Favorite Beers.

Goodness Pie eyed never thought I would see the day another expressed interest in Emu Bitter. After many years as Manager in the Swan Breweries group of hotels I was quite partial to a drop of the same.

so cheers all have a beer
thumbnail.aspx

Shame the brewery is now owned by Lion Nathan ..........
the good old days when Bondy owned it !!!!..... Very heady...

I'm having a few tomorrow with my Loin Chops and Chicken Breasts on the Barbie...:D

Cheers and bottoms up.:thumbsu:

Asahi would have to be my favourite.

Usually on the weekends i either drink any of the following:

Asahi
Pure Blonde
Kirin
Peroni
Corona

But at the end of the day i will have whatever is going:thumbsu:

You have great taste Igniter, except i'd have Peroni second after Asahi and Pure Blonde third. Finally, swap Corona with Crown.

EB is reasonable, went through a stage of drinking a lot of it when i lived in perth, my favourite beer at the moment is Fat Yak, but I like all Matilda Bay beers
its a shame that Fosters/CUB own them now

Went to this great little brewery up in Queensland on the weekend called the Mount Tamborine Brewery. They make different beers in the style of different countries - A couple of nice Belgian beers, a stout, an Indian Pale Ale.

Really nice stuff.

http://www.mtbeer.com/

Asahi would have to be my favourite.

Usually on the weekends i either drink any of the following:

Asahi
Pure Blonde
Kirin
Peroni
Corona

But at the end of the day i will have whatever is going:thumbsu:

Thats my top 5 but without Peroni which I don't really like. I tend to drink Boags Classic Blondes over Pure Blondes now because they are cheaper and pretty similar. Love the Jap beers and Coronas are awesome.

Can anyone recommend a good Pilsener to try?? I used to drink Tooheys Pils which were really good but they seem to have changed the recipe and aren't as good as they were.

Thats my top 5 but without Peroni which I don't really like. I tend to drink Boags Classic Blondes over Pure Blondes now because they are cheaper and pretty similar. Love the Jap beers and Coronas are awesome.

Can anyone recommend a good Pilsener to try?? I used to drink Tooheys Pils which were really good but they seem to have changed the recipe and aren't as good as they were.

James Squire do a good pilsner.

The best IMHO is Pilsner Urquell which is the quintessential pils, but becuase it's imported from the Czech Republic, you need to try and get a relatively fresh one, because if they've been mishandled in transit or on the shelf for a while they won't be at their peak.

P.S Trumer Pils is an excellent beer as well - from Austria IIRC.

Hoegaarden, love it, it's great and refreshing on hot summer afternoons. I don't mind Redback or Beez Neez either, basically any decent wheat beer.

Had a sapporo last night.
Jeez, the japanese know how to make a great beer don't they?

Yeah Sapporos are good. Had some the other week, looked at the back and they're made in Canada :confused: Not sure if they are Canadian or Japanese now. I guess they are Japanese style Canadian beers???

Same with Asahi. The imported Asahi we get here is brewed in the UK.

We're talking favourite here, and on my limited budget I don't often get to splash out on fancy shmancy beer. My list is simple:

1. Boags Draught - I can't believe this is usually cheaper than VB at most bottle shops. It's a great beer for all occasions; pizza night, footy, bbq, on tap at the pub. It's not the highest quality but it's my favourite.

2. Cascade Pale Ale
3. Coopers Pale Ale
4. Stella Artois
5. Boags Premium

Just got into Matilda bays Fat Yak Pilsener. Good drop.
I like Mountain Goat Hightail, Most James Squires and most of the boutique beers but i find after 5 or so the taste becomes overpowering.

So i'd say for my top 5.

James Boags Premium.

Kirin.

Asahi.

VB.

Miller Chill (this one i'm ashamed of but i really like it, mostly because i drink it on summer holidays so i associate it with goodness).

Can people explain the appeal of blonde beer? It tastes like water and has less alcohol than most full strength beers.

Don't really drink that often, but when I do I usually go for James Boag premium, Carona's or Crownies.

Tasmania's beer>>>>all.

TEDS go down well too.

I think we can all agree that VB tastes terrible though.

I've never really tried much foreign beer. I tasted some Chinese beer a while ago though....pretty sure it was mineral water though.

1. Pikes are awesome brewery. If you have a mate's birthday coming up, buy 'em a dozen of these and share them on a good evening.

2. Old Speckled Hen is worth a mention. Drink it closer to room temparature (i.e. 19-20) and its full flavour comes to the fore. Not everyone's fave but once you've got the knack for it you're set for life.

5. Moo brew. Yeah, it's a bit wanky and high-class, but it's also a damn fine drop. Enjoy by yourself when you get a night to watch Collingwood flog someone - there's one for each quarter in a pack.

You've given me a few to try here. :thumbsu:

Have to say I'm a little bit surprised by the overwhelming love for Japanese beers ITT. They certainly go down clean, but not much character. Prefer the quality Aus brewers tbh.

James Squire is one that churns out pretty consistent beers across their range. I'm especially partial to a Golden Ale on a really hot day.

Cooper's Pale Ale can't be beat for value, particularly as Dan Murphy's often have slabs on special for prices that are closer to Carlton Draught than premium beers.

Little Creatures Pale Ale is solid too, but I tried their Pilsner the other day and wasn't impressed.

Anyone know if they sell Estrella Damm here? I downed 1 or 200 when I was Europe, and wouldn't mind reminiscing. :o

MDC my local brew shop stocks a range of imported beers that you wont find in stores. They don't stock the standard stuff because they cant price match. Give em a buzz to see if they have it, if not I'm sure they'd be able to get it in. But if you're not in melbourne... well then never mind :-p

Grain and Grape: 03 9687 0061

MDC my local brew shop stocks a range of imported beers that you wont find in stores. They don't stock the standard stuff because they cant price match. Give em a buzz to see if they have it, if not I'm sure they'd be able to get it in. But if you're not in melbourne... well then never mind :-p

Grain and Grape: 03 9687 0061

Purvis Cellars in Surrey Hills is the best bottle-o I've been to in Melbourne for imported and otherwise hard to find beers.

They also have a very helpful search engine on their website.

http://www.purviscellars.com.au/

Anyone know if they sell Estrella Damm here? I downed 1 or 200 when I was Europe, and wouldn't mind reminiscing. :o

My work was trying to flog a pallet of Estrella for $30 a slab about 6 months ago. We've since run out and I haven't seen any more come in.
I'm pretty sure the licence for it in Aus is exclusive to Coles, so try either Vintage Cellars, 1st Choice or Liquorland.

How do people rate Fat Yak?
Probs my new favourite beer, replacing Little Creatures Pale Ale.

Hey guys, just wanted to ask a quick question to the more seasoned drinkers here. I want to try a new beer for when watching the game on Saturday night. Any suggestions? Anything you love that goes down well with some snacks and the footy. ;)