EDFL Premier Division

• Thread starter Thread starter muppet007

Hey Stax, thanks for your reply.

Yeah someone else told me about the 3rd person as well. Won't use it again!

Stax - against Pacco you will find Smith started forward as the 2 talls were causing some problems for Pacco early on as I was getting a bit worried.

For the record I didn't know about him kicking that goal in the GF as the Strathmore people might think I'm stirring the pot.. He does seem pretty agile for a big bloke. Anyway enough about Greenvale.

Surely Graham will get a clearance and line up, as you would want your "big" new signing to play the big games.

Does everyone think Pacco will get over Avondale as they do seem to be back in a bit of form. Should be a good game!!
No worries Turbo, I stand corrected. I had thought Smith started in defence. He certainly can play anywhere, and is agile and quick as well.

Yes, a few good games this w/e. Greenvale/Abers, Strathmore/ Marby could go either way. Pacco should win over Avondale, although Avondale on paper are still a strong unit. Keilor will win easily over APW.

I expect Northern Saints will throw everything at West Coburg. It is an absolutely must win game for Northern if they are to have any hope of avoiding relegation, as they are 1 game and a fair percentage behind APW.

Jets forward line will need to kick a winning score and make the most of their opportunities. Should have dominance in the ruck with Deluca.
Forward line of Hill, M Smith, Maric, Maric, Gazzo, Thompson, Spinella etc pretty dangerous with Clifton waiting the wings up against Shags Houli Luke Davis, Allen Josh Toy, Craven. Shapes up to be a cracker.

Jets without Brewer up against McLean and Blackwell. Patak played twos last week and you would expect he would come in.

Can anyone shed more light on Greenvale's intiative to show the game live in accordance with the EDFL broadcast?

Reimers to decide this game again. Appears to be the match winner.
What if your match winner doesn't play 'CHK15'!!..

No worries Turbo, I stand corrected. I had thought Smith started in defence. He certainly can play anywhere, and is agile and quick as well.

Yes, a few good games this w/e. Greenvale/Abers, Strathmore/ Marby could go either way. Pacco should win over Avondale, although Avondale on paper are still a strong unit. Keilor will win easily over APW.

I expect Northern Saints will throw everything at West Coburg. It is an absolutely must win game for Northern if they are to have any hope of avoiding relegation, as they are 1 game and a fair percentage behind APW.

I hope they can pull it off. Will be a big day for the club, with a Ladies Day and a presentation to Moe's family members. Will be a special moment. I still feel the the seniors will lose, I think their whole mojo has been upset and are probably a few weeks away from a potential win. I hope I'm wrong.

Turbos mail what can you tell me about young King and how he's going?

Another ex kid from the Saints. just one of a number of kids now playing at other clubs, could almost form a senior side down at the Saints. He is still raw, tallish, needs to put a few kegs on, but will be a super player in the future along with his younger brother. It'd be nice if these kids (now seniors some of them) found their way home. :-)

Turbos mail what can you tell me about young King and how he's going?

Gday AuckMel,
I'm actually a big fan of young King. Watched his first game and messaged the coach to say I thought he did well and is a definite talent. His going really well. Is very skilful and silky. Good kick of the footy and a good size for his age. Played most games and has kept his spot since his first game which is a great effort. He will only improve and it's important Pacco keep him for years to come, sorry Goalside. I thought he is a Pacco junior but I stand to be corrected.
Pacco have this year played a few kids to give them experience, especially playing in a competitive team in premier league so will hold them in good stead moving forward. The coach is all about promoting youth for the clubs future, and if they are good enough they will continue to play.
I'm sure they are learning from the players recruited into the club as well.

All - What's the feedback on the 3rds competition. Is it a success? Seen a few suspensions and 1 was a club runner. Surely people understand it's a 3rds comp. Also heard that 1 game a team didn't run out after time, but got changed and left.

Just reading the thirds thread and someone raised about their preference of an u19 comp instead. What about starting an u/20 comp? I'm gathering the reason they started the 3rds is to keep younger kids at their club rather than some not play at all.

Gday AuckMel,
I'm actually a big fan of young King. Watched his first game and messaged the coach to say I thought he did well and is a definite talent. His going really well. Is very skilful and silky. Good kick of the footy and a good size for his age. Played most games and has kept his spot since his first game which is a great effort. He will only improve and it's important Pacco keep him for years to come, sorry Goalside. I thought he is a Pacco junior but I stand to be corrected.
Pacco have this year played a few kids to give them experience, especially playing in a competitive team in premier league so will hold them in good stead moving forward. The coach is all about promoting youth for the clubs future, and if they are good enough they will continue to play.
I'm sure they are learning from the players recruited into the club as well.

Cheers mate.

He's certainly an ex-Sainter who IIRC also played at St Francis. Good to hear he's coming along so well.

Another ex kid from the Saints. just one of a number of kids now playing at other clubs, could almost form a senior side down at the Saints. He is still raw, tallish, needs to put a few kegs on, but will be a super player in the future along with his younger brother. It'd be nice if these kids (now seniors some of them) found their way home. :)

Yea, there's a bucket load all right. Have often spoke with other ex Saints people about what sort of side they'd have if they all came back. Would be pretty good, but unlikely to happen.

Cheers mate.

He's certainly an ex-Sainter who IIRC also played at St Francis. Good to hear he's coming along so well.

Yea, there's a bucket load all right. Have often spoke with other ex Saints people about what sort of side they'd have if they all came back. Would be pretty good, but unlikely to happen.

His still eligible for U/18s. It appears he played at Oak Park prior to coming to Pacco.

Abers just too accomplished and slick for Greenvale. Jets tried hard, but always playing catch up.

That's some new scoreboard at Greenvale. And it's only half finished! Wow!

Just saw the Hadfield/Burnside Heights scoreline, looks like Northern get a let off for biggest loss of the year even if they are in D2.

Gee Puff CrownBet & Sportsbet must have known something. Your boys go to Greenvale and win with a leg in the air Black Caviar odds from now on with big Gus still to come in frightening for the rest of premier div

Reimers didn't play either, and McLean's day ended with injury in first quarter. Looking very ominous for the other teams.

Watched Avondale beat Pacco by 23pts today. The third quarter was the difference with Avondale kicking 5 goals and keeping Pacco goaless.
The game was not real entertaining to watch, and the crowd was average. The umpiring I will not comment on, other than say when teams have the ball and running forward you don't call it back 100mts for a free kick, as it clearly a disadvantage. The male umpire seemed to want to control the game, even from afar, yet I thought the female umpire was doing well, so not sure what's with the power play. But overall Avondale were the better side and derserved the win no doubt.

Davies & Grossman off half back tore Pacco to pieces with run & carry. TaylorJones played well on Warren keeping him to 2-3 goals "I think". The other main difference was Paccos ruckman missed again through injury and it was telling. Walsh dominated the ruck contests.
For Pacco Tydell played well in the ruck against the odds, Lewis was good on a wing and Randello had plenty of it. TK held Galea to a modest tally.

In closing probably Avondale should make the top 4, but keep in mind they do have a good list on paper with many big names.

Pacco need to get some players back into their side, and will significantly improve.

Reimers didn't play either, and McLean's day ended with injury in first quarter. Looking very ominous for the other teams.

Abers clearly the team to beat. They have assembled a list that is probably the best in any metro/country competition in the state. Just hope for them they win it otherwise it will be the biggest boil over in the history of local footy.

Who rucked for Abers today? did they go ok? I'm still confused as to why you would buy another "big" name player (on massize coin) when you are beating allcomers by big margins. Surely best to invest the money somewhere else. But I suppose who cares yeah..

It's Abers vs The Rest..

The whips were cracking today. Huge game. Sad really as there are only 3 teams in it. Even more sad is I think there is only 1 in it!!!

Abers ball use was unreal. You don't lose too many when you simply don't turn the footy over (ever). Greenvale were ordinary. The pressure on the ball was not going to cut it against the good teams. Greenvale were always roughly in it but by the same token could have lost by much more. If that makes sense.

Now puff as I said the whips were cracking today. All the big names were back. Serious question as youre a selector. Where were all the juniors today? I counted Toy, McLean, Moylan & Kefford. Not sure where Craven is from. But even so 5?? You can bet one of those will be axed for Angus Graham and Reimers.

Watched Abers v Greenvale, was an exceptional standard of football for 3/4. Also i reckon the viewing experiance for the fan is far superior at Greenvale than it is at Windy hill, and miles better than Coburg and i really hope the EDFL consider playing more finals at section road.

Certainly prefer Greenvale to Highgate as well.

Abers clearly the team to beat. They have assembled a list that is probably the best in any metro/country competition in the state. Just hope for them they win it otherwise it will be the biggest boil over in the history of local footy.

Who rucked for Abers today? did they go ok? I'm still confused as to why you would buy another "big" name player (on massize coin) when you are beating allcomers by big margins. Surely best to invest the money somewhere else. But I suppose who cares yeah..

It's Abers vs The Rest..

Definitely one of the better sides, and the club is flying high on and off the field.

Seems like a pretty good idea to invest now in Graham, especially with the points system coming in, hence why they've locked him in for three years. Very smart to get him long term.

For a club which hasn't won a flag in 40 years and has been having a decent crack the last 3-4 years but has just fallen short again and again, you can't honestly believe that they should try and win the granny without a recognised ruckman, regardless of how well they are going.

Definitely one of the better sides, and the club is flying high on and off the field.

Seems like a pretty good idea to invest now in Graham, especially with the points system coming in, hence why they've locked him in for three years. Very smart to get him long term.

For a club which hasn't won a flag in 40 years and has been having a decent crack the last 3-4 years but has just fallen short again and again, you can't honestly believe that they should try and win the granny without a recognised ruckman, regardless of how well they are going.
Grant Thomas didn't rate ruckman & have a look how many times they fell short in finals
You need a recognized ruckman in finals because in finals football there is a lot more contested footy which causes a lot more stoppages so you don't want to have any deficiency in any areas

Greenvales ground is one of the best (helped by Nth Melb cricket club moving there) around no doubt, but Windy Hill & Coburg have more atmosphere and easier to get to by public transport. Both have more seating for the elderly and a grandstand for cover. The other thing is the surrounds being there is pubs close, to have a pre & after drink at.
I do agree Greenvale is probably better than Highgate though.