EDFL Premier Division

Pacco have picked up Shaun Austin from Romsey. Good judges say his a top liner. Played at VFL level with Northern Blues and also Port Melb. Solid unit who should fit into the midfield mix..
He should be a good pickup for Paco.
Sounds as though they'll be fielding a reasonably formidable side this season.

The reason these guys kicked a hundred in other comps because the delivery was a lot better ;););)

Yze did have Cam Howat and Julian Rowe (and throw in his brother Damien for one season) delivering the ball to him, three ex-AFL players in his midfield. Pretty sure he didn't get that in the WROFL.

Puffpuffgivemo or Kinna, you were Hallinians Captain for the past two grand finals with zero success, you must own up to being part of the problem of zero success in the grade you hope to now coach.
You fail to understade as a coach if you fail to recruit players to the best of your ability no matter where you come from you will not have success.
Maybe he's working harder than yourself and your assistants.
You have bitched, sooked and embarrassed yourself and your club in the public arena.
How does a person take you serious with this record, after all the poor guy has only coached at abers for 4 years and (4) grang finals, cut him sum slack, only (1) win.
You are an enbarrisment, lets see how you go in 2015

Hate to dig up trash here but show some respect mate. Horrible post. Puff has been nothing but a stalwart of the club for 20+ years and he continues to be.

As for Hallinan, before he came to Aberfeldie there was already a very talented group of homegrown Under 18s and Under 16s (2011,2012,2013). These groups of players helped fast track his coaching status to where it is now. With nothing detracting from his coaching abilities, it was a show of bad faith to then try and lure almost half of the current playing list to Sunshine.

Hate to dig up trash here but show some respect mate. Horrible post. Puff has been nothing but a stalwart of the club for 20+ years and he continues to be.

As for Hallinan, before he came to Aberfeldie there was already a very talented group of homegrown Under 18s and Under 16s (2011,2012,2013). These groups of players helped fast track his coaching status to where it is now. With nothing detracting from his coaching abilities, it was a show of bad faith to then try and lure almost half of the current playing list to Sunshine.

Hallinan appointed at Abers to develop a very talented group of 16-18 year olds then continue with this same group as they progressed to reserve level as reserves coach. He didn't overachieve as he had the cattle to start with. Even Tony Abbott could have got the results he got or better (without the shirtfront). I recall Hallinan coached a team that lost the unlosable grand final after being in a commanding position at half time. It got down to being outcoached.

Problem with recruiting ambitious coaches like Hallinan for your Reserve team which is in fact your development team when you know that the appointed coach's objective is to get a senior gig somewhere is that in the end all the so called development they are meant to do is undone by the coach himself poaching players for his new gig on the back of being given the opportunity in the first place. The truth is that Aberfeldie Football Club are LAZY when it comes to appointing coaches and should never have given Hallinan the reserves gig because they should have known it would come to this. Reserve coaching appointments should be given to CLUB coaches who won't cut the lunch of the club that gave them a start.
I don't blame Hallinan for what has happened as he has ambition and good luck to him but if anyone has a gripe with what has happened, blame Aberfeldie Football Club for appointing him in the first place.

Does anyone have any thoughts about the Essendon FC situation and who if any EDFL players might be asked to join their top up list?

Hallinan appointed at Abers to develop a very talented group of 16-18 year olds then continue with this same group as they progressed to reserve level as reserves coach. He didn't overachieve as he had the cattle to start with. Even Tony Abbott could have got the results he got or better (without the shirtfront). I recall Hallinan coached a team that lost the unlosable grand final after being in a commanding position at half time. It got down to being outcoached.

Problem with recruiting ambitious coaches like Hallinan for your Reserve team which is in fact your development team when you know that the appointed coach's objective is to get a senior gig somewhere is that in the end all the so called development they are meant to do is undone by the coach himself poaching players for his new gig on the back of being given the opportunity in the first place. The truth is that Aberfeldie Football Club are LAZY when it comes to appointing coaches and should never have given Hallinan the reserves gig because they should have known it would come to this. Reserve coaching appointments should be given to CLUB coaches who won't cut the lunch of the club that gave them a start.
I don't blame Hallinan for what has happened as he has ambition and good luck to him but if anyone has a gripe with what has happened, blame Aberfeldie Football Club for appointing him in the first place.
Hallinan is seriously the most it's all about me coach I've ever seen, he's only got the Sunshine job on the back of his Abers resume his time at Abers had expired anyway and as you say, my mum could have got Abers 2's into a Granny or 2. When you want the coach to make his mark its GF day need I say more, I will, 41 points up at half time and no time on please!!
Now your spot on 2's coaches should be club blokes, that the purpose of 2's is mates havin a crack together, then cans watching the 1's, they are not your development the 18's are.
The 2's coach this year is just that person full respect of the boys and to say he should shoulder the responsibility of 2 Gf loses is nothing but ridiculous.
Greenvales 2's side last year would have near beat West Coburg and certainly beat East Keilor in the Div 2 GF

'YOU GET WHAT YOU PLAN FOR'

'INTERESTING TIMES AHEAD FOR SOME CLUBS'

Does anyone have any thoughts about the Essendon FC situation and who if any EDFL players might be asked to join their top up list?
State League (VFL, SANFL, WAFL) players only. Nil second line metro league players likely. IMO

Hallinan is seriously the most it's all about me coach I've ever seen, he's only got the Sunshine job on the back of his Abers resume his time at Abers had expired anyway and as you say, my mum could have got Abers 2's into a Granny or 2. When you want the coach to make his mark its GF day need I say more, I will, 41 points up at half time and no time on please!!
Now your spot on 2's coaches should be club blokes, that the purpose of 2's is mates havin a crack together, then cans watching the 1's, they are not your development the 18's are.
The 2's coach this year is just that person full respect of the boys and to say he should shoulder the responsibility of 2 Gf loses is nothing but ridiculous.
Greenvales 2's side last year would have near beat West Coburg and certainly beat East Keilor in the Div 2 GF

Listen boys we need to move on from all this Abers coaching stuff. However I agree with most of this. Yes 2nds coaches should be club people but also nothing wrong with going outside. What was the best fit at the time?? Was he upfront on his aspirations? If so then it's not his fault as maybe he wanted the senior position and then when he didn't get it decided to move on. Bit like a 9-5 job where you wanted the promotion but missed out.
I don't agree with contacting a large number of players but believe he has a right to contact some players he has built relationships with.
I'm sure the incoming coach had contacted some players from his previous clubs but as he was appointed late maybe it's to late.
Let me ask another question, when interviewing a coach do you ask them who they can bring with them.. The answer is yes everyone does it.. The coaching circle just moves around..,

That's my say!!!

Puffpuffgivemo or Kinna, you were Hallinians Captain for the past two grand finals with zero success, you must own up to being part of the problem of zero success in the grade you hope to now coach.
You fail to understade as a coach if you fail to recruit players to the best of your ability no matter where you come from you will not have success.
You have bitched, sooked and embarrassed yourself and your club in the public arena.
How does a person take you serious with this record, after all the poor guy has only coached at abers for 4 years and (4) grang finals, cut him sum slack, only (1) win.
Nothing more embarrassing when you mention yourself in the third person

You guys from Abers need to move on.. He must have been ok as a coach as no one sacked him or bagged him till he left your club.... The coaching world turns around and will continue to do so as its a job for most coaches unless you are from the club. Do you think Potter will coach Abers and then retire in a few years, no chance as he will move on and take some players with him as per the majority of coaches.
The only coaches I can recall of recent times who have moved on without taking players is Brodie Holland but he has retired from coaching..
Well Burns at Hillside as well has not contacted any Taylor's boys and Clinnick from Strathmore has also shown loyalty towards Deer Park and Marby..
Any thoughts boys!!!

You guys from Abers need to move on.. He must have been ok as a coach as no one sacked him or bagged him till he left your club.... The coaching world turns around and will continue to do so as its a job for most coaches unless you are from the club. Do you think Potter will coach Abers and then retire in a few years, no chance as he will move on and take some players with him as per the majority of coaches.
The only coaches I can recall of recent times who have moved on without taking players is Brodie Holland but he has retired from coaching..
Well Burns at Hillside as well has not contacted any Taylor's boys and Clinnick from Strathmore has also shown loyalty towards Deer Park and Marby..
Any thoughts boys!!!
The player's from Marby &Deer Park show loyalty to one person & we all know who that is

Sorry Milkman, been off air. Untraveled, uneducated, living in the EDFL bubble as you stated.
Put my hand up for all of the above.
Thought Lara were g"D"fl, my mistake. Seems we got everyone off the Abers forum (maybe should have own) for 5 days and got a new topic raised.

You also get what you don't plan for
You are spot on there 'THRU DA LINES', some club administrations just DON'T have the required level of foresight to plan for what is ahead of them, that's EXACTLY why in these circumstances.......

'YOU GET WHAT YOU PLAN FOR'

'INTERESTING TIMES AHEAD FOR SOME CLUBS'

Couldn’t help but try and answer this post with some truth.

Firstly I’m a little confused about your post – the grammar and spelling doesn’t help nor does the bullsh*t in it.

All I’ve done is state facts – I haven’t handed out clips to the FORMER coach of our reserve team like you’ve done toward me but as a wise man once told me – if you take everything personally you’ll never have any success.

I’m extremely fortunate and very grateful to be given an opportunity at my club this year. I’ve no idea how I’ll go but what I do know is it certainly isn’t about me.

That FORMER coach is well aware of where I stand and I won’t be airing that on an open forum.

Let’s move on because I’m sure everyone else has/wants to!

SEN was saying Amateur players and didn't mention whether it was state league or not.
I would be very surprised. As my post said, was in my opinion. For a whole lot of reasons I reckon they will seek (1) fit, (2) experienced, (3) quality VFL or ex AFL players playing VFL in 2015. With pre season fitness from VFL equivalent level, not metro footy level.

Your 2 quotes used to give me the squirts, but they are growing on me and yeh sometimes quite apt.

I'm not encouraging any more though!

Sounds a bit like Tony Abbott for mine. Catch crys and slogans.

In relation to EDFL's (or any other 2nd tier comp) players being drafted into Essendon FC = None. Only state league players will get near it.

Sounds a bit like Tony Abbott for mine. Catch crys and slogans.

In relation to EDFL's (or any other 2nd tier comp) players being drafted into Essendon FC = None. Only state league players will get near it.
Alright obviously essendon aren't going to pick any EDFL player's to top them up but why don't we name a few past & present players who could help them out , you can name some champions or character's from the past or present

Clearly I could simply look through the list of gun players named in this forum milkman. My point stands: No EDFL, GFL, GVFL or O&M players have a chance of being seconded to Essendon. A bridge tto far.

Sorry captain serious l understand no local league player would be chosen but l was trying to have a bit of fun & see if fellow BF would be able to name a few past character's / champions example
Pevrill to replace Hocking both have been hit by the ugly stick
Mocca AH will only play one game then get 10 weeks by the MRP for his sharp elbows
L Woods Abers replace Fletcher because the both played until there 40
:D:D:D

OK so if they raid the VFL Clubs, the VFL Clubs they raid will need top up players and where do you think they'll get them from?

The VFL season does not start until April 18. NAB cup finishes about 3-4 weeks before this? VFL teams could cap # of players they offer to 4 or so. Those VFL clubs then play top up players in their praccies who would otherwise play a praccie at local level. It's not hard. There is NO way local players play NAB cup.

EDFL Premier Division