and want to go elsewhere, perhaps to a lower division, for a chance to play senior footy... they get stung with penalty points at the next club. Ha!

It's a very real and current barrier, and causing a deal of angst for kids in this predicament.
And it's a situation any kid who has moved clubs in this age range are currently dealing with - how many of them would get senior opportunity if they were allocated lower points - that's a question I can't answer but I'd be pretty sure it's a number greater than current while on higher points.

I'd just like to know how's this is considered fair?
I'm genuinely curious how this can justified.

Why is it not simply a blanket 40 games criteria for 1 point, and every player regardless of age drops a point for a year of service to a club regardless of which level they are currently playing?

We also shouldn't be penalising kids starved of opportunity who are provided less than say 5 senior games in a season from looking for other opportunities.

Or we scrap points all together for kids at least. They should have the opportunity to find their "right club" and as a footy community we should be striving to give kids every possible chance to transition into seniors and have long and successful careers.
You only have to read a few of the threads in this forum to recognise the amount of forfeits of games and other indicators are all pointing the wrong way. We need to be removing barriers wherever possible, not erecting them for no good reason.

Like I said in my original post "A points system which handicaps kids opportunity to transition to seniors is flawed". I stand by that opinion.

Ok - I'll play.
I'll just need to ignore that the aim of the points system is equalisation of sides, and that kids don't normally significantly influence a senior game. Ok, done.

I'll also ignore the fact that often clubs don't get the numbers for junior teams forcing a move of club, or that a families move house very far away, or that kids get bullied/ feel uncomfortable/ have a fallout, or form friendships with mates all at another club, or realise they have div 1 ability but are playing div 5, or realise they have div 5 ability but are playing div 1 or any other myriad of legitimate reasons kids may change clubs. For now I'll just pretend the move itself is a committed crime which must be punished. Ok, done.

I'll also pretend the kid has control of any of the above to occur prior to the end of U14 and is only able to regain control after they turn 19 - and therefore it's only a crime if committed by kids between 15 and 18 years old. Check.

On this narrative let's consider the penalty we're applying to a kid for the "crime" of moving clubs by comparing the current rules between ages;

For the 15-18 year old they'll need to complete 5 consecutive seasons. If they play all games they would be well in excess of 80 games to become 1 point.

As opposed to a 14 year old and under kid who moves clubs before U14 who only needs 40 games over 2 and a half seasons.

Or an adult who arrives at a club who can theoretically become a 1 pointer with as few as 10 games over 2 seasons (3 pointer who plays 5 games in either seniors or reserves over 2 seasons).

On top of this the kid won't reduce any points over the 5 seasons unless they get "gifted" 5 senior first games because "juniors and U18's don't count" - which by the way is much harder to provide while carrying higher points - ha, ha.

So more than likely the 15-18 year old "mover" remains on their starting points for the entirety of the 5 years, are at minimum 20 years old but up to 22 years old depending on starting year and penalty points before becoming a 1 point player.

An AFL player who arrives at 6 points will be 4 points in their 3rd season, or 3 points in their 4th. Is that 18 year old seriously still now on the same points as an AFL player after playing the same number of years?

The reality is that its highly likely to mean many kids without elite ability will not get senior opportunities at their current club (and even those with may miss out), unless they stay and play ressies and wait out the time. Or I suspect get disenchanted and give footy away.

Oh, and if they realise what's going on and want to go elsewhere, perhaps to a lower division, for a chance to play senior footy... they get stung with penalty points at the next club. Ha!

It's a very real and current barrier, and causing a deal of angst for kids in this predicament.
And it's a situation any kid who has moved clubs in this age range are currently dealing with - how many of them would get senior opportunity if they were allocated lower points - that's a question I can't answer but I'd be pretty sure it's a number greater than current while on higher points.

Why is it not simply a blanket 40 games criteria for 1 point, and every player regardless of age drops a point for a year of service to a club regardless of which level they are currently playing?

We also shouldn't be penalising kids starved of opportunity who are provided less than say 5 senior games in a season from looking for other opportunities.

Or we scrap points all together for kids at least. They should have the opportunity to find their "right club" and as a footy community we should be striving to give kids every possible chance to transition into seniors and have long and successful careers.
You only have to read a few of the threads in this forum to recognise the amount of forfeits of games and other indicators are all pointing the wrong way. We need to be removing barriers wherever possible, not erecting them for no good reason.

Like I said in my original post "A points system which handicaps kids opportunity to transition to seniors is flawed". I stand by that opinion.
Great post.

Oh wait the big clubs ( with multiple juniors in every grade) will cry and complain and things will stay as is. These so called footy people are actually idiots only in it for themselves..

If a young 17-20 year old doesn’t get senior opportunities he should be allowed to move at 1 point. Why disadvantage young kids with 3 or 4 points which does limit which club will entertain them and if they do yes agreed it can be they play reserves purely for points reasons.

Once again I say whoever whacked this points system together is a total donkey and didn’t take into account every angle and purely was potentially looking after the more powerful clubs that have huge junior numbers.

Is this really an issue? Who, where are these ‘young kids’ that are being held back because of points? Most clubs are under the points easily and it’s the clubs who import VFL, ex AFL/VFL talent that are impacted by points.
Do your research Leo the points system is a shambles.

Oh and on VFL listed players. If you decide to play for a club against your home club then yes 4 points is fine, however if you are playing footy at a higher level than your home club why should you be given 4/5 points just because you want to play higher level footy. Example if your VFL listed and from say Tullamarine and wish to transfer to Doutta Stars you shouldn’t be more than 2/3 points in my opinion. Or maybe once you play 3 VFL games you drop to 2/3 points.
Why should a talented player be hampered just because he has ability and wants to play higher standard footy.

Do your research Leo the points system is a shambles.

Oh and on VFL listed players. If you decide to play for a club against your home club then yes 4 points is fine, however if you are playing footy at a higher level than your home club why should you be given 4/5 points just because you want to play higher level footy. Example if your VFL listed and from say Tullamarine and wish to transfer to Doutta Stars you shouldn’t be more than 2/3 points in my opinion. Or maybe once you play 3 VFL games you drop to 2/3 points.
Why should a talented player be hampered just because he has ability and wants to play higher standard footy.
who are you actually talking about? DS played with 39 points last week and had VFL players in their team and others who had transferred in recent seasons to play a higher standard.

Ok - I'll play.

90% of 19/20 year olds are of a seconds football standard. Senior football is not easy, it takes time and there is nothing wrong with getting better by playing in the twos. Just because a young kid is given 3 points doesn’t mean they are being starved of opportunities.

I’m involved at junior, under 18 and senior levels of football and while points allocation, especially to younger senior players can seem odd in reality it doesn’t actually stop them from getting a game if they are good enough.

Is this really an issue? Who, where are these ‘young kids’ that are being held back because of points? Most clubs are under the points easily and it’s the clubs who import VFL, ex AFL/VFL talent that are impacted by points.
No. Clubs need to take a longer term approach, the major complaint is usually from people that want to recruit heavily/load up for a one-off crack at a flag.
If you're a rural club without a high school, the system can present it's challenges but not something EDFL clubs need to worry about too much.

90% of 19/20 year olds are of a seconds football standard. Senior football is not easy, it takes time and there is nothing wrong with getting better by playing in the twos. Just because a young kid is given 3 points doesn’t mean they are being starved of opportunities.

I’m involved at junior, under 18 and senior levels of football and while points allocation, especially to younger senior players can seem odd in reality it doesn’t actually stop them from getting a game if they are good enough.
I can actually visualise the waved hand motion as you perform this Jedi-Mind-Trick...
"Nothing to see here... Move along"

You're kidding yourself, or trying to kid others, if you believe lumping developing 17-19 year-olds with similar points to mature Senior, VFL or ex-AFL players has no effect, as if they fit as seemlessly into a senior team points cap with higher points as they would with lower.

That's simply false and incorrect, and defies logic.

Such a high starting points allocation and and inability to reduce points for seasons served like adults is simply unjustified and discriminatory.
There is no reason why this should be acceptable.

It's also absurd to suggest that ressies football gives an equivalent development pathway for these kids.

Turbo what has happened to PV junior program? For a number of years they were more than holding their own against the bigger clubs and now they have fallen away. Schools in the area , demographics seem ok and money something must be off ?

Your philosophy is way off the mark and NOT good for development of talented juniors. They need to play senior footy and transition them into senior players. Reserves footy is a LOW standard with basic coaching.

A great example is Keilor who poached juniors from other clubs yet once it comes to 18s / senior footy not all of them get senior opportunities and they move clubs but if going to a premier club they are 4 points. That is a POOR system developed by people with little idea of local community footy.
Why should they play reserves footy at keilor or have issues at other clubs due to points.

Your philosophy is way off the mark and NOT good for development of talented juniors. They need to play senior footy and transition them into senior players. Reserves footy is a LOW standard with basic coaching.

A great example is Keilor who poached juniors from other clubs yet once it comes to 18s / senior footy not all of them get senior opportunities and they move clubs but if going to a premier club they are 4 points. That is a POOR system developed by people with little idea of local community footy.
Why should they play reserves footy at keilor or have issues at other clubs due to points.
Reserves are what you make of it, my own club uses the reserves as a development side which is filled with younger fellas transitioning to senior footy. Nothing is stopping clubs from this approach - don't like the standard of coaching? Hire a better coach...

Yes, Keilor & Pacco, poach junior talent with an eye to stocking their senior side with 1 pointers.. this flies in the face of what community sport is about so any attempt to stymie it should be incentivised (unrealistic parents & grubby clubs have much to answer for).
Nobody says they need to play twos at Keilor, it is, however, a valid pathway. It's people like yourself that push the narrative that anyone with a bit of ability should be playing Prem but then complain when Keilor makes the most of it..

Reserves are what you make of it, my own club uses the reserves as a development side which is filled with younger fellas transitioning to senior footy. Nothing is stopping clubs from this approach - don't like the standard of coaching? Hire a better coach...

Yes, Keilor & Pacco, poach junior talent with an eye to stocking their senior side with 1 pointers.. this flies in the face of what community sport is about so any attempt to stymie it should be incentivised (unrealistic parents & grubby clubs have much to answer for).
Nobody says they need to play twos at Keilor, it is, however, a valid pathway. It's people like yourself that push the narrative that anyone with a bit of ability should be playing Prem but then complain when Keilor makes the most of it..
Wonder if that will get a bite.

Did EK forfeit their 18s so their 2s can potentially get a win and get off the bottom? If so that’s a weird call. You’d think they would invest in the 18s as they are the future.

Have a great weekend at the footy folks. Buy a beer, buy a raffle ticket, buy something unhealthy from the kiosk like chips or a pie, give a spray followed by some encouragement to the same person you sprayed. Most importantly enjoy yourself and remember its only a game but a very serious game and one of the last uniquely Australian Cultural pursuits still in existence in this country.

Oh ffs. Ballarat league reserves is different to EDFL reserves mate.

Hire a better coach- most clubs can’t afford to pay reserves coaches but maybe your club does as they spent heaps on the senior coaches in the past.

You seriously no nothing about the league if your mentioning Pacco with Keilor when it comes to poaching kids.

I’m saying if your from Keilor and want to try and play seniors at another premier club or div1 you carry 4 points. Absolutely stupid. Why hinder a young player from trying to play the best footy he can. This points system only helps the keilors, Abers, strathmores of the EDFL hence they are happy with the system.

You need to learn more.