EDFL Premier Division

• Thread starter Thread starter muppet007

Why do keilor want galea, they have bathie
, gourdes and brown as key forwards, ignoring the $ side which would be massive, signon? Prismall has fitted in well, first year and all of Mates, cant see why they would go, especially with the sucess so far. Locked in finals where last year luck of last round results

Hey mate, I will respond.
Galea is one of the best players going around. Nearly every club would like him in their side. Yes his a bit of a strange cat, but his a gun!! He would be a big asset to Keilor. Imagine Gourdis at CHF, Bathie back to CHB. Can build around those 3 plus Brown. Could be a difference between Keilor just making up the numbers or being a serious challenger.
On Prismall moving I'm basing this on the possibility of his brother Brent getting the coaching job at Avondale. If he stays at Keilor they will only improve with Galea and promoting a few youngsters from there program. "But" I still say Keilor will need to make a couple of list changes to accomodate Galea, as they are a club that usually sticks to a certain budget.

Enough from me on this one!! Let's see how it plays out yeah!!

Cheers

Looking forward to it. Hopefully that includes a points cap too.
The implementation of the points system is a given in season 2016 'Auckmel'..

The implementation of a salary cap was debatable 'Auckmel' but seems to have grown serious momentum..

A salary cap will be extremely hard to enforce..

With the top 4 now set and relegation all but confirmed.. just trying to think of another season that has been less interesting. The finals should still provide some highlights and top quality footy but the rest of this season is almost a waste of time.

The implementation of the points system is a given in season 2016 'Auckmel'..

The implementation of a salary cap was debatable 'Auckmel' but seems to have grown serious momentum..

A salary cap will be extremely hard to enforce..
It'll be interesting to see how clubs manage this.
Going by the mooted system, some clubs will have to move on a decent % of their side.

Agreed. I think the points cap will hit home harder.

The process is to gradually try and even out competitions over a period of time. Clubs will not be required to move on players but further recruiting will be monitored under the points system. It's a trial process during the first few years.
It hasn't really worked all that well in some country leagues and also bear in mind this system will have extra costs associated, which will be forwarded to clubs to pay for..
Personally I would rather see the money used towards the junior pathway systems, educating clubs on how to build junior structures, and engage communities. That's the future to compete with other sports.

We all need to be mindful of of competition going backwards as some of the players recruited into the EDFL over recent years has really helped our league become one of the best around. Even div1 is going well but maybe some work needs to be done with div2 to improve the competition, as "most" clubs need assistance off field as to improve there club culture/standings as these clubs MUST also have a good junior pathway to sustain survival and success moving forward.
Football needs to grow not have clubs fold.

It'll be interesting to see how clubs manage this.
Going by the mooted system, some clubs will have to move on a decent % of their side.
You are absolutely correct there 'Bluejet' it will be extremely interesting to see how some clubs manage the proposed salary cap..

If the mooted system is put in place in season 2016 with the mooted salary cap figure some clubs would have to slash their total of outgoing funds on player payments by up to 40%, on the other hand some clubs would be able to increase their total of outgoing funds on player payments by up to 50%..

Some quality players will be forced to move on from their current clubs in season 2016 in an attempt to ensure all clubs totals of outgoing funds on player payments falls under the mooted salary cap figure..

Equalisation is coming in varying formats and will have varying effects on all clubs..

You are absolutely correct there 'Bluejet' it will be extremely interesting to see how some clubs manage the proposed salary cap..

If the mooted system is put in place in season 2016 with the mooted salary cap figure some clubs would have to slash their total of outgoing funds on player payments by up to 40%, on the other hand some clubs would be able to increase their total of outgoing funds on player payments by up to 50%..

Some quality players will be forced to move on from their current clubs in season 2016 in an attempt to ensure all clubs totals of outgoing funds on player payments falls under the mooted salary cap figure..

Equalisation is coming in varying formats and will have varying effects on all clubs..

From Turbos last text, nothing is starting immediately from 2016, no guys forced out but it is started up and clubs have to work to the points cap and salary cap. Not sure what the timing is as you when it is compltetely

Yeah mate correct. Clubs that are found to be over the points in 2015 (whatever points is allocated to EDFL premier) will have to get it down "but" over a period of time. So it must be seen as clubs are making an effort to achieve the required points number. The reason is you just can't say it's amount X and some clubs must tear up current player contracts still void as that's not good for anyone. A contract is still a contract and someone's livelihood.
JustoverHere- mate the clubs that are under the points/salary it really won't affect as if they had money they would have recruited players this year. The system is to bring the top teams back a bit.
As we are all aware it's not easy in today's footy to have an even playing field. It's the same in the AFL, VFL etc. But most of the clubs at the top have got there through hard work. Yes I agree people like GA have upset the balance but in the end it's his money and love for footy so not sure if there is really anything wrong with it, other than if the poach players from other clubs or pay players "way" over there market value.

I still believe the AFL would be better to look at how we can improve our junior football and get more kids playing and make it more even. Also what can we do to improve footy after u/16 level.

What about this:
-each club plays 20 players plus 2 u/18s each week. But the u/18 is only allowed max of 3 games otherwise his part of the regular 20.
-must have a minimum of 3 players under 22 years old in the list of 20 players selected.

So this would mean each side has 5 players each week under 22 years old which should encourage you to look at your junior programs.
I think this is better than any points system.

Why does the AFL and by extension all other football leagues have this notion that competitions have to be equal? Why do the best run, best financed, most successful clubs get penalized, while poor clubs bleat about not being competitive but do nothing other than bitch about successful clubs. This is what economists call a moral hazard: Keep rewarding poor behavior then there is no incentive to change. Salary caps and points systems are a ridiculous notion that only seek to penalize clubs not improve clubs. This is the fatal flaw in the proposal and why it doesn't work. Since when did football become about equality, its supposed to be a competition. Lets not have a premiership anymore, lets hand out certificates of participation instead. That way everybody can feel good, because its all about feelings. Lets not have actual achievement get in the way of somebody's feelings.

Because its not a level playing field for a start. Local clubs are run by volunteers who usually do it in the hope that they will ultimately be involved in a premiership, take away all hope and you will struggle to get volunteers.

The process is to gradually try and even out competitions over a period of time. Clubs will not be required to move on players but further recruiting will be monitored under the points system. It's a trial process during the first few years.
It hasn't really worked all that well in some country leagues and also bear in mind this system will have extra costs associated, which will be forwarded to clubs to pay for..
Personally I would rather see the money used towards the junior pathway systems, educating clubs on how to build junior structures, and engage communities. That's the future to compete with other sports.

We all need to be mindful of of competition going backwards as some of the players recruited into the EDFL over recent years has really helped our league become one of the best around. Even div1 is going well but maybe some work needs to be done with div2 to improve the competition, as "most" clubs need assistance off field as to improve there club culture/standings as these clubs MUST also have a good junior pathway to sustain survival and success moving forward.
Football needs to grow not have clubs fold.
I know that there was more than a few eyebrows raised by Paccos recruiting, given conversations had begun regarding the introduction of a points system at that stage.
Regarding it's failure in country leagues, I think you'll find that those leagues generally draw heavily from surrounding areas/leagues so it's harder to produce a decent representation of former juniors than a Pacco, Strathmore etc which are all situated in densely populated areas.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk

Can the EDFL play more night footy if the clubs want to?

We had an U18 game last year at Greenvale on a friday night and it was bloody brilliant. Was nice to just sit back and enjoy the other footy over the weekend.

I know that there was more than a few eyebrows raised by Paccos recruiting, given conversations had begun regarding the introduction of a points system at that stage.
Regarding it's failure in country leagues, I think you'll find that those leagues generally draw heavily from surrounding areas/leagues so it's harder to produce a decent representation of former juniors than a Pacco, Strathmore etc which are all situated in densely populated areas.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk

Pacco knew the point system was coming in, might end up biting them on the arse all those players recruit to finish 4th

Avondale won by about 10 goals, they kicked something like 10 goals in the last quarter to 1, had a 10 point lead at three quarter time.

Can the EDFL play more night footy if the clubs want to?[/QUO
good night of Wendesday night footy last night at Avondale Height vs Northern Saints match, lots of people out and about. Good to see
Agree good concept, the lights were good, no problem for viewers or players and plenty of people watching from all clubs.
Did anyone listen to the short people(coaches)? NS, don't know who he is but spoke ok at qtr time, Half Time AH - made it clear why he got the rasberry and sars!
anyone else listen to them and comments?

Avondale won by about 10 goals, they kicked something like 10 goals in the last quarter to 1, had a 10 point lead at three quarter time.

Agree good concept, the lights were good, no problem for viewers or players and plenty of people watching.
Did anyone listen to the short people(coaches)? NS, don't know who he is but spoke ok at qtr time, Half Time AH - made it clear why he got the rasberry and sars!

Pacco knew the point system was coming in, might end up biting them on the arse all those players recruit to finish 4th

Whoa there my good friend. Pacco are 3rd and why do you think they will end up 4th after finals. Let me tell you, on a nice sunny September day Pacco will be dangerous. Still some interest on where Pacco end up. If they end up in 2nd spot look out..

Agree good concept, the lights were good, no problem for viewers or players and plenty of people watching.

Yeah Bang even the AH players will tell you he doesn't motivate them and not good with game plans ( well against Pacco it was ok Lol). But he did recruit all those players but it can't be easy coaching sides with plenty of experience. Problem with Ghazi is his been out of the playing system for many years, so the game has gone past him.
Nice guy though so wish him all the best.

I enjoyed the evening even though the last qtr was a bit of a cake walk. The pressure from the very young Saints players diminished considerably in the last which allowed AH to get some fairly easy goals. There has been improvement despite the challenges and loss of players through injury, and the very pleasing thing is that there there are only about 5 players over 23 in that group, the rest were between 16 and 23, with many of them around the 19 / 20 mark. Some light at the end of the tunnel I suggest.

Turbo, in answer to your one of your propositions previously, the club didn't want to be relegated and if it could would want to stay in Premier, but hey, it's now 99% certainty that the club will go down, but if it can keep the current list with some focused recruiting they will be very competitive. It's a shame that the team will be significantly under strength for Saturday against your mob, with many players likely to double up playing 2 games. It is what it is. We'll get back there.

I enjoyed the evening even though the last qtr was a bit of a cake walk. The pressure from the very young Saints players diminished considerably in the last which allowed AH to get some fairly easy goals. There has been improvement despite the challenges and loss of players through injury, and the very pleasing thing is that there there are only about 5 players over 23 in that group, the rest were between 16 and 23, with many of them around the 19 / 20 mark. Some light at the end of the tunnel I suggest.

Turbo, in answer to your one of your propositions previously, the club didn't want to be relegated and if it could would want to stay in Premier, but hey, it's now 99% certainty that the club will go down, but if it can keep the current list with some focused recruiting they will be very competitive. It's a shame that the team will be significantly under strength for Saturday against your mob, with many players likely to double up playing 2 games. It is what it is. We'll get back there.

Hey Goalside, love you work on big footy. I couldn't make it last night but was just having a few beers with a few friends who were there (not from Pacco) and left at 3qrt time. They couldn't believe it was a 9 goal victory and told me the Nth Saints were a very fast side who played some very good footy. The game was played in good spirit as well. They thought #6 was a very good player. I thought it must have been Caruso but it was another player. Also told me there was a lot of support for your club and probably more than AH.
Anyway that's great feedback I thought I should share.

In all honestly I reckon it's great to see your club turn things around after some early season issues and then the unfortunate incident that occurred. Wish you guys well Saturday but up the mighty Pacco. Lol

Whoa there my good friend. Pacco are 3rd and why do you think they will end up 4th after finals. Let me tell you, on a nice sunny September day Pacco will be dangerous. Still some interest on where Pacco end up. If they end up in 2nd spot look out..

cant see Pacco winning there final so will fininsh 4th.

Because its not a level playing field for a start. Local clubs are run by volunteers who usually do it in the hope that they will ultimately be involved in a premiership, take away all hope and you will struggle to get volunteers.
This is my point, its not a level playing field, its a competition and the way to even up a competition is not to punish the best but promote ways for the others to improve. There is no way salary caps and points systems will achieve that. This is semi professional football, its supposed to be a competition. There is no way salary caps and points systems will achieve that. To your point about volunteers running clubs, if any club thinks that it will be run by volunteers in the next 10 years then they are deluded. Take a look at all the volunteers at your club and then count how many are under 70. There is no way clubs will survive if they keep this mentality. You will need to find new and better ways of running the clubs, paying uni students for part time work, work for the dole programs have been successful at other clubs I have been at. The work world has changed and this has impacted on free time that traditionally we spent volunteering at sporting clubs. If clubs don't evolve beyond their current thinking they will become obsolete.