End of an era for Geelong?

The AFL isn't about getting to the top and falling straight off it.

Just because we've seen the decline of Essendon, Brisbane, Port Adelaide, Sydney and West Coast it doesn't mean it's going to happen again to Geelong.

They're much better prepared to unearth new talent and get them playing strong and fast football.

They fasttracked development of players like Selwood, Taylor and Varcoe.

Ablett, Bartel, Kelly and Mackie were all polished footballers by the age of 23 and just keep improving.

They will have holes to fill but they can rebound quickly.

Duncan and Menzel look like guns to me.

They might have to get some serious gametime into Hogan.

Gotta mention the Tomahawk. He's a gun at keeping his eye on the footy and taking a contested mark. Also can kick it straight some of the time. Plenty of good years ahead for this guy.

i love these threads.

at the end of 2006 if people if someone asked if 2 out of the next 3 flags was under acheiving you would have them committed.

end of an era? maybe

underacheiving? **** off - these are homegrown flags with no salary concessions, no salary cap rorting, in a competition that has a large focus on making it even and sides not staying up for too long.

PLUS - we will still be competitive next year

I think this is widely accepted in Geelong, even the players have said similar things, what a pointless thread. It is impossible to make a prediction on Geelong's future without knowing what Ablett is doing. If he stays we could have another shot in 3 years If Motlop, Menzel, Duncan, Brown, T Hunt, Simpson and Gillies can fill the massive holes of the retirees. Almost impossible as all those 30yos are All Australians. I have loved this era, it will be forever remembered in Geelong as our greatest ever team.

for a shot at a team that both Collingwood and Geelong would be ultra confident in beating on Grand Final day (Stkilda).

err cough cough.

Why should they be ultra confident?

Saints have the best track-record against other top teams over the last 2 seasons bar none.

And Hawthorn is??? Oh thats right didn't make the four. Again. Gone nowhere since 2008.
What is it about Hawthorn supporters and their hatred of Geelong. We gave you a GF in 2008 so move on and worry now about your team in 2001.

Geelong's era isn't over yet, especially seeing as they will be playing the pies next week in a prelim, for a shot at a team that both Collingwood and Geelong would be ultra confident in beating on Grand Final day (Stkilda).

Simply put, the winner of next weeks Collingwood vs Geelong prelim (sorry Freo it is going to happen) will win the GF, quite comfortably IMO, so really, Geelong are only 1 tough win away from being an "immortal" team.

setting yourself up for quite a fall there my friend:)

not saying geelong or collingwood cant win, but comfortably thats a bit rich

Adelaide underachieved during 2005-2006, Geelong most certainly have not. The best side I have ever seen, even above Brisbane.

hodgepodge, treat the new thread button like the football was treated by your team against fremantle..dont go near the f*** thing

That has got to be close to post of the year!

Top stuff griff. :thumbsu:

Super team, super era - with Bomber looking to delegate responsibilities next year with a view to next season being his last. The Cats would seemingly have more than enough talent to carry the good fight for at least 2011 - Gazza aboard or not.

After that it is hard to tell - difficult to maintain the past 4 years high standards.

I think this is the last season we'll see Geelong as the unstoppable force they've been the past few years. Still a good chance at top 4 next season though.

Didn't know Tim Lane was on big footy!

You are kidding yourself!
One goal (should of won) away from getting a week off. I'd back Geelong any day in a final over Collingwood. Geelong will win there 3rd flag in 4 years.

If Ablett stays (which I think he will) we'll be top four again next year. And based on their final experience, you could never count them out of any finals campaign really. So yeah, I dont think its the end yet. But if it is, hopefully the Cats do a Sydney and play competitivly year in and out and not actually bottom out unlike alot of other great sides do eventually.

I like the comparo's to Brisbane's domaince period.

I'll accept Geelong aren't on a certain level given they didn't win 3 straight in a row. So we were pipped by Brisbane in that department. People paint this scenario as if it invariably makes Geelong not a great team or something.

So what if we're a close second best in the modern era of AFL footy. I'd still happily take that then be bottom eight for years at end.

GO CATS, you @*(&ing ripper team. I love to watch you guys, and will enjoy watching us stay in the top of the competition for years to come.

If not winning another flag during the next two years means that the Cats have underachieved, what have the rest of our clubs done.

they are a truly great team who have been sensational to watch for the past 4 years.

It's a shame that they got jittery in 2008 and let that one go. although the compensation for them losing has been watching the Hawks become a bunch of arrogant tossers. "We may have finished 7th and laid down in the finals, but we are so good that noone wanted to play us. The year before we may have been intimidated by Essendon's mosquito fleet in round 22, but Geelong and St Kilda would have been just as intimadated about playing us in the finals."

you all shit urselves from the mighty catters hence the garbage about turning a positive into a negative - 2 flags in 10 years is a super effort! 2 in 3 or 4 years is a super super effort!!! just ask us catters fans cos we love it and we all know we'll be done soon cos thats footy but hey at least we have something to show for it.... Lets not forget the 2 brownlow medallists that will be eched in the record books forever either.

I'd be happy if Collingwood could underachieve the way Geelong does.

This.. I reckon any other supporter on here would be happy to have their team win 2 out of the next 4 premierships. Would that be an underacheivement? Heck I would be astounded if Cats could win 2 out of the next four! :thumbsu:

End of an era for Geelong?