Education & Reference Excellent antics at school

Gladly, my sister's boyfriend worked in my school's IT department in year 10 and he'd let us play games in I.T with ease. Microsoft Word became MSN and it was the best year for computers and computer games.

we had the same thing with those messages.

except one ******** sent one to the teacher (old grumpy fart guy) + the entire class...simply saying "duncan's (teachers surname) a c*nt".

think the teacher's head nearly exploded as the class room erupted.

My school was pretty boring compared to a lot of these stories, but this one has gone down in history and will never be forgotten.

One Monday we turned up at school and there was crime scene tape everywhere and white chalk outlines and rubbish like that with signs that one of the teachers was murdered and there were mug shot photos of a few teachers and students who were the 'suspects' all over the place. Yeah my school was awesome and had CSI week. Anyway, each year level (I was in year 8 at the time) had to do one science experiment during the week to see how the teacher was murdered.

We had just got a new science teacher, she was easily the biggest idiot I've ever met in my life..ever. She spoke in the third person...enough said. Our experiment was to test a bunch of different powders over the bunson burner and see which one made the blue flame go orange, because she was allergic to whatever that one was. Unfortunately, my class had more idiots than is normal, and instead of using the tools to sprinkle small amounts of the powder onto the flame, most of them decided to just grab the powder with their hands and throw it at the flames. So basically, whilst trying to find out which harmful powder killed somebody, they were picking it up with their hands and throwing it around. Again, not the smartest group. Anyway, so once we were finished with that, this teacher got us to wash the heat-proof mats (which were covered in powder) and go off to recess or whatever was next.

Our next period was maths and we had a test. By this stage everybody's hands had started to get black/brown stains all over them, mine was hardly noticeable as I hadn't been touching the powder but some people's were absolutely covered. So people were all 'miss can I please go to the bathroom? my hands have all this stuff on them', and then we got a good lecture about shutting up during tests.

After lunch we were all over the place doing our art electives, but our year level co-ordinator came in and told everybody from my class to go to a certain room. From there I think the principal, vice principal, year level co-ordinator and a bunch of science teachers were there explaining to us that we had silver nitrate on our hands and that it wouldn't come off for a couple of weeks, and that we shouldn't eat with our hands until that time blah blah blah. People were freaking out. Our parents were called that night...we never saw that teacher again (I firmly believe she would have been fired eventually anyway, but I still felt sorry for her). Pretty sure the school got in trouble for contaminating water supplies as well...we weren't a very popular class. Idiots.

When 18 year olds do it they usually have some problems.

I was referring to 18 year olds the whole time, hence the mention in my original post of "year 12s" doing that crap.

Most don't have problems, they just genuinely don't give a ****. No excuse for an 18 year old to be throwing chairs at teachers in a school environment for no reason.

Got a few epic stories from over the years, but the winner has to be my year 9 RE teacher. In year 9 we had pretty much every class in our homeroom classes, so we all ****ed around together. Before every class was literally just a beatdown on whoever, until the teacher rocked up.

So we had a first year RE teacher, Mr Cole, and we knew that the subject was a joke, and he knew that the subject was a joke. So it was always going to be good.

Started off with general ****ing around, but we soon developed a nickname of "The Final Coledown". Every class we'd stand as he entered, and someone would start playing The Final Countdown on their laptop while everyone would sing the "du du du du, du du dududu" bit. Then that developed into randomly playing all sorts of weird and wonderful sounds and songs from our laptops. A highlight was an executable file called "Soccer game" which turned mute off, the sound onto full and said "Hey everyone, I'm watching porno!" (pro tip: convince a friend to "play" the soccer game in the library during silent reading).

Then one day someone started playing Party Boy, and one of the kids in the class started dancing up to Mr Cole then took off his tie, ripped open his shirt, and started grinding him, and doing all sorts of weird and wonderful things with the tie. Then, still dancing left the room. Laughter for at least 5 minutes, with people sprawled all over the floor in various fits of laughter.

Then came the highlight - Personal Development. For some strange reason (which later became clear), we had a different RE teacher take us for this unit, although our teacher was still in the classroom. We got to male puberty (not sure why that needs to be taught to 15 year olds, but anyway), and when the teacher first said "penis", there was an awkward silence as everyone eyed everyone else off, waiting for someone to crack. Then, from the back of the classroom, finally, laughter. We all turn around, and, lo and behold, Mr Cole is absolutely pissing himself like a little schoolgirl. Tries to contain himself, fails, goes outside then comes back 5 minutes later, trying to look serious and dignified. For the rest of the lesson, every time the word penis was mentioned, 25 pairs of eyes turned to the back of the classroom and waited for The Final Coledown to crack. To his credit, he stood firm (no homo) in the face of adversity.

Still plenty more to come when I can think of them.

We used to play a game called challenge which we would play in the year 12 area upstairs and inside, which was pretty much the hallway connecting the vice principals office, the year 12 toilets, the IT room and the Year 12 study room. Was like a T junction with the turnoff the the toilets in the middle. The walls were wood with glass at the top. The idea of challenge was like a wierd blend of british bulldog, gridiron and handball. 2 teams of 5 and you had to throw a hacky sack and if you hit the door you'd get a point, so you'd have teams blocking and tackling and bumping out the way etc. Used to get fairly physical. We played for 3 1/2 weeks and we stopped as someone came from the side where the toilets were and laid a massive hip and shoulder on someone who went flying into the wood wall and shattered two panes of glass to the year 12 common room. Never seen a group of people all bolt in different directions so quickly. I dont think it was ever worked out who did it.

On a slight related note, we used to play a game called Crash, which was essentially british bulldog on a basketball court. No rules basketball. Tackling, kneeing, elbows, hip and shoulders, the works. We used to play it 3-4 times a year and each time 2 or 3 of us would get ****ed up. No idea why we used to play it. Either uber grazed arms/legs/face, broken noses, cut lips, knocked out teeth...the works.

I remember one day there was a bit of push and shove between a couple of year 10 and year 12 lads at recess. Word got round there would be a big fight at the oval at lunch (we didnt have our own oval so had to use the Parklands across the road). On any given day maybe 15-30 kids would go over and play footy or soccer or whatever. On this day, 99% of the student population went over to the oval. Couple hundred kids. Teachers clued on that something was gonna go down. Fight started, two guys were going toe to toe. We had a reserves SANFL magarey medallist as a PE teacher who was built like a brick shithouse who just walked over picked one up with each hand and pretty much walked them back to school and both got suspended.

We used to tap apples on a desk for a whole lesson so the skin was intact but the whole inside of the apple was mushy liquid and throw them over one of the buildings onto the basketball court. Sconed a couple of kids somehow. One apparently got hit in the face and started crying.

We had a group of drives on the computer network up to about Drive M. Drive J was the pr0n drive. I reckon there was tons of pr0n on that drive for a good few months before it was realised and removed.

We had a thing called 'line up' which was like a mini assembly on a Tuesday after lunch where notices, sports results and any other bits of info would get shared to the students from teachers. My and three friends for about 5-6 weeks decided we couldnt be arsed going anymore so we would hide around the school. Classrooms, year 12 study...whereever. We'd always have an excuse. Then on the 6th week, about 25 fellow classmates decided it was a good idea. We all got caught as the only place to hide was the girls toilets. A group of blokes and girls walking out the girls toilets wasnt a good look in a highly religious school. I swear the vice principal thought we were having some mad orgy in there by the look on his face.

In Year 7 primary school, we were sick of our teacher as she was a bit of a bitch so one of the kids organised for the whole class to sign a petition for her to leave. We stayed behind and confronted her and he pretty much told her we all hated her and she should **** off. That didnt go down well with the principal. He got suspended for a week and we all got an absolute pasting for about 20 minutes. Quite scary when your a 12 year old.

We had two different students call through bomb threats in high school which ended in police, fire engines and mass evacuation of the students. School wasnt impressed when both times it was discovered that the call came from the pay phone in the foyer. Both kids expelled.

Here are a couple of my favourite school stories: In year 6 we were all given jobs to do as a means of showing how responsible and mature we were. Several mates and I were given the job of bin boys which amounted to going around to all the rooms and collecting the rubbish to put in the skips out the back. The bins also needed washing etc so this was carried out from the shade house as we could access hoses etc.

One such room was the Hall which was adjacent to the canteen and whoever gave us the keys to the Hall forgot to take the keys to the canteen off. Needless to say several 'feasts' ensured after hit and runs into the canteen. The school for whatever reason also had a fridge full of beer (at a private Catholic school :confused:) out the back of the Hall and the padlock on it never worked so beer was also flogged regularly and was consumed in the safety of the shade house.

In the same year we also used to have Napster on the school computers and downloaded plenty of pr0n and music which was hidden in printer folders (Windows 95 had a stupid 'password folder' function) as well as a couple of pr0n mags that a mate stole from his older brother which we hid behind the tank stand.

Keeping with the theme of violent games we used to play a game in High School which amounted to two groups of guys standing at opposite ends of the oval throwing golf balls at one another. A couple of broken noses, plenty of bruises and a few missing teeth later golf balls were banned from school.

Way back in the day (year 6) all of us were sitting in a big circle on the basketball court at lunchtime probably because it was too hot to play footy or whatever, and anyway one of my mates had to go run an errand and after he left one of our teachers named Mr Molly who was a cool and funny guy sat down in my mates spot, he started cracking jokes and whatnot. My mate then came back to the group and sat behind Mr Molloy, the bell went and Mr Molloy got up and started walking backwards, tripped over my mate and fell to the ground, we were already laughing and he started to scream, "my hamstring, I've done my hamstring." We continued to laugh thinking he was just joking like usual. Anyways, back in class we noticed Mr Molly had an ice-pack on his hammy and proceeded to miss the next 2 days of school because of it, guess he wasn't joking. Good times.

I'm such a shit at school but it's so worth it.

In computer art class, there was a bit of sticky paper that I stuck on my teachers back. It read "I am a gay pedo".

Then in another class I told some psycho chick to get off her rags, which resulted in her coming over to strangle me. Then the teachers like "WTF are you doing?" and she run out of the room screaming and calling me a c*nt as loud as she could. It was so worth it.

I have a few more things I've done but I can't remember.

Oh and once I threw my muffin at the teachers back and it just exploded upon impact. :D

Uh, this doesn't happen.

Year 12's aren't interested in what kids in lower grades are doing unless it involves a brother/sister/cousin/etc., they want to finish their exams and get out of there.
thats your opinion bro, its wrong, but you deserve your opinion.

Nah, pretty solid fact.

Yr 12s don't give a shit about younger years.

you must of all gone to pansy schools. i go to mount waverley the school that was in the news last year so we are all about muck up day.

Lol. Harcore. You must be a troll. It's the only way.

Just in case you're not, year 12 kids will of course mess around with younger kids, especially on muck-up day, but they're not going to keep a list of what each kid has done that might be ammo for them. If they do, then quite frankly they're ****ing weird. If an older kid wants to pick on a younger one, they can tell who to go to by looking at them, listening to them, or in your case, reading them. They don't need to know who they are to know which ones are the nerds/geeks/sad cases.

Good memories from school:

I remember in year 8 these two girls had this huge bitch fight at the park near the school. Full on hair pulling, scrathing, kicking and punching. Went on for about 5 minutes before the friends of the girls could stop them. Was a great moment as I witnessed my first ever chick fight. Half the school was there watching and then the coppers came and as usual everyone bolted.

In year 7, a mate and I were mucking around in the class room and my mate thought it would be funny to throw a pencilcase at the fan, so he did and the fan just stopped instantly. He got the biggest shock of his life and then the teacher walked and had no clue what had happened and went on to teach the class hahaha.

In year 8, we had this funny teacher which all schools have, who has been there for ages and people can't understand what she is saying. We were always in computer rooms with this teacher and everyone bolted to them. So my mate goes to the teacher, look over there that kid has got drugs in his pencilcase. (These kids in our class used to play PSP and DS in there pencilcase), so the teacher goes over and sees blue staples in the guys pencilcase and thinks there drugs and takes them away from the kids and gives a huge lecture on how drugs are bad for you hahaha.

School days :D :D

Kids, lol.
Then one day someone started playing Party Boy, and one of the kids in the class started dancing up to Mr Cole then took off his tie.
Nostalgia'd. I bet everyone remembers the class clown emulating stunts from the first Jackass movie. :thumbsu:

When doing orals, most year 9 kids would rely totally on cue cards.

Which made it fricken awesome when I added a few different words to this guys' 16 cue-card oral, and watched him try to work his way through it, already nervous to begin with, now trying to dodge landmine after landmine of embarrassing words, sometimes slipping one out much to my delight.

I'm such a shit at school but it's so worth it.

In computer art class, there was a bit of sticky paper that I stuck on my teachers back. It read "I am a gay pedo".

Then in another class I told some psycho chick to get off her rags, which resulted in her coming over to strangle me. Then the teachers like "WTF are you doing?" and she run out of the room screaming and calling me a c*nt as loud as she could. It was so worth it.

I have a few more things I've done but I can't remember.

Oh and once I threw my muffin at the teachers back and it just exploded upon impact. :D

Wow sounds like you were pretty naughty Kerrby. Ringwood Secondary College?

If students don't want to learn they will struggle in life later on so I don't get to fussed when they don't want to learn as it is their choice to learn or not. When they interfere with others learning then they can sit outside either in the hot or cold if they are really bad.

Wow sounds like you were pretty naughty Kerrby. Ringwood Secondary College?

If students don't want to learn they will struggle in life later on so I don't get to fussed when they don't want to learn as it is their choice to learn or not. When they interfere with others learning then they can sit outside either in the hot or cold if they are really bad.

Not meant to send kids outside anymore mate, if they do something bad outside of your supervision, you're ****ed.

Surely your lawyers have told you this?

There weren't any antics at my school like some in this thread, and I don't have the bad streak of some of the posters in the thread either, but there is one 'antic' I was always rather pleased with.

In the weeks leading up to exams, I was sitting in Methods with a mate. We were learning probability, but like most of the year, I'd been taking the class fairly easy (not one for too much hard work). The conversation started between me and my mate about the probability of a certain student becoming Dux of the School. And it took off from there.

A week later, we had a two page spreadsheet of odds, complete with the TAB Sportsbet logo. Word caught on that we had made a list, and all of a sudden, the attentive, focused students had found their way up to the back of the room, where we sat, to sneak a peek at the odds. It seemed as though everyone except us was taking the list seriously, as some of the well off students were chuffed with their odds, and some all of a sudden were giving us the cold shoulder because they represented a bit of value and others pissed off that we didn't include them at all, which lead to this disclaimer:

"*The content of TAB Sportsbet 'Dux of WSSC' is provided for entertainment purposes only. All bets will be accepted, however winning tickets may/may not be paid. Alex and Adam accept no liability to any punter who loses their money. Bets are taken under assumed knowledge of the punter that they have minor chance of getting their money back, regardless of the outcome. As these odds were created in an informal environment, the figures produced represent the personal opinion of the bookmakers, and are not a ranking device for the intelligence or performance of any Year 12 student at WSSC. Any attempt to sabotage fellow contenders will render the current market null and void. Market closes on December 14, 2009 at 6:55am. (My mate) and (I) are in no way affiliated with TAB Sportsbet, and will not be held liable for any disagreements or distractions these odds cause."

Like I said, probably comes across as lame on the forum, but at the time it sorta brought everyone together, as it was a general point of discussion. FWIW, we ended up getting the top 8 in the school correct, and in order, so my mate and I were pretty pleased. The only reason we got ninth wrong was because we put in a 'Token Arts student' and had to favour his GF. Needless to say I spent more time on this, and kicking the footy last year, than any homework or study...

You guys mad?

Yes, as a matter of fact I am mad.

For years it has seemed to me like the standards of teaching have been slowly but surely declining. I witnessed many student teachers in my time and they seemed to decline in quality as time went on.

I had a friend at school who was pre-accepted to do teaching at ND, he scored a TER of 57, and this is deplorable, the standard of teachers coming through the ranks best exemplified by my friend from school and through you are an indication of how much trouble we are in.

The recent election also bodes as a reminder that there is no way but down unless we get quality teachers through the ranks instead of hacks such as yourself, I will ensure that the school which my child attends is free from ECU graduates, as ECU is one of the worst tertiary institutions in the world, it only exists out of the necessity of people to have some backing, any backing to get a job in the modern workforce.

The simple fact that you cannot follow the most basic disciplinary rules is testament to the fact that you are nothing but a polished ****, you constantly try and act in a mature manner but time and time again you are found out to be a know nothing idiot. If you do somehow land a job as a teacher, I can only hope that it is with a grade 1 or 2 class, so there is still time to repair the damage you inflict on the children by passing on your idiocy.

The teaching crisis is a dilemma which needs to be assessed quickly, teachers need more money, but not hack teachers like you. GOOD teachers deserve the pay raises, and I believe it should come at the expense of so called professionals such as yourself who do not hold a candle to a person who teaches because they are passionate, not because they weren't smart enough to get into anything else.

I will ensure my kids will not be enrolled in a school that has any ECU graduates teaching. Nothing personal. A guy from school failed english and still got into ECU.